DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
The “gear” that forms a part of the lifting mechanism, as recited in Claim 5;
The “output shaft” of the lifting drive apparatus, as recited in Claim 5; and
The “two sets of racks, gears, and lifting drive apparatuses”, as recited in Claims 6 and 7.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “lifting mechanism is capable of being lifted and lowered relative to the device frame”; “lifting the to-be-flipped member by the lifting mechanism”; lowering the battery module relative to the second supporting member by the lifting mechanism”; and “lifting the first supporting member by the lifting mechanism”; and “lowering the flipped first supporting member by the lifting mechanism”, as recited respectively in Claims 1, 16, 16, 18, and 18;
The “flipping mechanism, wherein the flipping mechanism is rotatably connected to the lifting mechanism”; “flipping the lifted to-be-flipped member by the flipping mechanism in the first rotational direction”; “flipping mechanism is configured to: flip the lifted to-be-flipped member in a first rotational direction; and flip the lifted first supporting member in a second rotational direction after the second supporting member carries the battery module”; and “flipping the lifted first supporting member by the flipping mechanism”, as recited respectively in Claims 1, 15, 16, and 18;
The “first clamping mechanism, wherein the first clamping mechanism is arranged on the flipping mechanism and the first clamping mechanism is configured to clamp the first supporting member”; and the “first clamping assembly and the second clamping assembly are respectively configured to clamp two opposite sides of the first supporting member in a height direction”, as recited respectively in Claims 1 and 3;
The “second clamping mechanism, wherein the second clamping mechanism is arranged on the flipping mechanism, the second clamping mechanism is configured to clamp the battery module, and the second clamping mechanism is configured to release the clamping to the battery module independently of the first clamping mechanism”; and the “third clamping assembly and the fourth clamping assembly are arranged in a second direction, and the second direction is parallel to a flipping axis of the flipping mechanism”, as recited respectively in Claims 1 and 4;
The “blocking mechanism, configured to block the to-be-flipped member located on the conveying line or to block the second supporting member located on the conveying line, and the blocking mechanism being capable of being lifted and lowered relative to the conveying line”, as recited in Claim 14;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 116692461 (“CN ‘461”; cited by Applicant.) CN ‘461 discloses a flipping method for a battery module (Figs. 1-13, “Implementation”, P4-6), comprising:
placing the battery module (battery module, S1, S2, P6) on a first supporting member (loading tray), wherein the first supporting member and the battery module form a to-be-flipped member (S2, P6);
clamping the to-be-flipped member (via 42 and 43, S2, P6);
lifting the to-be-flipped member (via 2/21, S1, S2, P6);
flipping the lifted to-be-flipped member via 3, S2, P6);
placing a second supporting member (transfer pallet) below the lifted to-be-flipped member (S3, P6);
lowering the battery module relative to the second supporting member (S3, P6); and
maintaining the clamping to the first supporting member and releasing the clamping to the battery module, and making the second supporting member to carry the battery module (S3, S4, P6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘461 in view of CN 214494725 (“CN ‘725” cited by Applicant).
With regard to Claim 1, CN ‘461 discloses a flipping device (Figs. 1-13, “Implementation”, P4-P6), comprising:
a device frame (1, 11, 12, Figs. 1-2, P4),
a conveying line (conveyor track, S1, P6) configured to convey a to-be-flipped member, the to-be- flipped member comprises a first supporting member (Loading tray, S2, P6) and a battery module (battery module) placed on the first supporting member (S2, P6), and the conveying line is further configured to convey a second supporting member (transfer pallet) to below the to-be-flipped member after the to-be-flipped member is lifted (S3, P6);
a lifting mechanism (2, Figs. 1-2, P4) wherein the lifting mechanism is capable of being lifted and lowered relative to the device frame (P4);
a flipping mechanism (3, Figs. 1-3, P4), wherein the flipping mechanism is rotatably connected to the lifting mechanism (P4);
a first clamping mechanism (42, Figs. 4-5), wherein the first clamping mechanism is arranged on the flipping mechanism (Fig. 1) and the first clamping mechanism is configured to clamp the first supporting member (P4); and
a second clamping mechanism (43, Figs. 4-5), wherein the second clamping mechanism is arranged on the flipping mechanism (Fig. 1), the second clamping mechanism is configured to clamp the battery module (P5-P6), and the second clamping mechanism is configured to release the clamping to the battery module independently of the first clamping mechanism (S3, S4, P6).
CN ‘461 fails to teach that at least part of the device frame is configured to be arranged beside a conveying line (the latter being construed to mean that the conveying line is a physical structure that is located within or adjacent the device frame and is not merely a space where a separate vehicle such as an AGV can bring battery modules and their supports on a pallet, as shown in CN ‘461.) CN ‘725 discloses a flipping device (1, Figs. 1-8) that includes a device frame (Fig. 1), a conveying line (11) arranged beside the device frame (Fig. 1), a lifting mechanism (12), a flipping mechanism (2), and a clamping mechanism (21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, to modify CN ‘461 to include a conveying line that is arranged beside the device frame because it would provide for the exact positioning of a product relative to the lifting, flipping, and clamping mechanisms, as shown by CN ‘725 (Fig. 1).
With regard to Claim 3, CN ‘461 discloses wherein the first clamping mechanism (42) comprises a first clamping assembly (42 upper, Fig. 5) and a second clamping assembly (42 lower which is adjacent (“46” as shown in Fig. 5), the first clamping assembly and the second clamping assembly are arranged at an interval in a first direction (Fig. 5), the first direction is parallel to a flipping plane of the flipping mechanism (Fig. 4), and the first clamping assembly and the second clamping assembly are respectively configured to clamp two opposite sides of the first supporting member in a height direction (Figs. 4-5).
With regard to Claim 16, CN ‘461 discloses a method of operating the flipping device (S1-S4, P6) according to claim 1, comprising:
clamping the to-be-flipped member (loading tray and battery module) by the first clamping mechanism (42) and the second clamping mechanism (43, S2, P6);
lifting the to-be-flipped member by the lifting mechanism (2, S2);
flipping the lifted to-be-flipped member by the flipping mechanism (3) in the first rotational direction (S2, P6);
placing the second supporting member (transfer pallet) below the lifted to-be-flipped member (S3, P6);
lowering the battery module relative to the second supporting member by the lifting mechanism (S3, P6); and
maintaining the clamping of the first clamping mechanism to the first supporting member and releasing the clamping of the second clamping mechanism to the battery module, and making the second supporting member to carry the battery module (S3, S4, P6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-15, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2015/0118002 discloses a flipping device (100, Figs. 1-6) having a device frame (30, 50), a conveying mechanism (10), a lifting mechanism (71), a flipping mechanism 73), and a clamping mechanism (95).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LYNN E SCHWENNING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652