DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 6, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,599 in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732).
Current application 19/216,974
U.S. Patent No. 12,317,599
2. (New) A semiconductor device comprising:
a pixel comprising a display element and a transistor electrically connected to the display element; and
Claim 1. a pixel comprising a liquid crystal element and a transistor;
a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel,
a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel,
wherein the transistor comprises an oxide semiconductor layer, and
wherein the transistor comprises an oxide semiconductor layer, and
wherein an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1 x 10-12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of -5V or -10CV.
wherein an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V,
Claim 6. A semiconductor device comprising:
Claim 1.
a pixel comprising a display element and a transistor electrically connected to the display element; and
a pixel comprising a liquid crystal element and a transistor;
a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel
a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel,
wherein the transistor comprises an oxide semiconductor layer,
wherein the transistor comprises an oxide semiconductor layer,
wherein an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1 x 10-12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of -5V or -10V, and
an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V,
when a still image is displayed on the pixel, a supply of a start pulse signal to the driver circuit is stopped.
when a still image is displayed on the pixel, a supply of a start pulse signal to the driver circuit is stopped,
Claim 10. A semiconductor device comprising:
Claim 1.
a transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor layer,
the transistor comprises an oxide semiconductor layer,
wherein an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1 x 10-12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of -5V or -10V.
wherein an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V,
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,599 in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732). U.S. Patent No. 12,317,599 does not teach the limitations of “a semiconductor device comprising” and “a display element and a transistor electrically connected to the display element”. Prior art reference of Kim teaches a semiconductor device comprising (the device shown in Fig. 8A is using semiconductor as an active layer. [0003], lines 1-2) and a display element (113) and a transistor (114) electrically connected to the display element (pixel region 113 is connected to the transistor 114).
Therefore it would have been obvious to add the semiconductor and TFT device of Kim to the device of the current application because to improve interfacial characteristics of an active layer and method of manufacturing, [0012], lines 1-3.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,599 in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732). U.S. Patent No. 12,317,599 does not teach the limitations of “a semiconductor device comprising” and “a display element and a transistor electrically connected to the display element”. Prior art reference of Kim teaches a semiconductor device comprising (the device shown in Fig. 8A is using semiconductor as an active layer. [0003], lines 1-2) and a display element (113) and a transistor (114) electrically connected to the display element (pixel region 113 is connected to the transistor 114).
Therefore it would have been obvious to add the semiconductor and TFT device of Kim to the device of the current application because to improve interfacial characteristics of an active layer and method of manufacturing, [0012], lines 1-3.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,317,599 in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732). U.S. Patent No. 12,317,599 does not teach the limitations of “a semiconductor device comprising”. Prior art reference of Kim teaches a semiconductor device comprising (the device shown in Fig. 8A is using semiconductor as an active layer. [0003], lines 1-2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to add the semiconductor and TFT device of Kim to the device of the current application because to improve interfacial characteristics of an active layer and method of manufacturing, [0012], lines 1-3.
Claims 2, 6, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,798,952 in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732).
Current application 19/216,974
U.S. Patent No. 11,798,952
2. (New) A semiconductor device comprising:
Claim 1.
a pixel comprising a display element and a transistor electrically connected to the display element; and
the pixel comprising: a liquid crystal element; and a transistor
a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel,
a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel,
wherein the transistor comprises an oxide semiconductor layer, and
Transistor comprises: an oxide semiconductor layer over the gate insulating film
wherein an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1 x 10-12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of -5V or -10CV.
an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V,
Claim 6. A semiconductor device comprising:
Claim 1.
a pixel comprising a display element and a transistor electrically connected to the display element; and
the pixel comprising: a liquid crystal element; and a transistor
a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel
a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel,
wherein the transistor comprises an oxide semiconductor layer,
Transistor comprises: an oxide semiconductor layer over the gate insulating film
wherein an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1 x 10-12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of -5V or -10V, and
an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V,
when a still image is displayed on the pixel, a supply of a start pulse signal to the driver circuit is stopped.
wherein, when a still image is displayed on the pixel, a supply of a start pulse signal to the driver circuit is stopped.
