DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS section of the Specification does not provide the status of parent application Serial No. 17/390,072 as an issued patent, i.e., as U.S. Patent No. 12,330,994. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites that “the liquid binder can be one or more of a polyvinyl alcohol and water mixture and a polyvinyl butyral and ethanol mixture.” The use of the phrase “can be” raises an issue of indefiniteness and clarity because it is not clear whether the materials recited afterward, i.e., the polyvinyl alcohol and water mixture and the polyvinyl butyral and ethanol mixture, are positively recited or are merely optional. The use of the term “optionally” is not, in and of itself, indefinite. See, e.g., M.P.E.P. 2173.05(h)(II). However, in this instance, it is unclear whether the limitations are supposed to be required or are allowed to be optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0148600 to She et al. (“She”).
With regard to Claims 1 and 3, She discloses a ceramic matrix composite comprising a reinforcing ceramic continuous fiber stack and coated particles. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. She discloses that the reinforcing ceramic continuous fiber stack comprises a plurality of interconnected fiber tows aligned into plies with each fiber tow having a surface with pores. Paragraphs [0006] and [0030]. She teaches that the particles infiltrate into the pores on the surfaces between stacks of the plies by using a binder. Paragraphs [0014] to [0019]. She discloses the particles are inorganic particles formed of carbon and/or silicon carbide. Paragraph [0030]. She discloses that the particles satisfy the functionalized limitation by provided the particles with a coating of a first chemical compound, wherein the first chemical compound comprises silicon carbide. Paragraphs [0018], [0019], [0038] and [0043]. With regard to Claim 2, She discloses that the particles are coated using chemical vapor infiltration. Paragraphs [0038], [0039], and [0043]. With regard to Claims 4 and 5, after small particles within a central zone of the ceramic matrix composite are initially coated with a first chemical vapor infiltration process, a second chemical vapor infiltration process is utilized to coat the medium particles in the middle zone of the ceramic matrix composite, paragraph [0042], which would result in a second chemical compound comprising the same chemical compound of the first chemical compound being present in a small amount on the small particles within the central zone of the ceramic matrix composite. With regard to Claim 6, She discloses that the particles are applied to the plies using a liquid binder that can be cured or removed. Paragraph [0038]. With regard to Claim 8, She discloses that the plies can be stacked, debulked by pressing, and densified to form the ceramic matrix composite. Paragraphs [0010] to [0012] and [0035] to [0037]. With regard to Claim 9, She discloses that the densification step can comprise chemical vapor infiltration. Paragraph [0036].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over She in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0284099 to Jackson et al. (“Jackson”).
With regard to Claim 7, She does not disclose the binder used with deposition of the particles. Jackson is also related to the densification of ceramic matrix composites comprising fiber tows and inorganic particles. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Jackson teaches that inorganic filler particles can be bonded to the fibrous substrates using a resin and a carrier solvent, such as polyvinyl alcohol and water. Paragraph [0011]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to use polyvinyl alcohol and water to bond the inorganic particles disclosed by She to the fiber tows because Jackson teaches that such a tackifying system is suitable for use in the same field of endeavor, and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (CCPA 1960).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 19/690,904 (“the ‘904 Application”) in view of She. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘904 Application claims a ceramic matrix composite component comprising a plurality of ceramic fiber plies, wherein each of the plurality of ceramic fiber plies comprises a plurality of interconnected tows, and a plurality of ceramic particles and/or ceramic particulates positioned within voids between adjacent tows of each of the plurality of ceramic fiber plies. Although the ‘904 Application does not claim a first chemical compound of an inorganic material is coated onto the particles, She renders such a modification obvious, given that She teaches that such particles can be coated with the inorganic chemical compound using chemical vapor infiltration to improve the densification process without any undue burden.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0189986 to Brown et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0272316 to Foise et al., and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0028520 to Boschetti et al.
JEREMY R. PIERCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/JEREMY R PIERCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789