DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In an amendment dated July 07, 2026, claims 1 and 11 are amended and claim(s) 6 & 16 has been canceled. Currently claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed July 07, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks filed applicant argues prior art of record fails to disclose newly added claim limitation that used to be now canceled claim 6, 16 wherein “…the plurality of electrodes and the plurality of loop coils are located within an active area of the display panel.” The office respectfully disagrees. Prior art of record Horie (Fig 8) clearly discloses display area (93D) of portable apparatus 90 wherein the plurality of electrodes (91) and the plurality of loop coils (95) are located within an active area display screen (93D). Furthermore, Horie (Fig 2-4) discloses plurality of electrodes (Fig 3) and the plurality of loop coils (Fig 4) are located within an active area of the display panel (22). As to remarks on page 8 regarding “a touch controller configured to generate a touch data based on a resonance signal corresponding to the electromagnetic signals from the resonance circuit, wherein the resonance signal is received from at least one of the plurality of electrodes” not being disclosed by prior art of record; the office respectfully disagrees. Prior art of record Horie discloses pen/stylus input data is generated based on electromagnetic wave (alternating magnetic field) generated from the loop coil and the alternating magnetic field is supplied to the resonant circuit of the position indicator (i.e. pen) and based on resonant signal supplied to position indicator (i.e. pen) an induced current is generated in the electromagnetic coupling circuit 504 (resonant circuit) of the position indicator 500 by the alternating magnetic field generated by the power supply coil 95 to thereby resonate and generate an induced current. Based on the induced current, the capacitor of the power storage circuit is charged and power is stored. The position indicator 500 uses the stored power as the drive power supply. Thus, based on signal from electromagnetic coupling circuit 504 (resonant circuit) the position indicated by the conductor core 502 of the position indicator 500 is detected on position detecting device 93 via electrodes. Therefore, prior art of record discloses touch data (pen position) is generated based on signal generated by resonant circuit within position indicator (i.e. pen).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 11-13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Horie (PG Pub NO 2012/0306824).
As in claim 1, Horie discloses a touch device for sensing a position of a stylus including a resonance circuit (Fig 8), comprising:
a display panel; (Fig 1 item 22) discloses LCD substrate
a plurality of electrodes (91) and a plurality of loop coils (95) on the display panel; (Fig 8) discloses electrodes (transparent electrodes 91) and a plurality of loop coils (Coil 95) on the display panel;
a driver configured to apply a plurality of driving signals to the plurality of loop coils to transfer electromagnetic signals to the resonance circuit; [0009] signal is supplied to the loop coil, an electromagnetic wave (alternating magnetic field) is generated from the loop coil and the alternating magnetic field is supplied to the resonant circuit of the position indicator;
and a touch controller configured to generate a touch data based on a resonance signal corresponding to the electromagnetic signals from the resonance circuit, wherein the resonance signal is received from at least one of the plurality of electrodes (Fig 4, 9 and Par 0118, 0122-0134) discloses [0118] When the conductor core 502 of the position indicator 500 is brought close to or into contact with the input surface of the position detecting device 93 of the portable apparatus 90, capacitive coupling between the electrodes 91X and 91Y of the sensor substrate 92 and the conductor core 502 via capacitance Cs occurs. [0122] The position indicator 500 includes an electromagnetic coupling circuit 504, which receives the energy of the alternating magnetic field from the power supply coil 95, and a power storage circuit including a capacitor. [0123] Therefore, when the position indicator 500 is brought close to the display screen 93D of the portable apparatus 90 while the AC signal is supplied to the power supply coil 95, an induced current is generated in the electromagnetic coupling circuit 504 of the position indicator 500 by the alternating magnetic field generated by the power supply coil 95. The position indicator 500 uses the stored power as the drive power supply. [0133] The controller 513 supplies a transmission signal So of a predetermined frequency, which is generated by use of the clock signal from the crystal oscillator 514, to the conductor core 502 of the position indicator 500 via a capacitor 515. As a result, an unbalanced signal voltage supplied between the conductor core 502 and the tip conductor 503 of the position indicator 500 acts between the electrodes 91X and 91Y of the sensor substrate 92 of the position detecting device 93. [0134] In the position detecting device 93, as described above, the position indicated by the conductor core 502 of the position indicator 500 is detected based on the potential difference arising between the plural electrodes 91X and 91Y of the sensor substrate 92 based on the applied unbalanced signal voltage.
wherein the plurality of electrodes and the plurality of loop coils are located within an active area of the display panel. (Fig 8) discloses display screen 93D, wherein plurality of electrodes (91) and loop coil (power supply coil 95) disposed on a display screen (93D) that is disposed within chassis 94 of the portable apparatus 90. Furthermore, (Fig 3-4) discloses plurality of electrodes (Ex, Ey/212) and the plurality of loop coils (23X, 23Y) are located within an active area of the display panel.
