Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10, 13-15, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al., US 2017/0308258 A1 (hereinafter “Xu”) in view of Burns et al., US 2021/0366440 A1 (hereinafter “Burns”) further in view of Yamamoto et al., US 2011/0249042 A1 (hereinafter “Yamamoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a wearable device (FIG. 4 and [0178]-[0188]), glass type mobile terminal 400; FIG. 7 and [0239]-[0245] HMD 700), comprising:
communication circuitry (FIG. 1 wireless communication unit 110 and mobile communication unit 112 and short range communication module 114 at [0063]-[0075] and [0168] and [0189]-[0192] and FIG. 5 at [0223] and FIG. 7 at [0239]-[0245] communication module 710);
a display (FIG. 4 and [0182]-[0184] and display unit 451);
memory comprising one or more storage media storing instructions (FIG. 1, memory 170 and [0058] and [0106]-[0107] and [0227] memory of the HMD); and
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (FIG. 1, controller 180 and [0049] [0058]-[0059] and [0108]-[0109], FIG. 7, controller 740 at [0239]-[0244]), wherein the instructions ([0058]), when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively ([0058], cause the wearable device (400) to:
concurrently display a plurality of screens within the display (FIGS. 9-14(b), virtual image 911, 921, 1011, 1021, 1111, 1121, 1311, 1321, 1351, 1360 and 1411, 1421, 1451 and 1461, [0253]-[0259] and [0272]-[0282]).
However, Xu does not explicitly disclose a camera arranged to identify a gaze of a user; and while concurrently displaying the plurality of screens, identify whether a state of an external electronic device connected to the wearable device is changed from a folded state to an unfolded state; and
based on identifying that the external electronic device is changed from the folded state to the unfolded state, identify a screen in which the gaze identified using the camera is positioned among the plurality of screens, and transmit information with respect to the identified screen to the external electronic device using the communication circuitry.
In the same field of endeavor, Burns discloses a system 100 with a wearable HMD at [0055] with a camera arranged to identify a gaze of a user ([0129]-[0131] images sensors for detection of gaze 650 of user 202, further at FIGS. 10A-11, the CGR environment is a VR environment at FIGS. 12A-13 and [0212]-[0220]);
while concurrently displaying the plurality of screens, identify whether a state of an external electronic device connected to the wearable device is changed from a folded state to an unfolded state (portions 1020 and 1021, angles described at FIGS. 10A-11 and [0175]-[0190] and [0197]-0210] describing various determinations of angle and various display settings accordingly, illustrating displayed elements such as 1031 and 1032, noting angle determination therein as folded or unfolded).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the head mounted display system incorporating a secondary electronic device of Xu to incorporate the virtual environment with hinge angle determination of the external display device as disclosed by Burns because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, virtual or augmented reality systems with physical device detection and incorporation. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve control and expand the displays in a virtual or augmented environment while maintaining privacy (see Burns at least at [0002]-[0005]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
However, Xu in view of Burns does not explicitly disclose based on identifying that the external electronic device is changed from the folded state to the unfolded state, identify a screen in which the gaze identified using the camera is positioned among the plurality of screens, and transmit information with respect to the identified screen to the external electronic device using the communication circuitry.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamamoto discloses a dual display (4, 5 display sections) with hinge (3) based on identifying that the external electronic device is changed from the folded state to the unfolded state (FIGS. 6-9C and [0058]-[0066] angle determination being folded state unfolded state of foldable device [0007]-[0008]), identify a screen in which the gaze identified using the camera is positioned among the plurality of screens (FIGS. 6-9C and [0058]-[0066] describing gaze determination and which screen at steps B14 through B16 after determination of angle of opening), and transmit information with respect to the identified screen to the external electronic device using the communication circuitry (FIGS. 6-9C and gaze information and determination is transmitted to device for backlight and other controls).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the foldable display device used in conjunction with a head mounted display of Xu in view of Burn to incorporate the angle determination and subsequent eye gaze input as disclosed by Yamamoto because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display input devices with eye gaze determination. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve visibility of the display area and section where the user is looking (see Yamamoto at least at [0006]-[0012]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto discloses the wearable device of claim 1 (see above) wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to:
identify the external electronic device including a hinge structure of a plurality of housings (Burns at FIGS. 10A-11 and 1102 and [0198]-[0199]); and identify whether the state of the external electronic device is changed from the folded state to the unfolded state based on an angle between housings of the external electronic device (portions 1020 and 1021, angles described at FIGS. 10A-11 and [0175]-[0190] and [0197]-0210] describing various determinations of angle and various display settings accordingly, further in view of Yamamoto FIGS. 6-9C and [0058]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 3, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto discloses the wearable device of claim 2 (see above), wherein the camera is a first camera and comprising a second camera (Xu at FIG. 4 camera 421 and [0185]-[0186], FIG. 7, camera sensor 720 at [0239]-[0244]; FIGS. 9-14b and camera sensor 1115 and [0257] and [0262]-[0267]), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: based on identifying a flexible display (Xu at FIG. 2 and [0155]-[0156]) by using an image captured by the second camera (Burns at FIG. 11 and [0198] image sensor capturing angle), identify the angle by which the flexible display is folded with respect to a folding axis (Xu at FIG. 2, and [0155]-[0156] and Burns at FIGS. 10A-11 and [0175]-[0182] and [0184]-[0190] and [0194]-[0204] describing identifying the angle specifically all therein, hinge having a hinge point of which angle is determined, further in view of Yamamoto FIGS. 6-9C and [0058]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 4, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto discloses the wearable device of claim 2 (see above), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: identify the state of the external electronic device based on a signal received from the external device through the communication circuitry (Burns at FIGS. 1A and 1B [0054]-[0059] describing various communication interfaces and FIGS. 10A-D and [0180]-[0184] sensors capable of transmitting hinge angle data to the device 200 and FIG. 11 at [0197]-[0210] generally describing hinge angle and orientation determination).
