DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/22/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10, and 13 recite "the medical imaging device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. For examination purposes, Examiner of record takes this to be “the medical imaging system”.
Claim 11 recites the "a third image … a fifth distance … a sixth distance” in lines 2-3 and 6, respectively. Because only a first image, a first distance, and a second distance are recited in claim 1 and because the claim does not recite a second image, a third distance, and a fourth distance and claims 3-5 and 9 are not intervening claims, it is unclear how many images and distances the Applicant is attempting to claim. For examination purposes, Examiner of record takes this recitation to be “a second image … a third distance…a fourth distance”.
Claim 14 recites the "a third image … a fifth distance … a sixth distance” in lines 3 and 7, respectively. Because only a first image, a first distance, and a second distance are recited in claim 13, it is unclear how many images and distances the Applicant is attempting to claim. For examination purposes, Examiner of record takes this to be “a second image … a third distance…a fourth distance”.
Claims dependent upon the rejected claims above, but not directly addressed, are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claim(s) they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 20220061781), hereinafter Zhao, in view of Faigle et al (US 20190008411), hereinafter Faigle.
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a calibration method (“the processing device 120 may update or determine the transforming relationship by obtaining multiple calibration images of the couch acquired by the imaging device when the couch is located at different spatial positions in the second coordinate system.” [0126]; “the processing device 120 may obtain a count of pixels corresponding to the couch along the X-axis (e.g., a width of the couch) in the calibration image.” [0151]) for a medical imaging system (100) (“the medical radiation device 110 may be a medical imaging device configured to scan a subject (or a part of the subject) to acquire image data. In some embodiments, the medical radiation device 110 may include a gantry 111, a detector 112, a couch 114, and a radioactive source 115. The gantry 111 may include a radiation region 113. The subject may be placed on the couch 114 and moved into the radiation region 113 to be scanned.” [0050]; Fig. 1), the method comprising:
obtaining a first image (“the image” [0011]) comprising a reference object (670) (“The reference point 670 on the couch may be used to describe the position of the couch in the image or the second coordinate system.” [0180]; Fig. 6) and a scanned subject (“the scanning range” [0011]) placed on a surface of an examination table (114) of the medical imaging system ("The subject may be placed on the couch 114 and moved into the radiation region 113 to be scanned." [0050]), and determining a first distance (a distance from A1, line 640, to R1 in Fig. 6) according to the first image, wherein the first distance comprises a distance from at least one point of the scanned subject (A1) to the reference object (R1) (“the causing, based on the position of the scanning range in the image, the couch to move to a second position may include determining, based on the position of the reference range in the image, at least one of a first distance between a starting position of the scanning range and the radiation region” [0011]);
moving the scanned subject to a preset position (750) (a position “within a range from P1 to P2” [0180]) (“the couch may be moved to the second position to cause the scanning range is located in the radiation region. The second position may include a position in a position range from a position that the ending position of the scanning range enters the radiation region to a position that the starting position of the scanning range leaves the radiation region… the second position may be such that the center of the scanning range coincides with the center of the radiation region or isocenter of the medical radiation device.” [0107]. “In 750, the processing device 120 (e.g., the determination module 420) may determine, based on the first position, the first distance, and the second distance, a second position of the couch.” [0138]; “Z-axis coordinates of the radiation region in the image may be within a range from P1 to P2. The starting position of the scanning range may be denoted as A1” [0180]; Figs. 6- 7) according to the first distance and a second distance from the reference object to the preset position (a second distance is a distance from R1 or 670 to 690 in Fig. 6) (“As shown in FIG. 6, in some embodiments, an edge (indicated as the dashed edge of 610 in FIG. 6) on a side close to the couch (e.g., a right side of the scanning center as shown in FIG. 6) of the radiation region may be used to describe the position of the radiation region in the image or the second coordinate system… Z-axis coordinates of the radiation region in the image may be within a range from P1 to P2. The starting position of the scanning range may be denoted as A1” [0180]; Fig. 6); and
calibrating a parameter of the medical imaging system (“the transforming relationship” [0125]) by using the scanned subject at the preset position (“The determination of the transforming relationship may also be referred to as the calibration of the imaging device.” [0125]. “When the obtained pairs of spatial positions and calibration images meet a preset requirement, the processing device 120 may determine a transforming relationship. The preset requirement may include that a count of pairs satisfies a preset threshold … and calibration images at the spatial positions are acquired (e.g., moving the couch (e.g., from the lowest point to the highest point of the couch, from the farthest position along the positive direction of the Z-axis to the farthest position along the negative direction of the Z-axis,” [0158]; Fig. 6. The second position of the couch is the farthest position along the negative direction of the Z-axis because couch is not being moved any further in the negative direction of the Z-axis. Therefore, the calibration is performed once the couch is in the second position so that the processing device 120 may determine a transforming relationship that is may perform the calibration of the imaging device).
