Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, and similarly claims 7 and 11, at pages 7 and 8 of the Response, Applicant alleges Lee fails to disclose “the feature of determining a partial area of a first image, displayed on the source device, as the mirroring area” arguing that “zoom-in target areas disclosed in Lee et al. are processed by the sink device”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, at FIGS. 7A-7I and [0180]-[0189], Lee clearly discloses processing the zoomed-in and scaled up image at the mobile terminal 600 (i.e., the source device). Therefore, Examiner respectfully submits Lee clearly discloses determine, as a mirroring area, a partial area (Arc) of a first image (FIGS. 7C-15 with Arc along with Arb and Ara, or alternatively Ar2 and Ar1 generally therein, Arc being the mirroring and partial area of the first image displayed on 100, and FIGS. 7A-7I and [0180]-[0189], processing the zoomed-in and scaled up image at the mobile terminal 600).
Applicant additionally argues “Lee et al. neither discloses nor suggests receiving display device specifications from an external device (sink device) and determining the partial area based on those received specifications.” Examiner respectfully submits the newly cited reference Chun clearly discloses this limitation. That is, as properly addressed below, Chun discloses receive from the external display device a display device specification (FIGS. 8-10 and [0100] describing sending the display data from portable terminal 300 to image display apparatus 100 already adjusted to the aspect ratio of the display apparatus 100 indicating communication of aspect ratio of display apparatus 100 to portable terminal 300).
As such, Examiner respectfully submits these limitations are clearly disclosed by the combination of references as properly addressed below. Therefore, the rejection of these claims and all claims depending therefrom stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US 2018/0364881 A1 (hereinafter “Lee”) in view of Chun et al., US 2015/0288912 A1 (hereinafter “Chun”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display device (FIGS. 1, 5, 7C-13, and 14C-14I mobile terminal 600 at [0022]-[0029] and [0136]-[0146]), comprising:
memory (FIG. 5 and memory 660 at [0136]-[0139] and [0155]) storing at least one instruction (FIG. 5 and memory 660 stores programs at [0155]);
a display (FIG. 5 and display 680 at [0149]-[0151]); and
at least one processor (FIG. 5, controller 670 at [0155]-[0158]), comprising processing circuitry (FIG. 3, includes a module ), electrically connected to the memory (FIG. 5 and memory 660 shown as connected to the controller 670 and [0155]) and individually and/or collectively configured to execute the at least one instruction (generally at 0280], and FIG. 5 at [0155]-[0158]), to cause the display device to:
detect an external display device (FIGS. 1, 5, 7C-13, and 14C-14I display apparatus 100 at [0022]-[0029] pairing signal and response between display apparatus 100 and mobile terminal 600; further at FIG. 6 and [0160]-[0166] describing pairing signals and response therein) capable of data communication (FIG. 2, display apparatus 100 using external device interface 130 for communication with mobile terminal 600 at [0056] and [0060]);
a display device specification (FIG. 6 and [0170]-[0173] describing mobile terminal determining resolution and aspect ratio of image display apparatus, further at [0028]) including at least one of a device type (see below, condition satisfied), resolution (FIG. 6 and [0170]-[0173] and resolution and [0028]), whether multi-view is supported (see above, and below, condition satisfied), a display mode (determination of mirroring mode at [0056]), and a current display image (see above, condition satisfied)
determine, as a mirroring area, a partial area (Arc) of a first image (FIGS. 7C-15 with Arc along with Arb and Ara, or alternatively Ar2 and Ar1 generally therein, Arc being the mirroring and partial area of the first image displayed on 100, and FIGS. 7A-7I and [0180]-[0189], processing the zoomed-in and scaled up image at the mobile terminal 600) displayed via the display, based on the display device specification (FIGS. 7C-13 and 14C-14I; and FIG. 6, with S610 at [0169]-[0172] mirrored image including, for example, areas 710 and 712 or 742, or 710b, device specification at FIG. 6 and [0170]-[0173], for example, FIG. 7C with mirrored image 720 shown in center area Arc of screen constituting a partial area for mirroring based on resolution and aspect ratio of the image display apparatus 100, based on specification at [0028]);
generate mirroring image data based on the mirroring area (FIGS. 7C-13 and 14C-14I; and FIG. 6, with S610 at [0169]-[0172] mirrored image of display 680 along with black areas given the aspect ratio or resolution determination of image display apparatus 100); and
output the mirroring image data to the external display device (FIG. 6, S620 at [0170]-[0172]).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose receive from the external display device a display device specification.
