DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-28, 30, 32-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalum (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0219007) in view of Breuer (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0005785).
Regarding claim 21, Dalum discloses a vehicle drive system for a vehicle including a first prime mover, a power take off and a first prime mover driven transmission in mechanical communication with the power take off, the vehicle drive system comprising:
an electric motor (50) in direct or indirect mechanical communication with the first prime mover via a power take off (40),
a control system (¶81) configured to cause the electric motor to act as a generator (¶89) to put increased load on the first prime mover to increase exhaust temperature (this is intended use which is addressed by the citation) cause the electric motor to rotate the first prime mover.
Dalum does not disclose that the control system causes the motor to be a generator due to when exhaust temperatures are too low during a cold start.
Breuer, which deals in engine startup, teaches that the control system causes the motor to be a generator due to when exhaust temperatures are too low during a cold start (claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Dalum with the teachings of Breuer because this shortens warm up phase of the engine (claim 13).
Regarding claim 22 which depends from claim 21, Dalum discloses wherein the control system determines the amount provided by the electric motor using an amount the electric motor provides equipment (¶96 discloses controlling the motor based on the accessories).
Regarding claim 23 which depends from claim 22, Dalum discloses wherein the equipment is a compactor, sweeper (drum option addressed), or mixing drum (¶62).
Regarding claim 24 which depends from claim 23, Dalum discloses wherein the equipment is driven by a hydraulic pump driven by the electric motor (¶62).
Regarding claim 25 which depends from claim 24, Dalum discloses wherein the power take off comprises a clutch coupled to an automatic transmission (¶66).
Regarding claim 26 which depends from claim 23, Dalum discloses wherein the equipment is driven by a hydraulic pump driven by the electric motor, the electric motor being directly coupled to the hydraulic pump by a shaft (¶62).
Regarding claim 27 which depends from claim 26, Dalum discloses wherein the hydraulic pump is a load sense pump (¶108).
Dalum does not state that the load sensing pump is the one driven by the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the motor that is off the PTO be the one connected to the load sensing pump, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 V C.
Regarding claim 28 which depends from claim 26, Dalum discloses wherein the hydraulic pump is a gear pump (¶56) and a valve is disposed to redirect hydraulic flow when the equipment is not operated (¶93 uses a pressure reducing valve that when equipment is not operated but the pump is still running would redirect flow).
Regarding claim 30 which depends from claim 26, Dalum discloses wherein the equipment is a street sweeper (¶62 discloses equipment that could be used on a street sweeper).
Regarding claim 32, Dalum discloses a method of operating a vehicle having a hybrid vehicle drive system, the vehicle includes a first prime mover, and a prime mover driven transmission, the method comprising: receiving, by a controller, an emissions level; adjusting, by the controller, an operating point of an engine in response to the emissions level; and controlling, by the controller, an electric motor in response to the adjustment of the operating point of the engine to compensate for a change in power output from the engine to assist in a desired emissions characteristic (¶72 discloses this method of operating this system which has been addressed in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 33 which depends from claim 32, Dalum discloses wherein controlling the electric motor comprises: increasing, by the controller, a power output from the electric motor to meet or substantially meet a power demand and reduce the emissions level (¶72 allows for power to be met by the motor when in anti idle locations running the equipment that an idle engine would have run).
Regarding claim 34 which depends from claim 32, Dalum discloses wherein the emissions level is related to exhaust gas from the first prime mover (¶72 deals with engine exhaust).
Regarding claim 35 which depends from claim 32, Dalum discloses further comprising: decreasing, by the controller, the operating point of the first prime mover in response to the emissions level; and increasing, by the controller, a power output of the electric motor (¶72 turns off the engine allowing the motor to provide needed power).
Regarding claim 36 which depends from claim 32, Breuer discloses further comprising: increasing, by the controller, the operating point of the first prime mover in response to the emissions level; and decreasing, by the controller, a power output of the electric motor (claim 13).
Regarding claim 37 which depends from claim 32, Dalum discloses wherein the operating point is at least one of a torque of the engine or a speed of the engine (¶72 turns off the engine).
Regarding claim 38, Dalum discloses a vehicle drive system for a vehicle including a first prime mover, a first prime mover driven transmission, and a rechargeable power source, the vehicle drive system comprising: an electric motor in direct or indirect mechanical communication with the first prime mover via a power take off, wherein the electric motor is configured to provide power to the first prime mover; and a control system configured to cause the electric motor to act as a generator to put increased load on the first prime mover to increase exhaust temperature when exhaust temperatures are too low, wherein the control system configured to cause the electric motor to rotate the first prime mover (the limitations of this claim have been addressed in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 39 which depends from claim 38, Dalum discloses wherein the control system uses feedback from an accessory to set a speed while the vehicle is stopped (¶96 discloses setting speeds and ¶148 discloses operating the pumps while stopped), thereby reducing fuel consumption at idle for the vehicle and the accessory is an air conditioning system (¶61 discloses and air conditioner).
Regarding claim 40 which depends from claim 39, Dalum discloses wherein the speed (¶133 discloses varying speed for efficient operation).
Dalum does not disclose is below 1000 RPMS and above 540 RPMs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the speed range be between 1000 and 540 RPMs, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalum (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0219007) in view of Breuer (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0005785) as applied to claims 21 and 26 above, further in view of Troppman (U.S. Pat. No. 5,816,741).
Regarding claim 29 which depends from claim 26, Dalum does not disclose wherein the equipment is a compactor.
Troppman, which deals in motor driven equipment, teaches wherein the equipment is a compactor (col. 2, lines 8-12 discloses a motor driven compactor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Dalum to drive a compactor of Troppman because this is conventional (col. 2, line 9). Dalum mentions many pieces of equipment but does not mention a compactor, Troppman is brought in to show that a motor is able to drive a compactor and so would have been design choice to have chosen this equipment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claims require a hybrid engine/motor system which can drive the tires and accessories either alone or in combination. This system also has a power take off which still receives transmission fluid when the engine is off due the running of an electric pump.
Conclusion
GONZALO LAGUARDA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747 email: gonzalo.laguarda@uspto.gov
/GONZALO LAGUARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747