Zhao does not teach that the reference object is a component of the medical imaging device and has a fixed position relative to the preset position.
However, in the magnetic resonance imaging systems and methods field of endeavor, Faigle discloses a method for supporting a user when positioning an accessory for a magnetic resonance examination, which is analogous art. Faigle teaches that the reference object is a component of the medical imaging device (“an edge region of a patient receiving area” [0019]) and has a fixed position relative to the preset position (“The reference points may also be preferred positions and/or points of the magnetic resonance device such as an edge region of a patient receiving area...The reference points of the examination object and/or the reference points of the magnetic resonance scanner can also be provided by marking elements, so that there is a clear assignment of the respective reference points in the acquired images for recording the actual position of the accessory. Sensor-based acquisition preferably takes place by a sensor such as a camera, in particular, a 2-D camera or a 3-D camera. An advantage of this is that the easy and rapid acquisition of the actual position of the accessory can be provided to support the user." [0019]).
Therefore, based on Faigle’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao to employ the reference object that is a component of the medical imaging device and that has a fixed position relative to the preset position, as taught by Faigle, in order to facilitate imaging of a target region of the subject by tracking the actual position more easily.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao modified by Faigle teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein Zhao teaches that the scanned subject is moved to the preset position in a first direction (“the negative direction of the Z-axis,” [0158]; Fig. 6), and the first distance comprises a distance in the first direction from the at least one point of the scanned subject to the reference object (a distance from A1 to R1 in Fig. 6) (“moving the couch … from the farthest position along the positive direction of the Z-axis to the farthest position along the negative direction of the Z-axis,” [0158]; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao modified by Faigle teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein Zhao teaches obtaining a second image comprising the examination table for placing the scanned subject (“The processing device 120 may also obtain an image of the subject on the couch 114 of the medical radiation device 110.” [0056]. “The image may include … an image sequence including multiple static images,” [0095]; Fig. 1); and
indicating placement position information of the scanned subject according to the second image (“The image may be acquired by the imaging device 160 when the couch 114 is at a first position. The processing device 120 may determine a position of the scanning range of the subject in the image.” [0056]; “the image (also referred to as a positioning image) may be acquired by an imaging device when the couch is at a first position.” [0093]; “the image may represent the contour (e.g., a 3D contour) of the subject and/or at least a portion of the couch. The image may include … an image sequence including multiple static images,” [0095]; “the image may be acquired from an overlooking view of the subject by the imaging device that is located above the couch.” [0096]; Figs. 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao modified by Faigle teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein Zhao teaches obtaining a third image (an image with the “position (also referred to as projection position) of the couch in the image” [0163]) comprising the reference object and a marker (“the couch code of the couch 114 may be marked from 0 millimeters to 2000 millimeters” [0057]; Fig. 1), and determining a fifth distance (a distance in millimeters along the couch) from at least one point on the marker (any point marked from 0 millimeters to 2000 millimeters with the exception of R1 in Fig. 6) to the reference object according to the third image (“the couch code of the couch 114 may refer to a scale marked along the long axis of the couch 114 (e.g., the Z-axis)... if a length of the couch is 2 meters, the couch code of the couch 114 may be marked from 0 millimeters to 2000 millimeters according to a millimeter interval from the front end of the couch to the rear end of the couch” [0057]. The reference object corresponds to one of the marks of the scale); and
determining a transformation relationship (“the transforming relationship may be denoted as a transform matrix, a transform function, etc. The transforming relationship may be denoted by the calibration parameters of the imaging device.” [0124]; “the processing device 120 may determine the transforming relationship by solving an equation with the transforming relationship as an unknown item and the spatial position and the corresponding projection position as known items.” [0127]; “the processing device 120 may obtain the transforming relationship from a storage device, a database” [0129]) between a camera coordinate system (“in the image” [0163]) and a medical imaging coordinate system (“the second coordinate system” [0163]) according to the fifth distance and a sixth distance from the reference object to the preset position (a distance from R1 or 670 to 690 in Fig. 6) (“In 802, the processing device 120 (e.g., the obtaining module 410) may obtain a transforming relationship between a first coordinate system applied to the image and a second coordinate system.” [0147]. “The transforming relationship between the first coordinate system and the second coordinate system refers to a corresponding relationship between a position of a part of a subject in the image and the position of the part of the subject in the second coordinate system.” [0148]; “the processing device 120 may transform a position (also referred to as projection position) of the couch in the image to the first position of the couch in the second coordinate system based on the transforming relationship,” [0163]. The sixth distance defines the couch position with respect to the gantry. The transforming relationship transforms the image coordinates into the real space coordinates of the medical radiation device 110; Figs. 