Claim 10. A semiconductor device comprising:
Claim 1.
a transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor layer,
Transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor layer
wherein an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1 x 10-12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of -5V or -10V.
an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V,
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,798,952 in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732). U.S. Patent No. 11,798,952 does not teach the limitations of “a semiconductor device comprising” and “a display element and a transistor electrically connected to the display element”. Prior art reference of Kim teaches a semiconductor device comprising (the device shown in Fig. 8A is using semiconductor as an active layer. [0003], lines 1-2) and a display element (113) and a transistor (114) electrically connected to the display element (pixel region 113 is connected to the transistor 114).
Therefore it would have been obvious to add the semiconductor and TFT device of Kim to the device of the current application because to improve interfacial characteristics of an active layer and method of manufacturing, [0012], lines 1-3.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,798,952 in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732). U.S. Patent No. 11,798,952 does not teach the limitations of “a semiconductor device comprising” and “a display element and a transistor electrically connected to the display element”. Prior art reference of Kim teaches a semiconductor device comprising (the device shown in Fig. 8A is using semiconductor as an active layer. [0003], lines 1-2) and a display element (113) and a transistor (114) electrically connected to the display element (pixel region 113 is connected to the transistor 114).
Therefore it would have been obvious to add the semiconductor and TFT device of Kim to the device of the current application because to improve interfacial characteristics of an active layer and method of manufacturing, [0012], lines 1-3.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,798,952 in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732). U.S. Patent No. 12,317,599 does not teach the limitations of “a semiconductor device comprising”. Prior art reference of Kim teaches a semiconductor device comprising (the device shown in Fig. 8A is using semiconductor as an active layer. [0003], lines 1-2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to add the semiconductor and TFT device of Kim to the device of the current application because to improve interfacial characteristics of an active layer and method of manufacturing, [0012], lines 1-3.
Claims 2, 6, and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,282,864 in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732).
Current application 19/216,974
U.S. Patent No. 11,282,864
2. (New) A semiconductor device comprising:
Claim 1.
a pixel comprising a display element and a transistor electrically connected to the display element; and
the pixel comprising: a liquid crystal element; and a transistor
a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel,
a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel,
wherein the transistor comprises an oxide semiconductor layer, and
Transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor layer
wherein an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1 x 10-12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of -5V or -10CV.
an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V,
Claim 6. A semiconductor device comprising:
Claim 1.
a pixel comprising a display element and a transistor electrically connected to the display element; and
the pixel comprising: a liquid crystal element; and a transistor
a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel
a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel,
wherein the transistor comprises an oxide semiconductor layer,
Transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor layer
wherein an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1 x 10-12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of -5V or -10V, and
an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V,
when a still image is displayed on the pixel, a supply of a start pulse signal to the driver circuit is stopped.
wherein, when a still image is displayed on the pixel, a supply of a start pulse signal to the driver circuit is stopped.
Claim 10. A semiconductor device comprising:
Claim 1.
a transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor layer,
Transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor layer
wherein an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1 x 10-12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of -5V or -10V.
an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V,
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,798,952 in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732). U.S. Patent No. 11,798,952 does not teach the limitations of “a semiconductor device comprising” and “a display element and a transistor electrically connected to the display element”. Prior art reference of Kim teaches a semiconductor device comprising (the device shown in Fig. 8A is using semiconductor as an active layer. [0003], lines 1-2) and a display element (113) and a transistor (114) electrically connected to the display element (pixel region 113 is connected to the transistor 114).
Therefore it would have been obvious to add the semiconductor and TFT device of Kim to the device of the current application because to improve interfacial characteristics of an active layer and method of manufacturing, [0012], lines 1-3.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,798,952 in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732). U.S. Patent No. 11,798,952 does not teach the limitations of “a semiconductor device comprising” and “a display element and a transistor electrically connected to the display element”. Prior art reference of Kim teaches a semiconductor device comprising (the device shown in Fig. 8A is using semiconductor as an active layer. [0003], lines 1-2) and a display element (113) and a transistor (114) electrically connected to the display element (pixel region 113 is connected to the transistor 114).
