DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the abstract and paragraphs [0006], [0007], [0008], [0015], [0026], [0066], [0067], [0071], [0072], [0076], [0081], [0084], [0085], [0086], [0090], [0091], [0107], [0111], [0117], and [0118] describe respective portions and layers “arranged in” regions, however, the description of the respective portions and layers “arranged in” respective regions is not consistent with the depictions of the figures of the as-filed specification, as well as the description in paragraphs [0003], [0007], [0010], [0012], [0013], [0016], [0017], [0019], [0021], [0041], [0062], [0067], [0069], [0070], [0072], [0075], [0082], [0086], [0091], [0096], [0097], [0105], [0110], [0118], [0123], and the limitations of the claims which require the respective portions and layers to be “arranged on” the respective regions.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, lines 6 through 8 of claim 7 recite “wherein in the isolation region, the second doped semiconductor portion and the first doped semiconductor portion are spaced apart along a thickness direction of the semiconductor substrate,” however, the manner in which the respective portions are in the isolation region is unclear because line 4 of claim 7 recites “wherein the first doped semiconductor portion is further arranged on the isolation region.”
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, lines 5 through 10 of claim 16 recite “forming a first doped semiconductor material that is entirely arranged on the first surface; selectively removing a part of the first doped semiconductor material corresponding to the minority carrier regions, to form a part of the first doped semiconductor material remaining in the majority carrier regions and the isolation region into the first doped semiconductor portion, and to form a part of the first doped semiconductor material remaining in the non-electrode collecting region into the majority carrier passivation layer,” however, the manner in which a material, formed on a surface which contains regions, can remain in the respective regions claimed is unclear. For the purpose of this office action, the claim will be treated as if it requires the material to remain on the respective regions rather than in the respective regions. Similarly, lines 11-18 of claim 16 recite “forming a second doped semiconductor material that is entirely arranged on the minority carrier regions, the first doped semiconductor portion, and the majority carrier passivation layer; selectively removing a part of the second doped semiconductor material corresponding to the majority carrier regions, to form a part of the second doped semiconductor material remaining in the minority carrier regions and the isolation region into the second doped semiconductor portion, and to form a part of the second doped semiconductor material remaining in the non-electrode collecting region into at least a part of a hydrogen-containing passivation layer passivation layer,” however, the manner in which a material, formed on a surface which contains regions, can remain in the respective regions claimed is unclear. For the purpose of this office action, the claim will be treated as if it requires the material to remain on the respective regions rather than in the respective regions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 20130089052 A – see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a back contact solar cell ([0001]) comprising: a semiconductor substrate ([0021], substrate 301), wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (bottom surface of 301 in Fig. 3 is a first surface), wherein the first surface comprises: a non-electrode collecting region located at edges of the first surface (region of bottom surface of 301 in Figures 3 and 4 under 305); and an electrode collecting region located on an inner side of the non-electrode collecting region, wherein the electrode collecting region comprises minority carrier regions and majority carrier regions distributed alternately and at intervals along a first direction (regions of bottom surface of 301 in Figure 4 under 302 and 303 along a first direction as depicted in annotated Fig. 4 below), wherein along the first direction: outermost minority carrier regions located on two sides (regions of bottom surface of 301 under outermost portions of 302 depicted in annotated Fig. 4 below) are closer to the non-electrode region (region of bottom surface of 301 in Figure 4 under 305) than an outermost majority carrier region (region of bottom surface of 301 under outermost portions of 303 depicted in annotated Fig. 4 below); and the outermost minority carrier regions located on the two sides are adjacent to the non-electrode region (regions of bottom surface of 301 under outermost portions of 302 depicted in annotated Fig. 4 below in relation to region of bottom surface of 301 under 305; it is noted that the limitation “adjacent” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components); a first doped semiconductor portion, arranged on the majority carrier regions (303 in Figures 3 and 4 arranged