In the same field of endeavor, Chun discloses receive from the external display device a display device specification (FIGS. 8-10 and [0100] describing sending the display data from portable terminal 300 to image display apparatus 100 already adjusted to the aspect ratio of the display apparatus 100 indicating communication of aspect ratio of display apparatus 100 to portable terminal 300).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify mirroring a display of a mobile device of Lee to incorporate the communication of various display specifications between devices as disclosed by Chun because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, mirroring methods and systems for a mobile device. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve easy use and enjoyment of displaying videos on a larger terminal without complex limitations associated with mirroring (see Chun at least at [0003]-[0010]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Chun discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above), wherein based on determining the mirroring area, at least one processor comprising processing circuitry, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to: extract at least one partial area formed independently from a surrounding image, in the first image (see Lee, FIGS. 7E-7H and 8B-14l, the section being determined to be zoomed-in on is 712 at [0181]-[0191] and [0205]-[0216]); and determine, as the partial area for the mirroring area (see Lee, FIGS. 7E-7H and 8B-14l, the section being determined to be zoomed-in on is 712 at [0181]-[0191] and [0205]-[0216] and, e.g., 730 and Ar2 therein), at least one of the extracted partial areas, based on any one of an automatic setting mode (Lee, [0223] settings determinable by the controller 170) or a user setting mode (see above, condition satisfied) and wherein the determining the partial area as the mirroring area based on the display device specification is performed in the automatic setting mode (See Chun at [0100] in view of Lee at [0223]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Chun discloses the display device of claim 3 (see above), wherein in the automatic setting mode, at least one processor comprising processing circuitry, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to: determine at least one partial area displayable on the external display device from among the extracted at least one partial area (Lee, FIGS. 1, 7C-7I; [0036]-[0041] playable area 712 is detected as separable from text area and at [0183]-[0194]), based on the display device specification (Lee, e.g., resolution determination at [0194] or [0028] aspect ratio); and determine, as the partial area for mirroring area, a partial area having a highest specification suitability with the display device specification among the at least one partial area (Lee FIGS. 7C-7I describing resolution and aspect ratio determination being considered and maximizing screen real estate at [0028], [0088], [0171] and [0194]-[0202], [0241]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Chun discloses the display device of claim 3 (see above), wherein in the user setting mode, at least one processor comprising processing circuitry, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to: provide a selection option for selecting among the extracted at least one partial area by emphasizing and displaying an edge of the extracted at least one partial area (Lee FIGS. 7D and 7E illustrating selectable area with indicator IND and [0175]-[0184]; 9A-10B and [0214]-[0218]); and determine the partial area for the mirroring area from based on selection using the selection option (Lee FIGS. 