DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claims 11-12, 14 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 20:
The closest related art Oh et al. (US 20190122621 A1) does not teach all the claim limitations.
In a first mapping of claim 20, Oh teaches a display device (Title, Display apparatus) comprising:
a first data line configured to sequentially receive a first data signal and a second data signal (Fig. 2A, See first data line connected to pixels P1 and P9 which are pixels of a different color per [0070] thereby teaching first and second data signals on D1);
a second data line configured to sequentially receive a third data signal and a fourth data signal (Fig. 2A, see second data line connected to D2);
a first gate line configured to receive a first gate signal activated for a first active period (Fig. 2A, see a first gate line G1. [0051], “The gate driver 300 may sequentially output the gate signals to the gate lines.” Row order and Sequential output teaches first active period);
a second gate line configured to receive a second gate signal activated for a second active period (Fig. 2A, see G2. [0051], “The gate driver 300 may sequentially output the gate signals to the gate lines.” Row order (G1, G2, G3…) and sequential output teaches second active period);
a first pixel comprising a first pixel circuit connected to the first data line and to the first gate line, and a first light-emitting element connected to the first pixel circuit (Fig. 2A, Pixel P1 is connected to first data line D1 and gate line G1. [0070-0071] teaches pixel P1 is a first color such as red thereby teaching a light-emitting element);
a second pixel comprising a second pixel circuit connected to the first data line and to the second gate line, and a second light-emitting element connected to the second pixel circuit (Fig. 2A, Pixel P9 is connected to first data line and second gate line G2. [0070-0071] teaches pixel P9 is a third color such as blue thereby teaching a light-emitting element);
a third pixel comprising a third pixel circuit connected to the second data line and to the first gate line, and a third light-emitting element connected to the third pixel circuit (Fig. 2A, see pixel P2 which is connected to data line D2 and first gate line G1); and
a fourth pixel comprising a fourth pixel circuit connected to the second data line and to the second gate line, and a fourth light-emitting element connected to the fourth pixel circuit (Fig. 2A, see pixel P10 or see pixel P9 (located below pixel P5) and connected to gate line G2),
wherein color information of the first data signal is different from color information of the second data signal ([0070-0071] teaches pixel P1 is a first color such as red thereby teaching a light-emitting element and pixel P9 is a third color such as blue), and
wherein color information of the fourth data signal is different from the color information of the first data signal ([0070-0071] teaches pixel P9 is a third color such as blue thereby teaching a light-emitting element and pixel P1 is a first color such as red) and the color information of the second data signal ([0070-0071], pixel P10 is white and P9 is blue).
Oh however does not teach the limitation, “wherein color information of the first data signal…which is the same as color information contained in the third data signal.” Oh [0070-0071] instead teaches pixels P1 and P2, which correspond to first and third pixels as shown above, are different colors.
