DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 filed May 27th 2025 are pending in the current action.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 13, and 16 of U.S. Patent No.12,326,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims are broader than the claims in the ‘999 patent.
Current application
US Patent 12,326,999
1. A display device, comprising: a display panel; and a touch sensing panel disposed on the display panel, and including a first sensing area corresponding to an area in which an optical sensor is disposed, and a second sensing area distinct from the first sensing area, wherein the touch sensing panel comprises: a first mesh pattern disposed in the first sensing area and having a first density; and a second mesh pattern disposed in the second sensing area and having a second density greater than the first density.
12. A display device, comprising: an optical sensor; a display panel disposed on the optical sensor; and a touch sensing panel disposed on the display panel, and including a first sensing area corresponding to an area in which the optical sensor is disposed, and a second sensing area distinct from the first sensing area, wherein the touch sensing panel comprises a plurality of conductive patterns disposed in the first sensing area and the second sensing area, and wherein a first distance between the conductive patterns adjacent to each other in the first sensing area is greater than a second distance between the conductive patterns adjacent to each other in the second sensing area, wherein the conductive patterns comprise: a plurality of first conductive patterns disposed in the first and second sensing areas and extending in the first direction; and a plurality of second conductive patterns disposed in the first and second sensing areas and extending in the second direction, wherein a third distance between the first conductive patterns disposed in the first sensing area is greater than a fourth distance between the first conductive patterns disposed in the second sensing area.
16. The display device according to claim 12, wherein a first mesh pattern having first opening areas is formed by the first conductive patterns and the second conductive patterns in the first sensing area, wherein a second mesh pattern having second opening areas is formed by the first conductive patterns and the second conductive patterns in the second sensing area, and wherein a density of the first mesh pattern is less than a density of the second mesh pattern.
2. The display device according to claim 1, wherein the first mesh pattern comprises: a plurality of first conductive patterns extending in a first direction and disposed along a second direction intersecting with the first direction; and a plurality of second conductive patterns extending in the second direction and disposed along the first direction.
See claim 12 above
3. The display device according to claim 2, wherein the second mesh pattern comprises: a plurality of third conductive patterns extending in the first direction and disposed along the second direction; and a plurality of fourth conductive patterns extending in the second direction and disposed along the first direction.
See claim 12 above
4. The display device according to claim 3, wherein each of a plurality of first opening areas formed by the first and second conductive patterns has a surface area greater than each of a plurality of second opening areas formed by the third and fourth conductive patterns.
See claim 12 above
5. The display device according to claim 3, wherein a first distance between the first conductive patterns adjacent to each other is greater than a second distance between the third conductive patterns adjacent to each other.
See claim 12 above
6. The display device according to claim 3, wherein a third distance between the second conductive patterns adjacent to each other is greater than a fourth distance between the fourth conductive patterns adjacent to each other.
See claim 12 above
7. The display device according to claim 1, wherein the first mesh pattern has a thickness less than that of the second mesh pattern.
13. The display device according to claim 12, wherein a first thickness of the conductive patterns disposed in the first sensing area is less than a second thickness of the conductive patterns disposed in the second sensing area.
8. An electronic device, comprising: a display device; and an optical sensor, wherein the display device comprises: a display panel disposed on the optical sensor; and a touch sensing panel disposed on the display panel, and including a first sensing area corresponding to an area in which the optical sensor is disposed, and a second sensing area distinct from the first sensing area, and wherein the touch sensing panel comprises: a first mesh pattern disposed in the first sensing area and having a first density; and a second mesh pattern disposed in the second sensing area and having a second density greater than the first density.
12. A display device, comprising: an optical sensor; a display panel disposed on the optical sensor; and a touch sensing panel disposed on the display panel, and including a first sensing area corresponding to an area in which the optical sensor is disposed, and a second sensing area distinct from the first sensing area, wherein the touch sensing panel comprises a plurality of conductive patterns disposed in the first sensing area and the second sensing area, and wherein a first distance between the conductive patterns adjacent to each other in the first sensing area is greater than a second distance between the conductive patterns adjacent to each other in the second sensing area, wherein the conductive patterns comprise: a plurality of first conductive patterns disposed in the first and second sensing areas and extending in the first direction; and a plurality of second conductive patterns disposed in the first and second sensing areas and extending in the second direction, wherein a third distance between the first conductive patterns disposed in the first sensing area is greater than a fourth distance between the first conductive patterns disposed in the second sensing area.
16. The display device according to claim 12, wherein a first mesh pattern having first opening areas is formed by the first conductive patterns and the second conductive patterns in the first sensing area, wherein a second mesh pattern having second opening areas is formed by the first conductive patterns and the second conductive patterns in the second sensing area, and wherein a density of the first mesh pattern is less than a density of the second mesh pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US2023/0205373).
Consider claim 1, where Han discloses a display device, (See Han’s abstract) comprising: a display panel; (See Han ¶2) and a touch sensing panel disposed on the display panel, (See Han ¶2) and including a first sensing area corresponding to an area in which an optical sensor is disposed, and a second sensing area distinct from the first sensing area, (See Han Fig. 8 (replicated below) and ¶190-192 where the optical electronic device 11 can receive light transmitted through the transmission area TA1 in the first sub-display area OA1 and perform a corresponding function (e.g., sensing an image sensing). wherein the touch sensing panel comprises: a first mesh pattern disposed in the first sensing area and having a first density; (See Han Fig. 8 and ¶221-229 the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 of every two or every three in the second sub-display area NA does not match the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1. Therefore, the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1 are arranged at a lower density than a density in which the first touch sensor lines TSL1) and a second mesh pattern disposed in the second sensing area and having a second density greater than the first density. (See Han Fig. 8 and ¶231 where referring to FIG. 8, touch sensor lines are arranged at a lower density in the first sub-display area OA1.)