on regions of bottom surface of 301); first electrodes arranged on the majority carrier regions ([0020] and [0022] disclose a rear electrode type solar cell with a busbar doping layer); a second doped semiconductor portion, arranged on the minority carrier regions (302 in Figures 3 and 4 arranged on regions of bottom surface of 301), wherein a conductivity type of the second doped semiconductor portion is opposite to a conductivity type of the first doped semiconductor portion (302 and 303 in Figures 3 and 4 have opposite conductivity types); second electrodes arranged on the minority carrier regions ([0020] and [0022] disclose a rear electrode type solar cell with a busbar doping layer); and a majority carrier passivation layer arranged on the non-electrode collecting region (305 in Figures 3 and 4 arranged on the underlying region of the bottom surface of 301), wherein the majority carrier passivation layer is insulated from the first electrodes and the second electrodes (305 in relation to 302 and 303 in Fig. 5), wherein a thickness of the majority carrier passivation layer is greater than a thickness of the second doped portion ([0031]; thickness of 305 in relation to thickness of 302 in Fig. 3), wherein a conductivity type of the majority carrier passivation layer is the same as the conductivity type of the first doped semiconductor portion (conductivity type of 305 in relation to conductivity type of 303 in Fig. 3), and wherein the majority carrier passivation layer comprises a third doped semiconductor portion arranged on the non-electrode collecting region ([0025]; 305 on underlying region of bottom surface of 301 in Figures 3 and 4).
[AltContent: textbox (outermost portions of 303 along first direction)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first direction)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: textbox (outermost portions of 302 along first direction)]
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses along the first direction, a width of the non-electrode collecting region is less than a width of a minority carrier region (width of a bottom surface of 301 under 305 in relation to a width of a bottom surface of 301 under 302 in annotated Fig. 4 above).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses in the first surface, the non-electrode region is arranged on an outer side of the electrode collecting region along a second direction different from the first direction (a region of the bottom surface of 301 under 305 in annotated Fig. 4 above is arranged on an outer side of regions of the bottom surface of 301 under 302 and 303 along a direction perpendicular to the depicted first direction).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses a material of the third doped semiconductor portion is the same as a material of the first doped semiconductor portion ([0021]; both portions are formed of crystalline silicon).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses all the claim limitations set forth above. Lee further discloses a surface of a minority carrier region is a textured surface (it is noted that the claim limitation “textured” does not specify a specific roughness or degree of texturization, therefore, the texture that necessarily exists, at least to a degree, in the surface of the substrate of Lee satisfies the limitation “textured surface”).
It is further noted that the limitations “polished” and “textured” are directed to the manner in which the device is made, and said limitations are not given patentable weight in the product claims. Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses a conductivity type of the majority carrier passivation layer is an n type (305 in Fig. 3) and the conductivity type of the second doped semiconductor portion is a p type (302 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses the back contact solar cell further comprises a first interface passivation layer, wherein the first interface passivation layer is arranged between the semiconductor substrate and the first doped semiconductor portion ([0030] discloses a eutectic or silicide layer formed near the substrate interface).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses the back contact solar cell comprises first and second interface passivation layers ([0030] discloses a eutectic or silicide layer formed near the substrate interface), wherein the first interface passivation layer and the first doped semiconductor portion form a first passivation contact structure, and the second interface passivation layer and the second doped semiconductor portion form a second passivation contact structure (the structure formed by the eutectic or silicide layer and 302 and 303, respectively, satisfy the limitation “passivation contact structure”), and wherein the first passivation contact structure is a tunneling passivation contact structure (the disclosed structure including the eutectic or silicide layer and the first doped semiconductor portion is capable of tunneling, at least to an extent, and therefore satisfies the limitation “tunneling passivation contact structure”).