In an alternative mapping of claim 20, Oh teaches a display device (Title, Display apparatus) comprising:
a first data line configured to sequentially receive a first data signal and a second data signal (Fig. 2A, See first data line connected to pixels P1 and P9 which are pixels of a different color per [0070] thereby teaching first and second data signals on D1);
a second data line configured to sequentially receive a third data signal and a fourth data signal (Fig. 2A, see second data line connected to D2);
a first gate line configured to receive a first gate signal activated for a first active period (Fig. 2A, see a first gate line G1. [0051], “The gate driver 300 may sequentially output the gate signals to the gate lines.” Row order and Sequential output teaches first active period);
a second gate line configured to receive a second gate signal activated for a second active period (Fig. 2A, see G2. [0051], “The gate driver 300 may sequentially output the gate signals to the gate lines.” Row order (G1, G2, G3…) and sequential output teaches second active period);
a first pixel comprising a first pixel circuit connected to the first data line and to the first gate line, and a first light-emitting element connected to the first pixel circuit (Fig. 2A, Pixel P1 is connected to first data line D1 and gate line G1. [0070-0071] teaches pixel P1 is a first color such as red thereby teaching a light-emitting element);
a second pixel comprising a second pixel circuit connected to the first data line and to the second gate line, and a second light-emitting element connected to the second pixel circuit (Fig. 2A, Pixel P9 is connected to first data line and second gate line G2. [0070-0071] teaches pixel P9 is a third color such as blue thereby teaching a light-emitting element);
a third pixel comprising a third pixel circuit connected to the second data line and to the first gate line, and a third light-emitting element connected to the third pixel circuit (Fig. 2A, see pixel P5 which is connected to data line D5 and first gate line G1); and
a fourth pixel comprising a fourth pixel circuit connected to the second data line and to the second gate line, and a fourth light-emitting element connected to the fourth pixel circuit (Fig. 2A, see pixel P9 (located below pixel P5) and connected to gate line G2),
wherein color information of the first data signal is different from color information of the second data signal ([0070-0071] teaches pixel P1 is a first color such as red thereby teaching a light-emitting element and pixel P9 is a third color such as blue), which is the same as color information contained in the third data signal ([0070-0071], Pixels P1 and P5 display a first color such as blue), and
wherein color information of the fourth data signal is different from the color information of the first data signal ([0070-0071] teaches pixel P9 is a third color such as blue thereby teaching a light-emitting element and pixel P1 is a first color such as red).
In this alternative mapping, Oh does not teach the limitation, “wherein color information of the fourth data signal is different from…the color information of the second data signal.” In this mapping, Oh [0070-0071] teaches the second pixel P9 and its second data signal is a blue color, and, the fourth pixel (also P9) and its respective fourth pixel information is the same blue color.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, the closest related art is Kim et al. (US 20060061535 A1) in view of In et al. (US 20160210906 A1) and Oh et al. (US 20190122621 A1) does not teach all the claim limitations. Claim 12 is objected to as dependent upon claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, the closest related art, Kim et al. (US 20060061535 A1) in view of In et al. (US 20160210906 A1) and Oh et al. (US 20190122621 A1), does not teach the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a second data line extending in the first direction, and configured to sequentially receive a third data signal and a fourth data signal Fig. 8, see data line connecting pixels R12O and R12E which corresponds to the claimed second data line and note these pixels each require their own data signals);
a third pixel comprising a third pixel circuit connected to the second data line and to the first gate line (Fig. 8, see R12O which is connected to the second data line and G1_even);
a fourth pixel comprising a fourth pixel circuit connected to the second data line and to the second gate line (Fig. 8, see R12E which is connected to the second data line and G1_odd).
Regarding the limitations stating a third light-emitting element connected to the third pixel circuit and a fourth light-emitting element connected to the fourth pixel circuit, Kim teaches a third and fourth pixels which suggests the presence of third and fourth light-emitting elements. Kim does not explicitly state a third and fourth light emitting element.
In teaches a display apparatus wherein each pixel includes an organic light emitting diode such that a first light-emitting element connected to the first pixel circuit and a second light-emitting element connected to the second pixel circuit (Fig. 7, see pixel circuit PC_ODD which comprises a first OLED and pixel circuit PC_EVEN which includes a second OLED).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim’s third and fourth pixels such that each pixel has a third and fourth light-emitting element connected to the respective pixels as it is known that each pixel circuit controls driving current supplied to a light emitting diode of a pixel such that the display can emit light and display an image (In, [0007]).
Kim and In, and the closest related prior art does not teach wherein the third light-emitting element comprises a first sub-anode electrode and a second sub-anode electrode.