7D-7G; IND selected and area AR2 being the full mirrored area accordingly at [0175]-[0182]; 9A-10B and [0214]-[0218]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Chun discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above), wherein in an auto tracing mode, at least one processor comprising processing circuitry, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to: detect a moving object moving in the first image (Lee FIGS. 14C-14I and [0252]-[0255] capable of distinguishing still vs videos by area detection of the mirrored image) extract a moving object area including the moving object (Lee FIGS. 7C-7I area detection techniques and autoplay portion at [0183]-[0189], FIGS. 14C-14I and [0250]-[0255]); and determine the moving object area as the partial area for the mirroring area (Lee FIGS. 7C-7I area detection techniques at [0183]-[0189] the section being determined to be zoomed-in on is 712 at [0181]-[0191] and [0205]-[0216] and, e.g., 730 and Ar2 therein, furthermore moving already at [0199]-[0201], FIGS. 14C-14I and [0250]-[0255]), based on at least one of an automatic setting mode (Lee [0223] settings determinable by the controller 170, zoom in and resolution considerations at [0194]-[0195], FIGS. 14C-14I and [0250]-[0255])or a user setting mode (see above, condition satisfied).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses a display device (FIGS. 1, 5, 7C-13, and 14C-14I display apparatus 100 at [0022]-[0029] and [0031]-[0041]), comprising:
memory (FIG. 2 and memory 140 at [0043] and [0059]-[0061]) storing at least one instruction (FIG. 2 and memory capable 140 of storing programs at [0059]-[0061]);
a display (FIGS 1-2 and display 180 at [0029]-[0031]); and
at least one processor (FIGS. 2-3, controller 170 at [0032]-[0033], [0059], [0061]-[0073] and [0085]), comprising processing circuitry (FIG. 3, controller 170 components at [0085]-[0101]), electrically connected to the memory (FIG. 2, memory 140 and controller 170 connected as shown and at [0059]-[0061]) and individually and/or collectively configured to execute the at least one instruction (generally at [0280], and further at FIGS. 1-2 and at [0059]-[0069]), and to cause the display device to:
mirroring image data for a partial area (Arc or Ar1 or Ar2) of a first image display (FIG. 2 external device interface 130 capable of receiving and exchanging device information with mobile terminal 600 or other devices at [0044]-0045] and [0053]-[0056]) by the external display device (FIGS. 1-2 and mobile terminal 600 at [0053]-[0056]);
set a mirroring layout based on the mirroring image data and a specification of the display device (FIGS. 7C-13 and 14C-14I; and FIG. 6, with S610 at [0169]-[0178] mirrored image of display 680 along with black areas given the aspect ratio and determination of image display apparatus 100; further FIGS. 8C and with portrait and landscape modes at [0207]-[0209], further determination made at FIG. 3 and [0088] video decoder 325 for determination of resolution for display on display 180; additionally aspect ratio and resolution at [0028]);
generate second image data based on the mirroring layout (FIGS. 3 and 7C-13 and 14C-14I the components displayed in FIG. 3 of the controller determine 170 and generate the second image data at [0085]-[0095] and further decoding data at [0104]-[0105]); and
display via the display a second image based on the second image data (FIGS. 1, 7C-13 and 14C-14I with display 180 displaying the images 720, 725, 727, 730, and [0037]-[0038] [0070]-[0077] and [0185]-[0191]).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose receive, from the external display device a display device specification.
