CTNF 19/218,453 CTNF 88547 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Introductory Remarks This action is in response to communications filed on 26 May 2025. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are presently pending in the application, of which, claim(s) 1, 13, and 17 is/are presented in independent form. This application properly claims benefit, as a continuation, of U.S. Application No. 18/498,284 and 18/407,852 filed on 31 October 2023 and 9 January 2024, respectively. An IDS was received on 26 May 2025. All references have been considered. Examiner’s Note The rejections below group claims that may not be identical, but whose language and scope are so substantively similar as to lend themselves to grouping, in the interests of clarity and conciseness. Any citation to the instant specification herein is made to the PGPub version (if applicable). The examiner notes that no statement has been entered regarding the inventorship of individual claims as required under 37 CFR 1.56, and therefore assumes that all claims have the same inventorship or are directed to inventions that were commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the invention. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-34 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4-14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1, 4-8, 10, 12, 14, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,326,856 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are merely the genus of the patented species . 08-34 AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,333,354 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are merely the genus of the patented species . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Garg et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2024/0070434 A1) (hereinafter Garg) . As per claim 1, Garg teaches a computer-implemented method (Figure 1 and corresponding description) , comprising: receiving, during a current interaction session of a first application, event data of user interaction events for the first application generated during the current interaction session (Figure 1 step 107) ; obtaining a use case definition for an application type of the first application that includes event descriptions of events that can occur during user interactions with the application type (Figure 1 step 108 – knowledge base (use case definition) includes question answer pairs for questions that the user has) ; generating, during the current interaction session, enhanced event descriptions based on enhancing the event descriptions of the use case definition, wherein the enhanced event descriptions include semantic information for a first event (0048, 0054, 0059, and 0060) for establishing context for a generative large language model (LLM) AI engine (Intended uses are not afforded patentable weight. MPEP 2111.02; See also In re Schreiber , 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed.Cir. 1997)) ; configuring, during the current interaction session, the generative LLM AI engine using a context that includes the enhanced event descriptions (0041) ; generating a response to a user query received during the current interaction session using the configured generative LLM AI engine (Figure 1 step 110) ; and outputting the generated response in the current interaction session (Figure 1 “response” and 0058) . As per claim 2, Garg teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein enhancing the event descriptions in the use case definition includes enhancing the event descriptions in the use case definition using the event data (0048, 0054, 0059, and 0060) . As per claim 3, Garg teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the response to the user query comprises: providing, to the generative LLM AI engine, instructions for generating the response to the user query (0013 and Figure 1) ; and receiving the response to the user query from the generative LLM AI engine (Figure 1 step 109) . As per claim 12, Garg teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, further comprising: generating keywords from the enhanced event descriptions (0046) ; providing the keywords in a request to at least one data source for keyword-based resources (id.) ; receiving at least one keyword-based resource from a data source that provides information related to at least one generated keyword (0048) ; and including information from or a link to the at least one keyword-based resource in the generative LLM Al context (id.) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garg as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Dintenfass et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2024/0069987 A1) (hereinafter Dintenfass) . As per claim 13, Garg teaches most of the limitations, but does not appear to explicitly teach: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the processor to: For the remaining limitations, see the examiner’s remarks regarding claim 1. While these limitations would seem to be implicit given the disclosure of Garg, Dintenfass makes explicit what Garg does not. Dintenfass at Figure 1B items 102, 104, 114, and their corresponding descriptions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Dintenfass into the invention of Garg in order to have the Garg methodology operate on a computer. This would have been clearly advantageous as it would automate system of Garg. The combination hereinafter GD. As per claim 17, GD teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing computer-readable instructions, that upon execution by at least one hardware processor, cause performance of operations (Dintenfass at 0038) , comprising: For the remaining limitations, see the examiner’s remarks regarding claim 1. As per claims 14 and 18, see the examiner’s remarks regarding claim 2. As per claims 15 and 19, see the examiner’s remarks regarding claim 3. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TYLER J TORGRIMSON whose telephone number is (571)270-5550. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9 am - 5:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aleksander Kerzhner can be reached at 571.270.1760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TYLER J TORGRIMSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/218,453 Page 2 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/218,453 Page 3 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/218,453 Page 4 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/218,453 Page 5 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/218,453 Page 6 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/218,453 Page 7 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/218,453 Page 8 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/218,453 Page 9 Art Unit: 2165 Application/Control Number: 19/218,453 Page 10 Art Unit: 2165