As in claim 2, Horie discloses the touch device of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of electrodes and the plurality of loop coils are in the same layer. (Fig 8 and Par 0115) discloses In the center area of the sensor substrate 92, plural line-shape transparent electrodes 91X and 91Y are so disposed as to be orthogonal to each other along the X direction and the Y direction, respectively. In addition, in the peripheral area of the sensor substrate 92, a power supply coil 95 is disposed as a component equivalent to the coil substrate of the present invention.
As in claim 3, Horie discloses the touch device of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of electrodes is on-cell type of touch sensor. (Fig 1, 2) discloses on-cell type of touch sensor.
As in claim 7, Horie discloses the touch device of Claim 6, wherein the driver is configured to control respective currents through the plurality of loop coils. (Par 0061) discloses the AC signal from the current driver 103 is supplied to the loop coil (i.e. control respective current).
As in claim 11, Horie discloses A touch system (fig 8) discloses an input system allowing direct interaction with digital content via stylus (i.e. touch), comprising: a stylus (Fig 3, 4 and 8 item pen) including a resonance circuit (Fig 4 item resonant circuit of the pen 51); and a touch device (Fig 1, 8 position detecting device) comprising:
a display panel; (Fig 1 item 22) discloses LCD substrate
a plurality of electrodes and a plurality of loop coils on the display panel; (Fig 8) discloses electrodes (transparent electrodes 91) and a plurality of loop coils (Coil 95) on the display panel
a driver configured to apply a plurality of driving signals to the plurality of loop coils to transfer electromagnetic signals to the resonance circuit; [0009] signal is supplied to the loop coil, an electromagnetic wave (alternating magnetic field) is generated from the loop coil and the alternating magnetic field is supplied to the resonant circuit of the position indicator.
and a touch controller configured to generate a touch data based on a resonance signal corresponding to the electromagnetic signals from the resonance circuit, wherein the resonance signal is received from at least one of the plurality of electrodes. (Fig 4, 9 and Par 0118, 0122-0134) discloses [0118] When the conductor core 502 of the position indicator 500 is brought close to or into contact with the input surface of the position detecting device 93 of the portable apparatus 90, capacitive coupling between the electrodes 91X and 91Y of the sensor substrate 92 and the conductor core 502 via capacitance Cs occurs. [0122] The position indicator 500 includes an electromagnetic coupling circuit 504, which receives the energy of the alternating magnetic field from the power supply coil 95, and a power storage circuit including a capacitor. [0123] Therefore, when the position indicator 500 is brought close to the display screen 93D of the portable apparatus 90 while the AC signal is supplied to the power supply coil 95, an induced current is generated in the electromagnetic coupling circuit 504 of the position indicator 500 by the alternating magnetic field generated by the power supply coil 95. The position indicator 500 uses the stored power as the drive power supply. [0133] The controller 513 supplies a transmission signal So of a predetermined frequency, which is generated by use of the clock signal from the crystal oscillator 514, to the conductor core 502 of the position indicator 500 via a capacitor 515. As a result, an unbalanced signal voltage supplied between the conductor core 502 and the tip conductor 503 of the position indicator 500 acts between the electrodes 91X and 91Y of the sensor substrate 92 of the position detecting device 93. [0134] In the position detecting device 93, as described above, the position indicated by the conductor core 502 of the position indicator 500 is detected based on the potential difference arising between the plural electrodes 91X and 91Y of the sensor substrate 92 based on the applied unbalanced signal voltage.
wherein the plurality of electrodes and the plurality of loop coils are located within an active area of the display panel. (Fig 8 and Par 0121) discloses display screen 93D, wherein plurality of electrodes (91) and loop coil (power supply coil 95) disposed on a display screen (93D) that is disposed within chassis 94 of the portable apparatus 90. Furthermore, (Fig 3-4) discloses plurality of electrodes (Ex, Ey/212) and the plurality of loop coils (23X, 23Y) are located within an active area of the display panel.
