Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 23rd, 2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The drawing objection over claims 1 and 16 is maintained.
The 112(b) rejections over claims 1-16 are maintained.
The rejections over Hu et al in view of Yu et al. are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
New rejections follow.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant recites, “wherein the back surface of the silicon substrate comprises an overlapping region corresponding to the first doped crystalline silicon region and the second doped crystalline silicon region”.
Regarding Claim 16, Applicant recites, “wherein the back surface of the silicon substrate comprises an overlapping region corresponding to the first doped crystalline silicon region and the second doped crystalline silicon region”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant recites, “wherein the back surface of the silicon substrate comprises an overlapping region corresponding to the first doped crystalline silicon region and the second doped crystalline silicon region”. Applicant discloses in the instant specification that the back surface of the silicon substrate comprises an overlapping region that overlaps the first doped crystalline silicon region and a different distinct overlapping region that overlaps the second doped crystalline silicon region overlaps (See Fig. 1, 111 overlaps 30 and a different distinct 111 overlaps 40 – Instant Specification - Paragraph 0036). Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2173.03, “A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1235-36, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971); In re Cohn, 438 F.2d 989, 169 USPQ 95 (CCPA 1971); In re Hammack, 427 F.2d 1378, 166 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1970)”. Appropriate action is required.
Regarding Claim 16, Applicant recites, “wherein the back surface of the silicon substrate comprises an overlapping region corresponding to the first doped crystalline silicon region and the second doped crystalline silicon region”. Applicant discloses in the instant specification that the back surface of the silicon substrate comprises an overlapping region that overlaps the first doped crystalline silicon region and a different distinct overlapping region that overlaps the second doped crystalline silicon region overlaps (See Fig. 1, 111 overlaps 30 and a different distinct 111 overlaps 40 – Instant Specification - Paragraph 0036). Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2173.03, “A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1235-36, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971); In re Cohn, 438 F.2d 989, 169 USPQ 95 (CCPA 1971); In re Hammack, 427 F.2d 1378, 166 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1970)”. Appropriate action is required.
Regarding Claim 13, Applicant recites, “a second passivation anti-reflection layer”. Its unclear if there is a first passivation anti-reflection layer present in this claim. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2025/0160043 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0344106 A1) in view of Li (CN-114430000-A). Li is mapped to the English machine translation provided by the EPO.
In view of Claim 1, Hu et al. teaches a solar cell (Fig. 1) comprising:
a silicon substrate having a front surface (Fig. 1, #101 top surface) and a back surface opposite to the front surface (Fig. 1, #101 bottom surface – Paragraph 0031);
a first doped crystalline silicon region and a second doped crystalline silicon region that are arranged on the back surface of the silicon substrate (Fig. 1, #1021 & #1031 – Paragraph 0032-0033);
wherein a first surface of the first doped crystalline silicon region away from the silicon substrate and a second surface of the second doped crystalline silicon region away from the silicon substrate are polished surfaces (Fig. 1, #1012 – Paragraph 0031);
Alternatively, in regards to the limitation “polished”, the Examiner is treating it as a product by process claim, specifically regarding the phrase "polished". It has been shown that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113). Its noted that the specification of the instant application teaches that a polished area is essentially flat and non-textured.
an isolation groove, configured to isolate the first doped crystalline silicon region and the second doped crystalline silicon region (Fig. 1, #104 & Paragraph 0035);
wherein a first textured structure with pyramidal structure is arranged at a bottom of the isolation groove (Fig. 1, see bottom of isolation groove);
wherein the back surface of the silicon substrate comprises an overlapping region where the first doped crystalline silicon region and the second doped crystalline silicon region overlaps (See Annotated Hu et al. Fig. 1, below – Paragraph 0031);
wherein a second textured structure with pyramidal structures is arranged on the front surface of the silicon substrate (Fig. 1, #1011 & Paragraph 0031).
Annotated Hu et al. Fig. 1
Hu et al. does not disclose a distribution density of apexes of the pyramidal structures ranges from 25/100 µm2 to 80/100 µm2.
Yu et al. discloses a distribution density of apexes of a pyramidal structure of 0.4 pyramids/ µm2 (Paragraph 0054) and that this is a pyramid feature size that is rough enough to scatter light to reduce reflection loss (Paragraph 0005). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adopt Yu et al. pyramidal structure size features such that a distribution density of apexes of a pyramidal structure of 0.4 pyramids/ µm2 for the advantage of ensuring that the surface is rough enough to scatter light to reduce reflection loss.
