Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al., US 2018/0364881 A1 (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display device (FIGS. 1, 5, 7C-13, and 14C-14I mobile terminal 600 at [0022]-[0029] and [0136]-[0146]), comprising:
memory (FIG. 5 and memory 660 at [0136]-[0139] and [0155]) storing at least one instruction (FIG. 5 and memory 660 stores programs at [0155]);
a display (FIG. 5 and display 680 at [0149]-[0151]); and
at least one processor (FIG. 5, controller 670 at [0155]-[0158]), comprising processing circuitry (FIG. 3, includes a module ), electrically connected to the memory (FIG. 5 and memory 660 shown as connected to the controller 670 and [0155]) and individually and/or collectively configured to execute the at least one instruction (generally at 0280], and FIG. 5 at [0155]-[0158]), and to cause the display device to:
detect at least one external display device (FIGS. 1, 5, 7C-13, and 14C-14I display apparatus 100 at [0022]-[0029] pairing signal and response between display apparatus 100 and mobile terminal 600; further at FIG. 6 and [0160]-[0166] describing pairing signals and response therein) capable of data communication (FIG. 2, display apparatus 100 using external device interface 130 for communication with mobile terminal 600 at [0056] and [0060]);
determine a mirroring area in a first image displayed via the display (FIGS. 7C-13 and 14C-14I; and FIG. 6, with S610 at [0169]-[0172] mirrored image including, for example, areas 710 and 712 or 742, or 710b);
generate mirroring image data based on the mirroring area (FIGS. 7C-13 and 14C-14I; and FIG. 6, with S610 at [0169]-[0172] mirrored image of display 680 along with black areas given the aspect ratio or resolution determination of image display apparatus 100); and
output at least one of the mirroring image data to the external display device (FIG. 6, S620 at [0170]-[0172]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above), wherein based on detecting the external display device, at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to receive from the external display device a display device specification (FIG. 6 and [0170]-[0173] describing mobile terminal determining resolution and aspect ratio of image display apparatus) including at least one of a device type (see below, condition satisfied), resolution (FIG. 6 and [0170]-[0173] and resolution), whether multi-view is supported (see above, and below, condition satisfied), a display mode (determination of mirroring mode at [0056]), and a current display image (see above, condition satisfied).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above), wherein based on determining the mirroring area, at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to: extract at least one partial area formed independently from a surrounding image in the first image (see FIGS. 7E-7H and 8B-14l, the section being determined to be zoomed-in on is 712 at [0181]-[0191] and [0205]-[0216]); and determine the partial area as at least one mirroring area (see FIGS. 7E-7H and 8B-14l, the section being determined to be zoomed-in on is 712 at [0181]-[0191] and [0205]-[0216] and, e.g., 730 and Ar2 therein), based on any one of an automatic setting mode ([0223] settings determinable by the controller 170) and a user setting mode (see above, condition satisfied).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the display device of claim 3 (see above), wherein in the automatic setting mode, at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to: determine the partial area displayable on the external display device among at least one partial area (FIGS. 1, 7C-7I; [0036]-[0041] playable area 712 is detected as separable from text area and at [0183]-[0194]), based on the display device specification (e.g., resolution determination at [0194]); and determine the partial area having a highest specification suitability with the display device specification among the at least one partial area as at least one mirroring area (FIGS. 7C-7I describing resolution and aspect ratio determination being considered and maximizing screen real estate at [0028], [0088], [0171] and [0194]-[0202], [0241]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the display device of claim 3 (see above), wherein in the user setting mode, at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to: provide a selection option for at least one partial area by emphasizing and displaying an edge of the at least one partial area (FIGS. 7D and 7E illustrating selectable area with indicator IND and [0175]-[0184]; 9A-10B and [0214]-[0218]); and determine at least one mirroring area from among the at least one partial area, based on the selection of the selection option (FIGS. 7D7G; IND selected and area AR2 being the full mirrored area accordingly at [0175]-[0182]; 9A-10B and [0214]-[0218]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1 (see above), wherein in an auto tracing mode, at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to: detect a moving object moving in the first image (FIGS. 14C-14I and [0252]-[0255] capable of distinguishing still vs videos by area detection of the mirrored image) extract a moving object area including the moving object (FIGS. 7C-7I area detection techniques and autoplay portion at [0183]-[0189], FIGS. 14C-14I and [0250]-[0255]); and determine the moving object area as at least one mirroring area (FIGS. 7C-7I area detection techniques at [0183]-[0189] the section being determined to be zoomed-in on is 712 at [0181]-[0191] and [0205]-[0216] and, e.g., 730 and Ar2 therein, furthermore moving already at [0199]-[0201], FIGS. 14C-14I and [0250]-[0255]), based on at least one of an automatic setting mode ([0223] settings determinable by the controller 170, zoom in and resolution considerations at [0194]-[0195], FIGS. 14C-14I and [0250]-[0255])and a user setting mode (see above, condition satisfied).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses a display device (FIGS. 1, 5, 7C-13, and 14C-14I display apparatus 100 at [0022]-[0029] and [0031]-[0041]), comprising:
