Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. That is, the newly cited reference Bibl clearly discloses the limitations in question. Therefore, the claim stand properly addressed and rejected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al., US 2014/0225838 A1 (hereinafter “Gupta) in view of Bibl et al., US 2014/0267683 A1 (hereinafter “Bibl”).
Regarding claim 1, Gupta discloses a display device (display device at [0002]-[0003] and [0030]-[0031]) comprising:
a plurality of pixels (FIGS. 14A-15B-6 at [0084] and [0086]-[0092] OLED layer 1405 and 1505; see generally ) on a substrate (FIGS. 15A-15B-6 at [0087]-[0092] PLN 1511);
a first sub-pixel (FIGS. 15A-15B-6 OLED layer 1505 at [0087]-[0092] see annotation below; generally describing subpixel RGB structure known in the art at FIG. 5 and [0046]) and a second sub-pixel (FIGS. 15A-15B-6 OLED layer 1505 with another subpixel at [0087]-[0092], see annotation below; generally describing subpixel RGB structure known in the art at FIG. 5 and [0046]) in the plurality of pixels and spaced apart from each other ((FIGS. 15A-15B-6 OLED layer 1505 at [0087]-[0092] and as annotated these subpixels are separated);
a first light emitting device in the first sub-pixel (FIGS. 7A-9D,[0052][0056] and [0058]-[0062] OLED element 701, 803, 903, the structure occurring for each subpixel; FIG. 10 illustrating the subpixel structure generally between three subpixels);
a second light emitting device in the second sub-pixel (FIGS. 7A-9D,[0052][0056] and [0058]-[0062] OLED element 701, 803, 903, the structure occurring for each subpixel; FIG. 10 illustrating the subpixel structure generally between three subpixels);
and
a cathode (FIG. 15B-6 and cathode segment 1515 at [0087]-[0092], annotated below) and a first touch electrode (FIG. 15B-6 and cathode segment 1515 at [0087]-[0092], annotated below as touch electrode, the sense portion of cathode 1515 serving as the touch sensing electrode) on the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device (FIG. 15B-6 and cathode segment 1515 and touch electrode segment 1515 as annotated below are above the OLED segments 1505 at [0087]-[0092]);
wherein the cathode and the first touch electrode are on a same layer and are spaced apart from each other (FIG. 15B-6 cathode segment 1515 and touch electrode segment 1515 are made of the same layer and are spaced apart with slits 1510 at [0086]-[0092], and as annotated below).
However, although Gupta discloses a passivation structure (1513) between the pixel structure, Gupta does not explicitly disclose a plurality of banks disposed in each of the first sub-pixel and second sub-pixel, each of the plurality of banks comprising an electrically insulating material;
wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are micro light emitting diodes, and
wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are disposed on the plurality of banks.
In the same field of endeavor, Bibl discloses an AMOLED micro led display panel (100) with a plurality of banks (FIGS. 3A-3D and [0055]-[0060] and [0064]-[0066] with bank structure 128 and bank openings 148/128 in a bank layer 126) disposed in each of the first sub-pixel and second sub-pixel (FIGS. 6C-7 with micro LED devices 400 are subpixels and [0083]-[0085]), each of the plurality of banks comprising an electrically insulating material (FIGS. 3A-D and FIGS. 6C-7 and [0055] with bank layer 126 comprising insulating materials described therein, additionally at [0083]-[0085] with the passivation layer 148 and insulation layer 146 formed within the banks 126/128);
wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are micro light emitting diodes (FIGS. 6C-7 and [0083]-[0091] with micro-LED devices 100), and
wherein the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device are disposed on the plurality of banks (FIGS. 6C-7 and micro LED devices 400 disposed on the banks, and repeated as shown in FIGS. 11-12).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch input display device using a common electrode for both sensing and display of Gupta to incorporate the micro-LED and bank structures as disclosed by Bibl because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, display devices and display structures. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve emission uniformity and electrical conductivity (Bibl at [0049] and [0088]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Gupta in view of Bibl discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above), wherein the cathode overlaps the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device and the first touch electrode is non-overlapping with the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device (Gupta FIG. 15B-6 as illustrated, the cathode overlaps both first and second LED sections, but the touch electrode portion of cathode does not overlap with the same first and second LEDS).
Regarding claim 3, Gupta in view of Bibl discloses the display device of claim 2 (see above), wherein the cathode includes a first sub-electrode and a second sub-electrode spaced apart from each other (Gupta at FIG. 15B-6 [0086]-[0092] and cathode 1515 for each sub-pixel as annotated above are spaced apart by the touch electrode portion of the cathode), wherein the first sub-electrode covers the first light emitting device and the second sub-electrode covers the second light emitting device (Gupta at FIG. 15B-6 [0086]-[0092] and cathode 1515 for each sub-pixel as annotated above are covered by their respective portions of the cathodes, which serves as the sub-electrode).
