DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 28 May 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boissard (US Publication 2020/0180752 A1) in view of Dupre et al. (US Publication 2019/0118940 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Boissard teaches a sliding mode control method of an aircraft ground coordinated turning system, comprising: acquiring real-time parameters of an aircraft (Boissard: Para. 3; the speed measurement given by the inertial unit of the aircraft, a speed estimate given by an on-board GPS, or an average of the circumferential speeds of the wheels driven by the actuators of the drive device can be used); and controlling a state of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system on a composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning by a nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law based on the real-time parameters of the aircraft (Boissard: Para. 6; speed of the regulated aircraft is a measured or estimated speed of a portion of the aircraft located at a nose tip of the aircraft).
Boissard doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the state of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system comprises a steering angle of a left main wheel and a right main wheel, and a steering angle of a nose wheel; a control target of the composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning is that a yaw distance of the aircraft and a yaw angle of the aircraft approach zero within a preset time; and an acquisition method of the nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law comprises: taking a derivative of the composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning, and in combination with a model of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system, determining a nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law; wherein system state variables of the model of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system comprise a yaw distance of the aircraft, a yaw angle of the aircraft, a longitudinal velocity of the aircraft and a yaw angular velocity.
However Dupre, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the state of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system comprises a steering angle of a left main wheel and a right main wheel, and a steering angle of a nose wheel (Dupre: Para. 5-8; controlling the steering angle of the nose gear wheel; electric motors driving the wheels of the main landing gear, at different speeds and/or by applying a thrust differential between the left engine and the right engine; three separate control means each acting on one of the aforementioned lateral movement devices; control means for example consist of a tiller, a rudder bar and independent brake pedals); a control target of the composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning is that a yaw distance of the aircraft and a yaw angle of the aircraft approach zero within a preset time (Dupre: Para. 152, 155, 170, 222; determine the current trajectory predicted over a preset distance or over a preset time interval, between the current determination moment and a time limit; corresponding to the derivative of the lateral force relative to the sideslip angle); and an acquisition method of the nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law comprises: taking a derivative of the composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning, and in combination with a model of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system, determining a nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law (Dupre: Para. 152, 155, 170; instruction orders such that the steering angle of the nose gear wheel remains in the steering angle range of the nose gear wheel, beyond which a risk of loss of adhesion of the nose gear wheel is significantly increased; adhesion coefficient are also defined, corresponding to the derivative of the lateral force relative to the sideslip angle); wherein system state variables of the model of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system comprise a yaw distance of the aircraft, a yaw angle of the aircraft, a longitudinal velocity of the aircraft and a yaw angular velocity (Dupre: Para. 134, 137-138; lateral trajectory refers to a trajectory described by at least one point or element of the aircraft, combining a longitudinal movement and a lateral movement; curve radius, preferably associated with speed information at that point, in particular the modulus of the speed vector at that point, and/or a yaw speed r at that point).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the aircraft wheel rotation drive device based on the nose tip speed (Boissard: Para. 6) with the derivative of the lateral force relative to the sideslip angle (Dupre: Para. 152, 155, 170) with a reasonable expectation of success because keeping the steering angle of the nose gear wheel within an angle range to decrease the risk of slipping (Dupre: Para. 152).
Regarding claim 2, Boissard teaches the sliding mode control method of an aircraft ground coordinated turning system according to claim 1, ………. ; and the aircraft trajectory tracking coordinate system comprises an inertial reference coordinate system, an aircraft-body-fixed coordinate system and a coordinate system defined by a desired trajectory (Boissard: Para. 13, Fig. 1; trajectory of the centre of gravity, as well as the trajectory of the auxiliary landing gear).
Boissard doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the model of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system, the composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning and the nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law are all determined based on an aircraft trajectory tracking coordinate system.
However Dupre, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the model of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system, the composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning and the nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law are all determined based on an aircraft trajectory tracking coordinate system (Dupre: Para. 153; a curve representative of the current trajectory of the aircraft, and at least one limit curve representative of a limit trajectory able to be achieved by at least one element of the aircraft by actuating at least one lateral movement device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the aircraft wheel rotation drive device based on the nose tip speed (Boissard: Para. 6) with the derivative of the lateral force relative to the sideslip angle (Dupre: Para. 152, 155, 170) with a reasonable expectation of success because keeping the steering angle of the nose gear wheel within an angle range to decrease the risk of slipping (Dupre: Para. 152).
Regarding claim 6, Boissard teaches a sliding mode control system of an aircraft ground coordinated turning system, comprising: an acquisition module, configured to acquire real-time parameters of an aircraft (Boissard: Para. 3; the speed measurement given by the inertial unit of the aircraft, a speed estimate given by an on-board GPS, or an average of the circumferential speeds of the wheels driven by the actuators of the drive device can be used); a control module, configured to control a state of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system on a composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning by a nose-wheel- main-wheel coordinated turning control law based on the real-time parameters of the aircraft (Boissard: Para. 6; speed of the regulated aircraft is a measured or estimated speed of a portion of the aircraft located at a nose tip of the aircraft).
