DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “electric heating coil is a V-shaped evaporator coil” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 19; the limitation, “the electric heating coil is a V-shaped evaporator coil” appears to lack support in the application as originally filed. The present application does not further disclose a structure capable of enabling the functions recited within the claim. The present disclosure does not provide details on how one of ordinary skill in the art would measure, maintain, or ensure this condition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dempsey (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2014/0260408 A1), hereinafter referred to as Dempsey ‘408, in view of Seccuro et al (U.S. PG Pub No.:2012/0152499 A1), hereinafter referred to as Seccuro et al ‘499.
Regarding claim 1, Dempsey ‘408 discloses an air handler (10) comprising: a body (12) {as shown in Fig. 1A: ¶ [0010]}; and a fan housing (22) disposed within the body, wherein the fan housing comprises: an aperture (26A) in fluid communication with a fan (28A) disposed therein {as shown in Fig. 1A: ¶ [0012], [0017]}; an enclosure (16) {as shown in Fig. 1A: ¶¶ [0010], [0015], [0018] and [0020]}.
However, Dempsey ‘408 fails to disclose the limitations of the enclosure formed such that the enclosure extends between a first corner and a second corner of the fan housing, the enclosure configured to house electronic controls; wherein the enclosure is isolated from a continuous airflow passageway through the aperture of the fan housing.
Seccuro et al ‘499 teach: the concept of the enclosure (160) formed such that the enclosure extends between a first corner (220) and a second corner (230) of the fan housing (340), the enclosure configured to house electronic controls (240) {as shown in Fig. 4: ¶¶ [0017], [0019]}; wherein the enclosure is isolated from a continuous airflow passageway (410) through the aperture of the fan housing {as shown in Fig. 6: ¶ [0025]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Dempsey ‘408 in view of Seccuro et al ‘499 to include the enclosure formed such that the enclosure extends between a first corner and a second corner of the fan housing, the enclosure configured to house electronic controls; wherein the enclosure is isolated from a continuous airflow passageway through the aperture of the fan housing, in order to facilitate easy/quick service access to the electronic components and controls {Seccuro et al ‘499 - ¶ [0019]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Dempsey ‘408 in view of Seccuro et al ‘499 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 1, Dempsey ‘408 discloses wherein the fan is an axial fan {see ¶ [0013]}.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 1, Dempsey ‘408 as modified by Seccuro et al ‘499 further teach the limitations of comprising: an enclosure wall (160) extending between a first side (220) and a second side (230) of the fan housing (340); wherein the enclosure wall defines a side surface of the enclosure {as shown in Figs. 3 and 4: ¶ [0019]}.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 3, Dempsey ‘408 as modified by Seccuro et al ‘499 further teach the limitations of wherein the electronic controls comprise a first electronic component and a second electronic component {see ¶ [0019]}.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 4, Dempsey ‘408 as modified by Seccuro et al ‘499 further teach the limitations of wherein the first electronic component and the second electronic component (240) are coupled to the enclosure wall (220) {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0019]}.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 3, Dempsey ‘408 as modified by Seccuro et al ‘499 further teach the limitations of wherein the enclosure wall prevents access to the fan {as shown in Figs. 4 and 6}.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 1, Dempsey ‘408 discloses further comprising: an electric heating coil (30) disposed within the fan housing and proximate the fan, the electric heating coil configured to generate heat {as shown in Fig. 1A: ¶¶ [0014] and [0018]}.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 1, Dempsey ‘408 discloses further comprising: a fan safety switch (16) configured to actuate the fan {see ¶¶ [0004], [0017- 0018]}.
Regarding claim 11, Dempsey ‘408 discloses an heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system comprising: an air handler (10) comprising: a body (12) {as shown in Fig. 1A: ¶¶ [0003] and [0010]}; a fan housing (22) disposed within the body, the fan housing comprising: an aperture (26A) in fluid communication with a fan (28A) disposed therein {as shown in Fig. 1A: ¶ [0012], [0017]}; an enclosure (16) {as shown in Fig. 1A: ¶¶ [0010], [0015], [0018] and [0020]}.
However, Dempsey ‘408 fails to disclose the limitations of the enclosure formed such that the enclosure extends between a first corner and a second corner of the fan housing, the enclosure configured to house electronic controls; wherein the enclosure is isolated from a continuous airflow passageway through the aperture of the fan housing.