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao modified by Faigle teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein Zhao teaches that the sixth distance is the second distance, or the sixth distance is a distance obtained by correcting the second distance according to a calibration result of the medical imaging system (the sixth distance is the second distance, i.e., the distance between R1 or 670 and 690 in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao teaches a medical imaging system (100) (600), characterized by comprising:
an examination table (114), configured for placing a scanned subject (630) and moving the scanned subject to a preset position (between P1 and P2 in Fig. 6) (“the medical radiation device 110 may be a medical imaging device configured to scan a subject (or a part of the subject) to acquire image data. In some embodiments, the medical radiation device 110 may include a gantry 111, a detector 112, a couch 114, and a radioactive source 115. The gantry 111 may include a radiation region 113. The subject may be placed on the couch 114 and moved into the radiation region 113 to be scanned.” [0050]; Fig. 1), and
a controller (120), configured to:
obtain a first image (“the image” [0011]) comprising a reference object (670) (“The reference point 670 on the couch may be used to describe the position of the couch in the image or the second coordinate system.” [0180]; Fig. 6) and the scanned subject (“the scanning range” [0011]) placed on a surface of the examination of the medical imaging system ("The subject may be placed on the couch 114 and moved into the radiation region 113 to be scanned." [0050]), and determining a first distance (a distance from A1, line 640, to R1 in Fig. 6) according to the first image, wherein the first distance comprises a distance from at least one point of the scanned subject (A1) to the reference object (R1) (“the causing, based on the position of the scanning range in the image, the couch to move to a second position may include determining, based on the position of the reference range in the image, at least one of a first distance between a starting position of the scanning range and the radiation region” [0011]);
move the scanned subject to a preset position (750) (a position “within a range from P1 to P2” [0180]) (“the couch may be moved to the second position to cause the scanning range is located in the radiation region. The second position may include a position in a position range from a position that the ending position of the scanning range enters the radiation region to a position that the starting position of the scanning range leaves the radiation region… the second position may be such that the center of the scanning range coincides with the center of the radiation region or isocenter of the medical radiation device.” [0107]. “In 750, the processing device 120 (e.g., the determination module 420) may determine, based on the first position, the first distance, and the second distance, a second position of the couch.” [0138]; “Z-axis coordinates of the radiation region in the image may be within a range from P1 to P2. The starting position of the scanning range may be denoted as A1” [0180]; Figs. 6- 7) according to the first distance and a second distance from the reference object to the preset position (a second distance is a distance from R1 or 670 to 690 in Fig. 6) (“As shown in FIG. 6, in some embodiments, an edge (indicated as the dashed edge of 610 in FIG. 6) on a side close to the couch (e.g., a right side of the scanning center as shown in FIG. 6) of the radiation region may be used to describe the position of the radiation region in the image or the second coordinate system… Z-axis coordinates of the radiation region in the image may be within a range from P1 to P2. The starting position of the scanning range may be denoted as A1” [0180]; Fig. 6); and
calibrate a parameter of the medical imaging system (“the transforming relationship” [0125]) by using the scanned subject at the preset position (“The determination of the transforming relationship may also be referred to as the calibration of the imaging device.” [0125]. “When the obtained pairs of spatial positions and calibration images meet a preset requirement, the processing device 120 may determine a transforming relationship. The preset requirement may include that a count of pairs satisfies a preset threshold … and calibration images at the spatial positions are acquired (e.g., moving the couch (e.g., from the lowest point to the highest point of the couch, from the farthest position along the positive direction of the Z-axis to the farthest position along the negative direction of the Z-axis,” [0158]; Fig. 6. The second position of the couch is the farthest position along the negative direction of the Z-axis because couch is not being moved any further in the negative direction of the Z-axis. Therefore, the calibration is performed once the couch is in the second position so that the processing device 120 may determine a transforming relationship that is may perform the calibration of the imaging device).