Therefore it would have been obvious to add the semiconductor and TFT device of Kim to the device of the current application because to improve interfacial characteristics of an active layer and method of manufacturing, [0012], lines 1-3.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,798,952 in view of Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732). U.S. Patent No. 12,317,599 does not teach the limitations of “a semiconductor device comprising”. Prior art reference of Kim teaches a semiconductor device comprising (the device shown in Fig. 8A is using semiconductor as an active layer. [0003], lines 1-2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to add the semiconductor and TFT device of Kim to the device of the current application because to improve interfacial characteristics of an active layer and method of manufacturing, [0012], lines 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2, 3, 10, and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732) in view of Stockstad (U.S. Patent No. 6,353,363).
As to claim 2, Kim teaches a semiconductor device (the device shown in Fig. 8A is using semiconductor as an active layer. [0003], lines 1-2) comprising:
a pixel (Fig. 7, pixel comprising of elements 113 and 114) comprising a display element (113) and a transistor (114) electrically connected to the display element (pixel region 113 is connected to the transistor 114); and
a driver circuit (234) electrically connected to the pixel (data driver 234 is connected to the pixels 300),
wherein the transistor comprises an oxide semiconductor layer ([0016], lines 1-6), and
Kim does not mention the off-state current value based on drain voltage and gate voltage values.
Stockstad teaches an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V.(as can be seen in column 2, equation (2), The equation reads as the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V. with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.026V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.026
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.026 = 0.052V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.052
=
e
x
p
(
-
96.15
)
≈
1.2
×
10
-
42
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
1.2
×
10
-
42
=
1.2
×
10
-
50
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, the equation 2 with the given criteria for Vg and Vd voltages and the reasonable values inputted results in a current that is below the expected current value and fulfils the criteria for the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the transistor equation of Stockstad to the device of Kim because to output an essentially symmetrical output voltage, col. 2, lines 4-7.
As to claim 3, Kim teaches the oxide semiconductor layer is an In—O based oxide semiconductor layer ([0037], lines 6-9).
As to claim 10, Kim teaches a semiconductor device (the device shown in Fig. 8A is using semiconductor as an active layer. [0003], lines 1-2) comprising: a transistor (114) comprising an oxide semiconductor layer ([0016], lines 1-6),
Kim does not mention the off-state current value based on drain voltage and gate voltage values.
Stockstad teaches an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V.(as can be seen in column 2, equation (2), The equation reads as the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V. with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.026V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.026
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.026 = 0.052V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.052
=
e
x
p
(
-
96.15
)
≈
1.2
×
10
-
42
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
1.2
×
10
-
42
=
1.2
×
10
-
50
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, the equation 2 with the given criteria for Vg and Vd voltages and the reasonable values inputted results in a current that is below the expected current value and fulfils the criteria for the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the transistor equation of Stockstad to the device of Kim because to output an essentially symmetrical output voltage, col. 2, lines 4-7.
As to claim 11, Kim teaches the oxide semiconductor layer is an In—O based oxide semiconductor layer ([0037], lines 6-9).
Claims 4, 5, 12, and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732) in view of Stockstad (U.S. Patent No. 6,353,363), and further in view of Kuhn (Kuhn, Kenneth A., “diode characteristics,” Oct. 3, 2007 (rev. Sept 3, 2009), available at: https://www.kennethkuhn.com/ (accessed Jan 15, 2026), at Eq. 1 and accompanying text (“Forward current versus voltages”).
As to claim 4, Kim teaches the semiconductor of claim 4,
Kim does not mention the off-state current value based on drain voltage and gate voltage values.
Stockstad teaches an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V.(as can be seen in column 2, equation (2), The equation reads as the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V. with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.026V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.026
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.026 = 0.052V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.052
=
e
x
p
(
-
96.15
)
≈
1.2
×
10
-
42
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
1.2
×
10
-
42
=
1.2
×
10
-
50
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, the equation 2 with the given criteria for Vg and Vd voltages and the reasonable values inputted results in a current that is below the expected current value and fulfils the criteria for the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the transistor equation of Stockstad to the device of Kim because to output an essentially symmetrical output voltage, col. 2, lines 4-7.
Kim and Stockstad do not teach the 25 degree Celsius affecting the current,
Kuhn teaches a 25 degree Celsius (on page 1 the author mentions the thermal voltage equation
V
T
=
k
×
T
q
, wherein T is the temperature in kelvin, therefore T= 298 Kelvin. Putting this value in the equation of Stockstad we get the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V.
