DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 11-13 and 16 of Kim et al (U.S. Patent 12,373,071 B2) in view of Zhao et al (PGPUB 2025/0123702 A2).
Current Application – Claim 1
U.S. Patent 12,373,071 B2 – Claim 1
An electronic device for sensing a touch, the electronic device comprising:
a plurality of first electrodes arranged along a first direction and extending along a second direction intersecting the first direction;
a plurality of second electrodes arranged along the second direction and extending along the first direction;
An electronic device for sensing a touch, the electronic device comprising:
a plurality of first electrodes arranged along a first direction and extending along a second direction intersecting the first direction;
a plurality of second electrodes arranged along the second direction and extending along the first direction;
a third electrode extending along the second direction
a plurality of third electrodes arranged along the first direction and extending along the second direction;
and including a plurality of first sub-electrodes arranged along the first direction;
a fourth electrode extending along the first direction; and
a fourth electrode including a plurality of sub-electrodes arranged along the second direction, extending along the first direction, and connected in parallel with each other;
a first loop trace line electrically connected to two of the first sub-electrodes that are adjacent one another.
a first loop trace line electrically connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes; and
a trace line electrically connected to the fourth electrode and connected to one end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes, wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes intersect the plurality of second electrodes.
Kim et al (U.S. Patent 12,373,071 : herein Kim) does not specifically recite, “third electrode extending along the second direction and including a plurality of first sub-electrodes arranged along the first direction; … a first loop trace line electrically connected to two of the first sub-electrodes that are adjacent one another” in claims 1-16.
Zhao et al (PGPUB 2025/0123702 A2: hereinafter Zhao) teaches, third electrode (second touch channel 2) extending along the second direction (i.e. Y or vertical direction) and including a plurality of first sub-electrodes (Figs. 12, 14, ¶ 221, 222: multiple second touch channel 2, which has diamond pattern structure, and second connection structure M2, which connects each diamond pattern structure) arranged along the first direction (Figs. 12, 13: i.e. vertically running second channel 2 are arranged parallel along X or horizontal direction)
a first loop trace line (i.e. touch lines M that connect to the top side of second touch channel 2 as shown in Fig. 13) electrically connected to two of the first sub-electrodes that are adjacent one another (i.e. single M connects to two columns of second touch channel 2 as shown in Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhao’s touch line structure with branching touch line M in the peripheral area of the touch sensor into Lee’s touch device, so as to avoid increasing the number of touch channels and load of the touch chip (¶ 168).
Dependent claims 3, 4, 6-14 correspond to dependent claims 3, 4, 6-9, 11-13 and 16 of Kim et al (U.S. Patent 12,373,071 B2).
Claims 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17 of Kim et al (U.S. Patent 12,373,071 B2) in view of Lee (PGPUB 2019/0113993 A1).
Current Application - Claim 16
U.S. Patent 12,373,071 B1 – Claim 1
An electronic device for sensing a touch, the electronic device comprising:
a plurality of first electrodes arranged along a first direction and extending along a second direction intersecting the first direction;
a plurality of second electrodes arranged along the second direction and extending along the first direction;
a plurality of third electrodes arranged along the first direction and extending along the second direction;
An electronic device for sensing a touch, the electronic device comprising:
a plurality of first electrodes arranged along a first direction and extending along a second direction intersecting the first direction;
a plurality of second electrodes arranged along the second direction and extending along the first direction;
a plurality of third electrodes arranged along the first direction and extending along the second direction;
a fourth electrode arranged along the second direction, extending along the first direction, and including a plurality of sub-electrodes;
a fourth electrode including a plurality of sub-electrodes arranged along the second direction, extending along the first direction, and connected in parallel with each other;
a first trace line electrically connected to the plurality of third electrodes;
a first loop trace line electrically connected to all of the plurality of third electrodes; and
a second trace line electrically connected to the fourth electrode and connected to one end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes; and
a trace line electrically connected to the fourth electrode and connected to one end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes,
wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes intersect the plurality of second electrodes.
A third trace line, wherein a corresponding one of the first electrodes includes two split electrodes spaced apart from each other in the first direction and electrically connected to the third trace line.