Zhao does not teach that the reference object is a component of the medical imaging device and has a fixed position relative to the preset position.
However, in the magnetic resonance imaging systems and methods field of endeavor, Faigle discloses a method for supporting a user when positioning an accessory for a magnetic resonance examination, which is analogous art. Faigle teaches that the reference object is a component of the medical imaging device (“an edge region of a patient receiving area” [0019]) and has a fixed position relative to the preset position (“The reference points may also be preferred positions and/or points of the magnetic resonance device such as an edge region of a patient receiving area...The reference points of the examination object and/or the reference points of the magnetic resonance scanner can also be provided by marking elements, so that there is a clear assignment of the respective reference points in the acquired images for recording the actual position of the accessory. Sensor-based acquisition preferably takes place by a sensor such as a camera, in particular, a 2-D camera or a 3-D camera. An advantage of this is that the easy and rapid acquisition of the actual position of the accessory can be provided to support the user." [0019]).
Therefore, based on Faigle’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao to employ the reference object that is a component of the medical imaging device and that has a fixed position relative to the preset position, as taught by Faigle, in order to facilitate imaging of a target region of the subject by tracking the actual position more easily.
Regarding claim 14, Zhao modified by Faigle teaches the system according to claim 13, wherein Zhao teaches that the controller is further configured to:
obtain a third image (an image with the “position (also referred to as projection position) of the couch in the image” [0163]) comprising the reference object and a marker (“the couch code of the couch 114 may be marked from 0 millimeters to 2000 millimeters” [0057]; Fig. 1), and determine a fifth distance (a distance in millimeters along the couch) from at least one point on the marker (any point marked from 0 millimeters to 2000 millimeters with the exception of R1 in Fig. 6) to the reference object according to the third image (“the couch code of the couch 114 may refer to a scale marked along the long axis of the couch 114 (e.g., the Z-axis)... if a length of the couch is 2 meters, the couch code of the couch 114 may be marked from 0 millimeters to 2000 millimeters according to a millimeter interval from the front end of the couch to the rear end of the couch” [0057]. The reference object corresponds to one of the marks of the scale); and
determine a transformation relationship (“the transforming relationship may be denoted as a transform matrix, a transform function, etc. The transforming relationship may be denoted by the calibration parameters of the imaging device.” [0124]; “the processing device 120 may determine the transforming relationship by solving an equation with the transforming relationship as an unknown item and the spatial position and the corresponding projection position as known items.” [0127]; “the processing device 120 may obtain the transforming relationship from a storage device, a database” [0129]) between a camera coordinate system (“in the image” [0163]) and a medical imaging coordinate system (“the second coordinate system” [0163]) according to the fifth distance and a sixth distance from the reference object to the preset position (a distance from R1 or 670 to 690 in Fig. 6) (“In 802, the processing device 120 (e.g., the obtaining module 410) may obtain a transforming relationship between a first coordinate system applied to the image and a second coordinate system.” [0147]. “The transforming relationship between the first coordinate system and the second coordinate system refers to a corresponding relationship between a position of a part of a subject in the image and the position of the part of the subject in the second coordinate system.” [0148]; “the processing device 120 may transform a position (also referred to as projection position) of the couch in the image to the first position of the couch in the second coordinate system based on the transforming relationship,” [0163]. The sixth distance defines the couch position with respect to the gantry. The transforming relationship transforms the image coordinates into the real space coordinates of the medical radiation device 110; Figs. 1 and 6), wherein the sixth distance is the second distance, or the sixth distance is a distance obtained by correcting the second distance according to a calibration result of the medical imaging system (the sixth distance is the second distance, i.e., the distance between R1 or 670 and 690 in Fig. 6).
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao and Faigle as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Wei (US 20230177830), hereinafter, Wei.
Regarding claim 3, Zhao modified by Faigle teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein teaches that the determining the first distance according to the first image comprises:
determining a third distance between a first position of the at least one point of the scanned subject in the first image (A1) and a second position of the reference object in the first image (R1) (a distance from A1, line 640, to R1, 670, in Fig. 6).
While teaching a second height of the scanned subject (“a difference between the distance d1 and the distance d2… averaging a plurality of distance differences” [0142]) (“the imaging device may include a depth camera. Depth information of the subject may be obtained. The depth information of the subject may indicate distances between points on the contour profile of the subject and a reference position (e.g., an optical center of the imaging device)… the position of the imaging device may be static during the scanning” [0096]; “the body thickness of the subject may be determined according to the distance d1 and the distance d2. For instance, the body thickness may be a difference between the distance d1 and the distance d2.” [0142]), Zhao modified by Faigle does not teach correcting the third distance according to a first height of a photographing unit that captures the first image and a second height of the scanned subject to obtain the first distance.