V
T
=
k
×
T
q
=
1.3806
×
10
-
23
×
298
1.602
×
10
-
19
=
0.0257
V
with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.0257V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.0257
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.0257 = 0.0514V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.0514
=
e
x
p
(
-
97.3
)
≈
5
×
10
-
43
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
5
×
10
-
43
=
5
×
10
-
51
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art a the time the invention was filed to have added the thermal voltage of Kuhn to the device of Kim as modified by Stockstad because the current should decrease as the temperature increases, page 1, 6th paragraph.
As to claim 5, Kim teaches the semiconductor of claim 4,
Kim does not mention the off-state current value based on drain voltage and gate voltage values.
Stockstad teaches an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V.(as can be seen in column 2, equation (2), The equation reads as the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V. with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.026V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.026
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.026 = 0.052V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.052
=
e
x
p
(
-
96.15
)
≈
1.2
×
10
-
42
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
1.2
×
10
-
42
=
1.2
×
10
-
50
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, the equation 2 with the given criteria for Vg and Vd voltages and the reasonable values inputted results in a current that is below the expected current value and fulfils the criteria for the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the transistor equation of Stockstad to the device of Kim because to output an essentially symmetrical output voltage, col. 2, lines 4-7.
Kim and Stockstad do not teach the 80 degree Celsius affecting the current,
Kuhn teaches a 80 degree Celsius (on page 1 the author mentions the thermal voltage equation
V
T
=
k
×
T
q
, wherein T is the temperature in kelvin, therefore T= 298 Kelvin. Putting this value in the equation of Stockstad we get the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V.
V
T
=
k
×
T
q
=
1.3806
×
10
-
23
×
353.15
1.602
×
10
-
19
=
0.0304
V
with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.0304V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.0304
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.0304 = 0.0608V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.0608
=
e
x
p
(
-
82.2
)
≈
2
×
10
-
36
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
2
×
10
-
36
=
2
×
10
-
44
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art a the time the invention was filed to have added the thermal voltage of Kuhn to the device of Kim as modified by Stockstad because the current should decrease as the temperature increases, page 1, 6th paragraph.
As to claim 12, Kim teaches the semiconductor of claim 10,
Kim does not mention the off-state current value based on drain voltage and gate voltage values.
Stockstad teaches an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V.(as can be seen in column 2, equation (2), The equation reads as the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V. with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.026V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.026
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.026 = 0.052V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.052
=
e
x
p
(
-
96.15
)
≈
1.2
×
10
-
42
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
1.2
×
10
-
42
=
1.2
×
10
-
50
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, the equation 2 with the given criteria for Vg and Vd voltages and the reasonable values inputted results in a current that is below the expected current value and fulfils the criteria for the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the transistor equation of Stockstad to the device of Kim because to output an essentially symmetrical output voltage, col. 2, lines 4-7.
Kim and Stockstad do not teach the 25 degree Celsius affecting the current,
Kuhn teaches a 25 degree Celsius (on page 1 the author mentions the thermal voltage equation
V
T
=
k
×
T
q
, wherein T is the temperature in kelvin, therefore T= 298 Kelvin. Putting this value in the equation of Stockstad we get the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V.
V
T
=
k
×
T
q
=
1.3806
×
10
-
23
×
298
1.602
×
10
-
19
=
0.0257
V
with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.0257V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.0257
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.0257 = 0.0514V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.0514
=
e
x
p
(
-
97.3
)
≈
5
×
10
-
43
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
5
×
10
-
43
=
5
×
10
-
51
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art a the time the invention was filed to have added the thermal voltage of Kuhn to the device of Kim as modified by Stockstad because the current should decrease as the temperature increases, page 1, 6th paragraph.
As to claim 13, Kim teaches the semiconductor of claim 10,
Kim does not mention the off-state current value based on drain voltage and gate voltage values.