Kim does not specifically teach, “a third trace line, wherein a corresponding one of the first electrodes includes two split electrodes spaced apart from each other in the first direction and electrically connected to the third trace line”.
Lee (PGPUB 2019/0113993 A1) teaches a third trace line (i.e. connecting lines CL that connect to first split electrodes 31 in Figs. 1, 3A), wherein a corresponding one of the first electrodes (electrodes 31) includes two split electrodes (Fig. 3A: i.e. four first split electrodes present in the figure) spaced apart from each other in the first direction and electrically connected to the third trace line (¶ 54, 55, Fig. 1: i.e. CL connects to 31 and connects to other 31 via 31a).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lee’s touch sensor structure with split electrodes and touch line M into Kim’s touch sensor, so as to improve touch sensitivity (¶ 2, 87).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (PGPUB 2019/0113993 A1)
As to claim 15, Lee (Figs. 1, 3A, 4) teaches, an electronic device (touch sensor in Fig. 1 integrated with display panel, ¶ 440) comprising:
a pen (stylus pen) (¶ 58); and
a sensor (touch sensor of capacitance type) for sensing a touch by the pen (¶ 58),
wherein the sensor comprises:
a plurality of first electrodes (first split electrodes 31 / 310) arranged along a first direction (first direction D1) and extending along a second direction (second direction D2) intersecting the first direction (¶ 45, Fig. 3A: i.e. first split electrodes are aligned diagonally, which extends horizontally and vertically as shown in Fig. 3A);
a plurality of second electrodes (second split electrodes 32 / 320) arranged along the second direction and extending along the first direction (¶ 45, Fig. 3A: i.e. second split electrodes are aligned diagonally, which extends horizontally and vertically as shown in Fig. 3A);
a third electrode (second sensing electrodes 22 and second connecting patterns 22a) extending along the second direction and including a plurality of first sub-electrodes (i.e. two second sensing electrodes 22 and second connecting patterns 22a are extending vertically as shown in Fig. 3A) arranged along the first direction (i.e. four sets of second sensing electrodes 22 and second connecting patterns 22a are arranged in first direction D1 as shown in Fig. 1);
a fourth electrode (first sensing electrodes 21 and first connecting patterns 21a) extending along the first direction (¶ 66).
a plurality of first trace lines (i.e. connecting lines CL that connect to first split electrodes 31 from left and right sides as shown in Fig. 1) electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes in a one-to-one correspondence (Fig. 1),
wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes includes a plurality of split electrodes (Fig. 3A: i.e. four different first split electrodes 31 are shown) spaced apart from each other in the first direction and electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of first trace lines (Fig. 1: i.e. each first split electrodes 31 on the edge of the substrate 10 are directly connected to connecting lines CL, and Fig. 3A: i.e. each first split electrodes 31 that are inside are indirectly connected to connecting lines CL via first bridge patterns 31a).