In regards to the limitation, “a distribution density of apexes of the pyramidal structures ranges from 25/100 µm2 to 80/100 µm”, the Examiner directs Applicant to MPEP 2144.05 I. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping ranged disclosed by Yu et al. because selection of the overlapping portion or ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Hu et al. does not disclose that an apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the first textured structure is greater than an apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the second textured structure.
Li discloses that an apex angle of pyramidal structures of a first textured structure are greater than an apex angle of pyramidal structure of a second textured structure (Fig. 1, Page 3 – Detailed ways – 6th Paragraph). Li discloses that the front side of the substrate is set to ensure conventional process conditions while effectively reducing the reflectivity of incident light and that the back side of the substrate is set under these conditions because if its too large it can affect deposition conditions. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the first textured structure is greater than an apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the second textured structure in modified Hu et al. solar cell for the advantages of ensuring conventional process conditions while effectively reducing the reflectivity of incident light and ensuring that deposition conditions aren’t affected.
In view of Claim 6, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Hu et al. discloses a thickness of the first doped crystalline silicon region ranges from 15-500 nm (Paragraph 0008) and a thickness of the second doped crystalline silicon region ranges from 10-400 nm (Paragraph 0008).
In view of Claim 7, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Hu et al. discloses the isolation groove is a rectangle (Fig. 1, #104 – see bottom of trench, rectangular in shape).
In view of Claim 8, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Hu et al. discloses a tunneling oxide layer (Fig. 1, #1023/#1033) that is located between the silicon substrate and the first and second doped crystalline regions (Fig. 1, #1023/#1033 is between #101 and regions #1021/#1031) and has a thickness that ranges from 0.5-3 nm (Paragraph 0013 & 0015).
In view of Claim 13, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 10. Hu et al. teaches the solar cell comprises a second passivation anti-reflection layer on the back surface of the silicon substrate (Fig. 1, #105), wherein the second anti-reflection layer comprises a second portion located on the first textured structure (Fig. 1, See trench 104, thinner portion of 105 within trench) and a third thicker portion located on the polished surface of its respective overlapping region (Fig. 1, 105 on back surface of doped regions is thicker than trench portion).
In view of Claim 14, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 10. Hu et al. teaches a first passivation anti-reflection layer on the front surface of the silicon substrate with a first portion located on the second textured structure (Fig. 1, #106); and a second passivation anti-reflection layer on the back surface of the silicon substrate (Fig. 1, #105), wherein the second anti-reflection layer comprises a second portion located on the first textured structure (Fig. 1, See trench 104, thinner portion of 105 within trench) and a third thicker portion located on the polished surface of its respective overlapping region (Fig. 1, 105 on back surface of doped regions is thicker than trench portion).
In view of Claim 15, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Hu et al. teaches that the solar cell is a back contact solar cell (Fig. 1 & Paragraph 0031).
In view of Claim 16, Hu et al. teaches a photovoltaic module comprising a solar cell (Fig. 1) comprising:
a silicon substrate having a front surface (Fig. 1, #101 top surface) and a back surface opposite to the front surface (Fig. 1, #101 bottom surface – Paragraph 0031);
a first doped crystalline silicon region and a second doped crystalline silicon region that are arranged on the back surface of the silicon substrate (Fig. 1, #1021 & #1031 – Paragraph 0032-0033);
wherein a first surface of the first doped crystalline silicon region away from the silicon substrate and a second surface of the second doped crystalline silicon region away from the silicon substrate are polished surfaces (Fig. 1, #1012 – Paragraph 0031);
Alternatively, in regards to the limitation “polished”, the Examiner is treating it as a product by process claim, specifically regarding the phrase "polished". It has been shown that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113). Its noted that the specification of the instant application teaches that a polished area is essentially flat and non-textured.
an isolation groove, configured to isolate the first doped crystalline silicon region and the second doped crystalline silicon region (Fig. 1, #104 & Paragraph 0035);
wherein a first textured structure with pyramidal structure is arranged at a bottom of the isolation groove (Fig. 1, see bottom of isolation groove);
wherein the back surface of the silicon substrate comprises an overlapping region where the first doped crystalline silicon region and the second doped crystalline silicon region overlaps (See Annotated Hu et al. Fig. 1, below – Paragraph 0031).