Regarding claim 4, Gupta in view of Bibl discloses the display device of claim 3 (see above), wherein the first touch electrode is between the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device (Gupta at FIG. 15B-6 [0086]-[0092] section of the sensing line of cathode 1515 is between first and second LEDs as annotated above).
Regarding claim 8, Gupta in view of Bibl discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above), further comprising: a pixel driving circuit on the substrate (Gupta, FIGS. 7A-10 with driving signal having the gate line and FIGS. 5-6 and [0048]-[0051]); and a touch driving line (Gupta, FIG. 6 VDD Line connected to common electrode 618 / cathode 620 with dashed lines at [0048]-[0051]) on the pixel driving circuit (Gupta, FIGS. 5-6 and [0048]-[0051]), wherein the pixel driving circuit applies a touch driving signal to the first touch electrode through the touch driving line (Gupta, FIGS. 5-6 and [0048]-[0051]).
Regarding claim 9, Gupta in view of Bibl discloses the display device of claim 8 (see above), wherein the first touch electrode includes a 1-1th touch electrode and a 1-2th touch electrode spaced apart from each other (FIG. 3A sensing electrode or line 223 repeated), and wherein the pixel driving circuit applies a same touch driving signal to the 1-1th touch electrode and the 1-2th touch electrode (FIGS. 5-6 and [0048]-[0051], VDD applied uniformly and intermittently to the touch electrodes accordingly).
Regarding claim 10, Gupta in view of Bibl discloses the display device of claim 9 (see above), wherein the touch driving line includes a first touch driving line connected to a first channel of the pixel driving circuit (FIG. 6 sense region 603 connected to pixel at first and second locations as shown in the dotted lines of pixel at 620 at [0050]-[0051]) and a second touch driving line connected to a second channel of the pixel driving circuit (FIG. 6 sense region 603 connected to pixel at first and second locations as shown in the dotted lines of pixel on the left and at [0050]-[0051]), wherein the 1-1th touch electrode is connected to the first touch driving line and the 1-2th touch electrode is connected to the second touch driving line (FIG. 6 sense region 603 connected to pixel circuit at first and second locations as shown in the dotted lines of pixel at 620 and at [0050]-[0051], the electrodes would therefore be connected to first and second sections in 620).
Regarding claim 11, Gupta in view of Bibl discloses the display device of claim 9 (see above), wherein the touch driving line includes a first touch driving line connected to a first channel of the pixel driving circuit (FIG. 6 sense region 603 connected to pixel at first and second locations as shown in the dotted lines of pixel at 620 at [0050]-[0051]), and the 1-1th touch electrode and the 1-2th touch electrode are connected to the first touch driving line (FIG. 6 sense region 603 connected to pixel circuit at first and second locations as shown in the dotted lines of pixel at 620 and at [0050]-[0051], the electrodes would therefore be connected to first and second sections in 620).
Regarding claim 12, Gupta in view of Bibl discloses the display device of claim 9 (see above), wherein the touch driving line includes a first touch driving line connected to a first channel of the pixel driving circuit (FIG. 6 sense region 603 connected to pixel at first and second locations as shown in the dotted lines of pixel at 620 at [0050]-[0051]) and a second touch driving line connected to a second channel of the pixel driving circuit (FIG. 6 sense region 603 connected to pixel at first and second locations as shown in the dotted lines of pixel at 620 at [0050]-[0051]), wherein the 1-1th touch electrode is connected to the first touch driving line and the second touch driving line (FIG. 6 sense region 603 connected to pixel circuit at first and second locations as shown in the dotted lines of pixel at 620 and at [0050]-[0051], the electrodes would therefore be connected to first and second sections in 620), and the 1-2th touch electrode is connected to the first touch driving line and the second touch driving line (FIG. 6 sense region 603 connected to pixel circuit at first and second locations as shown in the dotted lines of pixel at 620 and at [0050]-[0051], the electrodes would therefore be connected to first and second sections in 620).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view Bibl as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Bok et al., US 2023/0069851 A1 (hereinafter “Bok”).
Regarding claim 5, Gupta in view of Bibl discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above).
However, Gupta in view of Bibl does not explicitly disclose the display device further comprising: a black matrix on the cathode and the first touch electrode, wherein the black matrix is between the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device, and the black matrix overlaps the first touch electrode.
