DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species A, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 6/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qiu et al. (US 11,450,777).
Regarding claim 1, Qiu discloses a solar cell (see Figure 1), comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (10) comprising a first region (30) and a second region (40), wherein the first region and the second region are located on a same surface of the semiconductor substrate (see Figure 1);
a P-type doped polysilicon layer (30; C2/L22-25), formed at least on the first region (see Figure 1); and
an N-type doped polysilicon layer (40; C2/L22-25), formed at least on the second region (see Figure 1),
wherein at least a portion of the N-type doped polysilicon layer is spaced apart from at least a portion of the P- type doped polysilicon layer (see Figure 1),
wherein a ratio of a refractive index of the N-type doped polysilicon layer to a refractive index of the P-type doped polysilicon layer is greater than or equal to 0.9 and less than or equal to 1.1 (it is disclosed the refractive index of polycrystalline silicon is 3.93 (C12/L45-57), such that the two doped layers are both polysilicon layers (C10/L2-6) and would have a ratio of 1 for the refractive index).
Regarding claim 2, Qiu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses an absolute value of a difference between the refractive index of the P-type doped polysilicon layer and the refractive index of the N-type doped polysilicon layer is less than or equal to 0.1 (the refractive index would be the same, so the difference would be 0).
Regarding claim 7, Qiu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the solar cell further comprises:
a first tunneling passivation layer (20; C8/L45-55) between the P-type doped polysilicon layer and the semiconductor substrate (see Figure 1); and
a second tunneling passivation layer (20; C8/L45-55), wherein at least a portion of the second tunneling passivation layer is between the N-type doped polysilicon layer and the semiconductor substrate (see Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (US 11,450,777) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 118676224; see English language equivalent US 2025/038053).
Regarding claim 5, Qiu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the solar cell further comprises positive electrodes that are in contact with the P-type doped polysilicon layer (60) and negative electrodes that are in contact with the N-type doped polysilicon layer (60), but the reference does not expressly disclose wherein along a thickness direction of the semiconductor substrate, a depth by which at least a part of the positive electrodes extend into the P-type doped polysilicon layer is greater than or equal to a depth by which at least a part of the negative electrodes extend into the N- type doped polysilicon layer.
Zhang discloses a rear contact solar cell (see Figure 5), wherein along a thickness direction of the semiconductor substrate, a depth by which at least a part of the positive electrodes extend into the P-type doped polysilicon layer is between 0.05 µm to 2 µm ([0074]) and a depth by which at least a part of the negative electrodes extend into the N- type doped polysilicon layer is between 0.05 µm to 2 µm ([0081]).
As Qiu is not limited to any specific examples of the depth of the electrode extension into the doped polysilicon layers and as a suitable depth for electrodes being 0.05 0.05 µm to 2 µm was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Zhang above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a suitable depth, including a depth between 0.05 µm to 2 µm in the device of Qiu. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result, and because the depth would enhance the metallization region to have a large surface area ratio, so that the performance of metal contact between the doped conductive layer and the electrode can be improved while recombination on the surface of the metallization region is suppressed ([0075]).
It is noted that absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected from the finite number of identified, predictable solutions disclosed above, where the depths by which at least a part of the positive and negative electrodes extend into the doped polysilicon layer are equal in the device of modified Qiu, such that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 6, Qiu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the solar cell further comprises positive electrodes that are in contact with the P-type doped polysilicon layer (60) and negative electrodes that are in contact with the N-type doped polysilicon layer (60), but the reference does not expressly disclose wherein, along a thickness direction of the semiconductor substrate:
a depth by which at least a part of the positive electrodes extend into the P-type doped polysilicon layer is greater than or equal to 80 nm and less than or equal to 100 nm; and
a depth by which at least a part of the negative electrodes extend into the N-type doped polysilicon layer is greater than or equal to 50 nm and less than or equal to 80 nm.
Zhang discloses a rear contact solar cell (see Figure 5), wherein along a thickness direction of the semiconductor substrate, a depth by which at least a part of the positive electrodes extend into the P-type doped polysilicon layer is between 0.05 µm to 2 µm ([0074]) and a depth by which at least a part of the negative electrodes extend into the N- type doped polysilicon layer is between 0.05 µm to 2 µm ([0081]).
As Qiu is not limited to any specific examples of the depth of the electrode extension into the doped polysilicon layers and as a suitable depth for electrodes being 0.05 0.05 µm to 2 µm was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Zhang above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a suitable depth, including a depth between 0.05 µm to 2 µm in the device of Qiu. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result, and because the depth would enhance the metallization region to have a large surface area ratio, so that the performance of metal contact between the doped conductive layer and the electrode can be improved while recombination on the surface of the metallization region is suppressed ([0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
While Zhao et al. (CN 117594669; see English machine translation) discloses having a larger density in the doped silicon layer (103) would lower the possibility that the electrode (104) penetrates through the doped conductive layer (102) to be in contact with the substrate and the mobility of carriers in the doped silicon layer can be enhanced, the reference does not expressly disclose an extinction coefficient (or density or refractive index) of the N-type doped polysilicon layer is greater than an extinction coefficient (or density or refractive index) of the P-type doped polysilicon layer.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA CHERN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722