DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koivuniemi et al. (U.S. 2015/0180848 A1, hereinafter “Koivuniemi”) in view of Wang et al. (U.S. 2020/0110675 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
As to claims 21, 28 and 35, Koivuniemi discloses a method for providing access by a user to a newly deployed enterprise system in a cloud computing environment, comprising:
establishing credentials for the user to confirm the user's identity or to confirm authorization to access the newly deployed enterprise system (para. [0040]; discloses agent may make API calls to cloud infrastructure service provider to look-up instance ID and verify the instance/domain is allocated to the cloud service account);
providing account information to the user (para. [0055]; discloses authorized user associated with App A makes SSH connection to the instance at the IP address);
providing services of the newly deployed enterprise system to the user (para. [0061]; discloses once the Application instance has at run-time access to the master key, the App instance can potentially decrypt other dataset or datastore specific encryption keys to get eventual access to the target datasets and/or datastores); and
In an analogous art, Wang discloses the method wherein updating data stores in the newly deployed enterprise system using a corresponding microservice, including parsing changes to the data stores into a format associated with previous backups of the deployed enterprise system (para. [0038]; discloses primary snapshot of the VMs may stored in the data store are converted into a format suitable for deployment in the second computing infrastructure. para.[0045]; discloses deployment machine in Corporate Data Center must maintain a list of provisioned instances to make sure bootstrapping is done only once per instance.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koivuniemi by converting the format of the snapshots to another computing infrastructure as taught by Wang in order to make the failover run for more efficiently.
As to claim 22, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the method of claim 21, wherein establishing credentials for the user includes providing a series of questions to the user to confirm the user's identity (Koivuniemi para. [0053-[0054]; discloses Agent may make API calls to cloud infrastructure service provider to look-up InstanceID, verify the instance/domain is allocated to the Cloud Service Account of the organization enterprise; it is noted that the deployment user may be required to be authenticated regarding the target cloud-based instance where the application instance will be deployed and bootstrapped.).
As to claim 23, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the method of claim 21, wherein establishing credentials for the user includes requesting a key or a certificate from the newly deployed enterprise system to confirm the user's authorization (Koivuniemi ,para. [0072]; discloses API call invoked via API signing keys and mutual SSL authentication using both server and client certificates).
As to claim 24, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the method of claim 21, wherein establishing credentials for the user includes generating new credentials for the user (Koivuniemi, para. [0021]; discloses pushing required master keys to new cloud instances).
As to claim 25, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the method of claim 21, wherein providing account information includes accessing one or more data stores on the newly deployed enterprise system to retrieve account information (Wang, para.[0037]; discloses primary snapshots stored in the data store are deployed to VMs initialized).
As to claim 26, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the method of claim 21, wherein providing account information includes requesting confirmation from the user that the account information for the newly deployed enterprise system is valid compared with previous account information on a previously deployed enterprise system (Koivuniemi, para. [0054]-[0055]; discloses deployment user is authenticated regarding the target cloud based instance and is selected and validated).
As to claim 27, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the method of claim 21, wherein updating the data stores includes: retrieving the backup in a first format; and parsing the backup from the first format into a second format, wherein the second format is different from the first format (Wang, para. [0038]; discloses the primary snapshots of the VMs may be in a Virtual Machine Disk (VMDK) format when captured by the primary DMS cluster , and may be converted into an Amazon Machine Image (AMI) format when the secondary compute infrastructure is an Amazon Web Service (AWS) cloud computing infrastructure. The format conversion may include conversion of full or incremental primary snapshots, and results in the primary snapshots being stored in a native format of the secondary compute infrastructure ).
As to claim 29, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the system of claim 28, wherein establishing credentials for the user includes providing a series of questions to the user to confirm the user's identity (Koivuniemi para. [0053-[0054]; discloses Agent may make API calls to cloud infrastructure service provider to look-up InstanceID, verify the instance/domain is allocated to the Cloud Service Account of the organization enterprise; it is noted that the deployment user may be required to be authenticated regarding the target cloud-based instance where the application instance will be deployed and bootstrapped.).
