DETAILED ACTION
This is a reply to the application filed on 5/30/2025, in which claim(s) 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/30/2025, has been reviewed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner is considering the information disclosure statement.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 5/30/2025 is/are accepted by The Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims reciting “IP” and “URI” without properly defining what they represent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a backend processing infrastructure of a third party configured to…” in claim 20 are limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The written description only implicitly or inherently sets forth the corresponding structure, material, or acts that perform the claimed function.
Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181, applicant should:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts that perform the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) State on the record what corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,323,808 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: Although the claims are not identical; however, the current application is fully anticipated by the parent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trinh et la. (US 10206099 B1; hereinafter Trinh) in view of Bakshi (US 20120253957 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 20, Trinh discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, at a backend processing infrastructure of a third party and from a backend processing infrastructure of a mobile application provider, a first copy of location information and an [[IP address]], wherein the location information and the [[IP address]] are associated with a mobile device (The authentication server then evaluates the received location of the authentication request relative to the location of the mobile device [Trinh; 3:23-43, 4:45-55]);
receiving, at the backend processing infrastructure of the third party and from a mobile application provided by the third party, a second copy of the location information and the [[IP address]], wherein the mobile application provided by the third party is executed on the mobile device (The application 117 retrieves the location of the mobile device 115 via the GPS 118 and sends the location to the authentication service 106, the server instead correlates location information of the authentication request and the mobile device. This approach provides ease-of-use to the user by allowing a seamless logon using 2FA [Trinh; 3:23-43, 4:45-55]); and
verifying, by the backend processing infrastructure of the third party, that the first copy of the location information and the [[IP address]] matches the second copy of the location information and the [[IP address]] (Once received, the authentication service 106 compare the location of the mobile device 115 with the location of the authentication request (e.g., obtained through various sources, such as the IP address, wireless network mappings, etc.). If the locations are within a specified range of one another, the authentication service 106 grants the user 109 access [Trinh; 3:23-43, 4:45-55]). Trinh does not explicilty discloses receiving from a backend processing infrastructure of a mobile application provider, an IP address, wherein the IP address are associated with a mobile device; however, in a related and analogous art, Bakshi teaches this feature.
In particular, Bakshi teaches retrieving from the location mapping database IP address of the mobile device and compared to authenticate the user [Bakshi; ¶33, 44; Fig. 3, 5 and associated text]. IT would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trinh in view of Bakshi to use location + IP address in the 2FA and the mobile subscriber location is saved locally in a database that is associated with the authorization entity with the motivation to reduce the number of locations look-ups performed [Bakshi; ¶8].
Claim(s) 2-7, 10 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trinh-Bakshi combination in view of Vongsouvanh et al. (US 20140223516 A1; hereinafter Vongsouvanh).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Trinh-Bakshi combination does not explicilty discloses comprising:
sending, by the backend processing infrastructure of the third party and to the backend processing infrastructure of the mobile application provider, a request for a redirect URI, wherein the redirect URI includes requested user data and an action identifier as parameters of the URI; however, in a related and analogous art, Vongsouvanh teaches this feature.
In particular, Vongsouvanh teaches Authorization request 130 may include an identifier for client device 110, a requested scope for the requested authorization, local state, and/or a redirection Uniform Resource Identifier (URI) to which authorization service 122 may redirect mobile computing device 100 upon granting access to resource service 120. In this aspect, client device 110 sends authorization request 130 directly to computing device 100 by communication pathway 126 [Vongsouvanh; ¶26]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trinh-Bakshi combination in view of Vongsouvanh with the motivation to easier direct the user to access the resources.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Trinh-Bakshi-Vongsouvanh combination discloses comprising: receiving, at the backend processing infrastructure of the third party, the requested user data and the action identifier (retrieves and executes programming instructions stored in memory 520 as well as stores and retrieves application data residing in the storage 530 [Trinh; 7:29-33]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Trinh-Bakshi-Vongsouvanh combination discloses comprising: validating, by the backend processing infrastructure of the third party, that the requested user data matches user data for completing an action associated with the action identifier (compare the location of the mobile device 115 with the location of the authentication request. If the locations are within a specified range of one another is consider matching [Trinh; 3:23-43, 4:45-55]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Trinh-Bakshi-Vongsouvanh combination discloses comprising: sending, by the backend processing infrastructure of the third party and to the backend processing infrastructure of the mobile app provider, a request for the requested user data (requesting for user location [Trinh; 3:23-43, 4:45-55]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Trinh-Bakshi-Vongsouvanh combination discloses comprising: receiving, by the backend processing infrastructure of the third party and from the backend processing infrastructure of the mobile app provider, the requested data (If the locations are within a specified range of one another, the authentication service 106 grants the user 109 access [Trinh; 3:23-43, 4:45-55]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Trinh-Bakshi-Vongsouvanh combination discloses comprising: completing, by the backend processing infrastructure of the third party, the action using the requested data (If the locations are within a specified range of one another, the authentication service 106 grants the user 109 access [Trinh; 3:23-43, 4:45-55]).
Regarding claim 10, Trinh-Bakshi combination does not explicilty discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: receiving, by the backend processing infrastructure of the third party and from a mobile application provided by the third party, a user-confirmation to share the requested data; however, in a related and analogous art, Vongsouvanh teaches this feature.
In particular, Vongsouvanh teaches sharing of resources [Vongsouvanh; ¶16]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trinh-Bakshi combination in view of Vongsouvanh with the motivation to easier direct the user to access the resources.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trinh-Bakshi combination in view of Lawson et al. (US 20200302065 A1; hereinafter Lawson).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Trinh-Bakshi combination discloses wherein the first copy of the location information and the IP address, and the second copy of the location information and the IP address, are hashed; however, in a related and analogous art, Lawson teaches this feature.
In particular, Lawson teaches hashing the path using salt value to prevent the path from being exposed [Lawson; ¶30, 46]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Trinh-Bakshi combination with Lawson to hash the location and IP address with the motivation to prevent the information from being obtained and protect user’s privacy.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Trinh-Bakshi-Lawson combination discloses wherein a salt value is hashed with the first copy of the location information and the IP address, and the salt value is hashed with the second copy of the location information and the IP address (hashing of the data include salt value [Lawson; ¶30, 46]. The motivation to prevent the information from being obtained and protect user’s privacy.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http:ljwww.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/DAO Q HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432