Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/7/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 8/7/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected on the ground of non statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12316647. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations in each claim set relate to the same concept.
US Patent 12316647
19/219,811
A video data loss prevention (vDLP) system that uses machine-learning for protection against data exfiltration of sensitive content across a plurality of tenants in a cloud-based network, the vDLP system comprises:
a tenant of the plurality of tenants in the cloud-based network, the tenant includes a plurality of end-user devices; and
a vDLP server operable to:
intercept traffic at an application layer of the cloud-based network; receive a video file from traffic within the cloud-based network, wherein a viewer for the video file is remote from the cloud-based network;
recognize text of audio and a plurality of frames extracted from the video file using a machine-learning engine;
analyze the plurality of frames and text for the video file using a plurality of machine-learning classifiers;
enforce a plurality of policies against the plurality of machine-learning classifiers for protection against data exfiltration of the sensitive content in the video file, wherein the machine learning classifiers are used to recognize the sensitive content and unauthorized data and appropriately handle the sensitive content according to the plurality of policies; and
in response to enforcing the plurality of policies, send a notification away from the cloud-based network upon detection of violation of a policy of the plurality of policies.
A video data loss prevention (vDLP) system that enforces policies based on metadata tags in real-time without proxy deployment, the vDLP system comprises:
a vDLP server operable to:
monitor access attempt by an external user to a sensitive document hosted in a cloud environment;
extract and interpret the metadata tags of the sensitive document;
apply real-time access control policies based on the metadata tags, wherein the application of the real-time access control policies includes the vDLP server further operable to determine compilation of the external user access with the real-time access control policies based on the metadata tags, wherein the real-time access control policies comprise access control based on the metadata tags assigned to the sensitive document; detect violation of the policies; and
block access to the external user in real-time based on the detection of the violation of the policies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kundu (US Patent Pub. 2019/0044945) in view of Bonczar (US Patent Pub. 2021/0021572).
As per claims 2, 9 and 16: Kundu discloses a video data loss prevention (vDLP) system that enforces policies based on metadata tags in real-time without proxy deployment, the vDLP system comprises (see abstract):
a vDLP server operable to (Paragraph 21; In complex distributed cloud environments e.g., VM-based environments), end-users send requests to access restricted resources within a target server):
monitor access attempt by an external user to a sensitive document hosted in a cloud environment (Paragraph 49; The communications facilitated between hypervisors can be monitored and examined in real-time by system management module 110. System management module 110 recognizes the identity of entities associated with processes attempting to access resources on a virtual machine (e.g. processes 105A-C) and whether the resources are restricted or not restricted. The IP address is used as the identifier of the USER ID);
extract and interpret the metadata tags of the sensitive document (Paragraph 69-72; In an exemplary embodiment, system management module 110 invokes one or more hypervisors to perform the operational steps depicted in flowchart 800 by transmitting non-transitory signals. More specifically, system management module 110 invokes a hypervisor to: [0070] Receive an out-of-band message from another hypervisor in step 805; [0071] Extract the information of the source IP, port (e.g., ports 510A and 510B in FIG. 5), timestamp (e.g., function 440 in FIG. 4), protocol, and message size (in terms of amount of memory the message takes up) in step 810; and [0072] Storing the extracted information (from step 805) in a metadata record queue (e.g., program 610 in FIG. 6) in step);
However, Kundu does not specifically disclose apply real-time access control policies based on the metadata tags, wherein the application of the real-time access control policies includes the vDLP server further operable to determine compilation of the external user access with the real-time access control policies based on the metadata tags, wherein the real-time access control policies comprise access control based on the metadata tags assigned to the sensitive document; detect violation of the policies; and block access to the external user in real-time based on the detection of the violation of the policies (See Bonczar; Paragraph 42; provide a level of security through the application of security rules by the intrusion detection and prevention system 109 and the real-time and automatic monitoring of network traffic on behalf of the endpoint device 102, the functionality of the security server 106a may be somewhat limited in that the security server 106a will typically only have access to the data addressed to an endpoint device 102 that connected directly to the security server 106a. In an embodiment in which there are a plurality of endpoint devices and endpoint security servers in the network 104a, the security server 106a will not typically have sufficient data to identify threats and attacks across the network 104a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Kundu in view of Bonczar in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Kundu for thwarting attempts at the unauthorized access to the restricted resources within the target server by adopting Bonczar's teaching for automatically securing endpoint device data communications. The motivation would have been to improve Real Time metadata driven VDLP.