Annotated Hu et al. Fig. 1
Hu et al. does not disclose a distribution density of apexes of the pyramidal structures ranges from 25/100 µm2 to 80/100 µm2.
Yu et al. discloses a distribution density of apexes of a pyramidal structure of 0.4 pyramids/ µm2 (Paragraph 0054) and that this is a pyramid feature size that is rough enough to scatter light to reduce reflection loss (Paragraph 0005). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adopt Yu et al. pyramidal structure size features such that a distribution density of apexes of a pyramidal structure of 0.4 pyramids/ µm2 for the advantage of ensuring that the surface is rough enough to scatter light to reduce reflection loss.
In regards to the limitation, “a distribution density of apexes of the pyramidal structures ranges from 25/100 µm2 to 80/100 µm”, the Examiner directs Applicant to MPEP 2144.05 I. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping ranged disclosed by Yu et al. because selection of the overlapping portion or ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Hu et al. does not disclose that an apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the first textured structure is greater than an apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the second textured structure.
Li discloses that an apex angle of pyramidal structures of a first textured structure are greater than an apex angle of pyramidal structure of a second textured structure (Fig. 1, Page 3 – Detailed ways – 6th Paragraph). Li discloses that the front side of the substrate is set to ensure conventional process conditions while effectively reducing the reflectivity of incident light and that the back side of the substrate is set under these conditions because if its too large it can affect deposition conditions. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the first textured structure is greater than an apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the second textured structure in modified Hu et al. solar cell for the advantages of ensuring conventional process conditions while effectively reducing the reflectivity of incident light and ensuring that deposition conditions aren’t affected.
In view of Claim 21, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 16. Hu et al. discloses a thickness of the first doped crystalline silicon region ranges from 15-500 nm (Paragraph 0008) and a thickness of the second doped crystalline silicon region ranges from 10-400 nm (Paragraph 0008).
In view of Claim 22, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 16. Hu et al. discloses the isolation groove is a rectangle (Fig. 1, #104 – see bottom of trench, rectangular in shape).
Claims 2-3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2025/0160043 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0344106 A1) in view of Li (CN-114430000-A) in view of Feng et al. (US 12,278,296 B1). Li is mapped to the English machine translation provided by the EPO.
In view of Claims 2 & 17, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 16. Hu et al. does not disclose that along a thickness direction of the solar cell a distance between the first surface of the first doped crystalline silicon region and the bottom of the isolation groove ranges from 3-6 microns.
Feng et al. teaches that the depth of an isolation groove ranges from 1-6 microns (Fig. 12 & Column 16, Lines 57-60 – see that bottom of the groove “reaches” till top of first and second doping levels 101/102) and that this depth size ensures portions are completely removed from the substrate and thus improves the reliability of the formed gap (Column 16, Lines 44-56). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adopt the depth of an isolation groove that ranges from 1-6 microns as disclosed by Feng et al. in modified Hu et al. such that along a thickness direction of the solar cell a distance between the first surface of the first doped crystalline silicon region and the bottom of the isolation groove ranges from 1-6 microns for the advantage of improving the reliability of the formed gap.
In regards to the limitation, “along a thickness direction of the solar cell a distance between the first surface of the first doped crystalline silicon region and the bottom of the isolation groove ranges from 3-6 microns”, the Examiner directs Applicant to MPEP 2144.05 I. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping ranged disclosed by Feng et al. because selection of the overlapping portion or ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
In view of Claims 3 & 18, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 16. Hu et al. does not disclose that along a thickness direction of the solar cell a distance between the second surface of the second doped crystalline silicon region and the bottom of the isolation groove ranges from 1-5 microns.
Feng et al. teaches that the depth of an isolation groove ranges from 1-6 microns (Fig. 12 & Column 16, Lines 57-60 – see that bottom of the groove “reaches” till top of first and second doping levels 101/102) and that this depth size ensures portions are completely removed from the substrate and thus improves the reliability of the formed gap (Column 16, Lines 44-56). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adopt the depth of an isolation groove that ranges from 1-6 microns as disclosed by Feng et al. in modified Hu et al. such that along a thickness direction of the solar cell a distance between the second surface of the second doped crystalline silicon region and the bottom of the isolation groove ranges from 1-6 microns for the advantage of improving the reliability of the formed gap.
