DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 2023/0030225).
As to claim 1, Lee teaches a display device comprising:
a display unit including pixels (a display including pixels, fig. 1);
a deterioration compensator (a deterioration compensator 200, fig. 5) configured to generate input deterioration data (lifetime values AGE[n−1], [0094] the lifetime value AGE may connote an accumulated value of deterioration data, and may connote a value necessary to compensate for the inputted grayscale) by reflecting weights on input data ([0059] The deterioration compensator 200 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position of the pixels PX… and, may update a lifetime value by accumulating deterioration data reflecting the deterioration weight, and may calculate a compensation grayscale by reflecting the updated lifetime value in the input grayscale of the input image data IDATA) and configured to generate correction data using accumulated deterioration data generated by accumulating the input deterioration data ([0055] provide deterioration data of the pixels PX to the deterioration compensator 200. The deterioration data may be calculated based on a current, a grayscale, [0059] compensator 200 may calculate compensation data ACDATA based on an input grayscale IDATA... The deterioration compensator 200 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the calculated compensation grayscale to the input image data IDATA, [0089]); and
a timing controller configured to generate output data by reflecting the correction data to the input data ([0066] the data driver 400 may provide a data signal corresponding to the compensation data ACDATA to the pixels PX... The data driver 400 may provide a data signal to the display panel 100 based on a second control signal CON2 received from the timing controller 500),
wherein the weights include an efficiency weight, and the efficiency weight corresponds to efficiency of the pixels corresponding to each of grayscales ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098] the second lookup table LUT2 and the third lookup table LUT3 may include the input grayscale IGR[n] (or compensation grayscale CGR[n]), and corresponding input current Iin information for each position of the display panel 100.).
As to claim 2, Lee teaches the display device, wherein the efficiency weight is set so that a difference in driving current flowing through each of the pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales is reflected in the input deterioration data ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0059] compensator 200 may calculate compensation data ACDATA based on an input grayscale IDATA... The deterioration compensator 200 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the calculated compensation grayscale to the input image data IDATA, [0089], [0066]).
As to claim 3, Lee teaches the display device, wherein the efficiency weight is stored in the deterioration compensator in units of pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098] the second lookup table LUT2 and the third lookup table LUT3 may include the input grayscale IGR[n] (or compensation grayscale CGR[n]), and corresponding input current Iin information for each position of the display panel 100, Figs. 4 and 7).
As to claim 4, Lee teaches the display device, wherein the efficiency weight is stored in the deterioration compensator in units of blocks corresponding to each of the grayscales, and each of the blocks includes at least two pixels ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098]).
As to claim 6, Lee teaches the display device, wherein the weights further include a position weight corresponding to positions of the pixels and a temperature weight corresponding to a temperature ([0082] n order to calculate the lifetime AGE more accurately, a current, a grayscale, a temperature, and the like for each position of the display panel 100 may be reflected).
As to claim 7, Lee teaches the display device, further comprising: a memory configured to store the accumulated deterioration data ([0126] the deterioration information generator 210 may receive, from the memory 10, the first lifetime value AGE[n−1] information in which the deterioration data respectively corresponding to the first frame to the (n−1)-th frame is accumulated).
As to claim 8, Lee teaches the display device, wherein the deterioration compensator includes:
an efficiency lookup table configured to store the efficiency weight ([0098] the second lookup table LUT2 and the third lookup table LUT3 may include the input grayscale IGR[n] (or compensation grayscale CGR[n]), and corresponding input current Iin information for each position of the display panel 100, Figs. 4 and 7);
a position lookup table configured to store the position weight ([0098], [0115], [0124]);
a temperature lookup table configured to store the temperature weight ([0055] The deterioration data may be calculated based on a current, a grayscale, a temperature, and the like of the pixels PX);
a deterioration accumulator configured to generate the input deterioration data by reflecting the efficiency weight, the position weight, and the temperature weight to the input data ([0055], [0089]), accumulating the input deterioration data, and configured to store the accumulated deterioration data in the memory ([0126], fig. 5); and
a data generator configured to generate the correction data using the accumulated deterioration data stored in the memory ([0055] provide deterioration data of the pixels PX to the deterioration compensator 200. The deterioration data may be calculated based on a current, a grayscale, [0059] compensator 200 may calculate compensation data ACDATA based on an input grayscale IDATA... The deterioration compensator 200 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the calculated compensation grayscale to the input image data IDATA, [0089]).