As per claims 3, 10 and 17: The vDLP system of claim 2, wherein access to the external user is blocked in real-time without having to deploy a proxy (See Kundu; Paragraph 66 determining that the attempt to access the restricted resource is not authorized, Paragraph 69-72; In an exemplary embodiment, system management module 110 invokes one or more hypervisors to perform the operational steps depicted in flowchart 800 by transmitting non-transitory signals. More specifically, system management module 110 invokes a hypervisor to: [0070] Receive an out-of-band message from another hypervisor in step 805).
As per claims 4, 11 and 18: The vDLP system of claim 2, wherein the real-time access control policies based on the metadata tags are applied on documents using the metadata tags (See Kundu; Paragraph 36; adds metadata that indicates the identity of the original requester is. Policy enforcer (e.g., access control units 215A-B) is a component of a hypervisor which is responsible for allowing or disallowing the READ system call based on a configured security policy).
As per claims 5 and 12: The vDLP system of claim 2, wherein the real-time access control policies based on the metadata tags exclude content-based policies such as a data-identifier, a keyword, and a regular expression (See Kundu; Paragraph 37; the information contained within the metadata is delivered to hypervisor 205A from hypervisor 205B through the message enricher in hypervisor 205B. The configured security policy indicates the conditions and entities which are granted permission to access and not granted permission to access resources on a virtual machine).
As per claims 6, 13 and :The vDLP system of claim 2, wherein monitoring activity of external users comprises intercepting synchronous events from Office 365ᵀM events (See Bonczar; Paragraph 27; The database 103 may be an ODBC-compliant database. For example, the database 103 may be provided as an ORACLE database, manufactured by Oracle Corporation of Redwood Shores, Calif. In other embodiments, the database 103 can be a Microsoft ACCESS database or a Microsoft SQL server database, manufactured by Microsoft Corporation of Redmond, Wash.).
As per claims 7, 14 and 20: The vDLP system of claim 2, wherein the metadata tags comprise tenant-specific policy labels stored in a meta database (See Kundu; Paragraph 30; database).
As per claims 8, 15 and 21: The vDLP system of claim 2, further comprises a data loss prevention (DLP) engine configured to:
detect a policy violation; and transmit an event to an event forwarder, wherein the event forwarder is configured to communicate the policy violation to a management plane for further incident handling (See Kundu; Paragraph 24; security incident arises when a process, among the one or more processes (e.g., processes 105A-C), on a first virtual machine attempts to access a sensitive/restricted resource on the second virtual machine. In other embodiments, there are threat models which are different from the setup of processes 105A-C; components 125A-D; message queue 130; database 135; key-value stores 140A-B; and message 145, as depicted in FIG. 1, which are compatible with system management module 110).
detect unusual activity from the external user by applying a machine learning classifier, wherein the machine learning classifier is a pre-trained model that is customizable to tenant- specific patterns of behavior; retrieve user-specific data loss prevention policies associated with a tenant (See Bonczar; Paragraph 47; the malicious traffic patterns prevention engine compares destination port information in the log files to its records of standard behavior for communication protocols. If the inspected destination port information deviates from its standard behavior, a rule is written to block/drop the destination traffic. The rule is then loaded on all security servers);
Relevant Prior Art References
The following prior art is cited as being of interest to the claimed invention but has not been applied in any of the current rejections.
Ng et al.- US Patent Publication 2016/0248800- the prior art teaches techniques for cyber vulnerability.
Findlay et al.- US Patent Pub. 20170346846 - the prior art teaches techniques for security threat information gathering and incident reporting.
Dotan et al. – US Patent Pub. 2016/0212168 - the prior art teaches techniques for managing multiple security devices in customer datacenter.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408