DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/03/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on claims 1-8 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/03/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It appears that applicant attempted to cite WO-87004992 and WO-94029927, which were cited in the parent application, but instead cited WO-1987004992 and WO-1994029927. Applicant is required to clarify this issue, either correcting these citations or providing such references, in the response to this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schliesing (US 4860975 A).
Regarding claim 1, Schliesing (US 4860975 A) discloses a vehicle capture system for use with a capture vehicle, the vehicle capture system comprising:
a probe assembly including one or more retention elements for engaging with and securing a target vehicle (Schliesing, figure 5, item 42); and
a movable platform coupled to at least a portion of the probe assembly, the movable platform comprising:
a first lateral section coupled with a portion of the capture vehicle (Schliesing, figure 6, item 31b);
a second lateral section coupled with the probe assembly (Schliesing, figure 6, item 31a); and
legs extending between the first lateral section and the second lateral section (Schliesing, figure 6, item 33), the legs being rotationally coupled to at least one of the first lateral section or the second lateral section and configured to rotate relative to the at least one of the first lateral section or the second lateral section (Schliesing, figure 6, item 35, pivot/swivel connection between actuator attenuators and rings), wherein rotation of the legs relative to the at least one of the first lateral section or the second lateral section enables the movable platform to move from an initial position to a displaced position as the second lateral section translates relative to the first lateral section (Schliesing, figure 6, item 33, abstract, actuator attenuators allow relative movement of rings in 6 degrees of freedom allowing for lateral translation between first and section sections).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schliesing (US 4860975 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Imai (JP H08143000 A).
Regarding claim 4, Schliesing (US 4860975 A) discloses the vehicle capture system of claim 1, except:
further comprising a biasing mechanism configured to bias the movable platform in the initial position.
Imai (JP H08143000 A) teaches a biasing mechanism configured to bias the movable platform in the initial position (Imai, figures 1-5, item 23, ¶14, spring members provide a biasing force to push support member into a predetermined position).
Schliesing and Imai are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of satellite docking. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the legs of Schliesing with the biasing springs of Imai with a reasonable expectation of success in order to align a docked spacecraft when actuators are released.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schliesing (US 4860975 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Verzain (US 20160114912 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Schliesing (US 4860975 A) discloses the vehicle capture system of claim 1, except:
wherein the legs exhibit a nested configuration where a first set of the legs longitudinally overlaps with a second set of the legs.
Verzain (US 20160114912 A1) teaches a movable platform wherein the legs exhibit a nested configuration where a first set of the legs longitudinally overlaps with a second set of the legs (Verzain, figures 1a-b, items 11 and 114, first legs extend beyond a lower part of the second legs).
Schliesing and Verzain are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of satellite docking. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the legs of Schliesing with the nested legs of Verzain with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the longitudinal length of the assembly.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schliesing (US 4860975 A) in view of Verzain (US 20160114912 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Imai (JP H08143000 A).
Regarding claim 8, Schliesing as modified by Verzain teaches the vehicle capture system of claim 5, except:
further comprising a biasing mechanism configured to bias the movable platform in the initial position.
Imai (JP H08143000 A) teaches a biasing mechanism configured to bias the movable platform in the initial position (Imai, figures 1-5, item 23, ¶14, spring members provide a biasing force to push support member into a predetermined position).
Schliesing as modified by Verzain and Imai are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of satellite docking. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the legs of Schliesing as modified by Verzain with the biasing springs of Imai with a reasonable expectation of success in order to align a docked spacecraft when actuators are released.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 and 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, Schliesing discloses the vehicle capture system of claim 1, except:
further comprising a floating stop configured to rotate when the legs rotate in one rotational direction relative to the at least one of the first lateral section or the second lateral section.
Thus, the prior art fails to teach the claimed matter alone and it would not have been obvious to meet the claims either without undue hindsight based on the applicant' s disclosure.
Regarding claim 6, Schliesing as modified by Verzain teaches the vehicle capture system of claim 5, except:
further comprising a floating stop configured to rotate when the legs rotate in one rotational direction relative to the at least one of the first lateral section or the second lateral section.
Thus, the prior art fails to teach the claimed matter alone and it would not have been obvious to meet the claims either without undue hindsight based on the applicant' s disclosure.
3. (Original) The vehicle capture system of claim 2, wherein the floating stop is configured to remain stationary when the legs rotate in another rotational direction relative to the at least one of the first lateral section or the second lateral section, the another rotational direction opposing the one rotational direction.
7. (Original) The vehicle capture system of claim 6, wherein the floating stop is configured to remain stationary when the legs rotate in another rotational direction relative to the at least one of the first lateral section or the second lateral section, the another rotational direction opposing the one rotational direction.
Claims 3 and 7 are allowed for depending on an objected to claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu (US 20200102102 A1) teaches a probe attached to an intermediate ring and legs attaching intermediate ring to a part of spacecraft
Markcity (US 11643226 B1) teaches a mating mechanism with legs adjusting cooperating platforms
Ghofranian (US 20150266595 A1) teaches a docking system
Isayama (US 20200024011 A1) teaches guides attached to a ring, ring attached to a ring of the spacecraft via legs
Usuku (US 20240022189 A1) a docking system with a probe having its own legs in addition to a middle lateral section’s legs
Ritter (US 20110004717 A1) teaches a docking system with a probe assembly
/RYAN ANDREW YANKEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642