DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 05/27/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2019/0114970 to Moradi et al. (Moradi).
As to claims 1 and 19, Moradi discloses a display device comprising:
a display panel including display areas (Fig. 1; Para. 0053, display panel, 107, with plurality of pixels, 200);
a controller configured to control display a video through the display panel based on video frames being sequentially provided, each of the video frames including video data blocks corresponding to the display areas, respectively (Fig. 1; Para. 0053, 0056, digital controller, 103, digital video data); and
an indicator generator configured to generate a block indicator having a value that is changed based on power-on being performed (Fig. 1; Para. 0053, 0065, Readout Circuit (ROC), 106; extract information indicative of a degradation of the pixel circuit 200),
wherein the controller is configured to: select the video data block that is indicated by the block indicator from the video data blocks of a video frame that is first provided among the video frames (Para. 0056, 0065, controller 103 may then send signals 120 comprising digital video data to the source driver 105 and signals 118 to the gate (address) driver 102 to select the pixel circuits 200 in the display panel 107 on row by row basis and to program pixel circuits 200 to display the video information comprised in the video data), and update an accumulative stress data set of a corresponding display area from among the display areas based on the selected video data block of the video frame (Para. 0065, Controller 103 may be configured to use the pixel degradation information contained in the measured current to compensate for that degradation during normal operation of the display).
As to claim 19, Moradi additionally discloses a display system comprising:
a processor (Para. 0027, processors); and
a display device configured to receive video frames from the processor and to display a video based on the video frames (Fig. 1; Para. 0053, display system, 100).
As to claim 2, Moradi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the block indicator indicates any one of the video data blocks (Fig. 1; Para. 0065, extract information indicative of a degradation of the pixel circuit 200).
As to claim 6, Moradi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the display areas comprises first to m-th (where, m is an integer that is larger than 1) display areas (Para. 0056, pixel row),
wherein the video frames include first to m-th video frames that are sequentially provided after the power-on (Para. 0056, each pixel is driven),
wherein the video data blocks included in each of the first to m-th video frames include first to m-th video data blocks corresponding to the first to m-th display areas, respectively (Para. 0056, 0065, controller 103 may then send signals 120 comprising digital video data to the source driver 105 and signals 118 to the gate (address) driver 102 to select the pixel circuits 200 in the display panel 107 on row by row basis and to program pixel circuits 200 to display the video information comprised in the video data), and
wherein the video frame that is first provided among the video frames is the first video frame (Para. 0056, digital video data).
As to claim 7, Moradi discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the block indicator indicates the k- th (where, k is an integer that is larger than or equal to 1 and smaller than or equal to m) video data block among the first to m-th video data blocks (Fig. 1; Para. 0053, 0065, measurements on a selected pixel circuit or circuits through a data line 114, extract information indicative of a degradation of the pixel circuit 200).
As to claim 8, Moradi discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein based on the block indicator indicating any one of the second to (m-1)-th video data blocks,
the controller is configured to:
select the k-th to m-th video data blocks and the first to (k-1)-th video data blocks from the first to m-th video frames (Para. 0056, select the pixel circuits 200 in the display panel 107 on row by row basis and program pixel circuits 200 to display the video information comprised in the video data), and
update k-th to m-th accumulative stress data sets and first to (k-1)-th accumulative stress data sets corresponding to the k-th to m-th display areas and the first to (k-1)-th display areas based on the k-th to m-th video data blocks and the first to (k-1)-th video data blocks, respectively (Para. 0065, Controller 103 may be configured to use the pixel degradation information contained in the measured current to compensate for that degradation during normal operation of the display).
As to claim 9, Moradi discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein based on the block indicator indicating the m-th video data block,
the controller is configured to:
select the m-th video data block and the first to (m-1)-th video data blocks from the first to m-th video frames (Para. 0056, select the pixel circuits 200 in the display panel 107 on row by row basis and program pixel circuits 200 to display the video information comprised in the video data), and
update an m-th accumulative stress data set and first to (m-1)-th accumulative stress data sets corresponding to the m-th display area and the first to (m-1)-th display areas based on the m-th video data block and the first to (m-1)-th video data blocks, respectively (Para. 0065, Controller 103 may be configured to use the pixel degradation information contained in the measured current to compensate for that degradation during normal operation of the display).
