DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species 2 (Figs. 4A-4C and 6) in the reply filed on March 30, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “no serious search and/or examination burden exists”. This is not found persuasive because the mutually exclusive features of the species (as noted in the original restriction requirement) require at least a different text search due to their different shapes and/or features. Furthermore, even if the search were the same, it would be a burden to review every reference for all embodiments instead of just the elected embodiment. Prior art applicable to the “offset” footprint would not likely be applicable to a “stacked-with-wings” configuration.
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 12 and 15 – 20 read on the elected species. Claims 5, 13 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
All instances of phrase “control element” should read --contact element --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 – 4, 6 – 12 and 15 – 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of claims 2 – 4, 6 – 12 and 15 – 20, line 1: “Electric pump” should read --The electric pump--.
In each of claims 11 and 19, line 2: “shape” should read --shape.--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2017/0063281 – herein after Zhang) in view of Lin et al. (CN 208190467U – herein after Lin).
In reference to claim 1, Zhang teaches an electric pump (100; see fig. 1 and ¶17) for automobile comprising:
a driving device (stator assembly 114+ rotor assembly 113) having a rotor (113) rotatable about an axis X (↨ axis in view of fig. 1) and a stator (114);
a pump device (impeller; as evident from fig. 1) is being driven by the driving device;
a control substrate (controller 115) having a drive circuit (inherent feature) for controlling the driving device (114+113);
a housing (111+112+118) accommodating at least the driving device (114+113), the control substrate (115) and the pump device (impeller).
Zhang remains silent on the electric pump: wherein the control substrate has “a grounding lead”; “a contact element made of one conductor”; and “the housing being formed at least of a conductive material; wherein the contact element electrically connecting the stator, the grounding lead of the control substrate and the conductive material of the housing”.
However, Lin teaches a driving device, comprising (see figs. 1-4): a stator (1); a contact element (4) made of one conductor (see fig. 1 and ¶30 of translation); a control substrate (6) having a grounding lead (“grounding terminal”; see ¶33 of translation: “..the contact portion 42 of the grounding component 4 may be connected to the circuit board 6, that is, the contact portion 42 of the grounding component 4 may be connected to the grounding terminal of the circuit board 6 by means of welding or other methods, so that a grounding is formed between the grounding component 4 and the circuit board 6..”); and a housing (5+7) accommodating the stator, the contact element and the control substrate (as evident from fig. 3); the housing being formed at least of a conductive material [see ¶34 of translation: component 7 of the asserted housing being made from metal (a conductive material)]; wherein (as evident from disclosure in ¶33-¶35 of translation) the contact element (4) electrically connecting the stator (1), the grounding lead of the control substrate (1) and the conductive material of the housing (7).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electric pump of Zhang such that the housing is formed at least of a conductive material, the control substrate is provided with a grounding lead and a contact element made of one conductor electrically connects the stator, the grounding lead of the control substrate and the conductive material of the housing as taught by Lin for the purpose of reducing the generation of shaft voltage and electromagnetic interference, as recognized by Lin (see ¶35 of translation).
In reference to claim 6, Zhang, as modified, teaches the electric pump according to claim 1, wherein the control substrate (modified Zhang’s controller 115) having a grounding pattern (inherent feature in view of Lin’s disclosure in ¶33 of translation) connecting with the grounding lead of the control substrate [in the context of PCB or control board, a terminal cannot exist in isolation; it is inherently part of a conductive “grounding pattern” (such as ground plate or traces) etched onto the board to manage current return paths and interference].
In reference to claim 7, Zhang, as modified, teaches the electric pump according to claim 1, wherein the housing (modified Zhang’s housing 111+112+118) has a housing body made of at least partially of insulating material [Zhang’s component 112 is considered to made of at least partially of insulating material in view of Lin’s disclosure (see ¶33 of translation); Lin identifies “plastic-encapsulated motor” and further states that the outer casing is “injection molded” onto the stator and windings; the term “plastic-encapsulated” inherently denotes the use of a plastic material, which is well-known to be an insulating material; Lin’s injection molded outer casing 5 (insulating) is equivalent to Zhang’s component 112 in the modified pump] and a cover body made at least partially of the conductive material [Zhang’s component 118 is considered to made of at least partially of the conductive material in view of Lin’s disclosure (see ¶34 of translation); Lin’s metal cap 7 (conductive) is equivalent to Zhang’s component 118 in the modified pump].
In reference to claim 9, Zhang, as modified, teaches the electric pump according to claim 1, wherein the electrical connection between the grounding lead and the contact element is a soldering or a mechanical contact [see Lin’s ¶33 of translation: “the contact portion 42 of the grounding component 4 may be connected to the grounding terminal of the circuit board 6 by means of welding or other methods”].
