DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 9, 11-14, 18-20, 22, 23, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (US 20210126694 A1), hereinafter, Abedini, in view of Jung et al. (US 20180152921 A1), hereinafter, Jung.
Regarding claim 1:
Abedini discloses an apparatus for wireless communications (Fig. 3, base station 310), comprising:
at least one memory (Fig. 3, memory 376) comprising executable instructions (Paragraph [0066]); and
one or more processors (Fig. 3, processors 375, 316 and 370; see paragraphs [0066], ]0067]) configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus to:
obtain at least one report indicating information regarding candidate beams (Paragraphs [0121]-[0125], beam management including measurements indicative of the strengths and/or qualities of candidate beam pair links is claimed obtaining of at least one report indicating information regarding candidate beams);
select, from the candidate beams, a pair of beams based on the information (Paragraphs [0121]-[0125], beam pair with the best quality is selected ); and
output, for transmission, signaling indicating that at least one equipment is to use the pair of beams for wireless communications on a first link and a second link (Paragraphs [0071], [0101], [0121]-[0125], base station selects a beam pair to be conveyed to a relay device so as to configure the relay device to use the beam pair for wireless communication on uplink (claimed first link) and downlink (claimed second link), configuration signal is claimed signaling).
Thus, Abedini discloses all the limitations above, but fails to explicitly disclose the relay equipment is user equipment (UE) for full duplex wireless communications
However, Jung discloses relay user equipment (UE) for full duplex wireless communications (Paragraph [0252]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Abedini’s communication apparatus such that the relay is a UE relay used for full duplex wireless communications as disclosed by Jung. It would have been obvious because Jung’s teaching allows for communication with a UE that is remote to the base station via another UE that is closer to the base station even in the absence of a dedicated relay device and allows for simultaneous transmission and reception of signals.
Regarding claim 6:
Abedini and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 1 above. Abedini further discloses the apparatus wherein the information comprises at least one of: a self-interference (SI) measurement; a crosslink interference (CLI) measurement; a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) measurement; a reference signal (RS) receive power (RSRP) measurement; a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement; a candidate beam identifier (ID); or an ID of a second UE associated with at least one of the candidate beams (Paragraph [0131]).
Regarding claim 8:
Abedini and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 1 above. Abedini further discloses the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus to output, for transmission, a request for at least one of: the at least one report; or measurement information regarding the candidate beams (Fig. 7, paragraph [0155], beamforming configuration information is transmitted to the relay).
Regarding claim 9:
Abedini and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 8 above. Abedini further discloses the apparatus, wherein the request indicates at least one of: a candidate beam pair to include in the at least one report; a candidate beam pair to perform measurements for; a measurement type; a beam identifier (ID); or time and frequency resources for measurement (Paragraphs [0071], [0101], [0121]-[0125], [0155], candidate beam pair selected is included in beam configuration information).
Regarding claim 14:
Abedini discloses an apparatus for wireless communications (Fig. 1, relay 106), comprising:
at least one memory comprising executable instructions (Paragraphs [0030], [0031]); and one or more processors configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus to (Paragraphs [0030], [0031]):
obtain signaling indicating a pair of beams that the apparatus is to use for wireless communications on a first link and a second link (Paragraphs [0071], [0101], [0121]-[0125], base station selects a beam pair to be conveyed to a relay device so as to configure the relay device to use the beam pair for wireless communication on uplink (claimed first link) and downlink (claimed second link), configuration signal received by relay device is claimed obtaining of claimed signaling); and communicate using the pair of beams in accordance with the signaling (Paragraph [0071], [0121]-[0125],[0157], relay device uses the beam pair configured by the base station for communicating with the base station).
Thus, Abedini discloses all the limitations above, but fails to explicitly disclose the relay equipment for full duplex wireless communications
However, Jung discloses relay user equipment (UE) for full duplex wireless communications (Paragraph [0252]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Abedini’s communication apparatus such that the relay is used for full duplex wireless communications as disclosed by Jung. It would have been obvious because Jung’s teaching allows for simultaneous transmission and reception of signals.