As in claim 12, Horie discloses the touch device of Claim 11, wherein the plurality of electrodes and the plurality of loop coils are in the same layer. (Fig 8 and Par 0115) discloses in the center area of the sensor substrate 92, plural line-shape transparent electrodes 91X and 91Y are so disposed as to be orthogonal to each other along the X direction and the Y direction, respectively. In addition, in the peripheral area of the sensor substrate 92, a power supply coil 95 is disposed as a component equivalent to the coil substrate of the present invention.
As in claim 13, Horie discloses the touch device of Claim 11, wherein the plurality of electrodes is on-cell type of touch sensor. (Fig 1, 2) discloses on-cell type of touch sensor.
As in claim 17, Horie discloses the touch device of Claim 11, wherein the driver is configured to control respective currents through the plurality of loop coils. (Par 0061) discloses the AC signal from the current driver 103 is supplied to the loop coil (i.e. control respective current).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie (PG Pub NO 2012/0306824) in view of Navidpour et al (PG Pub 2017/0068330).
As in claim 4, Horie discloses the touch device of Claim 1, but fails to discloses the plurality of electrodes is in-cell type of touch sensor. However, Navidpour et al (Par 0030, 0032) discloses the use of in-cell type touch sensor wherein common electrodes can be used for display functions during active display refresh and can be used to perform touch sensing functions during touch sensing periods. A touch screen stack-up sharing components between sensing functions and display functions can be referred to as an in-cell touch screen. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the fielding to modify Horie touch sensor with the teaching of Navidpour et al wherein said touch sensor would be in-cell type that shares components between sensing functions and display functions by reducing components as well as the thickness of the touch device.
As in claim 14, Horie discloses the touch device of Claim 11, but fails to discloses the plurality of electrodes is in-cell type of touch sensor. However, Navidpour et al (Par 0030, 0032) discloses the use of in-cell type touch sensor wherein common electrodes can be used for display functions during active display refresh and can be used to perform touch sensing functions during touch sensing periods. A touch screen stack-up sharing components between sensing functions and display functions can be referred to as an in-cell touch screen. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the fielding to modify Horie touch sensor with the teaching of Navidpour et al wherein said touch sensor would be in-cell type that shares components between sensing functions and display functions by reducing components as well as the thickness of the touch device.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie (PG Pub NO 2012/0306824) in view of Yamamoto (PG Pub NO 2008/0150914).
As in claim 5, Horie discloses the touch device of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of electrodes and the plurality of loop coils are made of the same material. (Fig 1, 8 and Par 0051) discloses electrode 91 disposed on display area having transparent electrode group 212 (i.e. TTO) but fails to discloses the material of the loop coil. However, Yamamoto (Par 0025 and Fig 1-2) discloses coils 2 disposed on a display and formed from ITO (indium tin oxide). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Horie with the teaching of Yamamoto wherein the electrode and loop coil would be formed out of same material such as transparent conductive material (i.e. ITO) in order not to obstruct the display content. Furthermore, it would have been obvious and well known in the art to have electrodes and the plurality of loop coils are made of the same material in order to reduce material cost by using same material for electrodes and loop coil to yield same predictable outcome.
As in claim 15, Horie discloses the touch device of Claim 11, wherein the plurality of electrodes and the plurality of loop coils are made of the same material. (Fig 1, 8 and Par 0051) discloses electrode 91 disposed on display area having transparent electrode group 212 (i.e. TTO) but fails to discloses the material of the loop coil. However, Yamamoto (Par 0025 and Fig 1-2) discloses coils 2 disposed on a display and formed from ITO (indium tin oxide). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Horie with the teaching of Yamamoto wherein the electrode and loop coil would be formed out of same material such as transparent conductive material (i.e. ITO) in order not to obstruct the display content. Furthermore, it would have been obvious and well known in the art to have electrodes and the plurality of loop coils are made of the same material in order to reduce material cost by using same material for electrodes and loop coil to yield same predictable outcome.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horie (PG Pub NO 2012/0306824) in view of Yao et al (PG Pub NO 2016/0026271).
