DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/25/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 13 and 15 recite “the global system” however it appears that the claims should recite “the global monitoring system”. Additionally in line 19 the claim recites the “the local system” however it appears the claims should recite “the local monitoring system”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0150685 (Kim et al.).
With respect to claim 1
Kim discloses: A method for monitoring a traffic area with a traffic monitoring system (see at least Fig 1 and 2; #1000; and ¶0035-39) comprising:
monitoring a traffic area with a global monitoring system wherein the entire traffic area is monitored with the global monitoring system (see at least Fig 1, 2, and 5; #1000 and CCON; and ¶0035-39; Discussing the central controller CCON controls an area.);
monitoring at least one partial traffic area of the traffic area with a local monitoring system (see at least Fig 1, 2, 6, 8, and 9; #101-103, V(1-3), S500, CARG, CRRG, and DCPC; and ¶0058-60, ¶0066, and ¶0083-86; Discussing designating a vehicle to monitor an intersection by detecting potential collisions and determine vehicle priority.);
establishing a global communication connection (GCM) to a vehicle located in the traffic area with at least one global communication unit (see at least Fig 1, 2, 5, and 6; S100 and GCM; ¶0024 and ¶0034; Discussing establishing a communication link GCM between controller CCON and vehicles V.);
transmitting control commands to the vehicle via the global communication connection (see at least Fig 1, 2, and 5; S200 and GCM; and ¶0025, ¶0036, and ¶0077; Discussing determining the optimal route and driving commands by the CDC [which is part of the CCON].);
establishing a local communication connection (LCM) to the vehicle in the partial traffic area with at least one local communication unit (see at least Fig 1, 2, and 6; S400 and LCM; and ¶0043-44 and ¶0081-83; Discussing V1 establishing a local connection to other vehicles.);
controlling the vehicle with the global system in the traffic area (see at least Fig 1, 2, and 5; S200 and GCM; and ¶0025, ¶0036, and ¶0077; Discussing determining the optimal route and driving commands by the CDC [which is part of the CCON].), wherein control comprises;
determining a route with the global system (see at least Fig 1, 2, and 5; S200 and GCM; and ¶0025, ¶0036, and ¶0077; Discussing determining the optimal route and driving commands by the CDC [which is part of the CCON].);; and
transmitting control commands via the global communication connection to the vehicle (see at least Fig 1, 2, and 5; S200 and GCM; and ¶0025, ¶0036, and ¶0077; Discussing transmitting control commands over GCM); and
transmitting a control command to the vehicle by the local communication unit when the vehicle is in the partial traffic area and the local system detects a hazardous situation (see at least Fig 1, 2, 8, and 9; S500, LCM, CP, CARG, and CRRG; and ¶0029-32, ¶0042-46, ¶0060-64, and ¶0083; Discussing the autonomous vehicle V(1) controlling other vehicles V(2-3)).
With respect to claim 2
Kim discloses:
wherein the control command from the local communication unit is an emergency stop (see at least Fig 2, 8, and 9; STP1, STP2, and s72; and ¶0045-46, ¶0065, and ¶0105-114).
With respect to claim 5
Kim discloses:
transmitting information, with the local communication unit to the global communication unit, about the control command transmitted to the vehicle (see at least Fig 8 and 9; S72; and ¶0105).
With respect to claim 6
Kim discloses:
wherein the traffic monitoring system comprises at least two sensors, wherein the at least two sensors can detect the vehicle located in at least one of the partial traffic area and the traffic area (see at least Fig 1; V(1-3); and ¶0088; Discussing the vehicles have sensors.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 4, and 7-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE 102022206553 (Stahlin) and DE 102023209515 (Stahlin et al.): teach monitoring a traffic area, and controlling vehicles within the monitored traffic area.
MICHAEL F. WHALEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/M.F.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661