DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 05/26/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 10, 11, and 17 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant contends that, “Lee does not appear to disclose or even suggest, for example, "the efficiency of the pixels being defined based on luminance and driving current of the pixels." Instead, Lee appears to calculate a deterioration weight value based on current and an acceleration coefficient. (Lee, para. [0090]). Lee therefore appears to base deterioration weighting on current-related parameters, and does not appear to determine pixel efficiency, and Lee does not define efficiency using luminance and driving current. Additionally, Lee repeatedly describes calculating deterioration using current corresponding to grayscale values. (See, e.g., Lee para. [0098] (lookup tables storing grayscale and corresponding input current information for each position). This disclosure again appears to rely on current values and does not appear to involve luminance-based efficiency. Because Lee does not disclose determining efficiency from both luminance and driving current, Lee does not appear to disclose, or even suggest "the efficiency of the pixels being defined based on luminance and driving current of the pixels."”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments. Paragraph [0059] of Lee discloses that the weight of each pixel is calculated based on an input current. It is well known to any one of ordinary skill in the art that there is a strong correlation between luminance and current. For example, the grayscale -current converter in fig. 5 of Lee depicts that for a fixed grayscale level, an increase in current correspondingly results in an increase in luminance. Additionally, paragraph [0075] discloses that light emitting element generates light of a predetermined luminance according to an amount of current.
Applicant contends that, “Embodiments according to the present disclosure are distinguishable from Lee in that the timing controller 120 generates output data Dout by reflecting compensation data CDATA, whereas, in Lee, the Data driver 400 directly generates a data signal by reflecting compensation data ACDATA.”
Paragraph [0063] of Lee discloses that “the deterioration compensator 200 may be included in the timing controller 500”
Applicants argue that Lee does not teach pre-storing weight.
Examiner recited new prior art for this feature. Please see the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 2023/0030225).
As to claim 1, Lee teaches a display device comprising:
a display unit including pixels (a display including pixels, fig. 1);
a deterioration compensator (a deterioration compensator 200, fig. 5) configured to generate input deterioration data by reflecting weights on input data ([0126] the deterioration information generator 210 calculates deterioration data corresponding to the pixel PX (or the block BL) for each pixel PX (or block BL) based on the deterioration weight, fig. 5) and configured to generate correction data (a compensation grayscale CGR[n], fig. 5) using accumulated deterioration data generated by accumulating the input deterioration data ([0089] lifetime value AGE by accumulating the deterioration data to which the deterioration weight is reflected, [0088] The deterioration compensator 200 may calculate a compensation grayscale CGR[n] by using … lifetime values AGE[n−1] and AGE[n] loaded from the memory 10);
a timing controller (timing controller 500, fig. 1) configured to generate output data (ACDATA, fig. 5) by reflecting the correction data to the input data ([0134] The output part 240 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the compensation grayscale CGR[n] to the input image data IDATA, [0063] Although the deterioration compensator 200 is illustrated as a separate configuration in FIG. 1, the deterioration compensator 200 may be included in the timing controller 500); and
a data driver distinct from the timing controller and configured to drive data lines connected to the pixels ([0066] The data driver 400 may provide a data signal … to the pixels PX of the display panel 100 through the data lines DL1 to DLm, Fig. 1),
wherein the weights include an efficiency weight, and the efficiency weight corresponds to efficiency of the pixels corresponding to each of grayscales, the efficiency of the pixels being defined based on luminance and driving current of the pixels ([0059] the deterioration compensator 200 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position of the pixels PX based on an input current calculated from a grayscale-current converter 230. [0075] The light emitting element LD may generate light of a predetermined luminance in response to an amount of current (an input current) supplied from the first transistor TR1, [0085]. Examiner’s Note: an increase in luminance corresponds to an increase in current),
wherein the data driver configured to generate a data signal using the output data, and to supply the data signal directly to the pixels ([0066] The data driver 400 may provide a data signal corresponding to the compensation data ACDATA to the pixels PX of the display panel 100, fig. 1).
As to claim 2, Lee teaches the display device, wherein the efficiency weight is set so that a difference in the driving current flowing through each of the pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales is reflected in the input deterioration data ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0059] compensator 200 may calculate compensation data ACDATA based on an input grayscale IDATA... The deterioration compensator 200 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the calculated compensation grayscale to the input image data IDATA, [0089], [0066], [0085]).
As to claim 3, Lee teaches the display device, wherein the efficiency weight is stored in the deterioration compensator in units of pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098] the second lookup table LUT2 and the third lookup table LUT3 may include the input grayscale IGR[n] (or compensation grayscale CGR[n]), and corresponding input current Iin information for each position of the display panel 100, Figs. 4 and 7).