As to claim 16, Lee (Figs. 1, 3A, 4) teaches, an electronic device (touch sensor in Fig. 1 integrated with display panel, ¶ 44) for sensing a touch (¶ 58), the electronic device comprising:
a plurality of first electrodes (first split electrodes 31 / 310) arranged along a first direction (first direction D1) and extending along a second direction (second direction D2) intersecting the first direction (¶ 45, Fig. 3A: i.e. first split electrodes are aligned diagonally, which extends horizontally and vertically as shown in Fig. 3A);
a plurality of second electrodes (second split electrodes 32 / 320) arranged along the second direction and extending along the first direction (¶ 45, Fig. 3A: i.e. second split electrodes are aligned diagonally, which extends horizontally and vertically as shown in Fig. 3A);
a plurality of third electrodes (second sensing electrodes 22 and second connecting patterns 22a) arranged along the first direction (i.e. four sets of second sensing electrodes 22 and second connecting patterns 22a are arranged in first direction D1 as shown in Fig. 1) and extending along the second direction (i.e. two second sensing electrodes 22 and second connecting patterns 22a are extending vertically as shown in Fig. 3A);
a fourth electrode (first sensing electrodes 21 and first connecting patterns 21a) arranged along the second direction (i.e. five sets of first sensing electrodes 21 and first connecting patterns 21a are arranged in the second direction D2 as shown in Fig. 1), extending along the first direction (i.e. first sensing electrodes 21 and first connecting pattern 21a extend in horizontal direction as shown in Fig. 3A), and including a plurality of sub-electrodes (i.e. two first sensing electrode 21 and one first connecting pattern 21a as shown in Fig. 3A);
a first trace line (i.e. connecting lines CL that connect to second sensing electrode 22 from bottom sides as shown in Fig. 1) electrically connected to the plurality of third electrodes (second sensing electrode 22)(Fig. 1)(¶ 54, 55);
a second trace line (i.e. connecting lines CL that connect to first sensing electrode 21) electrically connected to the fourth electrode and connected to one end of each of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Fig. 1: i.e. connects from left and right side of first sensing electrode 21 at each extreme ends); and
a third trace line (i.e. connecting lines CL that connect to first split electrodes 31), wherein a corresponding one of the first electrodes includes two split electrodes (Fig. 3A: i.e. four first split electrodes present in the figure) spaced apart from each other in the first direction and electrically connected to the third trace line (¶ 54, 55).
As to claim 17, Lee (Fig. 3A) teaches, wherein each of the plurality of third
electrodes comprises a plurality of first sub-electrodes (i.e. two second sensing electrodes 22 and second connecting patterns 22a), and wherein the plurality of first sub-electrodes and the plurality of first electrodes overlap in a one-to-one correspondence (Fig. 3A: i.e. each end of 22a overlaps each end of 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10, 12, 13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Zhao et al (PGPUB 2025/0123702 A1).
As to claim 1, Lee (Figs. 1, 3A, 4) teaches, an electronic device (touch sensor in Fig. 1 integrated with display panel, ¶ 44) for sensing a touch (¶ 58), the electronic device comprising:
a plurality of first electrodes (first split electrodes 31 / 310) arranged along a first direction (first direction D1) and extending along a second direction (second direction D2) intersecting the first direction (¶ 45, Fig. 3A: i.e. first split electrodes are aligned diagonally, which extends horizontally and vertically as shown in Fig. 3A);
a plurality of second electrodes (second split electrodes 32 / 320) arranged along the second direction and extending along the first direction (¶ 45, Fig. 3A: i.e. second split electrodes are aligned diagonally, which extends horizontally and vertically as shown in Fig. 3A);
a third electrode (second sensing electrodes 22 and second connecting patterns 22a) extending along the second direction and including a plurality of first sub-electrodes (i.e. two second sensing electrodes 22 and second connecting patterns 22a are extending vertically as shown in Fig. 3A) arranged along the first direction (i.e. four sets of second sensing electrodes 22 and second connecting patterns 22a are arranged in first direction D1 as shown in Fig. 1);
a fourth electrode (first sensing electrodes 21 and first connecting patterns 21a) extending along the first direction (¶ 66).
Lee does not specifically teach, a first loop trace line electrically connected to two of the first sub-electrodes that are adjacent one another.
Zhao teaches each and every one of the first touch channels 1 and second touch channels 2 are paired with adjacent channel to receive the same signal via the branching portion of each touch line M.
Therefore, when combined with Lee prior art, Zhao (Fig. 13) teaches, a first loop trace line (left most touch lines M on top side that connects first and second column of second touch channel 2 of Fig. 13) electrically connected to two of the first sub-electrodes that are adjacent one another (i.e. 1st and 2nd second touch channel 2 are adjacent to each other and connected to each other via touch line M as shown in Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhao’s touchline structure with branching touch line M into Lee’s touch device, so as to avoid increasing the number of touch channels and load of the touch chip (¶ 168).