As in claim 8, Horie discloses the touch device of Claim 1, wherein, within a single frame period, the driver is configured to apply (i) a first driving signal having a first frequency and (ii) a tracking signal having a second frequency different from the first frequency. (Par 0060) discloses driver is configured to generates an AC (alternative current) signal of a frequency f0. The AC signal is supplied to the current driver 103 and converted to a current and thereafter sent out to the transmission/reception switch circuit 104. And 0126] The electromagnetic coupling circuit 504 is formed of a resonant circuit composed of a coil 5041 and a capacitor 5042. The resonant frequency of the electromagnetic coupling circuit 504 is set equal to the frequency of the AC signal supplied to the power supply coil 95 of the position detecting device 93 of the portable apparatus 90. The electromagnetic coupling circuit 504 is positioned in the position indicator 500 so as to be capable of receiving an alternating magnetic field from the power supply coil 95 when the position indicator 500 is brought close to the portable apparatus 90, as shown in FIG. 8. But fails to discloses the driver is configured to apply first driving signal having a first frequency and tracking signal having a second frequency different from the first frequency. However, Yao et al (Par 0007, 0030) discloses the use of first frequency (F1) driving signal and receives a second signal having a second frequency (f2) different from the first frequency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Horie with the teaching of Yao et al such that the touch panel can detect an input on touch device accurately by avoiding signal interference.
As in claim 9, Horie in view of Yao et al discloses the touch device of Claim 8, wherein the touch controller is configured to update the first frequency for a subsequent frame period based on at least one of an amplitude or a phase of the resonance signal corresponding to the tracking signal. Yao et al (Fig 5b and Par 0049-0055) discloses [0049] Specifically, in a first possible approach, each of the first coils 1 (e.g., 1-1, 1-2, 1-3) emits a first electromagnetic signal E1 having the first frequency f1 and receives a second reflected signals R2 having the second frequency f2 simultaneously (as shown in FIG. 5a), and each of the second coils 1 (e.g., 2-1, 2-2, 2-3) emits a second electromagnetic signal E2 having the second frequency f2 and receives the a reflected signals R1 having the first frequency f1 simultaneously. As shown in FIG. 5a, for example, each of the first coils performs multiple times of emission processes and multiple times of reception processes. Thus, controller is configured to update the first frequency for a subsequent frame period based on phase of the resonance signal corresponding to the tracking signal (i.e. receives a second reflected signals R2).
As in claim 18, Horie discloses the touch device of Claim 11, wherein, within a single frame period, the driver is configured to apply (i) a first driving signal having a first frequency and (ii) a tracking signal having a second frequency different from the first frequency. (Par 0060) discloses driver is configured to generates an AC (alternative current) signal of a frequency f0. The AC signal is supplied to the current driver 103 and converted to a current and thereafter sent out to the transmission/reception switch circuit 104. And 0126] The electromagnetic coupling circuit 504 is formed of a resonant circuit composed of a coil 5041 and a capacitor 5042. The resonant frequency of the electromagnetic coupling circuit 504 is set equal to the frequency of the AC signal supplied to the power supply coil 95 of the position detecting device 93 of the portable apparatus 90. The electromagnetic coupling circuit 504 is positioned in the position indicator 500 so as to be capable of receiving an alternating magnetic field from the power supply coil 95 when the position indicator 500 is brought close to the portable apparatus 90, as shown in FIG. 8. But fails to discloses the driver is configured to apply first driving signal having a first frequency and tracking signal having a second frequency different from the first frequency. However, Yao et al (Par 0007, 0030) discloses the use of first frequency (F1) driving signal and receives a second signal having a second frequency (f2) different from the first frequency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Horie with the teaching of Yao et al such that the touch panel can detect an input on touch device accurately by avoiding signal interference.
As in claim 19, Horie in view of Yao et al discloses the touch device of Claim 18, wherein the touch controller is configured to update the first frequency for a subsequent frame period based on at least one of an amplitude or a phase of the resonance signal corresponding to the tracking signal. Yao et al (Fig 5b and Par 0049-0055) discloses [0049] Specifically, in a first possible approach, each of the first coils 1 (e.g., 1-1, 1-2, 1-3) emits a first electromagnetic signal E1 having the first frequency f1 and receives a second reflected signals R2 having the second frequency f2 simultaneously (as shown in FIG. 5a), and each of the second coils 1 (e.g., 2-1, 2-2, 2-3) emits a second electromagnetic signal E2 having the second frequency f2 and receives the a reflected signals R1 having the first frequency f1 simultaneously. As shown in FIG. 5a, for example, each of the first coils performs multiple times of emission processes and multiple times of reception processes. Thus, controller is configured to update the first frequency for a subsequent frame period based on phase of the resonance signal corresponding to the tracking signal (i.e. receives a second reflected signals R2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENYAM KETEMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626