Seccuro et al ‘499 teach: the concept of the enclosure (160) formed such that the enclosure extends between a first corner (220) and a second corner (230) of the fan housing (340), the enclosure configured to house electronic controls (240) {as shown in Fig. 4: ¶¶ [0017], [0019]}; wherein the enclosure is isolated from a continuous airflow passageway (410) through the aperture of the fan housing {as shown in Fig. 6: ¶ [0025]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Dempsey ‘408 in view of Seccuro et al ‘499 to include the enclosure formed such that the enclosure extends between a first corner and a second corner of the fan housing, the enclosure configured to house electronic controls; wherein the enclosure is isolated from a continuous airflow passageway through the aperture of the fan housing, in order to facilitate easy/quick service access to the electronic components and controls {Seccuro et al ‘499 - ¶ [0019]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Dempsey 408 in view of Seccuro et al ‘499 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 11, Dempsey ‘408 discloses wherein the fan is an axial fan {see ¶ [0013]}.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 11, Dempsey ‘408 as modified by Seccuro et al ‘499 further teach the limitations of comprising: an enclosure wall (160) extending between a first side (220) and a second side (230) of the fan housing (340); wherein the enclosure wall defines a side surface of the enclosure {as shown in Figs. 3 and 4: ¶ [0019]}.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 13, Dempsey ‘408 as modified by Seccuro et al ‘499 further teach the limitations of wherein the electronic controls comprise a first electronic component and a second electronic component {see ¶ [0019]}.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 14, Dempsey ‘408 as modified by Seccuro et al ‘499 further teach the limitations of wherein the first electronic component and the second electronic component (240) are coupled to the enclosure wall (220) {as shown in Fig. 3: ¶ [0019]}.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 33, Dempsey ‘408 as modified by Seccuro et al ‘499 further teach the limitations of wherein the enclosure wall prevents access to the fan {as shown in Figs. 4 and 6}.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 11, Dempsey ‘408 discloses further comprising: an electric heating coil (30) disposed within the fan housing and proximate the fan, the electric heating coil configured to generate heat {as shown in Fig. 1A: ¶¶ [0014] and [0018]}.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 11, Dempsey ‘408 discloses further comprising: a fan safety switch (16) configured to actuate the fan {see ¶¶ [0004], [0017- 0018]}.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, further in view of Lackie et al (U.S. PG Pub No.:2011/0232860 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lackie et al ‘860.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claims 1 and 11, respectively, EXCEPT for limitations of further comprising: one of a first door or a first panel configured to conceal the enclosure.
Lackie et al ‘860 teach: the concept of a first door or a first panel (124) configured to conceal the enclosure {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0023]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Dempsey ‘408 in view of Lackie et al ‘860 to include one of a first door or a first panel configured to conceal the enclosure, in order to facilitate easy/quick service access to an interior of the heat exchanger cabinet {Lackie et al ‘860 - ¶ [0023]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Dempsey 408 in view of Lackie et al ‘860 et al ‘499 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 7 and 17.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 as applied to claims 1 and 11, respectively above, further in view of Ehrman (U.S. PG Pub No.:2022/0397289 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ehrman ‘289; and Zinger et al (U.S. PG Pub No.:20150219386 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zinger et al ‘386
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the combination of Dempsey ‘408 and Seccuro et al ‘499 disclose and teach the air handler of claim 8, Dempsey ‘408 discloses wherein the electric heating coil (30A), and the fan housing (22) is disposed vertically above the evaporator coil {as shown in Fig. 1}.
However, Dempsey ‘408 fails to disclose wherein the electric heating coil is a V-shaped evaporator coil, and V-shaped evaporator coil.
Ehrman ‘289 teaches: the concept of the electric heating coil is a V-shaped {as shown in Fig. 5: ¶ [0019]}.
Zinger et al ‘386 teach: the concept of V-shaped evaporator coil (122) {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶ [0015]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Dempsey ‘408 in view of Ehrman ‘289, further in view of Zinger et al ‘386 so as to include the use of a V-shaped electrical heater and V-shaped evaporator coil, in order to increase surface areas for both heating and cooling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Dempsey 408 in view of Ehrman ‘289 and Zinger et al ‘386 to obtain the invention as specified in claims 9 and 19.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants’ disclosure.
US-20030000230-A1 to Kopko, William L.
US-20150338109-A1 to Amick; James.
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
10/03/2026