As to claim 2, Lee (Figs. 3A) teaches, a plurality of first trace lines (i.e. connecting lines CL that connect to first split electrodes 31 from left and right sides as shown in Fig. 1) electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes in a one-to-one correspondence (Fig. 1),
wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes includes a plurality of split electrodes (Fig. 3A: i.e. four different first split electrodes 31 are shown) spaced apart from each other in the first direction and electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of first trace lines (Fig. 1: i.e. each first split electrodes 31 on the edge of the substrate 10 are directly connected to connecting lines CL, and Fig. 3A: i.e. each first split electrodes 31 that are inside are indirectly connected to connecting lines CL via first bridge patterns 31a).
As to claim 4, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 2 but does not specifically teach a second loop trace line.
Zhao (Fig. 13) teaches, a second loop trace line (i.e. 2nd branching portion of each touch line M on top side, which connects third and fourth column of second touch channel 2) including a first line portion (i.e. branching portion connecting two adjacent second touch channels 2) for connecting the plurality of first sub-electrodes to each other (Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhao’s touchline structure with branching touch line M into Lee’s touch device, so as to avoid increasing the number of touch channels and load of the touch chip (¶ 168).
As to claim 10, Lee (Fig. 3A) teaches, wherein the third electrode is provided in plurality (Figs. 1, 3A: i.e. second sensing electrode 22, 22a of Fig. 3A is repeating pattern as shown in Fig. 1).
Lee does not specifically teach the first loop trace line.
Zhao (Fig. 13) teaches, wherein the first loop trace line comprises:
a first line portion (i.e. horizontal portion of touch line M that connects to the top side)(Fig. 13) extending along the first direction and electrically connected to the plurality of third electrodes (Fig. 13);
a second line portion (i.e. left vertical portion of touch line M that connects to the top side) extending from a first end (i.e. left end) of the first line portion along
the second direction (Fig. 13); and
a third line portion (i.e. short branch portion that extends from horizontal portion of touch line M that connects to the top side) extending from a second end (i.e. right end) of the first line portion along the second direction (Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhao’s touchline structure with branching touch line M into Lee’s touch device, so as to avoid increasing the number of touch channels and load of the touch chip (¶ 168).
As to claim 12, Lee (Fig. 4) teaches, wherein the third electrode is provided in plurality (Fig. 1: i.e. matrix of second sensing electrodes 22 / 220), and wherein the number of the plurality of first electrodes (electrodes 310 and 330) is greater than the number of the plurality of third electrodes ((Fig. 4: i.e. the embodiment in Fig. 4 teaches the number of electrodes 310 and 330 together being double of the number of sensing electrodes 222).
As to claim 13, Lee (Figs. 3A, 4) teaches, a trace line (connecting lines CL that connect to first sensing electrodes 21), wherein the fourth electrode includes a plurality of second sub-electrodes (a plurality of first sensing electrode 21 and first connecting pattern 21a) and the trace line is electrically connected to one end of each of the plurality of second sub-electrodes (Fig. 1).
As to claim 18, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 16 but does not specifically teach a fourth trace line electrically connected to two of the first sub-electrodes that are adjacent one another.
Zhao (Fig. 13) teaches, a fourth trace line (i.e. touch lines M on top side) electrically connected to two of the first sub-electrodes (i.e. top electrode of two columns of second touch channel 2) that are adjacent one another (Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhao’s touchline structure with branching touch line M into Lee’s touch device, so as to avoid increasing the number of touch channels and load of the touch chip (¶ 168).
Claim(s) 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Zhao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al (PGPUB 2015/0177871 A1).
As to claim 5, Lee and Zhao teach the electronic device of claim 4 but does not specifically teach a second end spaced apart from the first end of each of the plurality of first sub-electrodes in the second direction is connected to the first loop trace line.
Zhao (Fig. 13) teaches, a second end (i.e. top end in Fig. 13) spaced apart from the first end (i.e. bottom end) of each of the plurality of first sub-electrodes in the second direction is connected to the first loop trace line (Fig. 13: i.e. top end connects to touch line M with branches).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhao’s touchline structure with branching touch line M into Lee’s touch device, so as to avoid increasing the number of touch channels and load of the touch chip (¶ 168).
Zhao does not specifically teach, wherein a first end of each of the plurality of first sub-electrodes is connected to the first line portion of the second loop trace line.