In the same field of endeavor, Bok discloses a micro-LED display device (Abstract, [0090]) further comprising: a black matrix (Bok, FIGS. 19-20 at [0165] and [0175] and 1902/1904 and 2002/2004) on the cathode (Bok, 333) and the first touch electrode (Bok, 1926 specifically 1927), wherein the black matrix is between the first light emitting device and the second light emitting device (Bok, [0165] black matrix 1902 between adjacent sub-pixels), and the black matrix overlaps the first touch electrode (Bok, FIG. 19 and [0160]-[0165] 1902 overlaps 1926).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch input display device using a common electrode for both sensing and display of Gupta in view of Bibl to incorporate the black matrix overlapping the touch electrode of Bok because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch display devices wherein the common electrode is used for both sensing and display. The motivation to combine these references would have been to reduce the need for other components and improve the reflection of external light (Bok at [0165]. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, Gupta in view of Bibl further in view of Bok discloses the display device of claim 5 (see above), further comprising: a second touch electrode on the black matrix (Bok at FIGS. 19-20 with 1928/2028 is on the black matrix 1902/1904 and filler layer 335 and [0160]-[0165] and [0170]-[1075]), the second touch electrode overlapping the first touch electrode (Bok, FIGS. 19-20 and 1928/2028 over 1927/2027 and 0160]-[0165] and [0170]-[1075]).
Regarding claim 7, Gupta in view of Bibl further in view of Bok discloses the display device of claim 6 (see above), wherein the black matrix further includes a touch contact hole (Bok FIG. 8, contact hole 828 and [0120]-[0121]), wherein the first touch electrode is electrically connected to the second touch electrode through the touch contact hole. (Bok FIG. 8, contact hole 828 and [0120]-[0121] connects 827 and 826).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta in view Bibl as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Krah et al., US 2023/0094533 A1 (hereinafter “Krah”).
Regarding claim 13, Gupta in view Bibl discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above),
However, Gupta in view Bibl does not explicitly disclose wherein the first touch electrode includes a plurality of opening areas overlapping each of the plurality of pixels, wherein the plurality of opening areas include a first opening area and a second opening area spaced apart from the first opening area, and wherein the cathode includes a first cathode in the first opening area and a second cathode in the second opening area.
In the same field of endeavor, Krah discloses a display device with common electrode serving a touch function (Krah Abstract and [0007]) wherein the first touch electrode includes a plurality of opening areas overlapping each of the plurality of pixels (Krah FIGS. 2A-2C and 5A-5E ground plane 248 and 252 has openings corresponding to the touch node electrodes at [0051] and touch node electrode 502 at [0065]-[0067], wherein the plurality of opening areas include a first opening area and a second opening area spaced apart from the first opening area (Krah FIGS. 5A-5E with each touch node electrode with opening of ground plane 248 and 252 at FIG. 2A-C and [0065]-[0067] and [0051]), and wherein the cathode includes a first cathode in the first opening area and a second cathode in the second opening area (Krah FIG. 5D illustrating cathode ITO for each area [0065]-[0067]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch input display device using a common electrode for both sensing and display of Gupta in view Bibl to incorporate openings and Cathode ITOs of Krah because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch display devices wherein the common electrode is used for both sensing and display. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve sensing performance while reducing parasitic capacitance (Krah at [0041]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 14, Gupta in view Bibl further in view of Krah discloses the display device of claim 13 (see above), wherein the first opening area includes a 1-1th opening area and a 1-2th opening area spaced apart from the 1-1th opening area (Krah FIGS. 5A-5E with each touch node electrode with opening of ground plane 248 and 252 at FIG. 2A-C and [0065]-[0067] and [0051]), wherein the first cathode includes a first sub-electrode in the 1-1th opening area and a second sub-electrode in the 1-2th opening area (Krah FIGS. 5A-5E with each touch node electrode with opening of ground plane 248 and 252 at FIG. 2A-C and [0065]-[0067] and [0051] with sub pixels and associated electrodes 508, 510, 512 at [0066]-[0072]), wherein the first sub-electrode overlaps the first light emitting device and the second sub-electrode overlaps the second light emitting device (Krah FIGS. 5A-5E with each touch node electrode with opening of ground plane 248 and 252 at FIG. 2A-C and [0065]-[0067] and [0051] with sub pixels and associated electrodes 508, 510, 512 at [0066]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 15, Gupta in view Bibl further in view of Krah discloses the display device of claim 14 (see above), wherein the first touch electrode is between the 1-1th opening area and the 1-2th opening area (noting Gupta at FIGS. 15A-15B-6 and [0086]-[0093] with touch electrode as described above arranged between, and in view of Krah at FIGS. 2A-C and FIGS. 5A-D and [0065]-[0067], the combination would result in the structure claimed as would be understood by one of ordinary skill).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al., US 2019/0012957 A1: Abstract and FIGS. 1, 5-6 illustrating touch capabilities of micro-led display device;
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2629