Claims 17-19 are objected to as dependent upon claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20060061535 A1) in view of In et al. (US 20160210906 A1) and previously cited Oh et al. (US 20190122621 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display device (Title, Display device) comprising:
a first data line extending in a first direction, and configured to sequentially receive a first data signal and a second data signal (Fig. 8, See first data line connected to R11O and R11E; Figs. 8-9, each data signal from the first data line during period of G1_odd and a next data signal from the first data line during period of G1_even constitute the first and second data signals);
a first gate line configured to receive a first gate signal activated for a first active period (Figs. 8-9, see G1_odd);
a second gate line configured to receive a second gate signal activated for a second active period (Figs. 8-9, see G1_even);
a first pixel comprising a first pixel circuit connected to the first data line and to the first gate line (Fig. 8, Pixel R11O is connected to first data line and G1_odd); and
a second pixel comprising a second pixel circuit connected to the first data line and to the second gate line (Fig. 8, Pixel R11E is connected to first data line and G1_even),
wherein the first pixel circuit and the second pixel circuit are in a same pixel row adjacent to each other in a second direction crossing the first direction (Fig. 8, Pixel R11O and R11E are in a same pixel row adjacent to each other in a horizontal direction crossing the vertical direction).
Regarding the limitations stating a first light-emitting element connected to the first pixel circuit and a second light-emitting element connected to the second pixel circuit, Kim teaches a first and second pixels which suggests the presence of first and second light-emitting elements. Kim does not explicitly state a first and second light emitting element.
In teaches a display apparatus wherein each pixel includes an organic light emitting diode such that a first light-emitting element connected to the first pixel circuit and a second light-emitting element connected to the second pixel circuit (Fig. 7, see pixel circuit PC_ODD which comprises a first OLED and pixel circuit PC_EVEN which includes a second OLED).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim’s first and second pixels such that each pixel has a first and second light-emitting element connected to the respective pixels as it is known that each pixel circuit controls driving current supplied to a light emitting diode of a pixel such that the display can emit light and display an image (In, [0007]).
Kim and In do not teach wherein the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element output a first color light, wherein each of the first data signal and the second data signal comprises color information corresponding to the first color light.
Oh teaches a display device comprising:
A first light-emitting element and a second light-emitting element output a first color (Fig. 2A, [0070-0071], see red sub-pixel P1 connected to data line D1 and gate line G1 and see second sub-pixel of same color connected to data line D1 and gate line G3. Examiner will call this second sub-pixel P1’. Each sub-pixel is a light emitting element thereby teaching first and second light-emitting elements),
wherein each of a first data signal and a second data signal comprises color information corresponding to the first color light (Fig. 2A, [0045, 0070-0071], data line D1 is connected to both pixels and supplies red color image data R to each of sub-pixel P1 and sub-pixel P1’ thereby teaching first data signal and a second data signal).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim and In with Oh such that the sub-pixels are arranged as Oh teaches in figure 2A as this prevents a vertical line being perceived by a viewer (Oh, [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches wherein a horizontal scan period is defined by the first active period and the second active period, and comprises a first period and a second period (Fig. 9, [0067], see “time interval of H/2 (G1_odd, G1_even),” meaning a horizontal scan period is defined by first active period and second active periods which comprise a first period and second period).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first active period and the second active period have a duration corresponding to 'k' times the horizontal scan period, 'k' being a natural number equal to or greater than 1 (Fig. 9, [0067], see “time interval of H/2 (G1_odd, G1_even),” wherein the total of these periods is 1H which is a natural number equal to 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches wherein the first active period and the second active period overlap (Fig. 9 shows that G1_odd and G1_even are both at an active high level during an overlapping period),
wherein the first gate signal and the second gate signal have an active level for the first period (Fig. 9 shows that G1_odd and G1_even are both at an active high level during an overlapping period thereby teaching the first gate signal and second gate signal are active during this period), and