In reference to claim 10, Zhang, as modified, teaches the electric pump according to claim 1, wherein the contact element and the stator are being connected by welding [see Lin’s ¶29 of translation: “the connecting part 41 of the grounding component 4 can be connected to the edge of the stator core 1 by means of welding, riveting or screw fastening”].
In reference to claim 12, Zhang, as modified, teaches the electric pump according to claim 1, wherein the stator (1; see Lin’s figs. 3-4) having at least one pin (“pin” defined by two protrusions that defines recess for receiving component 432 of the contact element 4) for electrically connecting with the contact element (4).
Claims 2, 4, 11 and 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lin and further in view of Chan et al. (US 6,224,396 – herein after Chan).
In reference to claim 2, Zhang, as modified, remains silent on the electric pump according to claim 1, wherein the contact element has a first base extending at least partially in a plane P1 connecting the stator electrically, a second base extending at least partially in a plane P2 connecting the grounding lead of the control substrate electrically and a third base extending at least partially in a plane P3 connecting with the conductive material of the housing electrically, the planes P1, P2 and P3 are parallel with each other.
However, Chan teaches a contact element (interposer 750, see fig. 7E and col. 11, lines 50-65) for connecting circuit members, wherein the contact element (750) has a first base (end portion 760) extending at least partially in a plane P1, a second base (midsection 754) extending at least partially in a plane P2 and a third base (end portion 765) extending at least partially in a plane P3, the planes P1, P2 and P3 are parallel with each other (planes “P1”, “P2” and “P3” being in horizontal & into and out of page direction in view of fig. 7E).
Lin states (see ¶30 of translation) “The shape and structure of the grounding member 4 are not limited. For example, it can be a sheet, a column or other shapes”. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of Lin’s contact element in the modified electric pump of Zhang using the teaching of Chan such that the contact element has a first base extending at least partially in a plane P1 connecting the stator electrically, a second base extending at least partially in a plane P2 connecting the grounding lead of the control substrate electrically and a third base extending at least partially in a plane P3 connecting with the conductive material of the housing electrically, the planes P1, P2 and P3 are parallel with each other as a matter of design choice since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of the component (as recognized by Chan above). Further, applicant states (see ¶69 of pg. pub of the instant application) that the contact element 20 “..may have any shape within the scope of the invention provided that it forms an integral grounding path by making the electrical connection with the stator 11, the grounding lead of the control substrate 30 and the conductive material of the housing 111 for providing the electrical connection for the EMC and the ESD path”, thus placing no criticality for the claimed shape of the contact element having three bases in parallel relationship.
In reference to claim 4, Zhang, as modified, teaches the electric pump according to claim 2, wherein (see fig. 7E of Chan) at least parts of the first base (760), the second base (754) and the third base (765) are one above the other.
In reference to claim 11, Zhang, as modified, remains silent on the electric pump according to claim 2, wherein the contact element having a double Z or S shape (“double Z or S shape” = shape with three parallel contact bases vertically offset from one another, wherein the intermediate or connection elements joining the bases extend substantially perpendicular or diagonally to the planes of those bases to form two consecutive “Z” or “S” shapes).
However, Chan teaches (col. 11, lines 65-67 and col. 12, lines 1-3) “Similarly, the interposer of the present invention may comprise a connecting element between the ends that has a midsection angled to a degree somewhere between diagonal and horizontal (parallel to one or both end portions), tailored to provide a desired amount of x-axis translation”. As evident from fig. 7E, there is one connecting element 756 between bottom base 760 and middle base 754 and another connecting element between middle base 754 and top base 760.
Lin states (see ¶30 of translation) “The shape and structure of the grounding member 4 are not limited. For example, it can be a sheet, a column or other shapes”. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of Lin’s contact element in the modified electric pump of Zhang for a double Z or S shape using the teaching of Chan as a matter of design choice since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of the component (as recognized by Chan above). Further, applicant states (see ¶69 of pg. pub of the instant application) that the contact element 20 “..may have any shape within the scope of the invention provided that it forms an integral grounding path by making the electrical connection with the stator 11, the grounding lead of the control substrate 30 and the conductive material of the housing 111 for providing the electrical connection for the EMC and the ESD path”, thus placing no criticality for the claimed double Z or S shape.
In reference to claim 15, Zhang, as modified, teaches the electric pump according to claim 2, wherein the control substrate (modified Zhang’s controller 115) having a grounding pattern (inherent feature in view of Lin’s disclosure in ¶33 of translation) connecting with the grounding lead of the control substrate [in the context of PCB or control board, a terminal cannot exist in isolation; it is inherently part of a conductive “grounding pattern” (such as ground plate or traces) etched onto the board to manage current return paths and interference].
