Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/11/2025 and 10/27/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xavier et al. (US Pat. 8620874; hereinafter referred to as Xavier) in view of Brant et al. (US Pat. Pub. 20040243762; hereinafter referred to as Brant).
As per claims 1, 12, and 20:
Xavier teaches a computer-implemented method, computer program product, and computer system comprising:
a processor set (Xavier col. 3 lines 60-62, source computer and destination computer, wherein these computers are interpreted as computing devices with processors);
one or more computer-readable storage media; and
program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable storage media to cause the processor set to perform operations (Xavier col. 58-65, source application and destination application stored on a source disk and a destination disk, wherein the applications are interpreted as instructions and the disks are interpreted as the computer-readable storage media) comprising:
calculating a source validation check for a set of storage blocks sent from a source device to a target storage device (Xavier col. 4 lines 33-35, source application calculates a checksum 26A for each data block);
determining, after the set of storage blocks are written to the target storage device, a validation check for the set of storage blocks written to the target storage device (Xavier col. 4 lines 60-62, destination application calculates a checksum value 26B for each received data block);
comparing the source validation check to the validation check (Xavier col. 4 lines 63-64, compares the calculated checksum 26B to checksum 26A); and
responsive to the source validation check differing from the sum validation check, implementing an error recovery procedure on the storage system (Xavier col. 7 lines 8-11, responsive to non-matching checksums, initiate a resend request, wherein the resend request is interpreted as an error recovery procedure).
Xavier does not explicitly disclose a sum validation check. However, Brant in an analogous art discloses a sum validation check (Brant par. 0018, aggregate check information associated with data stored in several, distinct sectors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Brant’s aggregation of check information with the computer-implemented method, computer program product, and computer system of Xavier. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it allows for a more efficient use of the available storage capacity (Brant par. 0021).
As per claims 3 and 14:
Xavier and Brant further teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise: determining a block validation check for each block of the set of storage blocks written to the target storage device (Xavier col. 4 lines 60-62), wherein the sum validation check is based on the block validation checks for the set of storage blocks written to the target storage device (Brant par. 0018).
As per claims 4 and 15:
Xavier and Brant further teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 12, wherein implementing the error recovery procedure on the storage system further comprises: reading the set of storage blocks to determine if the sum validation check is valid (Brant par. 0058-0059, read the aggregated check information to verify the integrity of data); and responsive to determining that the sum validation check is invalid, reporting a failure to the source device (Xavier col. 7 lines 8-11).
As per claims 5 and 16:
Xavier and Brant further teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 12, wherein the source device is a storage controller (Brant par. 0055, storage system controller 900), and the target storage device is a storage disk (Brant par. 0054, electronic storage device).
As per claim 6:
Xavier and Brant further teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the target storage device is a virtual disk (Brant par. 0053, RAID network 800, which is interpreted as a virtual disk).
As per claim 7:
Xavier and Brant further teach the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the virtual disk includes a RAID array (Brant par. 0053).
As per claims 9 and 17:
Xavier and Brant further teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 12, wherein the source device is a storage device, and the target storage device is a copy of data written to the source device (Xavier col. 3 lines 60-65, data from a source disk is copied to a destination disk).
As per claims 10 and 18:
Xavier and Brant further teach the computer-implemented method of claim 9 and the computer program product of claim 17, wherein the copy of the data written to the source device is selected from the group consisting of: a point-in-time copy, a synchronous remote copy, and an asynchronous remote copy (Xavier col. 3 lines 60-65, copy of data written is interpreted as a point-in-time copy).
As per claims 11 and 19:
Xavier and Brant further teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 12, wherein the source validation check and the sum validation check are selected from the group consisting of: a longitudinal redundancy check (LRC), a cyclic redundancy check (CRC), and cryptographic hash functions (Brant par. 0049, aggregate check information including CRC or LRC).
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xavier-Brant in further view of Agrawal (US Pat. Pub. 20110238621).
As per claims 2 and 13:
Xavier and Brant teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the computer program product of claim 12.
Xavier and Brant do not explicitly disclose wherein the source validation check is calculated in response to determining that a threshold data transfer size for the set of storage blocks sent from the source device to the target storage device has been reached. However, Agrawal in an analogous art discloses wherein the source validation check is calculated in response to determining that a threshold data transfer size for the set of storage blocks sent from the source device to the target storage device has been reached (Agrawal par. 0051, obtain checksum for a source file in response to a threshold size being reached. Please note obtaining checksums includes calculating checksum as stated in Agrawal par. 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Agrawal’s calculating a checksum in response to a threshold size being reached with the computer-implemented method and computer program product of Xavier-Brant. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it helps balance the expenditure of various resources associated with checksum calculations (Agrawal par. 0059).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xavier-Brant in further view of Talagala et al. (US Pat. Pub. 20030167439; hereinafter referred to as Talagala).
As per claim 8:
Xavier and Brant further teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the error recovery procedure on the storage system (Xavier col. 7 lines 8-11) Xavier and Brant do not explicitly disclose a redundant array of independent disks (RAID) rebuild. However, Talagala in an analogous art discloses a redundant array of independent disks (RAID) rebuild (Talagala par. 0030, when a drive in a RAID 5 array fails, perform reconstruction of data on that drive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Agrawal’s reconstruction of data in a RAID array with the computer-implemented method of Xavier-Brant. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it allows for the identification and correction of corrupted data blocks (Talagala par. 0029).
Conclusion
The additional prior arts made of record and have not been relied upon are
considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure as follows:
Bolkhovitin et al. (US Pat. Pub. 20200042725) discloses transferring a target data block between peer storage devices. Bolkhovitin further discloses comparing a destination verification protection information tag value to a data block protection information tag value from a second storage device.
/JEFFREY ANDREW YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2111
/MARK D FEATHERSTONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2111