DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “wherein the first-pixel driving circuit overlaps the first second-type light-emitting element, the first first-type light-emitting element, the second second-type light-emitting element, and the second first-type light-emitting element.” [claim 5], “wherein the second-pixel driving circuit overlaps the first second-type light-emitting element, the first first-type light- emitting element, the second second-type light-emitting element, and the second first- type light-emitting element.” [claim 6], “wherein the second-pixel driving circuit further overlaps the third second-type light-emitting element and the third first- type light-emitting element.” [claim 7], & “wherein the third-pixel driving circuit overlaps the third second-type light-emitting element and the third first-type light- emitting element.” [claim 8] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the objection to the drawings, the Applicant argues [Remarks: pg. 8, last para. – pg. 9, last para.], that as figure 5 of the instant application supports the subject matter of claims 5-8.
The Office respectfully disagrees.
In claims 5-8, the claims claim a pixel circuit. Figure 5 of the instant application does not actually show pixel circuits [a transistor or capacitor, for example], only areas corresponding to pixel circuits. The actual pixel circuitry could be placed such that the circuitry of the pixel circuits do not overlap the corresponding claimed light-emitting elements.
Thus, the objection to the drawings is maintained.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, the Applicant argues [Remarks: pg. 10, last para. – pg. 11, 4th para.], that Sumida fails to teach the amended claim limitation.
The Office respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “In other words, claim 1 defines an arrangement in which four light-emitting elements arranged in the first direction and two light-emitting elements are spaced apart from each other in the second direction.” [Remarks: pg. 11, 3rd para.], Is the Applicant arguing a 4x2 block of pixels? What light-emitting types [first first-type, first second-type, second first-type, second second-type] correspond to the two light emitting elements?) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The argued amended claim limitation states: “wherein the first second-type light-emitting element, the first first-type light- emitting element, the second second-type light-emitting element, and the second first- type light-emitting element are sequentially arranged along a first direction” [Remarks: pg. 11, para. 4].
Refer to figure 3a and paragraphs 17 & 3 of Sumida. A display panel comprises a matrix of pixels arranged in m rows and n columns. Each pixel 14 corresponds to a color [see para 33, red r, green g, or blue b]. Referring to figure 3c, a red pixel 31 (comprising first first-type light-emitting element [r-1 region 311] & first second-type light emitting element [r-2 region 312]), a green pixel 32 (comprising second first-type light emitting element [g-1 region 321] & second second-type light emitting element [g-2 region 322]) and a blue pixel 33 [see para. 24 & 38].
Note that along the horizontal direction [corresponding to the claimed first direction], the red pixel 31 (comprising first first-type light-emitting element [r-1 region 311] & first second-type light emitting element [r-2 region 312]) & blue pixel 32 (comprising second first-type light emitting element [g-1 region 321] & second second-type light emitting element [g-2 region 322]) are sequentially and repeatedly arranged. Further note that each light-emitting element corresponding to each type [first first-type, first second-type, second first-type, & second second-type] are spaced apart from each other [see figs. 3b-3c].
Thus, Sumida teaches the amended claim limitations of independent claim 1 as argued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sumida et al. (US 20120299883).
As to claim 1, Sumida discloses an electronic device [abstract & figs. 3a-4] comprising:
a first-pixel driving circuit (r pixel 31) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24];
a first first-type light-emitting element (organic EL element A, r-1 region 311) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24] electrically connected to the first-pixel driving circuit;
a first second-type light-emitting element (organic EL element B, r-2 region 312) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24] electrically connected to the first- pixel driving circuit;
a second-pixel driving circuit (g pixel 32) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24];
a second first-type light-emitting element (organic EL element A, g-1 region 321) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24] electrically connected to the second- pixel driving circuit;
a second second-type light-emitting element (organic EL element B, g-2 region 322) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24] electrically connected to the second-pixel driving circuit;
a third-pixel driving circuit (b pixel 33) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24];
a third first-type light-emitting element (organic EL element A, b-1 region 331) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24] electrically connected to the third- pixel driving circuit;
a third second-type light-emitting element (organic EL element B, b-2 region 332) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24] electrically connected to the third- pixel driving circuit; and
a light path control layer (lens 26, organic EL element B corresponding to r-2 region 312, g-2 region 322, & b-2 region 332) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 35-36, 38, & 24] disposed on the first second-type light-emitting element, the second second-type light-emitting element, and the third second-type light-emitting element,
wherein the first second-type light-emitting element, the first first-type light-emitting element, the second second-type light-emitting element, and the second first-type light-emitting element are sequentially arranged along a first direction (arranged horizontally) [figs. 3a-4], and
wherein the third second-type light-emitting element and the third first-type light-emitting element are spaced apart from the first second-type light-emitting element, the first first-type light-emitting element, the second second-type light- emitting element, and the second first-type light-emitting element in the second direction (vertically) [figs. 3a-4] intersecting the first direction (pixel circuits arranged in a matrix) [figs. 3a-4].
