DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-6 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osaka (JP2009085008A) hereinafter Osaka.
Claim 1:
Osaka discloses an air intake duct for a motor vehicle [Fig. 6, Item 80], comprising: a resonator [82] having an outer wall defining an internal space [83]; at least one drain hole [832] configured as a penetrating channel through a bottom surface of the outer wall [831]; and a thick portion disposed at least around a periphery of the drain hole, the thick portion increasing a length of the penetrating channel [the portion of 832 that connects to the hose 84].
Claim 2:
Osaka, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Osaka also discloses wherein the penetrating channel includes a port having a radius [hose 84 connects to drain hole 832; a hose is commonly known as a hollow tube].
Claim 3:
Osaka, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Osaka also discloses wherein the length of the penetrating channel is approximately twice a thickness of the outer wall [832; while drawings can't be relied upon for scale the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977) (see MPEP 2125). Fig. 6 clearly shows a thicker portion on the bottom which is APPROXIMATELY twice as thick as the outer wall].
Claim 6:
Osaka, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Osaka also discloses wherein the length of the penetrating channel is approximately twice a thickness of the outer wall [832; while drawings can't be relied upon for scale the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977) (see MPEP 2125). Fig. 6 clearly shows a thicker portion on the bottom which is APPROXIMATELY twice as thick as the outer wall].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osaka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakagawa (US 5,723,828) hereinafter Nakagawa.
Claim 4:
Osaka, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Osaka doesn’t explicitly disclose further comprising a plurality of additional resonators arranged on a side of the air intake duct, and wherein each additional resonator that includes a water drain has a single water drain hole located at one end of the additional resonator.
However, Nakagawa does disclose further comprising a plurality of additional resonators arranged on a side of the air intake duct, and wherein each additional resonator that includes a water drain has a single water drain hole located at one end of the additional resonator. [Figs. 2a, 2b; Items 11b, 11b'; col. 7 line 61 to col 8 line 12]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the air intake duct and resonator of Osaka with the multiple resonators of Nakagawa to absorb sounds of difference frequencies thus reducing noise further.
Claim 5:
Osaka and Nakagawa, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
Osaka also discloses wherein an additional thick portion is provided only on the additional resonator in which the presence of the water drain hole causes a higher resonance sound [per ¶¶5-6 the drain hole causes leaks to the outside causing air pressure in the resonance chamber 82 to fluctuate, therefore, all the presence of a drain hole always causes the issue and all drain holes need the thicker portion to attach a hose to prevent the leak].
Examiner Recommendation
The Examiner recommends incorporating subject matter from the Specification to overcome the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oba (US 2004/0250785 A1) discloses a resonator with a drain hole with varying shapes and locations within a vessel.
Khouw (US 2010/0050578 A1) discloses a series of drain holes on an automotive intake.
Hwang (US 2012/018107 A1) discloses a series of resonators for a turbocharger (a common component in engine intakes) where there are multiple resonators of different sizes and shapes.
KURT P. LIETHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747