However, in the computational image analysis field of endeavor, Wei discloses calculating the pixel distance of each feature point and the height thereof (Abstract), which is analogous art. Wei teaches correcting the third distance (the third distance is 0 and corresponds to the rightmost point of c in Fig. 8, which is a projection of the top of the object onto c) according to a first height (z) of a photographing unit (2) (“the photographing unit 2” [0049]) that captures the first image and a second height (h) of the scanned subject to obtain the first distance (the first distance is a projection of (e-d) on c in Fig. 8 and equals to a distance from the object to the rightmost point of c) (“the formula h=z×(e−d)/d preset by the feature point height calculation module 54” [0055]; Figs. 8-9).
Therefore, based on Wei’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao modified by Faigle to employ the step of correcting the third distance according to a first height of a photographing unit that captures the first image and a second height of the scanned subject to obtain the first distance, as taught by Wei, in order to facilitate determining distances between image features.
Regarding claim 4, Zhao modified by Wei teaches the method according to claim 3.
Zhao modified by Faigle does not teach that the correcting the third distance according to the first height of the photographing unit that captures the first image and the second height of the scanned subject to obtain the first distance comprises:
determining an offset according to the first height, the second height, and a fourth distance between the first position and an image center of the first image; and
correcting the third distance according to the offset to obtain the first distance.
However, in the computational image analysis field of endeavor, Wei discloses calculating the pixel distance of each feature point and the height thereof (Abstract), which is analogous art. Wei teaches determining an offset according to the first height (an offset is a projection of (e-d) on c in Fig. 8 and equals to a distance from the object to the rightmost point of line c), the second height, and a fourth distance (“c”) between the first position and an image center of the first image (an image center is a point directly under the photographing unit 2); and
correcting the third distance according to the offset to obtain the first distance (“the formula h=z×(e−d)/d preset by the feature point height calculation module 54” [0055]. Note that a ratio of the offset to (c) equals to a ratio of h/z in the geometry of Fig. 8 and therefore the offset and the first distance equal to hc/z in this geometry, which is similar to the formula that is disclosed in Wei [0055]).
Therefore, based on Wei’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao modified by Faigle to employ the correcting the third distance according to the first height of the photographing unit that captures the first image and the second height of the scanned subject to obtain the first distance that comprises: determining an offset according to the first height, the second height, and a fourth distance between the first position and an image center of the first image; and correcting the third distance according to the offset to obtain the first distance, as taught by Wei, in order to facilitate determining distances between image features.
Regarding claim 5, Zhao modified by Wei teaches the method according to claim 4.
Zhao modified by Faigle does not teach that the offset is the ratio of the product of the second height and the fourth distance to the first height.
However, in the computational image analysis field of endeavor, Wei discloses calculating the pixel distance of each feature point and the height thereof (Abstract), which is analogous art. Wei teaches that the offset is the ratio of the product of the second height (h) and the fourth distance (“c”) to the first height (z) (“the formula h=z×(e−d)/d preset by the feature point height calculation module 54” [0055]. Note that a ratio of the offset to (c) equals to a ratio of h/z in the geometry of Fig. 8 and therefore the offset equals to hc/z in this geometry, which is similar to the formula that is disclosed in Wei [0055]).
Therefore, based on Wei’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao modified by Faigle to employ the offset that is the ratio of the product of the second height and the fourth distance to the first height, as taught by Wei, in order to facilitate determining distances between image features.
Regarding claim 6, Zhao modified by Wei teaches the method according to claim 4.
Zhao modified by Faigle does not teach that when the first position and the reference object are located on the same side of the image center, the first distance is a sum of the third distance and the offset; or
when the first position and the reference object are located on different sides of the image center, the first distance is a difference between the third distance and the offset..
However, in the computational image analysis field of endeavor, Wei discloses calculating the pixel distance of each feature point and the height thereof (Abstract), which is analogous art. Wei teaches that when the first position and the reference object are located on the same side of the image center (within the triangle in Fig. 8), the first distance is a sum of the third distance (the third distance is 0 and corresponds to the rightmost point of line c in Fig. 8, which is a projection of the highest point of the object onto line c when looking from the photographing unit 2) and the offset (The first distance equals to the offset in the geometry of Fig. 8. However, if the reference object is placed further to the right with respect to the object, the third distance would not be zero, and the first distance would be a sum of the third distance and the offset as claimed. For example, the reference object could be placed in the bottom right corner of the projection of square S in Fig. 9).