As to claim 10, Moradi discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein based on the block indicator indicating the first video data block,
the controller is configured to:
select the first to m-th video data blocks from the first to m-th video frames (Para. 0056, select the pixel circuits 200 in the display panel 107 on row by row basis and program pixel circuits 200 to display the video information comprised in the video data), and
update first to m-th accumulative stress data sets corresponding to the first to m- th display areas based on the first to m-th video data blocks, respectively (Para. 0065, Controller 103 may be configured to use the pixel degradation information contained in the measured current to compensate for that degradation during normal operation of the display).
As to claim 11, Moradi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: extract a different video data block among the video data blocks from the respective video frames (Fig. 1; Para. 0065, extract information indicative of a degradation of the pixel circuit 200), and update the accumulative stress data set corresponding to the corresponding display area based on the different video data block (Para. 0065, Controller 103 may be configured to use the pixel degradation information contained in the measured current to compensate for that degradation during normal operation of the display).
As to claim 12, Moradi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the video frames are video frames that are first provided after the power-on (Para. 0056, 0065, controller 103 may then send signals 120 comprising digital video data to the source driver 105 and signals 118 to the gate (address) driver 102 to select the pixel circuits 200 in the display panel 107 on row by row basis and to program pixel circuits 200 to display the video information comprised in the video data).
As to claim 13, Moradi discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a working memory connected to the controller (Fig. 1; Para. 0027, 0053, RAM); and
a nonvolatile memory connected to the controller (Fig. 1; Para. 0027, 0053, non-volatile storage),
wherein the controller is configured to:
update the accumulative stress data set in the working memory (Fig. 1; Para. 0027, 0053, RAM; memory, 104); and
store the accumulative stress data set of the working memory in the nonvolatile memory in a predetermined period of time (Fig. 1; Para. 0027, 0053, non-volatile storage; memory, 104).
As to claim 14, Moradi discloses an operating method of a display device including display areas, the operating method comprising:
generating a block indicator having a value that is changed based on power-on being performed (Fig. 1; Para. 0053, 0065, extract information indicative of a degradation of the pixel circuit 200);
receiving video frames being sequentially provided and to be displayed on the display device as a video, each of the video frames including video data blocks corresponding to the display areas, respectively (Fig. 1; Para. 0053, 0056, digital controller, 103, digital video data);
selecting a video data block that is indicated by the block indicator from the video data blocks of the video frame that is first provided among the video frames (Para. 0056, 0065, controller 103 may then send signals 120 comprising digital video data to the source driver 105 and signals 118 to the gate (address) driver 102 to select the pixel circuits 200 in the display panel 107 on row by row basis and to program pixel circuits 200 to display the video information comprised in the video data); and
updating an accumulative stress data set of a corresponding display area from among the display areas based on the selected video data block of the video frame (Para. 0065, Controller 103 may be configured to use the pixel degradation information contained in the measured current to compensate for that degradation during normal operation of the display).
As to claim 18, Moradi discloses the operating method of claim 14, further comprising:
extracting next video data blocks of the video data block that is indicated by the block indicator from next video frames of a video frame that is first provided among the video frames (Fig. 1; Para. 0065, extract information indicative of a degradation of the pixel circuit 200); and
updating the accumulative stress data sets of the corresponding display areas based on the extracted video data blocks (Para. 0065, Controller 103 may be configured to use the pixel degradation information contained in the measured current to compensate for that degradation during normal operation of the display).
As to claim 20, Moradi discloses the display system of claim 19, wherein the display system is one of a digital television (TV), a three-dimensional (3D) TV, a personal computer, a home appliance, a laptop computer, a table computer, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a portable multimedia player, a digital camera, a music player, a portable game console, and a navigation device (Para. 0058, mobile devices, monitor-based devices, TVs and projection devices).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LISA S LANDIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2626