In regards to the limitation, “along a thickness direction of the solar cell a distance between the second surface of the second doped crystalline silicon region and the bottom of the isolation groove ranges from 1-5 microns”, the Examiner directs Applicant to MPEP 2144.05 I. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping ranged disclosed by Feng et al. because selection of the overlapping portion or ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
In view of Claims 5 & 20, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 16. Hu et al. does not disclose that the isolation groove extends into the silicon substrate by a depth of 2-5-5.8 microns.
Feng et al. teaches that the depth of an isolation groove ranges from 1-6 microns (Fig. 12 & Column 16, Lines 57-60 – see that bottom of the groove “reaches” till top of first and second doping levels 101/102) and that this depth size ensures portions are completely removed from the substrate and thus improves the reliability of the formed gap (Column 16, Lines 44-56). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adopt the depth of an isolation groove that ranges from 1-6 microns as disclosed by Feng et al. in modified Hu et al. such that along a thickness direction of the solar cell a distance between the second surface of the second doped crystalline silicon region and the bottom of the isolation groove ranges from 1-6 microns for the advantage of improving the reliability of the formed gap.
In regards to the limitation, “the isolation groove extends into the silicon substrate by a depth of 2-5-5.8 microns”, the Examiner directs Applicant to MPEP 2144.05 I. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping ranged disclosed by Feng et al. because selection of the overlapping portion or ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Claims 4 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2025/0160043 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0344106 A1) in view of Li (CN-114430000-A) in view of Li (CN-113964216-A). The Li references are mapped to the English machine translation provided by the EPO.
In view of Claims 4 & 19, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claims 1 & 16. Hu et al. does not disclose that along a distribution direction of the plurality of isolation grooves a width of an isolation groove of the plurality of isolation grooves ranges from 20-150 microns.
Li ‘216 discloses that the width of isolation grooves ranges from 10-100 microns that further realizes light energy utilization and improves power generation efficiency of a back contact solar cell (Page 1, Last Paragraph). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate Li’s teaching isolation groove widths such that in Hu et al. solar cell along a distribution direction of the plurality of isolation grooves a width of an isolation groove of the plurality of isolation grooves ranges from 10-100 microns for the advantages of realizing further light energy utilization and improving the power generation efficiency.
In regards to the limitation that, “along a distribution direction of the plurality of isolation grooves a width of an isolation groove of the plurality of isolation grooves ranges from 20-150 microns”, the Examiner directs Applicant to MPEP 2144.05 I. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping ranged disclosed by Li because selection of the overlapping portion or ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2025/0160043 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0344106 A1) in view of Li (CN-114430000-A) in view of Kout (WO 2022/105949 A1). Li is mapped to the English machine translation provided by the EPO.
In view of Claim 10, Hu et al., Yu et al., and Li are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Modified Hu et al. does not disclose that an apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the first textured structure are greater than an apex angle of the pyramidal structure of the second textured structures.
In view of Claim 11, Hu et al., Yu et al., Li, and Kout are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 10. Modified Hu et al. does not disclose the apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the first textured structure is greater than or equal to 79 degrees and the apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the second textured structures is less than 79 degrees.
Kout discloses that the apex angle of pyramidal structures of a first texture structure on a back surface of a solar cell are larger than an apex angle of pyramidal structures of a second textured structure on the front surface of a solar cell (Page 3, Lines 9-26). Kout discloses the apex angle of the pyramidal structures of a first texture structure on a back surface of a solar cell can be greater than 79 degrees, and the apex angle of pyramidal structure of a second textured structure on a front surface of a solar cell are less than 79 degrees (Page 3, Lines 9-26). Kout teaches that this configuration maximizes the possible number of photon paths of solar radiation in a cloud cover of the sky, in particular photon paths of solar radiation which are scattered or reflected by the passage through clouds (Page 3, Lines 23-27). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the first textured structure is greater than or equal to 79 degrees and the apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the second textured structures is less than 79 degrees in Hu et al. solar cell for the advantage of maximizing the possible number of photon paths of solar radiation in a cloud cover of the sky, in particular photon paths of solar radiation which are scattered or reflected by the passage through clouds.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2025/0160043 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0344106 A1) in view of Li (CN-116613226-A) in view of Kout (WO 2022/105949 A1) in view of Li (CN-114430000-A). The Li references are mapped to the English machine translations provided by the EPO.