Kim (Fig. 3) teaches, wherein a first end of each of the plurality of first sub-electrodes is connected to the first line portion of the second loop trace line (Fig. 3: i.e. Kim teaches two parallel electrodes 230 are connected to single pad 250 at the bottom side of the touch sensor as shown in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s touch electrode structure into Lee’s touch sensor as modified with the teaching of Zhao, so as to improve transparency of the touch panel (¶ 39).
As to claim 20, Lee teaches the electronic device of claim 18 but does not specifically teach a first line portion, a second line portion, and a third line portion.
Zhao (Fig. 13) teaches wherein the first trace line comprises:
a first line portion (i.e. horizontal portion of touch line M that connects to the vertical side)(Fig. 13) extending along the first direction and electrically connected to the plurality of third electrodes (Fig. 13);
a second line portion (i.e. left vertical portion of touch line M that connects to the vertical side) extending from a first end (i.e. left end) of the first line portion along
the second direction (Fig. 13); and
a third line portion (i.e. short branch portion that extends from horizontal portion of touch line M that connects to a vertical side) extending from a second end (i.e. right end) of the first line portion along the second direction (Fig. 13).
Zhao does not specifically teach, wherein the plurality of third electrodes are disposed between the first line portion of the first trace line and the fourth trace line.
Kim (Fig. 3) teaches, wherein the plurality of third electrodes (electrodes 230) are disposed between the first line portion of the first trace line and the fourth trace line (Fig. 3: i.e. two parallel diamond patterns are connected to single pad 250 on each of top side and bottom side).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s touch electrode structure into Lee’s touch sensor as modified with the teaching of Zhao, so as to improve transparency of the touch panel (¶ 39).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 11, 14 and 19 are rejected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims AND overcome nonstatutory double patenting on claims 1 and 16.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 recites the limitation, “wherein the third electrode is provided in
plurality, and wherein a number of the plurality of first electrodes is equal to a product
of the number of the plurality of first sub-electrodes included in each of the plurality of third electrodes and the number of the plurality of third electrodes”. Examiner conducted a search to find the prior arts that would teach these limitations alone or in combination. None of the prior art teaches the discussed limitation while requiring all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2, which includes or regards touch sensor structure with first to fourth electrodes as shown in Fig. 6B and first loop trace 230rt1.
Claim 6 recites the limitation, “a plurality of second trace lines electrically connected to the plurality of second electrodes in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the second loop trace line overlaps at least one of the plurality of first trace lines”. Examiner conducted a search to find the prior arts that would teach these limitations alone or in combination. None of the prior art teaches the “overlap” limitation of claim 6 while requiring all of the limitations in claims 1, 2 and 4, which includes or regards touch sensor structure with first to fourth electrodes as shown in Fig. 6B, first loop trace 230rt1, and second loop trace 230rt2.
Claim 11 recites the limitation, “wherein each of a resistance of the second
line portion and a resistance of the third line portion is equal to a resistance of one of the plurality of third electrodes”. Examiner conducted a search to find the prior arts that would teach them alone or in combination. However, none of the prior arts from the search specifically teach the resistances of different line portions of the first loop trace being equal to the resistance of the third electrode while teaching the structure of the touch sensor and the first loop trace line in claim 1.
Claim 14 recites the limitation, “in a second mode, the sensor driver circuit provides a current to a coil formed at least one of a portion of the first loop trace line and the third electrode”. Examiner conducted a search to find the prior art that would teach these limitations alone or in combination. However, none of the prior arts teach the structure of the touch sensor with first to fourth electrodes as claimed in claim 1 while teaching three different operations mode with the second mode providing a current to coil formed at least one of a portion of the first loop trace line and the third electrode.
Claim 19 recites the limitation, “wherein a first portion of the third trace
line and a second portion of the fourth trace line overlap each other on a plane, and the
first portion and the second portion are disposed on different layers”. Examiner conducted a search to find the prior arts that would teach the limitation but could not find them. None of the prior arts from the search specifically teach different portions of the loop trace and different trace line being on different layers.
Inquiry
/SANGHYUK PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623