DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DANG et al. (US 2015/0035173) in view of GROSS (US 2019/0308405).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 10, DANG teaches a method comprising providing a stack comprising a device substrate 21, bonding layer 24, light absorbing layer 25, and transparent substrate 22 (fig. 2), and exposing the light absorbing layer to light through the back side of the transparent substrate to separate the device and transparent substrate layers (paras. 30 and 34). DANG does not teach the light comprises a pulse of broadband light. GROSS teaches another method of separating bonded substrates via application of light through a transparent carrier substrate, wherein the light is applied via a flash lamp in the visual range (paras. 8 and 35), which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand to be broadband, wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to replace the laser light of DANG with a flash lamp of GROSS in order to reduce separation time required by laser scanning and the expense of lasers (GROSS; para. 7).
Regarding claim 4, GROSS teaches pulsing to the entire area of the transparent substrate (para. 7).
Regarding claim 5, GROSS teaches applying light in the visible spectrum (para. 35), which is a range of approximately 300-700 nm, such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize wavelengths in the claimed range because the ranges overlap (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 6, GROSS teaches that the light pulse increases the temperature of the light absorbing layer (para. 12).
Regarding claim 7, DANG teaches utilizing thermoplastic adhesive and heating the adjacent light absorbing layer (para. 37), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention the bonding layer would soften during exposing.
Regarding claim 8, DANG teaches removing only the release layer (para. 34), in which case it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that the adhesive does not require chemical reaction.
Regarding claim 9, GROSS teaches separation after a one millisecond pulse of light (para. 10), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that peeling occurs within 5 seconds.
Regarding claim 11, DANG teaches separation by complete vaporization of the light absorbing layer (para. 61), such that mechanical force would not be required.
Regarding claim 12-13, DANG teaches the release layer comprises aluminum, tin, zinc, or other metals (para. 32).
Regarding claims 14-15, changing the order of process steps has been held per se obvious (MPEP 2144.04), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the bonding layer on the first surface before lamination or apply the light absorbing layer to the transparent substrate before lamination because both would result in the same structure of DANG.
Regarding claim 16, DANG teaches polishing the laminate before removing the support (pars. 3-4), which is equivalent to back grinding, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform any of the claimed operations because such were well-known fragile wafer processing steps in the art.
Regarding claim 17, GROSS teaches utilizing the method to separate solar cells (para. 5), where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that such would include photonic circuits on a side of a solar cell substrate.
Regarding claim 18, GROSS teaches utilizing acrylics, epoxies, and other suitable adhesives (para. 37).
Regarding claims 19-20, DANG teaches controlling the energy density and pulse rate (para. 58) wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use pulse lengths and energy density ranges claimed depending upon the bonding material in order to separate the layers while minimizing damage to the layers and expense of unnecessary power.
Regarding claim 21, GROSS teaches utilizing two pulses (para. 29).
Regarding claim 22, GROSS teaches heating the layer several hundred degrees (GROSS; para. 9), but does not explicitly disclose 400 degrees Celsius. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to heat 400 degrees Celsius from the first temperature to the second temperature in order to separate the components without damaging them.
Regarding claim 23, GROSS teaches irradiation time of 1 millisecond (para. 10).
Regarding claim 26, DANG teaches thermoplastic adhesive (para. 35).
Regarding claim 27, DANG teaches spin coating the adhesive (para. 37).
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as combined as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of INAO et al. (US 2013/0213582).
Regarding claim 24, GROSS teaches utilizing titanium metal in the release layer (para. 39), but does not teach utilizing an alloy of titanium and tungsten. INAO teaches another method of bonding and separation with a light absorbing layer, wherein the light absorbing layer comprises one or more metal of the group comprising titanium and tungsten (INAO; para. 24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize an alloy of titanium and tungsten as the metal of GROSS because they are disclosed as functionally equivalent alternates.
Regarding claim 25, INAO does not teach a 10%/90% Ti/W combination, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize an alloy consistency claimed in order to produce sufficient heat to separate the bonded layers.
Conclusion
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745