As to claim 4, Lee teaches the display device, wherein the efficiency weight is stored in the deterioration compensator in units of blocks corresponding to each of the grayscales, and each of the blocks includes at least two pixels ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098]).
As to claim 6, Lee teaches the display device, wherein the weights further include a position weight corresponding to positions of the pixels and a temperature weight corresponding to a temperature ([0082] n order to calculate the lifetime AGE more accurately, a current, a grayscale, a temperature, and the like for each position of the display panel 100 may be reflected).
As to claim 7, Lee teaches the display device, further comprising: a memory configured to store the accumulated deterioration data ([0126] the deterioration information generator 210 may receive, from the memory 10, the first lifetime value AGE[n−1] information in which the deterioration data respectively corresponding to the first frame to the (n−1)-th frame is accumulated).
As to claim 8, Lee teaches the display device, wherein the deterioration compensator includes:
an efficiency lookup table configured to store the efficiency weight ([0098] the second lookup table LUT2 and the third lookup table LUT3 may include the input grayscale IGR[n] (or compensation grayscale CGR[n]), and corresponding input current Iin information for each position of the display panel 100, Figs. 4 and 7);
a position lookup table configured to store the position weight ([0098], [0115], [0124]);
a temperature lookup table configured to store the temperature weight ([0055] The deterioration data may be calculated based on a current, a grayscale, a temperature, and the like of the pixels PX);
a deterioration accumulator configured to generate the input deterioration data by reflecting the efficiency weight, the position weight, and the temperature weight to the input data ([0055], [0089]), accumulating the input deterioration data, and configured to store the accumulated deterioration data in the memory ([0126], fig. 5); and
a data generator configured to generate the correction data using the accumulated deterioration data stored in the memory ([0055] provide deterioration data of the pixels PX to the deterioration compensator 200. The deterioration data may be calculated based on a current, a grayscale, [0059] compensator 200 may calculate compensation data ACDATA based on an input grayscale IDATA... The deterioration compensator 200 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the calculated compensation grayscale to the input image data IDATA, [0089]).
As to claim 9, Lee teaches the display device, wherein the memory is configured to store the efficiency lookup table, the position lookup table, and the temperature lookup table ([0055], [0059], [0089] and [0026]).
As to claim 10, Lee teaches the display device, further comprising: a scan driver configured to drive scan lines connected to the pixels (scan driver 300, fig. 1 and the corresponding paragraphs).
As to claim 11, Lee teaches a method of driving a display device comprising:
generating input deterioration data by reflecting an efficiency weight corresponding to efficiency of pixels corresponding to each of grayscales to input data ([0126] the deterioration information generator 210 calculates deterioration data corresponding to the pixel PX (or the block BL) for each pixel PX (or block BL) based on the deterioration weight, fig. 5, see fig. 4 and the corresponding paragraphs for detail of an efficiency weight and grayscales),
the efficiency of the pixels being defined based on luminance and driving current of the pixels ([0059] the deterioration compensator 200 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position of the pixels PX based on an input current calculated from a grayscale-current converter 230. [0075] The light emitting element LD may generate light of a predetermined luminance in response to an amount of current (an input current) supplied from the first transistor TR1, [0085]. Examiner’s Note: an increase in luminance corresponds to an increase in current);
generating accumulated deterioration data by accumulating the input deterioration data ([0089] lifetime value AGE by accumulating the deterioration data to which the deterioration weight is reflected, [0088] The deterioration compensator 200 may calculate a compensation grayscale CGR[n] by using … lifetime values AGE[n−1] and AGE[n] loaded from the memory 10)
generating correction data (a compensation grayscale CGR[n], fig. 5)) based on the accumulated deterioration data so that deterioration of the pixels can be compensated for ([0089] lifetime value AGE by accumulating the deterioration data to which the deterioration weight is reflected, [0088] The deterioration compensator 200 may calculate a compensation grayscale CGR[n] by using … lifetime values AGE[n−1] and AGE[n] loaded from the memory 10); and
generating output data (ACDATA, fig. 5) by reflecting the correction data to the input data ([0134] The output part 240 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the compensation grayscale CGR[n] to the input image data IDATA, [0063] Although the deterioration compensator 200 is illustrated as a separate configuration in FIG. 1, the deterioration compensator 200 may be included in the timing controller 500).
As to claim 12, Lee teaches the method, wherein the efficiency weight is set so that a difference in the driving current flowing through each of the pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales is reflected in the input deterioration data ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0059] compensator 200 may calculate compensation data ACDATA based on an input grayscale IDATA... The deterioration compensator 200 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the calculated compensation grayscale to the input image data IDATA, [0089], [0066]).