Regarding claim 18:
Abedini and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 15 above. Abedini further discloses the apparatus, wherein the pair of beams comprises: a first beam for the apparatus to use for transmission to a wireless device on the first link (Paragraphs [0071], [0101], [0121]-[0125], relay device is configured use the beam pair for wireless communication on uplink (claimed first link) and downlink (claimed second link), i.e. a first beam for the apparatus to use for transmission to a wireless device (base station) on the first link (uplink)); and
a second beam for the apparatus to use for reception from the wireless device on the second link (Paragraphs [0071], [0101], [0121]-[0125], relay device is configured use the beam pair for wireless communication on uplink (claimed first link) and downlink (claimed second link), i.e. a second beam for the apparatus to use for reception from the wireless device (base station) on the second link (downlink)).
Regarding claim 19:
Abedini and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 14 above. Abedini further discloses the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus to output, for transmission, at least one report indicating information regarding candidate beams (Paragraphs [0180]-[0186], relay device performs measurements to determine candidate beams and transits the measurements to indicate the candidate beams to the base station, i.e. outputs, for transmission, at least one report indicating information regarding candidate beams).
Regarding claim 20:
Abedini and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 19 above. Abedini further discloses the apparatus, wherein the information comprises at least one of: a self-interference (SI) measurement; a crosslink interference (CLI) measurement; a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) measurement; a reference signal (RS) receive power (RSRP) measurement; a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement; a candidate beam identifier (ID); or an ID of a wireless device associated with at least one of the candidate beams (Paragraphs [0183]).
Regarding claim 22:
Abedini and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 19 above. Abedini further discloses the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus to obtain a request for at least one of: the at least one report; or measurement information regarding the candidate beams (Paragraph [0180], base station transmits reference signals 822 in order for the relay device to perform measurements for selecting candidate beams, i.e. claimed request is obtained).
Regarding claim 23:
Abedini and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 22 above. Abedini further discloses the apparatus wherein the request indicates at least one of: a candidate beam pair to include in the at least one report; a candidate beam pair to perform measurements for; a measurement type; a beam identifier (ID); or time and frequency resources for measurement (Paragraph [0180], reference signals maybe SS/PBCH block, a CSI-RS, another type of downlink reference (or synchronization) signal, or a combination of at least two reference signals, i.e. request indicates time and frequency resource for measurement).
Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Jung as applied to claims 1 and19 above, and further in view of Ryu et al. (US 20190158162 A1), hereinafter, Ryu.
Regarding claim 7:
Abedini and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 1 above, but fail to disclose the apparatus, wherein the at least one report is at least one of: periodically scheduled; semi-persistently scheduled; aperiodically scheduled; or event triggered.
However, Ryu discloses beam management for wireless communications between base station and UE relay wherein the at least one report is at least one of: periodically scheduled; semi-persistently scheduled; aperiodically scheduled; or event triggered (Paragraphs [0103]-[0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Abedini’s communication apparatus as modified by Jung to schedule or trigger the report as disclosed by Ryu. It would have been obvious because Ryu’s teaching allows for a way to ensure report is obtained even with changing conditions.
Regarding claim 21:
Abedini and Jung disclose all limitations of claim 19 above, but fail to disclose the apparatus, wherein the at least one report is at least one of: periodically scheduled; semi-persistently scheduled; aperiodically scheduled; or event triggered.
However, Ryu discloses beam management for wireless communications between base station and UE relay wherein the at least one report is at least one of: periodically scheduled; semi-persistently scheduled; aperiodically scheduled; or event triggered (Paragraphs [0103]-[0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Abedini’s communication apparatus as modified by Jung to schedule or trigger the report as disclosed by Ryu. It would have been obvious because Ryu’s teaching allows for a way to ensure report is obtained even with changing conditions.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 2, 3, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 2, 3 and 25 respectively of prior U.S. Patent No. 12316424 B2. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 20 and 21 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12316424 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because said claims of instant application are merely a broader version of said patented claims and thus anticipated by said patented claims. Instant claim 15 uses the term wireless device, which is a broad way of describing a UE as claimed in patented claim 12. Instant claim 18 uses the term wireless device, which is a broad way of describing a wireless node as claimed in patented claim 15.
Conclusion
/VINEETA S PANWALKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635