As to claim 30, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the system of claim 28, wherein establishing credentials for the user includes requesting a key or a certificate from the newly deployed enterprise system to confirm the user's authorization (Koivuniemi ,para. [0072]; discloses API call invoked via API signing keys and mutual SSL authentication using both server and client certificates).
As to claim 31, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the system of claim 28, wherein establishing credentials for the user includes generating new credentials for the user (Koivuniemi, para. [0021]; discloses pushing required master keys to new cloud instances).
As to claim 32, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the system of claim 28, wherein providing account information includes accessing one or more data stores on the newly deployed enterprise system to retrieve account information (Wang, para.[0037]; discloses primary snapshots stored in the data store are deployed to VMs initialized).
As to claim 33, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the system of claim 28, wherein providing account information includes requesting confirmation from the user that the account information for the newly deployed enterprise system is valid compared with previous account information on a previously deployed enterprise system (Koivuniemi, para. [0054]-[0055]; discloses deployment user is authenticated regarding the target cloud based instance and is selected and validated).
As to claim 34, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the system of claim 28, wherein updating the data stores includes: retrieving the backup in a first format; and parsing the backup from the first format into a second format, wherein the second format is different from the first format (Wang, para. [0038]; discloses the primary snapshots of the VMs may be in a Virtual Machine Disk (VMDK) format when captured by the primary DMS cluster , and may be converted into an Amazon Machine Image (AMI) format when the secondary compute infrastructure is an Amazon Web Service (AWS) cloud computing infrastructure. The format conversion may include conversion of full or incremental primary snapshots, and results in the primary snapshots being stored in a native format of the secondary compute infrastructure ).
As to claim 36, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 35, wherein establishing credentials for the user includes providing a series of questions to the user to confirm the user's identity (Koivuniemi para. [0053-[0054]; discloses Agent may make API calls to cloud infrastructure service provider to look-up InstanceID, verify the instance/domain is allocated to the Cloud Service Account of the organization enterprise; it is noted that the deployment user may be required to be authenticated regarding the target cloud-based instance where the application instance will be deployed and bootstrapped.)..
As to claim 37, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 35, wherein establishing credentials for the user includes requesting a key or a certificate from the newly deployed enterprise system to confirm the user's authorization (Koivuniemi ,para. [0072]; discloses API call invoked via API signing keys and mutual SSL authentication using both server and client certificates).
As to claim 38, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of The non-transitory computer-readable medium of wherein establishing credentials for the user includes generating new credentials for the user (Koivuniemi, para. [0021]; discloses pushing required master keys to new cloud instances).
As to claim 39, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of The non-transitory computer-readable medium of wherein providing account information includes accessing one or more data stores on the newly deployed enterprise system to retrieve account information (Wang, para.[0037]; discloses primary snapshots stored in the data store are deployed to VMs initialized).
As to claim 40, Koivuniemi-Wang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of The non-transitory computer-readable medium of wherein providing account information includes requesting confirmation from the user that the account information for the newly deployed enterprise system is valid compared with previous account information on a previously deployed enterprise system (Koivuniemi, para. [0054]-[0055]; discloses deployment user is authenticated regarding the target cloud based instance and is selected and validated).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Walters et al. (U.S. 2019/0361748 A1) discloses a control plane receives a request to do something to the resource, such as create, stop, back up, restore, scale, or migrate it. Because different virtualization platforms expose different management APIs and features, the system looks up mapping information to figure out which platform-specific actions can achieve the requested goal. It then sends the selected actions through the correct interface for that resource’s host platform. In some cases, the system uses a control plane agent placed in the same network as the resource to carry out the action. The system can also translate or modify data so the action can be performed across platform boundaries.
/JOE CHACKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457