Stockstad teaches an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V.(as can be seen in column 2, equation (2), The equation reads as the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V. with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.026V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.026
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.026 = 0.052V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.052
=
e
x
p
(
-
96.15
)
≈
1.2
×
10
-
42
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
1.2
×
10
-
42
=
1.2
×
10
-
50
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, the equation 2 with the given criteria for Vg and Vd voltages and the reasonable values inputted results in a current that is below the expected current value and fulfils the criteria for the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the transistor equation of Stockstad to the device of Kim because to output an essentially symmetrical output voltage, col. 2, lines 4-7.
Kim and Stockstad do not teach the 80 degree Celsius affecting the current,
Kuhn teaches a 80 degree Celsius (on page 1 the author mentions the thermal voltage equation
V
T
=
k
×
T
q
, wherein T is the temperature in kelvin, therefore T= 298 Kelvin. Putting this value in the equation of Stockstad we get the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V.
V
T
=
k
×
T
q
=
1.3806
×
10
-
23
×
353.15
1.602
×
10
-
19
=
0.0304
V
with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.0304V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.0304
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.0304 = 0.0608V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.0608
=
e
x
p
(
-
82.2
)
≈
2
×
10
-
36
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
2
×
10
-
36
=
2
×
10
-
44
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art a the time the invention was filed to have added the thermal voltage of Kuhn to the device of Kim as modified by Stockstad because the current should decrease as the temperature increases, page 1, 6th paragraph.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732) in view of Stockstad (U.S. Patent No. 6,353,363), and further in view of Maeda (KR 20030055137).
As to claim 6, Kim teaches a semiconductor device (the device shown in Fig. 8A is using semiconductor as an active layer. [0003], lines 1-2) comprising:
a pixel (Fig. 7, pixel comprising of elements 113 and 114) comprising a display element (113) and a transistor (114) electrically connected to the display element (pixel region 113 is connected to the transistor 114); and
a driver circuit (234) electrically connected to the pixel (data driver 234 is connected to the pixels 300), wherein the transistor comprises an oxide semiconductor layer ([0016], lines 1-6),
Kim does not mention the off-state current value based on drain voltage and gate voltage values.
Stockstad teaches an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V. (as can be seen in column 2, equation (2), The equation reads as the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V. with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.026V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.026
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.026 = 0.052V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.052
=
e
x
p
(
-
96.15
)
≈
1.2
×
10
-
42
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
1.2
×
10
-
42
=
1.2
×
10
-
50
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, the equation 2 with the given criteria for Vg and Vd voltages and the reasonable values inputted results in a current that is below the expected current value and fulfils the criteria for the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the transistor equation of Stockstad to the device of Kim because to output an essentially symmetrical output voltage, col. 2, lines 4-7.
The prior art reference of Kim and Stockstad do not teach a still image,
Maeda teaches a driver circuit electrically connected to the pixel, wherein, when a still image is displayed on the pixel, a supply of a start pulse signal (the supply of control signals to the driver circuit is stopped (in this still image display period, the supply of control signals and video data from the control IC (not shown) to the scan line driver circuit 120 and the signal line driver circuit 130 is stopped (page 5 at near the end paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further modify the device of Kim as modified by Stockstad wherein when a still image is displayed on the pixel, a supply of a start pulse
signal (the supply of control signals) to the driver circuit is stopped for driving a display
device of high quality and low power consumption used for a cellular phone, an
electronic book, or the like (BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION) as Maeda taught.
As to claim 7, Kim teaches the oxide semiconductor layer is an In—O based oxide semiconductor layer ([0037], lines 6-9).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0321732) in view of Stockstad (U.S. Patent No. 6,353,363), and further in view of Maeda (KR 20030055137) and Kuhn (Kuhn, Kenneth A., “diode characteristics,” Oct. 3, 2007 (rev. Sept 3, 2009), available at: https://www.kennethkuhn.com/ (accessed Jan 15, 2026), at Eq. 1 and accompanying text (“Forward current versus voltages”).
As to claim 8, Kim teaches the semiconductor of claim 6,
Kim does not mention the off-state current value based on drain voltage and gate voltage values.