wherein the first gate signal has an inactive level, and the second gate signal has an active level, for the second period (Fig. 9 shows a period H/2 wherein G1_odd is high and G1_even is low).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches wherein the first active period and the second active period are separate (Fig. 9 shows gate odd and even periods are separate), wherein the first gate signal has an active level (Fig. 9, See period when G1_odd is high), and the second gate signal has an inactive level (Fig. 9, see same period wherein G1_even is low), for the first period, and wherein the first gate signal has an inactive level (Fig. 9, see period when G1_odd is low), and the second gate signal has an active level (Fig. 9, see period when G1_even is high), for the second period.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first data line is configured to apply the first data signal to the first pixel circuit and to the second pixel circuit for the first period, and wherein the first data line is configured to apply the second data signal to the second pixel circuit for the second period (Figs. 8-9, see period when G1_odd and G1_even are both high during the same overlapping time period which defines the “first period.” See period when G1_odd is low and G1_even is high, when C2 goes high, which define the “second period”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20060061535 A1) in view of In et al. (US 20160210906 A1) and Oh et al. (US 20190122621 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Isaka et al. (US 20180053917 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kim and In teach, wherein the first pixel circuit is connected to the first light-emitting element through a connection electrode, wherein the second pixel circuit is connected to the second light-emitting element through a bridge electrode,
Kim teaches a first and second pixels which suggests the presence of first and second light-emitting elements. Kim does not explicitly state a first and second light emitting element.
In teaches a display apparatus wherein each pixel includes an organic light emitting diode such that a first light-emitting element connected to the first pixel circuit and a second light-emitting element connected to the second pixel circuit (Fig. 7, see pixel circuit PC_ODD which comprises a first OLED and pixel circuit PC_EVEN which includes a second OLED).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim’s first and second pixels such that each pixel has a first and second light-emitting element connected to the respective pixels, thereby teaching the first pixel circuit is connected to the first light-emitting element through a connection electrode, wherein the second pixel circuit is connected to the second light-emitting element through a bridge electrode, as it is known that each pixel circuit controls driving current supplied to a light emitting diode of a pixel such that the display can emit light and display an image (In, [0007]).
While Kim and In teach a second light-emitting element connected to the second pixel circuit, they do not teach the connection is through a bridge electrode that is longer than the connection electrode,
Isaka teaches the bridge electrode is longer than the connection electrode (See fig. 1 wherein the connection between driving transistor 42 and electrode 221 is longer than the connection between transistor 41 and electrode 121).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim, In, and Oh with Isaka such that a bridge electrode is longer than the connection electrode as this amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143, rationale A. Kim, In, Oh, and Isaka include each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known display pixel connection methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as the combination of Kim and In with Isaka does not produce a different function as all the prior art is directed towards the connections between pixels in a display in order to allow a display to display images.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20060061535 A1) in view of In et al. (US 20160210906 A1), Oh et al. (US 20190122621 A1), and Isaka et al.(US 20180053917 A1), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yoo et al. (US 20150325630 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kim, In, Oh, and Isaka are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Yoo teaches an LED light-emitting element comprises an anode electrode connected with the bridge electrode ([0050], “the anode 12 is connected with the TFT structure through the conductive bridge 2.”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim, In, Oh and Isaka with Yoo as Yoo allows for a display device substrate that can achieve double-sided light emission (Yoo, [0038]).
Regarding the limitation of the anode electrode being integral with the bridge electrode, see MPEP 2144.04, section IV, In reLarson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965), wherein making integral connections are determined to be an obvious design choice. In the current instance, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to make the anode electrode integral with the bridge electrode as this achieves benefits such as less manufacturing steps and improved electrical performance.
Regarding claim 10, Kim, In, Oh, and Isaka are not relied upon for teaching the claim limitations.