Consider claim 2, where Han discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first mesh pattern comprises: a plurality of first conductive patterns extending in a first direction and disposed along a second direction intersecting with the first direction; and a plurality of second conductive patterns extending in the second direction and disposed along the first direction. (See Han Fig. 8 and ¶221-229 a touch panel TP corresponding to a display area DA has a net form in which a grid is formed by first touch sensor lines TSL1 arranged to be spaced a first distance from each other and second touch sensor lines TSL2 arranged to be spaced the first distance from each other while crossing the first touch sensor lines TSL1 (TSL1 and TSL2 are shown in FIG. 12A).)
Consider claim 3, where Han discloses the display device according to claim 2, wherein the second mesh pattern comprises: a plurality of third conductive patterns extending in the first direction and disposed along the second direction; and a plurality of fourth conductive patterns extending in the second direction and disposed along the first direction. (See Han Fig. 8 and ¶221-229 a touch panel TP corresponding to a display area DA has a net form in which a grid is formed by first touch sensor lines TSL1 arranged to be spaced a first distance from each other and second touch sensor lines TSL2 arranged to be spaced the first distance from each other while crossing the first touch sensor lines TSL1 (TSL1 and TSL2 are shown in FIG. 12A). the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 of every two or every three in the second sub-display area NA does not match the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1.)
Consider claim 4, where Han discloses the display device according to claim 3, wherein each of a plurality of first opening areas formed by the first and second conductive patterns has a surface area greater than each of a plurality of second opening areas formed by the third and fourth conductive patterns. (See Han Fig. 8 and ¶221-229 where the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 of every two or every three in the second sub-display area NA does not match the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1. Therefore, the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1 are arranged at a lower density than a density in which the first touch sensor lines TSL1. Thus, the open areas formed by TSL1 and TSL2 are larger in OA1 than they are elsewhere in the touch panel)
Consider claim 5, where Han discloses the display device according to claim 3, wherein a first distance between the first conductive patterns adjacent to each other is greater than a second distance between the third conductive patterns adjacent to each other. (See Han Fig. 8 and ¶221-229 where the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 of every two or every three in the second sub-display area NA does not match the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1. Therefore, the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1 are arranged at a lower density than a density in which the first touch sensor lines TSL1. Thus, the spacing between TSL1 in OA1 is greater than the space between TSL1 elsewhere. )
Consider claim 6, where Han discloses the display device according to claim 3, wherein a third distance between the second conductive patterns adjacent to each other is greater than a fourth distance between the fourth conductive patterns adjacent to each other. (See Han Fig. 8 and ¶221-229 where the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 of every two or every three in the second sub-display area NA does not match the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1. Therefore, the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1 are arranged at a lower density than a density in which the first touch sensor lines TSL1. Thus, the spacing between TSL2 in OA1 is greater than the space between TSL2 elsewhere. )
Consider claim 8, where Han discloses an electronic device, comprising: a display device; (See Han ¶2) and an optical sensor, wherein the display device comprises: a display panel disposed on the optical sensor; (See Han Fig. 8 (replicated above) and ¶190-192 where the optical electronic device 11 can receive light transmitted through the transmission area TA1 in the first sub-display area OA1 and perform a corresponding function (e.g., sensing an image sensing).) and a touch sensing panel disposed on the display panel, and including a first sensing area corresponding to an area in which the optical sensor is disposed, and a second sensing area distinct from the first sensing area, (See Han Fig. 8 and ¶221-229 the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 of every two or every three in the second sub-display area NA does not match the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1. Therefore, the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1 are arranged at a lower density than a density in which the first touch sensor lines TSL1) and wherein the touch sensing panel comprises: a first mesh pattern disposed in the first sensing area and having a first density; and a second mesh pattern disposed in the second sensing area and having a second density greater than the first density. (See Han Fig. 8 and ¶221-229 the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 of every two or every three in the second sub-display area NA does not match the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1. Therefore, the first touch sensor lines TSL1 and the second touch sensor lines TSL2 in the first sub-display area OA1 are arranged at a lower density than a density in which the first touch sensor lines TSL1. The touch sensor lines are arranged at a lower density in the first sub-display area OA1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Chen et al. (US2015/0009427)
Consider claim 7, where Han discloses the display device according to claim 1, however, they do not explicitly teach wherein the first mesh pattern has a thickness less than that of the second mesh pattern. However, in an analogous field of endeavor Chen teaches wherein the first mesh pattern has a thickness less than that of the second mesh pattern. (See Chen ¶59-62 where the visibility of the first mesh patterns P1 and the second mesh patterns P2 to human eyes along the side-view direction may also be reduced by adjusting the thickness DO1 of each of the first optical mesh patterns O1 and the thickness DO2 of each of the second optical mesh patterns O2.) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to further increase transmission of the transmissive area TA1 of Han by using other known methods of reducing visibility such as reducing the thickness as taught by Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the modification for the advantage of/ benefit of using other known methods of increasing transmission in an area where mesh electrodes are located to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
WILLIAM LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2624
/WILLIAM LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624