Stockstad teaches an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V.(as can be seen in column 2, equation (2), The equation reads as the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V. with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.026V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.026
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.026 = 0.052V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.052
=
e
x
p
(
-
96.15
)
≈
1.2
×
10
-
42
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
1.2
×
10
-
42
=
1.2
×
10
-
50
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, the equation 2 with the given criteria for Vg and Vd voltages and the reasonable values inputted results in a current that is below the expected current value and fulfils the criteria for the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the transistor equation of Stockstad to the device of Kim because to output an essentially symmetrical output voltage, col. 2, lines 4-7.
Kim, Stockstad, and Maeda do not teach the 25 degree Celsius affecting the current,
Kuhn teaches a 25 degree Celsius (on page 1 the author mentions the thermal voltage equation
V
T
=
k
×
T
q
, wherein T is the temperature in kelvin, therefore T= 298 Kelvin. Putting this value in the equation of Stockstad we get the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V.
V
T
=
k
×
T
q
=
1.3806
×
10
-
23
×
298
1.602
×
10
-
19
=
0.0257
V
with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.0257V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.0257
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.0257 = 0.0514V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.0514
=
e
x
p
(
-
97.3
)
≈
5
×
10
-
43
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
5
×
10
-
43
=
5
×
10
-
51
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art a the time the invention was filed to have added the thermal voltage of Kuhn to the device of Kim as modified by Stockstad and Maeda because the current should decrease as the temperature increases, page 1, 6th paragraph.
As to claim 9, Kim teaches the semiconductor of claim 6,
Kim does not mention the off-state current value based on drain voltage and gate voltage values.
Stockstad teaches an off-state current of the transistor is less than or equal to 1×10.sup.−12 A at a drain voltage of 6V and a gate voltage of −5V or −10V.(as can be seen in column 2, equation (2), The equation reads as the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V. with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.026V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.026
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.026 = 0.052V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.052
=
e
x
p
(
-
96.15
)
≈
1.2
×
10
-
42
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
1.2
×
10
-
42
=
1.2
×
10
-
50
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, the equation 2 with the given criteria for Vg and Vd voltages and the reasonable values inputted results in a current that is below the expected current value and fulfils the criteria for the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the transistor equation of Stockstad to the device of Kim because to output an essentially symmetrical output voltage, col. 2, lines 4-7.
Kim, Stockstad, and Maeda do not teach the 80 degree Celsius affecting the current,
Kuhn teaches a 80 degree Celsius (on page 1 the author mentions the thermal voltage equation
V
T
=
k
×
T
q
, wherein T is the temperature in kelvin, therefore T= 298 Kelvin. Putting this value in the equation of Stockstad we get the following:
I
D
=
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
e
x
p
V
s
-
V
T
-
exp
-
V
d
-
V
T
)
Use the common test setup with Vs=0, Vd=6V.
V
T
=
k
×
T
q
=
1.3806
×
10
-
23
×
353.15
1.602
×
10
-
19
=
0.0304
V
with thermal voltage VT approximately at 0.0304V,
e
x
p
V
d
-
V
T
=
e
x
p
6
-
0.0304
≈
0
So the bracket is approximately 1-0=1, giving:
I
D
≈
I
D
0
W
-
L
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
(
1
)
This is the key: the exponential term dominates.
In order for
I
D
to be less than
10
-
12
A
The realistic constants like the following are selected:
VT=0.026 V for room temperature thermal voltage,
n=2 for reasonable subthreshold factor,
Choosing a realistic geometry W/L = 10,
Choosing a modest prefactor
I
D
0
=
10
-
9
A
,
So, the prefactor product is:
I
D
0
W
-
L
=
10
-
9
×
10
=
10
-
8
A
With Vgs = -5V
Computing the exponent denominator:
nVT= 2x0.0304 = 0.0608V
e
x
p
V
g
s
-
n
V
T
=
e
x
p
-
5
-
0.0608
=
e
x
p
(
-
82.2
)
≈
2
×
10
-
36
So,
I
D
≈
10
-
8
×
2
×
10
-
36
=
2
×
10
-
44
A
Wherein this value is far below the
10
-
12
A
value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art a the time the invention was filed to have added the thermal voltage of Kuhn to the device of Kim as modified by Stockstad and Maeda because the current should decrease as the temperature increases, page 1, 6th paragraph.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tucker (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0290193) teaches a field effect transistor device and method.
Inquiry
/PEGEMAN KARIMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623