In the same field of endeavor, Chun discloses receive from the external display device a display device specification (FIGS. 8-10 and [0100] describing sending the display data from portable terminal 300 to image display apparatus 100 already adjusted to the aspect ratio of the display apparatus 100 indicating communication of aspect ratio of display apparatus 100 to portable terminal 300).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mirroring a display of a mobile device of Lee to incorporate the communication of various display specifications between devices as disclosed by Chun because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, mirroring methods and systems for a mobile device. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve easy use and enjoyment of displaying videos on a larger terminal without complex limitations associated with mirroring (see Chun at least at [0003]-[0010]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Chun discloses the display device of claim 7 (see above), wherein based on setting the mirroring layout, at least one processor comprising processing circuitry, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to:
set a screen layout (Lee FIGS. 7C-13 and 14C-14I various screen layouts) including at least one of a display mode of the second image (Lee FIGS. 7C-13, further describing information regarding portrait or landscape in determining display mode of the second image at [0201]-[0210]) or a second image count (see above, condition satisfied);
set a frame layout including at least one of a size of the second image (Lee FIGS. 7C-13 and illustrating layouts at [0172]-[0187] and [0201]-[0202]), a position of the second image (see above, condition satisfied), or a frame shape of the second image (see above, condition satisfied); or set a content layout including at least one of a zoom-in of the second image (Lee FIGS. 7C-13 and zoomed in section at [0183]-[0201]), a zoom-out of the second image (see above, condition satisfied), or a center shift of the second image (see above, condition satisfied).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Chun discloses the display device of claim 8 (see above), wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to automatically set at least one of the screen layout, the frame layout, and the content layout, based on the specification of the display device (Lee resolution and aspect ratio considerations FIGS. 7C-7I describing resolution and aspect ratio determination being considered and maximizing screen real estate at [0028], [0088], [0171] and [0194]-[0202], [0241]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Chun discloses the display device of claim 8 (see above), wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to set at least one of the screen layout, the frame layout, or the content layout, based on an input to the display device (Lee FIGS. 7C-13 and input at [0173]-[0184] and [0203]-[0208]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses an image mirroring method, comprising:
receiving image data (FIG. 1 image 710 and 712 may be received by the mobile terminal 600 via wireless communication unit 610 including broadcast receiving unit 610 at [0136]-[0143]);
displaying a first image based on the image data (FIG. 1 and 600 displaying an image 710 and 712 and [0035]);
detecting an external display device (FIGS. 1, 5, 7C-13, and 14C-14I display apparatus 100 at [0022]-[0029] pairing signal and response between display apparatus 100 and mobile terminal 600; further at FIG. 6 and [0160]-[0166] describing pairing signals and response therein) capable of data communication (FIG. 2, display apparatus 100 using external device interface 130 for communication with mobile terminal 600 at [0056] and [0060]);
a display device specification (FIG. 6 and [0170]-[0173] describing mobile terminal determining resolution and aspect ratio of image display apparatus, further at [0028]) including at least one of a device type (see below, condition satisfied), resolution (FIG. 6 and [0170]-[0173] and resolution and [0028]), whether multi-view is supported (see above, and below, condition satisfied), a display mode (determination of mirroring mode at [0056]), and a current display image (see above, condition satisfied)
determining, as a mirroring area, a partial area (Arc or AR1 or Ar2) of the first image (FIGS. 7C-13 and 14C-14I; and FIG. 6, with S610 at [0169]-[0172] mirrored image including, for example, areas 710 and 712 or 742, or 710b), based on the display specification (FIG. 6 and [0170]-[0173] describing mobile terminal determining resolution and aspect ratio of image display apparatus, further at [0028]);
generating mirroring image data based on the mirroring area (FIGS. 7C-13 and 14C-14I; and FIG. 6, with S610 at [0169]-[0172] mirrored image of display 680 along with black areas given the aspect ratio or resolution determination of image display apparatus 100); and
outputting the mirroring image data to the at least one external display device (FIG. 6, S620 at [0170]-[0172]).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose receiving from the external display device a display device specification.
In the same field of endeavor, Chun discloses receiving from the external display device a display device specification (FIGS. 8-10 and [0100] describing sending the display data from portable terminal 300 to image display apparatus 100 already adjusted to the aspect ratio of the display apparatus 100 indicating communication of aspect ratio of display apparatus 100 to portable terminal 300).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the mirroring a display of a mobile device of Lee to incorporate the communication of various display specifications between devices as disclosed by Chun because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, mirroring methods and systems for a mobile device. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve easy use and enjoyment of displaying videos on a larger terminal without complex limitations associated with mirroring (see Chun at least at [0003]-[0010]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, it is similar in scope to claim 3 above, therefore, claim 13 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, it is similar in scope to claim 4 above, therefore, claim 14 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, it is similar in scope to claim 5 above, therefore, claim 15 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, it is similar in scope to claim 6 above, therefore, claim 12 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al., US 2018/0205983 A1: Abstract and FIGS. 6 and 9A-15 describing mirroring techniques between mobile terminal and display device;
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2629