Regarding claim 7, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto discloses the wearable device of claim 3 (see above), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: based on whether the angle of the flexible display folded with the respect to the folding axis exceeds a first threshold angle (FIGS. 10A-11 and [0181]-[0186] and threshold hinge angle 1051), identify that the external electronic device is transformed into unfolded state (FIGS. 10A-11 and [0181]-[0186] and threshold hinge angle 1051); and based on whether the angle of the flexible display folded with respect to the folding axis is smaller than a second threshold angle smaller than the first threshold angle (FIGS. 10A-11 and closed hinge at [0175]-[0178] and determination of zero angle but less than threshold angle 1051 and [0194]), identify that the external electronic device is transformed into the folded state (FIGS. 10A-11 and closed hinge at [0175]-[0178] and determination of zero angle but less than threshold angle 1051 and [0194]).
Regarding claim 8, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto discloses the wearable device of claim 1 (see above) wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to:
in response to transmitting the information with respect to the identified screen to the external electronic device to display the identified screen through a display of the external electronic device, cease to display the identified screen on the display of the wearable device (FIGS. 10E-10H with object 1031 ceasing to be displayed in the first screen 1030 as disclosed at [0188]-[0192], alternatively when closing the 1031 may return to home screen at 1030 FIGS. 10I -J and [0190]-[0196], further in view of Yamamoto FIGS. 6-9C and [0058]-[0066], the backlight may be turned off so that only one screen is visible as understood by one of ordinary skill at [0034] and [0067]).
Regarding claim 10, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto discloses the wearable device of claim 1 (see above) wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to:
transmit other information to display the plurality of screens through a display of the external electronic device, wherein the other information includes a layout of the plurality of screens (Burns at FIGS. 10A-10H with object placement and layout as determined at [0185]-[0192]).
Regarding claim 13, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto discloses the wearable device of claim 1 (see above).
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: in a state in which the external electronic device is viewed through a preset portion within the display of the wearable device (Burns the external device might only be a portion of the viewable area at FIGS. 10A-11 generally (also see XU at FIGS. 9-14 external device is only a portion of viewable field, further in view of Yamamoto FIGS. 6-9C and [0058]-[0066]), identify whether the state of the external electronic device is changed from a folded state to the unfolded state (Burns transformation of the device including hinge detection at FIGS. 10A-11 and [0174]-[0184] and [0190]-[0204] device 1000 only a portion of the viewable area further in view of Yamamoto FIGS. 6-9C and [0058]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 14, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto discloses the wearable device of claim 1 (see above), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: based on the identifying that the state of the external electronic device is changed from the folded state to the unfolded state while the identified screen includes a video (Xu at Abstract and [0010]-[0012] and FIG. 9 and [0247]-[0255] and [0269], in view of Burns at [0049]) , transmit an uniform resource indicator (URI) indicating the video and a timing of the video being displayed through the identified screen to the external electronic device (Xu at [0217]-[0224] as known in the art to transfer the specific information of the media via the URI format).
Regarding claim 15, it is similar in scope to claim 1 above, the only difference being claim 15 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions (Xu at [0058], [0107] and [0313]). Therefore, claim 15 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16, it is similar in scope to claim 2 above. Therefore, claim 16 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, it is similar in scope to claim 3 above. Therefore, claim 17 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, it is similar in scope to claim 4 above. Therefore, claim 18 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, it is similar in scope to claim 1 above, the only difference being claim 20 is directed to a method (Xu at [0010], [0058]-[0061] and [0313]). Therefore, claim 15 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 1 above.