In view of Claim 12, Hu et al., Yu et al., Li, and Kout are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 10. Hu et al. teaches a first passivation anti-reflection layer on the front surface of the silicon substrate, wherein the first passivation anti-reflection layer comprises a first portion located on the second textured structure (Fig. 1, #106); and a second passivation layer on the back surface of the silicon substrate that comprises a second portion located on the first textured structure (Fig. 1, #105) but does not explicitly teach a thickness of the first portion is less than a thickness of the second portion.
Li discloses that a thickness of a first portion can be less than a thickness of a second portion (Page 2, 11th Paragraph & Page 3, 1st Paragraph – the front anti-reflection layer can be selected to be less than the back anti-reflection layer) and that this configuration can provide a solar cell with high photoelectric conversion efficiency, while the process is simple and easy, and easily mass produced (Page 1, Contents of the Invention). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to arrive at a thickness of the first portion is less than a thickness of the second portion in modified Hu et al. solar cell for the advantages of utilizing configurations that have high photoelectric conversion efficiency, simple and easy processes, and are easily mass produced
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in regards to the drawing objection that the previous claim language contained a drafting error that inadvertently implied the two doped regions overlapped each other and that the new language in the claims of “an overlapping region corresponding to the first doped crystalline silicon region and the second doped crystalline silicon region” has support in the instant filed specification in 0036 and its “accurately depicted in Figure 1 as filed”. The Examiner respectfully points out to Applicant that the claim language still implies that there is overlapping occurring between the first and second doped crystalline silicon region and that this is not depicted in Figure 1 as filed. For example the overlapping region is depicted as element 111, the first and second doping regions are elements 30 and 40. Figure 1 does not accurately depict first and second doping regions are overlapping. Accordingly, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that claims 1 and 16 are not indefinite in regards to the phrase, “wherein the back surface of the silicon substrate comprises an overlapping region corresponding to the first doped crystalline silicon region and the second doped crystalline silicon region”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out to Applicant that Applicant discloses in the instant specification that the back surface of the silicon substrate comprises an overlapping region that overlaps the first doped crystalline silicon region and a different distinct overlapping region that overlaps the second doped crystalline silicon region overlaps (See Fig. 1, 111 overlaps 30 and a different distinct 111 overlaps 40 – Instant Specification - Paragraph 0036). Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2173.03, “A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1235-36, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971); In re Cohn, 438 F.2d 989, 169 USPQ 95 (CCPA 1971); In re Hammack, 427 F.2d 1378, 166 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1970)”. Appropriate action is required.
Applicant argues that Hu et al. does not disclose an isolation groove configured to isolate the first doped crystalline silicon region and the second doped crystalline silicon region wherein a first textured structure with pyramidal structures is arranged at a bottom of the isolation groove. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out to Applicant that Hu et al. discloses an isolation groove, configured to isolate the first doped crystalline silicon region and the second doped crystalline silicon region (Fig. 1, #104 & Paragraph 0035); wherein a first textured structure with pyramidal structure is arranged at a bottom of the isolation groove (Fig. 1, see bottom of isolation groove).
Applicant argues that Hu et al. does not disclose a second textured structure with pyramidal structures arranged on the front surface of the silicon substrate. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out to Applicant that Hu et al. discloses a second textured structure with pyramidal structures is arranged on the front surface of the silicon substrate (Fig. 1, #1011 & Paragraph 0031).
Applicant argues that it would not be obvious to combine Yu with Hu because Yu is directed towards the front of a PV device. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out to Applicant that Hu et al. discloses pyramidal features in the isolation groove while being silent on the specificity of these features. Yu et al. discloses that this pyramidal features are rough enough to scatter light to reduce reflection loss. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art reading Hu et al. would appreciate that there is an absence of size disclosed of the pyramidal structures and look to Yu et al. general disclosure of pyramidal structures that are analogous to Hu et al. isolation groove for the advantages of incorporating a pyramidal structure that is rough enough to scatter light to reduce reflection loss. Accordingly, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Hu et al. does not disclose an apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the first textured structure is greater than an apex angle of the pyramidal structures of the second textured structure. The Examiner respectfully agrees but Applicant has not submitted any arguments pointing out how the other references that do teach this limitation are not a prima facie case of obviousness. Accordingly, this argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726