DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 5/29/25, wherein:
Claims 1-32 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LYNCH ET AL (US 2026/0070221). Herein after LYNCH.
As for claim 1, LYNCH discloses a method, comprising: at a device: processing an input depicting performance of a robotic manipulation task, by a vision language model, to detect a failure of the robotic manipulation task and to generate a natural language explanation of the failure {see at least pars. 0007, 0009, 0223, 0226}; and outputting the explanation as feedback to a robotics application for use in improving a future performance of the robotic manipulation task {see at least pars. 0210, 0211}.
As for claim 2, LYNCH discloses wherein the input includes at least one image frame depicting the performance of the robotic manipulation task {see at least pars. 0009, 0011, 0013, 0015}.
As for claim 3, LYNCH discloses wherein the at least one image frame depicts performance of a sub-task of the robotic manipulation task {see at least pars. 0021, 0023}.
As for claim 4, LYNCH discloses wherein the input further includes a text prompt describing a language specification for generating the natural language explanation of the failure {see at least figures 20, 21, pars. 0226, 0227, 0228}.
As for claim 5, LYNCH discloses wherein the performance of the robotic manipulation task is a real-world performance of the robotic manipulation task by a robot {see at least pars. 0008, 0049, 0051, 0079, 0081}.
As for claim 6, LYNCH discloses wherein the performance of the robotic manipulation task is a simulated performance of the robotic manipulation task by a virtual robot {see at least pars. 0049, 0078, 0079, 0081, 0119, 0139}.
As for claim 7, LYNCH discloses wherein the robotic manipulation task is planned by the robotics application {see at least pars. 0221, 0223}.
As for claim 8, LYNCH discloses wherein the robotics application uses the feedback as a parameter of a reward function to compute a reward signal for reinforcement learning by the robotics application {see at least pars. 0211, 0214, 0217, 0222}.
As for claims 9, LYNCH discloses wherein the robotics application uses the feedback to refine task-plan generation for a task and motion planning function of the robotics application {see at least pars. 0092, 0095, 0101, 0111, 0135, 0136, 0161, 0163, 0169}.
As for claim 10, LYNCH discloses wherein the robotics application uses the feedback to verify success of one or more sub-tasks of the robotic manipulation task {see at least pars. 0092, 0095, 0101, 0111, 0135, 0136, 0161, 0163, 0169}.
As for claim 11, LYNCH discloses wherein the vision language model is integrated with the robotics application {see at least pars. 0007, 0141, 0142, 0144}.
As for claims 12-19 and 32, the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejection above. They are therefore considered rejected for the same reason set forth above.
Claims 20-31 are allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rose et al (US 2024/0253211): Robot and system method control modules and computer program products that leverage large language models.
Banerjee et al (US 2024/0402725): Method and System for task feasibility analysis with explanation for robotic task execution.
Burns et al (US 2026/0054382): Methods, system, and apparatus including computer programs encoded on computer storage media, for automatically generating code for contact rich manipulation tasks by providing action space constraints to a large language model.
Khansari Zadeh et al (US 2025/0153363): raining and refining robotic control policies using imitation learning techniques. A robotic control policy can be initially trained based on human demonstrations of various robotic tasks.
Rivera et al (US 2026/0048505): Robotic task completion from natural language requests.
/KIRA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656