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto as applied to claims 2 and 16 above, and further in view of Wu et al., US 2022/0236942 A1 (hereinafter “Wu ‘942”).
Regarding claim 5 , Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto discloses the wearable device of claim 2 (see above).
However, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: based on identifying that the state of the external electronic device being changed from the folded state to the unfolded state, display a visual object for guiding that the identified screen is moved to the flexible display of the external electronic device.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu ‘942 discloses a head mounted display device FIGS. 2A-2E and [0020] of HMD 110) wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: based on identifying that the state of the external electronic device being changed from the folded state to the unfolded state, display a visual object for guiding that the identified screen is moved to the flexible display of the external electronic device (FIG. 4E and prompt 425 at [0038] (noting (Xu at FIG. 2 and [0155]-[0156])).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the head mounted display system incorporating a secondary electronic device of Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto to incorporate notification and guidance as disclosed by Wu ‘942 because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, virtual or augmented reality systems with physical device detection and incorporation. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the sharing and transferring experience for a user when using a virtual environment (see Wu ‘942 at [0017]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19, it is similar in scope to claim 5 above. Therefore, claim 19 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 5.
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Wu et al., US 2022/0236942 A1 (hereinafter “Wu ‘942”).
Regarding claim 6, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto discloses the wearable device of claim 1 (see above).
However, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: based on identifying that the state of the external electronic device being changed from the unfolded state to the folded state after transmitting the information with respect to the identified screen, display a visual object for guiding that the identified second screen is moved to the display of the wearable device.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu ‘942 discloses a head mounted display device FIGS. 2A-2E and [0020] of HMD 110) wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: based on identifying that the state of the external electronic device being changed from the unfolded state to the folded state after transmitting the information with respect to the identified screen, display a visual object for guiding that the identified second screen is moved to the display of the wearable device (FIG. 4E and prompt 425 at [0038]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the head mounted display system incorporating a secondary electronic device of Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto to incorporate notification and guidance as disclosed by Wu ‘942 because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, virtual or augmented reality systems with physical device detection and incorporation. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the sharing and transferring experience for a user when using a virtual environment (see Wu ‘942 at [0017]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto discloses the wearable device of claim 1 (see above).
However, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: in response to receiving a signal indicating the identified screen is displayed from the external electronic device after transmitting the information with respect to the identified screen, display a visual object for guiding movement of the identified screen on the display of the wearable device.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu ‘942 discloses a head mounted display device FIGS. 2A-2E and [0020] of HMD 110) wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: in response to receiving a signal indicating the identified screen is displayed from the external electronic device after transmitting the information with respect to the identified screen, display a visual object for guiding movement of the identified screen on the display of the wearable device (FIG. 4E and prompt 425 at [0038]-[0039], noting the number of changes and screens available would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the head mounted display system incorporating a secondary electronic device of Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto to incorporate notification and guidance as disclosed by Wu ‘942 because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, virtual or augmented reality systems with physical device detection and incorporation. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the sharing and transferring experience for a user when using a virtual environment (see Wu ‘942 at [0017]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto in view of Wang et al., US 2024/0373567 A1 (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 12, Xu discloses the wearable device of claim 1 (see above) wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: in a state in which the wearable device identifies the external electronic device including a flexible display (see (Xu at FIG. 2 and [0155]-[0165]) and FIGS. 9-14b and particularly FIGS. 14a and b at [0277]-[0284]), and identify the state of the external electronic device as being a rolled state or a unrolled state based on a size of the overlap of the display (Xu partiality of display being based on how much overlap of the display with main display at FIGS. 14a and 14b and [0277]-[0284])
However, Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto in view of does not explicitly disclose the flexible display is insertable into a housing of the external electronic device, flexible display extracted from the housing.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses a display system is insertable into a housing of the external electronic device (FIGS. 1-4 and [0049]-[0052] and display 30 in housing portions 20 and 10, flexible display extracted from the housing (FIGS. 1-4 and [0049]-[0052] and display 30 in housing portions 20 and 10)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the head mounted display system incorporating a secondary electronic device of Xu in view of Burns further in view of Yamamoto to incorporate the retractable flexible display device of Wang because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display systems and methods. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve the folding and protection of the display for the device (see Wang at [0017]). Furthermore, this would be a simple substitution of disclosed devices by Xu with what is already known in the art as disclosed by Wang. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2629