Additionally, though not required by claim 12, it is noted that Lee discloses a passivated contact type of the first passivation contact structure is different from a passivated contact type of the second passivation contact structure (302 and 303 in Fig. 3 are opposite conductivity types, and therefore contact different dopants and eutectic/silicide layers). Lee further discloses the second passivation contact structure is a heterogeneous contact structure (the eutectic or silicide layer is heterogeneous; the eutectic or silicide layer and the material of the second doped semiconductor portion are different which satisfies the limitation “heterogeneous contact structure”).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses a photovoltaic module comprising a back contact solar cell ([0001]) that comprises: a semiconductor substrate ([0021], substrate 301), wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (bottom surface of 301 in Fig. 3 is a first surface), wherein the first surface comprises: a non-electrode collecting region located at edges of the first surface (region of bottom surface of 301 in Figures 3 and 4 under 305); and an electrode collecting region located on an inner side of the non-electrode collecting region, wherein the electrode collecting region comprises minority carrier regions and majority carrier regions distributed alternately and at intervals along a first direction (regions of bottom surface of 301 in Figure 4 under 302 and 303 along a first direction as depicted in annotated Fig. 4 above), wherein along the first direction: outermost minority carrier regions located on two sides (regions of bottom surface of 301 under outermost portions of 302 depicted in annotated Fig. 4 above) are closer to the non-electrode region (region of bottom surface of 301 in Figure 4 under 305) than an outermost majority carrier region (region of bottom surface of 301 under outermost portions of 303 depicted in annotated Fig. 4 above); and the outermost minority carrier regions located on the two sides are adjacent to the non-electrode region (regions of bottom surface of 301 under outermost portions of 302 depicted in annotated Fig. 4 above in relation to region of bottom surface of 301 under 305; it is noted that the limitation “adjacent” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components); a first doped semiconductor portion, arranged on the majority carrier regions (303 in Figures 3 and 4 arranged on regions of bottom surface of 301); first electrodes arranged on the majority carrier regions ([0020] and [0022] disclose a rear electrode type solar cell with a busbar doping layer); a second doped semiconductor portion, arranged on the minority carrier regions (302 in Figures 3 and 4 arranged on regions of bottom surface of 301), wherein a conductivity type of the second doped semiconductor portion is opposite to a conductivity type of the first doped semiconductor portion (302 and 303 in Figures 3 and 4 have opposite conductivity types); second electrodes arranged on the minority carrier regions ([0020] and [0022] disclose a rear electrode type solar cell with a busbar doping layer); and a majority carrier passivation layer arranged on the non-electrode collecting region (305 in Figures 3 and 4 arranged on the underlying region of the bottom surface of 301), wherein the majority carrier passivation layer is insulated from the first electrodes and the second electrodes (305 in relation to 302 and 303 in Fig. 5), wherein a thickness of the majority carrier passivation layer is greater than a thickness of the second doped portion ([0031]; thickness of 305 in relation to thickness of 302 in Fig. 3), wherein a conductivity type of the majority carrier passivation layer is the same as the conductivity type of the first doped semiconductor portion (conductivity type of 305 in relation to conductivity type of 303 in Fig. 3), and wherein the majority carrier passivation layer comprises a third doped semiconductor portion arranged on the non-electrode collecting region ([0025]; 305 on underlying region of bottom surface of 301 in Figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses a manufacturing method of a back contact solar cell ([0001]) comprising: providing a semiconductor substrate ([0021], substrate 301), wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (bottom surface of 301 in Fig. 3 is a first surface), wherein the first surface comprises: a non-electrode collecting region located at edges of the first surface (region of bottom surface of 301 in Figures 3 and 4 under 305); and an electrode collecting region located on an inner side of the non-electrode collecting region, wherein the electrode collecting region comprises minority carrier regions and majority carrier regions distributed alternately and at intervals along a first direction (regions of bottom surface of 301 in Figure 4 under 302 and 303 along a first direction as depicted in annotated Fig. 4 above), wherein along the first direction: outermost minority carrier regions located on two sides (regions of bottom surface of 301 under outermost portions of 302 depicted in annotated Fig. 4 above) are closer to