As to claim 13, Lee teaches the method, wherein the efficiency weight is reflected in the input data in units of pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098] the second lookup table LUT2 and the third lookup table LUT3 may include the input grayscale IGR[n] (or compensation grayscale CGR[n]), and corresponding input current Iin information for each position of the display panel 100, Figs. 4 and 7).
As to claim 14, Lee teaches the method, wherein the efficiency weight is reflected in the input data in units of blocks corresponding to each of the grayscales, and each of the blocks includes at least two pixels ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098]).
As to claim 15, Lee teaches the method, wherein in the generating the input deterioration data, a position weight corresponding to positions of the pixels and a temperature weight corresponding to a temperature are further reflected in the input data ([0082] n order to calculate the lifetime AGE more accurately, a current, a grayscale, a temperature, and the like for each position of the display panel 100 may be reflected).
As to claim 16, Lee teaches the method, further comprising: generating a data signal using the output data; and supplying the data signal to the pixels ([0066] The data driver 400 may provide a data signal corresponding to the compensation data ACDATA to the pixels PX of the display panel 100 through the data lines DL1 to DLm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2023/0030225) in view of Noh et al (US 20210174716).
As to claim 5, while Lee teaches storing weight in the deterioration compensator, Lee does not teach averaging the efficiency weight of each of the pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales as claimed.
However, Noh teaches averaging the efficiency weight of each of the pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales ([0064] calculating a weighted average of the M gray levels for the M pixel lines).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee to teach, averaging the efficiency weight of each of the pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales, as suggested by Noh. The motivation would have been in order to provide “a display device that may more precisely perform afterimage compensation by assigning a weight” ([0009]).
5. Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2023/0030225) in view of Nakanishi et al (US 2012/0038694).
As to claim 17, Lee teaches an electronic device comprising:
a display panel including pixels (a display including pixels, fig. 1);
a data conversion circuit configured to generate input deterioration data by reflecting weights on input data ([0126] the deterioration information generator 210 calculates deterioration data corresponding to the pixel PX (or the block BL) for each pixel PX (or block BL) based on the deterioration weight, fig. 5) and configured to generate correction data (a compensation grayscale CGR[n], fig. 5) using accumulated deterioration data generated by accumulating the input deterioration data ([0089] lifetime value AGE by accumulating the deterioration data to which the deterioration weight is reflected, [0088] The deterioration compensator 200 may calculate a compensation grayscale CGR[n] by using … lifetime values AGE[n−1] and AGE[n] loaded from the memory 10); and
a controller configured to generate output data (ACDATA, fig. 5) by reflecting the correction data to the input data ([0134] The output part 240 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the compensation grayscale CGR[n] to the input image data IDATA, [0063] Although the deterioration compensator 200 is illustrated as a separate configuration in FIG. 1, the deterioration compensator 200 may be included in the timing controller 500),
wherein the weights include an efficiency weight, and the efficiency weight reflects efficiency of the pixels corresponding to each of grayscales, the efficiency of the pixels being defined based on luminance and driving current of the pixels ([0059] the deterioration compensator 200 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position of the pixels PX based on an input current calculated from a grayscale-current converter 230. [0075] The light emitting element LD may generate light of a predetermined luminance in response to an amount of current (an input current) supplied from the first transistor TR1, [0085]. Examiner’s Note: an increase in luminance corresponds to an increase in current),
Lee does not teach pre-storing weight as claimed.
However, Nakanishi teaches pre-stored weight ([0260] The weight value storing unit 8 stores in advance a plurality of weight values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee to teach, pre-storing weight, as suggested by Nakanishi. The motivation would have been in order to provide “method capable of reducing a visually unpleasant sensation that is experienced by a user.” ([0016]).
As to claim 18, Lee in view of Nakanishi teach the electronic device, wherein the efficiency weight is set so that a difference in driving current flowing through each of the pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales is reflected in the input deterioration data (Lee: [0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0059] compensator 200 may calculate compensation data ACDATA based on an input grayscale IDATA... The deterioration compensator 200 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the calculated compensation grayscale to the input image data IDATA, [0089], [0066]).
As to claim 19, Lee in view of Nakanishi teach the electronic, wherein the efficiency weight is stored in the data conversion circuit in units of pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales (Lee: [0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098] the second lookup table LUT2 and the third lookup table LUT3 may include the input grayscale IGR[n] (or compensation grayscale CGR[n]), and corresponding input current Iin information for each position of the display panel 100, Figs. 4 and 7).
As to claim 20, Lee in view of Nakanishi teach the electronic device, wherein the efficiency weight is stored in the data conversion circuit in units of blocks corresponding to each of the grayscales, and each of the blocks includes at least two pixels (Lee: [0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMEN W BOGALE/Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628