Therefore, based on Wei’s teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhao modified by Faigle to employ when the first position and the reference object are located on the same side of the image center, the first distance that is a sum of the third distance and the offset; or when the first position and the reference object are located on different sides of the image center, the first distance that is a difference between the third distance and the offset, as taught by Wei, in order to facilitate determining distances between image features.
Regarding claim 7, Zhao modified by Wei teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein Zhao teaches that the first height and the second height are heights with respect to a same reference plane (“The body thickness of the subject refers to a body length of the subject along the Y-axis (i.e., a direction perpendicular to the surface of the couch). In some embodiments, the depth information of the image may include a distance from a surface of the subject not in contact with the couch (i.e., the upper surface) to the imaging device… the processing device 120 may determine, based on the body thickness of the subject, the second position of the couch in a vertical direction perpendicular to the horizontal plane (i.e., in the Y-axis).” [0142]. A same reference plane is a couch plane or a plane that is parallel to the couch plane).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao modified by Wei teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein Zhao teaches that the reference object is at a same height as the reference plane (“The coordinates (or couch code) of the couch in the second coordinate system may be expressed by position coordinates of a reference point of the couch in the second coordinate system, such as position coordinates of a center point 660 of the couch in an X-Z plane or other any point (e.g., a point 670, a point 680, etc.) as shown in FIG. 6.” [0175]. “The reference point 670 on the couch may be used to describe the position of the couch in the image or the second coordinate system.” [0180] The reference plane is a couch plane, the X-Z plane, with Y=0); or
the reference object is an edge of a bridge of the medical imaging system; or
the reference plane is the surface of the examination table of the medical imaging system for placing the scanned subject (“the imaging device may be disposed of above the couch. Therefore, the image may be acquired from an overlooking view of the subject by the imaging device that is located above the couch… the imaging device may be fixed above the couch. That is, a position of the imaging device may be fixed to the medical radiation device (e.g., a portion of the medical radiation device 110). Therefore, the position of the imaging device may be static during the scanning” [0096]. “The body thickness of the subject refers to a body length of the subject along the Y-axis (i.e., a direction perpendicular to the surface of the couch)… the depth information of the image may include a distance from a surface of the subject not in contact with the couch (i.e., the upper surface) to the imaging device… the processing device 120 may determine, based on the body thickness of the subject, the second position of the couch in a vertical direction perpendicular to the horizontal plane (i.e., in the Y-axis).” [0142]. The reference plane is a couch plane in the first position, i.e., a surface of an examination table).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Zhao in view of Faigle.
Response to the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection arguments on pages 7-8 of the REMARKS.
Claims 1-20
The Applicant argues that “With respect to number of images, Claim 9 specifically recites obtaining a second image that includes the examination table (for indicating placement position). Claim 11 specifically recites obtaining a third image including the reference object and a marker (for determining a coordinate transformation). These are distinct images serving different purposes in the overall method. The distinction is clear.” (Page 7-8). The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that claim 9 is not an intervening claim. Therefore, it is unclear how many images, two or three, the Applicant is attempting to claim. The Applicant argues that “With respect to distances, Claim 3 recites a third distance (between a first position of the scanned subject and a second position of the reference object in the first image). Claim 4 recites a fourth distance (between the first position and an image center of the first image). Claim 11 recites a fifth distance (from at least one point on the marker to the reference object in the third image) and a sixth distance (from the reference object to the present position). These are clearly different distances used in different contexts and images…Claim 14 recites parallel features in system form and the rejection is overcome for the same reasons as set forth above.” (Page 7-8). The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that claims 3-4 are not intervening claims. It is therefore unclear how many distances, 4 or 6, the Applicant is attempting to claim. Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons.
Response to the 35 U.S.C. §102 and §103 rejection arguments on pages 8-10 of the REMARKS.
Claims 1-20
The Applicant argues that “Zhao fails to anticipate every feature of Claim 1.” (Page 9). The Examiner agrees and therefore the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Zhao in view of Faigle. The dependent claims are not allowable because the independent claims are not allowable and because additional secondary references meet additional limitations of the dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXEI BYKHOVSKI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798