As to claim 2, Sumida discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein:
a color of light provided from the first first-type light-emitting element is substantially the same as a color of light provided from the first second-type light- emitting element (r pixel 31) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24];
a color of light provided from the second first-type light-emitting element is substantially the same as a color of light provided from the second second-type light- emitting element (g pixel 32) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24]; and
a color of light provided from the third first-type light-emitting element is substantially the same as a color of light provided from the third second-type light- emitting element (b pixel 33) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24].
As to claim 3, Sumida discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the third second-type light- emitting element is spaced apart from the first first-type light-emitting element and the first second-type light-emitting element in the second direction (matrix arrangement of pixel circuits) [figs. 3a-4], and
wherein the third first-type light-emitting element is spaced apart from the second first-type light-emitting element and the second second-type light-emitting element in the second direction (matrix arrangement of pixel circuits) [figs. 3a-4].
As to claim 4, Sumida discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first-pixel driving circuit, the second-pixel driving circuit, and the third-pixel driving circuit are arranged in the second direction (matrix arrangement of pixel circuits) [figs. 3a-4].
As to claim 13, Sumida discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein:
a first light-emitting region is defined in the first first-type light-emitting element (organic EL element A, r-1 region 311) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24];
a second light-emitting region is defined in the first second-type light-emitting element (organic EL element B, r-2 region 312) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24]; and
wherein an area of the first light-emitting region is equal to an area of the second light-emitting region [fig. 3c].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumida, in view of Youn (US 20210175461.
As to claim 14, Sumida teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein:
a first light-emitting region is defined in the first first-type light-emitting element (r-1 region 311) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24];
a second light-emitting region is defined in the second first-type light-emitting element (g-1 region 321) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24];
a third light-emitting region is defined in the third first-type light-emitting element (b-1 region 331) [figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24].
Sumida does not explicitly teach wherein areas of the first light-emitting region, the second light-emitting region, and the third light-emitting region are different from each other.
Youn teaches the concept of an electronic device [abstract], wherein areas of a first light-emitting region, a second light-emitting region, and a third light-emitting region are different from each other [figs 1-2 & para. 53-54].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the areas of the first light-emitting region, the second-light emitting region, and the third light-emitting region of the electronic device of Sumida, such that areas of the first light-emitting region, the second light-emitting region, and the third light-emitting region are different from each other, as taught by Youn, to improve the lifetime of the electronic device of Sumida, as taught by Youn [para. 54].
As to claim 15, Sumida as modified by Youn teaches the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the area of the third light- emitting region (blue) [Youn: para. 53 & Sumida: figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24] is greater than the area of the second light-emitting region (green) [Youn: para. 53 & Sumida: figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24], and the area of the second light-emitting region is greater than the area of the first light-emitting region (red) [Youn: para. 53 & Sumida: figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24].
As to claim 16, Sumida as modified by Youn teaches the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the first light-emitting region is a red light-emitting region (r-1 region 311) [Sumida: figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24 & Youn: para. 53], the second light-emitting region is a green light- emitting region (g-1 region 321) [Sumida: figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24 & Youn: para. 53], and the third light-emitting region is a blue light-emitting region (b-1 region 331) [Sumida: figs. 3a-4 & para. 38 & 24 & Youn: para. 53].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622