memory (FIG. 2 and memory 140 at [0043] and [0059]-[0061]) storing at least one instruction (FIG. 2 and memory capable 140 of storing programs at [0059]-[0061]);
a display (FIGS 1-2 and display 180 at [0029]-[0031]); and
at least one processor (FIGS. 2-3, controller 170 at [0032]-[0033], [0059], [0061]-[0073] and [0085]), comprising processing circuitry (FIG. 3, controller 170 components at [0085]-[0101]), electrically connected to the memory (FIG. 2, memory 140 and controller 170 connected as shown and at [0059]-[0061]) and individually and/or collectively configured to execute the at least one instruction (generally at [0280], and further at FIGS. 1-2 and at [0059]-[0069]), and to cause the display device to:
receive mirroring image data (FIG. 2 external device interface 130 capable of receiving and exchanging device information with mobile terminal 600 or other devices at [0044]-0045] and [0053]-[0056]) from at least one external display device (FIGS. 1-2 and mobile terminal 600 at [0053]-[0056]);
set a mirroring layout based on the mirroring image data and a display device specification (FIGS. 7C-13 and 14C-14I; and FIG. 6, with S610 at [0169]-[0178] mirrored image of display 680 along with black areas given the aspect ratio and determination of image display apparatus 100; further FIGS. 8C and with portrait and landscape modes at [0207]-[0209], further determination made at FIG. 3 and [0088] video decoder 325 for determination of resolution for display on display 180);
generate second image data based on the mirroring layout (FIGS. 3 and 7C-13 and 14C-14I the components displayed in FIG. 3 of the controller determine 170 and generate the second image data at [0085]-[0095] and further decoding data at [0104]-[0105]); and
display via the display a second image based on the second image data (FIGS. 1, 7C-13 and 14C-14I with display 180 displaying the images 720, 725, 727, 730, and [0037]-[0038] [0070]-[0077] and [0185]-[0191]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the display device of claim 7 (see above), wherein based on setting the mirroring layout, at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to:
set a screen layout (FIGS. 7C-13 and 14C-14I various screen layouts) including at least one of a display mode of the second image (FIGS. 7C-13, further describing information regarding portrait or landscape in determining display mode of the second image at [0201]-[0210]) and a second image count (see above, condition satisfied);
set a frame layout including at least one of a size of the second image (FIGS. 7C-13 and illustrating layouts at [0172]-[0187] and [0201]-[0202]), a position of the second image (see above, condition satisfied), and a frame shape of the second image (see above, condition satisfied); or set a content layout including at least one of a zoom-in of the second image (FIGS. 7C-13 and zoomed in section at [0183]-[0201]), a zoom-out of the second image (see above, condition satisfied), and a center shift of the second image (see above, condition satisfied).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the display device of claim 8 (see above), wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to automatically set at least one of the screen layout, the frame layout, and the content layout, based on the display device specification (resolution and aspect ratio considerations FIGS. 7C-7I describing resolution and aspect ratio determination being considered and maximizing screen real estate at [0028], [0088], [0171] and [0194]-[0202], [0241]).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the display device of claim 8 (see above), wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to cause the display device to set at least one of the screen layout, the frame layout, and the content layout, based on an input (FIGS. 7C-13 and input at [0173]-[0184] and [0203]-[0208]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses an image mirroring method, comprising:
receiving image data (FIG. 1 image 710 and 712 may be received by the mobile terminal 600 via wireless communication unit 610 including broadcast receiving unit 610 at [0136]-[0143]);
displaying a first image based on the image data (FIG. 1 and 600 displaying an image 710 and 712 and [0035]);
detecting at least one external display device (FIGS. 1, 5, 7C-13, and 14C-14I display apparatus 100 at [0022]-[0029] pairing signal and response between display apparatus 100 and mobile terminal 600; further at FIG. 6 and [0160]-[0166] describing pairing signals and response therein) capable of data communication (FIG. 2, display apparatus 100 using external device interface 130 for communication with mobile terminal 600 at [0056] and [0060]);
determining a mirroring area in the first image (FIGS. 7C-13 and 14C-14I; and FIG. 6, with S610 at [0169]-[0172] mirrored image including, for example, areas 710 and 712 or 742, or 710b);
generating mirroring image data based on the mirroring area (FIGS. 7C-13 and 14C-14I; and FIG. 6, with S610 at [0169]-[0172] mirrored image of display 680 along with black areas given the aspect ratio or resolution determination of image display apparatus 100); and
outputting the mirroring image data to the at least one external display device (FIG. 6, S620 at [0170]-[0172]).
Regarding claim 12, it is similar in scope to claim 2 above, therefore, claim 12 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, it is similar in scope to claim 3 above, therefore, claim 13 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, it is similar in scope to claim 4 above, therefore, claim 14 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, it is similar in scope to claim 5 above, therefore, claim 15 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, it is similar in scope to claim 6 above, therefore, claim 12 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Friedman, US 2010/0188579 A1;
Lee et al., US 2012/0040719 A1;
Chun et al., US 2015/0288912 A1;
Hassan et al., US 11,042,222 B1;
Kim et al., US 2013/0138728 A1;
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2629