In reference to claim 16, Zhang, as modified, teaches the electric pump according to claim 2, wherein the housing (modified Zhang’s housing 111+112+118) has a housing body made of at least partially of insulating material [Zhang’s component 112 is considered to made of at least partially of insulating material in view of Lin’s disclosure (see ¶33 of translation); Lin identifies “plastic-encapsulated motor” and further states that the outer casing is “injection molded” onto the stator and windings; the term “plastic-encapsulated” inherently denotes the use of a plastic material, which is well-known to be an insulating material; Lin’s injection molded outer casing 5 (insulating) is equivalent to Zhang’s component 112 in the modified pump] and a cover body made at least partially of the conductive material [Zhang’s component 118 is considered to made of at least partially of the conductive material in view of Lin’s disclosure (see ¶34 of translation); Lin’s metal cap 7 (conductive) is equivalent to Zhang’s component 118 in the modified pump].
In reference to claim 17, Zhang, as modified, teaches the electric pump according to claim 2, wherein the electrical connection between the grounding lead and the contact element is a soldering or a mechanical contact [see Lin’s ¶33 of translation: “the contact portion 42 of the grounding component 4 may be connected to the grounding terminal of the circuit board 6 by means of welding or other methods”].
In reference to claim 18, Zhang, as modified, teaches the electric pump according to claim 2, wherein the contact element and the stator are being connected by welding [see Lin’s ¶29 of translation: “the connecting part 41 of the grounding component 4 can be connected to the edge of the stator core 1 by means of welding, riveting or screw fastening”].
In reference to claim 19, Zhang, as modified, remains silent on the electric pump according to claim 3, wherein the contact element having a double Z or S shape (“double Z or S shape” = shape with three parallel contact bases vertically offset from one another, wherein the intermediate or connection elements joining the bases extend substantially perpendicular or diagonally to the planes of those bases to form two consecutive “Z” or “S” shapes).
However, Chan teaches (col. 11, lines 65-67 and col. 12, lines 1-3) “Similarly, the interposer of the present invention may comprise a connecting element between the ends that has a midsection angled to a degree somewhere between diagonal and horizontal (parallel to one or both end portions), tailored to provide a desired amount of x-axis translation”. As evident from fig. 7E, there is one connecting element 756 between bottom base 760 and middle base 754 and another connecting element between middle base 754 and top base 760.
Lin states (see ¶30 of translation) “The shape and structure of the grounding member 4 are not limited. For example, it can be a sheet, a column or other shapes”. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of Lin’s contact element in the modified electric pump of Zhang for a double Z or S shape using the teaching of Chan as a matter of design choice since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of the component (as recognized by Chan above). Further, applicant states (see ¶69 of pg. pub of the instant application) that the contact element 20 “..may have any shape within the scope of the invention provided that it forms an integral grounding path by making the electrical connection with the stator 11, the grounding lead of the control substrate 30 and the conductive material of the housing 111 for providing the electrical connection for the EMC and the ESD path”, thus placing no criticality for the claimed double Z or S shape.
In reference to claim 20, Zhang, as modified, teaches the electric pump according to claim 2, wherein the stator (1; see Lin’s figs. 3-4) having at least one pin (“pin” defined by two protrusions that defines recess for receiving component 432 of the contact element 4) for electrically connecting with the contact element (4).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lin and further in view of Chan and Yang et al. (US 8,784,146 – herein after Yang).
Zhang, as modified, remains silent on the electric pump according to claim 2, wherein the second base has at least one wing.
However, Yang teaches (see figs. 3-4) a contact terminal (100) for a PCB that includes a terminal member (102) including wings (129), wherein the wings extend from main body or base (121).
In the modified Zhang’s electric pump, Chan’s second base intended for PCB grounding corresponds to Yang’s base. Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the second base in the modified electric pump of Zhang with at least one wing as taught by Yang for the purpose of implementing an improved connection between the second base and PCB. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that adding wings to the second base increases the surface area available for electrical contact or solder joints in order to connect the contact element with the control substrate in the modified electric pump of Zhang by means of welding as required by Lin (see Lin’s ¶33 of translation).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lin and further in view of Lopergolo et al. (US 5,800,184 – herein after Lopergolo).
Zhang, as modified, remains silent on the electric pump according to claim 7, wherein the conductive material of the cover body comprising a cover pin, the cover pin connects the contact element.
However, Lopergolo teaches (see figs. 3-4D) a use of a pin (i.e. projection for making an electrical connection) in the form of solder columns (16, 26) for electrically connecting corresponding object (module 12 or module 14) to corresponding end on contact element (41).
Lin teaches (see ¶34 of translation) that the contact element is in contact with the metal cap 7 (conductive material). It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the conductive material of the cover body (i.e. metal housing portion of the housing) in the modified electric pump of Zhang with a cover pin (solder column) as taught by Lopergolo for the purpose of making a fixed/permanent connection between the top end of the contact element and the cover body.
Conclusion
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746