Boissard doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the state of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system comprises a steering angle of a left main wheel and a right main wheel, and a steering angle of a nose wheel; a control target of the composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning is that a yaw distance of the aircraft and a yaw angle of the aircraft approach zero within a preset time; and an acquisition method of the nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law comprises: taking a derivative of the composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning, and in combination with a model of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system, determining a nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law; wherein system state variables of the model of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system comprise a yaw distance of the aircraft, a yaw angle of the aircraft, a longitudinal velocity of the aircraft and a yaw angular velocity.
However Dupre, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the state of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system comprises a steering angle of a left main wheel and a right main wheel, and a steering angle of a nose wheel (Dupre: Para. 5-8; controlling the steering angle of the nose gear wheel; electric motors driving the wheels of the main landing gear, at different speeds and/or by applying a thrust differential between the left engine and the right engine; three separate control means each acting on one of the aforementioned lateral movement devices; control means for example consist of a tiller, a rudder bar and independent brake pedals); a control target of the composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning is that a yaw distance of the aircraft and a yaw angle of the aircraft approach zero within a preset time (Dupre: Para. 152, 155, 170, 222; determine the current trajectory predicted over a preset distance or over a preset time interval, between the current determination moment and a time limit; corresponding to the derivative of the lateral force relative to the sideslip angle); and an acquisition method of the nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law comprises: taking a derivative of the composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning, and in combination with a model of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system, determining a nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law (Dupre: Para. 152, 155, 170; instruction orders such that the steering angle of the nose gear wheel remains in the steering angle range of the nose gear wheel, beyond which a risk of loss of adhesion of the nose gear wheel is significantly increased; adhesion coefficient are also defined, corresponding to the derivative of the lateral force relative to the sideslip angle); wherein system state variables of the model of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system comprise a yaw distance of the aircraft, a yaw angle of the aircraft, a longitudinal velocity of the aircraft and a yaw angular velocity (Dupre: Para. 134, 137-138; lateral trajectory refers to a trajectory described by at least one point or element of the aircraft, combining a longitudinal movement and a lateral movement; curve radius, preferably associated with speed information at that point, in particular the modulus of the speed vector at that point, and/or a yaw speed r at that point).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the aircraft wheel rotation drive device based on the nose tip speed (Boissard: Para. 6) with the derivative of the lateral force relative to the sideslip angle (Dupre: Para. 152, 155, 170) with a reasonable expectation of success because keeping the steering angle of the nose gear wheel within an angle range to decrease the risk of slipping (Dupre: Para. 152).
Regarding claim 7, Boissard teaches the sliding mode control system of an aircraft ground coordinated turning system according to claim 6, …….. ; and the aircraft trajectory tracking coordinate system comprises an inertial reference coordinate system, an aircraft-body-fixed coordinate system and a coordinate system defined by a desired trajectory (Boissard: Para. 13, Fig. 1; trajectory of the centre of gravity, as well as the trajectory of the auxiliary landing gear).
Boissard doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the model of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system, the composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning and the nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law are all determined based on an aircraft trajectory tracking coordinate system.
However Dupre, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the model of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system, the composite sliding mode surface for nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning and the nose-wheel-main-wheel coordinated turning control law are all determined based on an aircraft trajectory tracking coordinate system (Dupre: Para. 153; a curve representative of the current trajectory of the aircraft, and at least one limit curve representative of a limit trajectory able to be achieved by at least one element of the aircraft by actuating at least one lateral movement device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the aircraft wheel rotation drive device based on the nose tip speed (Boissard: Para. 6) with the derivative of the lateral force relative to the sideslip angle (Dupre: Para. 152, 155, 170) with a reasonable expectation of success because keeping the steering angle of the nose gear wheel within an angle range to decrease the risk of slipping (Dupre: Para. 152).
Regarding claim 10, Boissard teaches an aircraft ground coordinated turning system, comprising a controller and a body of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system (Boissard: Para. 12; left main landing gear and a right main landing gear, and an auxiliary landing gear located at a nose tip of the aircraft; the main landing gears are equipped with a rotating wheel drive system, with a rotating drive actuator (e. g. outer wheels) on each main landing gear).
Boissard doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the controller controls the body of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system according to the sliding mode control method of an aircraft ground coordinated turning system according to claim 1.
However Dupre, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the controller controls the body of the aircraft ground coordinated turning system according to the sliding mode control method of an aircraft ground coordinated turning system according to claim 1 (Dupre: Para. 7-8; three separate control means each acting on one of the aforementioned lateral movement devices; tiller is a control wheel whose rotation makes it possible to cause a corresponding modification of the steering angle of the wheel).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the aircraft wheel rotation drive device based on the nose tip speed (Boissard: Para. 6) with the derivative of the lateral force relative to the sideslip angle (Dupre: Para. 152, 155, 170) with a reasonable expectation of success because keeping the steering angle of the nose gear wheel within an angle range to decrease the risk of slipping (Dupre: Para. 152).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663