the non-electrode region (region of bottom surface of 301 in Figure 4 under 305) than an outermost majority carrier region (region of bottom surface of 301 under outermost portions of 303 depicted in annotated Fig. 4 above); and the outermost minority carrier regions located on the two sides are adjacent to the non-electrode region (regions of bottom surface of 301 under outermost portions of 302 depicted in annotated Fig. 4 above in relation to region of bottom surface of 301 under 305; it is noted that the limitation “adjacent” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components); forming a first doped semiconductor portion on the majority carrier regions (303 in Figures 3 and 4 arranged on regions of bottom surface of 301); forming first electrodes on the majority carrier regions ([0020] and [0022] disclose a rear electrode type solar cell with a busbar doping layer); forming a second doped semiconductor portion on the minority carrier regions (302 in Figures 3 and 4 arranged on regions of bottom surface of 301), wherein a conductivity type of the second doped semiconductor portion is opposite to a conductivity type of the first doped semiconductor portion (302 and 303 in Figures 3 and 4 have opposite conductivity types); forming second electrodes on the minority carrier regions ([0020] and [0022] disclose a rear electrode type solar cell with a busbar doping layer); and forming a majority carrier passivation layer on the non-electrode collecting region (305 in Figures 3 and 4 arranged on the underlying region of the bottom surface of 301), wherein the majority carrier passivation layer is insulated from the first electrodes and the second electrodes (305 in relation to 302 and 303 in Fig. 5), wherein a thickness of the majority carrier passivation layer is greater than a thickness of the second doped portion ([0031]; thickness of 305 in relation to thickness of 302 in Fig. 3), wherein a conductivity type of the majority carrier passivation layer is the same as the conductivity type of the first doped semiconductor portion (conductivity type of 305 in relation to conductivity type of 303 in Fig. 3), and wherein the majority carrier passivation layer comprises a third doped semiconductor portion arranged on the non-electrode collecting region ([0025]; 305 on underlying region of bottom surface of 301 in Figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses the first surface comprises an isolation region between the non-electrode collecting region and the electrode collecting region (region of 301 under 302, 303 in relation to region of 301 under 305 in Figures 3 and 4), and wherein the majority carrier passivation layer is insulated from the first and second electrodes by the isolation region (305 in relation to 302 and 303 in Figures 3 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20130089052 A – see attached machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Goto et al. (US 2013/0180585 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Lee does not explicitly disclose the back contact solar cell further comprises a
hydrogen-containing passivation layer, wherein the hydrogen-containing passivation layer is arranged on a side of the majority carrier passivation layer facing away from the semiconductor substrate.
Goto discloses a back contact solar cell ([0003]) and further discloses a hydrogen-containing passivation layer arranged on a backside of the semiconductor substrate ([0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form a hydrogen-containing passivation layer, as disclosed by Goto, on the back surface of the solar cell of Lee, because as evidenced by Goto, the formation of a passivation layer on the rear surface of a back contact solar cell amounts to the use of a known material in the art for its intended purpose to achieve an expected result, and one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when including a passivation layer on the rear surface of the back contact solar cell of Lee based on the teaching of Goto. It is noted that Goto teaches hydrogen improves passivation properties ([0049]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Lee further discloses at least a part of the hydrogen-containing passivation layer and the second doped semiconductor portion are integrally continuous (modified Lee discloses a hydrogen-containing passivation layer on the rear side of the back contact solar cell as set forth above; it is noted that the limitation “integrally continuous” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20130089052 A – see attached machine translation) as applied to claim 14 above.
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While Lee does not explicitly disclose the first semiconductor portion and the majority carrier passivation layer are formed simultaneously, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the first semiconductor portion and the majority carrier passivation layer of Lee simultaneously because selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results; In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930). MPEP 2144.04 IV C.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726