Notice of Non-Final Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Referring to claim 1, which recites An information processing method comprising: transmitting, by an information terminal paired with each of a first device including a first light emitter and a second device including a second light emitter, first information for controlling driving of the first light emitter to the first device, based on first identification information related to the first device; executing, by the first device, first control for controlling the driving of the first light emitter, based on the first information; acquiring, by the information terminal, first image data representing an image including a first object and a second object, the first image data being an image of the first light emitter and the second light emitter picked up after the execution of the first control; and associating, by the information terminal, the first object with the first device, based on the first image data and the first information. However, the first control is executed by which device is not clear. There are two devices that control device 13 , and communication device 12 . It is not clear to the examiner whether first control is an instruction for driving the first light emitter or control device. Since claim 1 is rejected under indefiniteness, depending claims 2-9 are also rejected under indefiniteness.
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are the first control relationship between informational terminal to illumination device in order to drive the light emitter or drive the control device of the light emitter.
However, in order to expedite and avoid piecemeal prosecution the following rejection has been made to the extent that the claims are understood by considering those elements which are understood and interpreting their function in manner which is consistent with recited goals of the claims and then applying the best available art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2018/0248623 A1 by Ryan et al (Ryan).
Referring to claim 1 Ryan Fig 1-12 teaches an information processing method comprising: transmitting, by an information terminal (See Fig 1, item 100 paragraph [0049], [0052], abstract, and claim 9) paired with each of a first device (item 108) including a first light emitter and a second device (including a second light emitter, first information for controlling driving (LED driver 130 using micro controller 128 transmits the first control ) of the first light emitter (item 126) to the first device (item behind the LEDs circled item indicating other parts), based on first identification information related to the first device (see paragraphs [0052]-[0060];
In another embodiment Ryan teaches executing (See Fig 2) , by the first device (item 108), first control for controlling the driving of the first light emitter (LED driver 139, based on the first information;
acquiring, by the information terminal, first image data (See Fig 3 and paragraph [0070] representing an image including a first object (item 108) and a second object (item 110) , the first image data being an image of the first light emitter and the second light emitter picked up after the execution of the first control (See Fig 1-3 and paragraphs [0060]-[ 0070] ); and
Ryan further teaches in another embodiment associating, by the information terminal (item 100), the first object (item 108) with the first device, based on the first image data and the first information. (See Fig 1 and paragraphs [0052]-[0070]).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before filing the instant application, to incorporate the teachings of Ryan from Fig 1-3 to incorporate and fabricate n number of lighting devices in a room or a facility using an information tool which acquires the image data and controls the light emitting devices according to the users requirements.
Referring to claim 2, Ryan’s Fig 1-3 modified reference teaches the information processing method according to claim 1, Ryan teaches further the method step comprising: acquiring, by the information terminal, second image data (Fig 3 paragraph [0070]representing an image of the first light emitter and the second light emitter picked up before the execution of the first control, wherein the associating the first object with the first device includes detecting, by the information terminal, a change in the first object due to the execution of the first control, based on the first image data and the second image data (See paragraphs [0052] –[0070] claim 9).
Referring to claim 3, Ryan’s Fig 1-3 modified reference teaches the information processing method according to claim 1, Ryan Fig 28 further teaches wherein the associating the first object with the first device includes: causing, by the information terminal, a display device (Fig 28 item 2808 paragraph [0165]) to display an image represented by the first image data; and accepting, by the information terminal, an operation of selecting the first object displayed on the display device. (See paragraph [0165]).
Referring to claim 4 Ryan’s modified reference teaches the information processing method according to claim 1, Ryan further suggests that the first control is to control a light emission color of the first light emitter (See paragraph [0164] where Ryan suggests that particular modulation signal emits a particular color). Hence, it is obvious to a person with ordinary skill before the effective date of the filing of instant application to modify the first control to address the color of the first light emitter as required by user.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/
09/19/2026
SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845