Yoo teaches an LED layering structure wherein the second light-emitting element comprises an anode electrode at a different layer from the bridge electrode ([0050], “the anode 12 is connected with the TFT structure through the conductive bridge 2.”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim, In and Isaka with Yoo as Yoo allows for a display device substrate that can achieve double-sided light emission (Yoo, [0038]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20060061535 A1) in view of In et al. (US 20160210906 A1), Isaka et al.(US 20180053917 A1), and Oh et al. (US 20190122621 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches an electronic device (Title, Figs. 1 and 6, liquid crystal display device) comprising:
a display device for providing an image (Title, Figs. 1 and 6, liquid crystal display device); and
a processor (Fig. 1, Data processing circuit 4) to control an operation of the display device wherein the display device comprises:
a first data line extending in a first direction (Fig. 8, see data lines extending in vertical direction), and configured to sequentially receive a first data signal and a second data signal ([0009], “data lines apply data signals”);
a first gate line configured to receive a first gate signal (Figs. 8-9, see G1_odd);
a second gate line configured to receive a second gate signal (Figs. 8-9, see G1_even);;
a first pixel comprising a first pixel circuit connected to the first data line and to the first gate line (Fig. 8, Pixel R11O is connected to first data line and G1_odd); and
a second pixel comprising a second pixel circuit connected to the first data line and to the second gate line (Fig. 8, Pixel R11E is connected to first data line and G1_even) and adjacent to the first pixel circuit in a same pixel row in a second direction crossing the first direction (Fig. 8, Pixel R11O and R11E are in a same pixel row adjacent to each other in a horizontal direction crossing the vertical direction).
Regarding the limitations stating a first light-emitting element connected to the first pixel circuit and a second light-emitting element connected to the second pixel circuit, Kim teaches a first and second pixels which suggests the presence of first and second light-emitting elements. Kim does not explicitly state a first and second light emitting element.
In teaches a display apparatus wherein each pixel includes an organic light emitting diode such that a first light-emitting element connected to the first pixel circuit and a second light-emitting element connected to the second pixel circuit (Fig. 7, see pixel circuit PC_ODD which comprises a first OLED and pixel circuit PC_EVEN which includes a second OLED).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim’s first and second pixels such that each pixel has a first and second light-emitting element connected to the respective pixels as it is known that each pixel circuit controls driving current supplied to a light emitting diode of a pixel such that the display can emit light and display an image (In, [0007]).
While Kim and In teach a second light-emitting element connected to the second pixel circuit, they do not teach the connection is through a bridge electrode that is longer than the connection electrode.
Isaka teaches the bridge electrode is longer than the connection electrode (See fig. 1 wherein the connection between driving transistor 42 and electrode 221 is longer than the connection between transistor 41 and electrode 121).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim and In with Isaka such that a bridge electrode is longer than the connection electrode as this amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143, rationale A. Kim, In, and Isaka include each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known display pixel connection methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as the combination of Kim and In with Isaka does not produce a different function as all the prior art is directed towards the connections between pixels in a display in order to allow a display to display images.
Kim, In, and Isaka do not teach wherein the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element output a first color light, wherein each of the first data signal and the second data signal comprises color information corresponding to the first color light.
Oh teaches a display device comprising:
A first light-emitting element and a second light-emitting element output a first color (Fig. 2A, [0070-0071], see red sub-pixel P1 connected to data line D1 and gate line G1 and see second sub-pixel of same color connected to data line D1 and gate line G3. Examiner will call this second sub-pixel P1’. Each sub-pixel is a light emitting element thereby teaching first and second light-emitting elements),
wherein each of a first data signal and a second data signal comprises color information corresponding to the first color light (Fig. 2A, [0045, 0070-0071], data line D1 is connected to both pixels and supplies red color image data R to each of sub-pixel P1 and sub-pixel P1’ thereby teaching first data signal and a second data signal).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim, In, and Isaka with Oh such that the sub-pixels are arranged as Oh teaches in figure 2A as this prevents a vertical line being perceived by a viewer (Oh, [0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 15, 2026 are directed towards the amended subject matter. As detailed in the rejection above, the combination of Kim, In, Isaka, and Oh teach each and every limitation of the claims as currently presented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN P BRITTINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629