As to claim 9, Lee teaches the display device, wherein the memory is configured to store the efficiency lookup table, the position lookup table, and the temperature lookup table ([0055], [0059], [0089] and [0026]).
As to claim 10, Lee teaches the display device, further comprising: a scan driver configured to drive scan lines connected to the pixels (scan driver 300, fig. 1 and the corresponding paragraphs); and a data driver configured to drive data lines connected to the pixels (data driver 400, fig. 1 and the corresponding paragraphs), wherein the data driver configured to generate a data signal using the output data, and to supply the data signal to the pixels via the data lines ([0066] The data driver 400 may provide a data signal corresponding to the compensation data ACDATA to the pixels PX of the display panel 100 through the data lines DL1 to DLm).
As to claim 11, Lee teaches a method of driving a display device comprising:
generating input deterioration data (lifetime values AGE[n−1], [0094] the lifetime value AGE may connote an accumulated value of deterioration data, and may connote a value necessary to compensate for the inputted grayscale) by reflecting an efficiency weight corresponding to efficiency of pixels corresponding to each of grayscales to input data ([0059] The deterioration compensator 200 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position of the pixels PX… and, may update a lifetime value by accumulating deterioration data reflecting the deterioration weight, and may calculate a compensation grayscale by reflecting the updated lifetime value in the input grayscale of the input image data IDATA, [0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098] the second lookup table LUT2 and the third lookup table LUT3 may include the input grayscale IGR[n] (or compensation grayscale CGR[n]), and corresponding input current Iin information for each position of the display panel 100);
generating accumulated deterioration data by accumulating the input deterioration data ([0126] the deterioration information generator 210 may receive, from the memory 10, the first lifetime value AGE[n−1] information in which the deterioration data respectively corresponding to the first frame to the (n−1)-th frame is accumulated, [0055], [0059], [0089]);
generating correction data based on the accumulated deterioration data so that deterioration of the pixels can be compensated for ([0055] provide deterioration data of the pixels PX to the deterioration compensator 200. The deterioration data may be calculated based on a current, a grayscale, [0059] compensator 200 may calculate compensation data ACDATA based on an input grayscale IDATA... The deterioration compensator 200 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the calculated compensation grayscale to the input image data IDATA, [0089]); and
generating output data by reflecting the correction data to the input data ([0066] the data driver 400 may provide a data signal corresponding to the compensation data ACDATA to the pixels PX... The data driver 400 may provide a data signal to the display panel 100 based on a second control signal CON2 received from the timing controller 500).
As to claim 12, Lee teaches the method, wherein the efficiency weight is set so that a difference in driving current flowing through each of the pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales is reflected in the input deterioration data ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0059] compensator 200 may calculate compensation data ACDATA based on an input grayscale IDATA... The deterioration compensator 200 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the calculated compensation grayscale to the input image data IDATA, [0089], [0066]).
As to claim 13, Lee teaches the method, wherein the efficiency weight is reflected in the input data in units of pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098] the second lookup table LUT2 and the third lookup table LUT3 may include the input grayscale IGR[n] (or compensation grayscale CGR[n]), and corresponding input current Iin information for each position of the display panel 100, Figs. 4 and 7).
As to claim 14, Lee teaches the method, wherein the efficiency weight is reflected in the input data in units of blocks corresponding to each of the grayscales, and each of the blocks includes at least two pixels ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098]).
As to claim 15, Lee teaches the method, wherein in the generating the input deterioration data, a position weight corresponding to positions of the pixels and a temperature weight corresponding to a temperature are further reflected in the input data ([0082] n order to calculate the lifetime AGE more accurately, a current, a grayscale, a temperature, and the like for each position of the display panel 100 may be reflected).
As to claim 16, Lee teaches the method, further comprising: generating a data signal using the output data; and supplying the data signal to the pixels ([0066] The data driver 400 may provide a data signal corresponding to the compensation data ACDATA to the pixels PX of the display panel 100 through the data lines DL1 to DLm).
As to claim 17, Lee teaches an electronic device comprising:
a display panel including pixels (a display including pixels, fig. 1);
a data conversion circuit configured to generate input deterioration data (lifetime values AGE[n−1], [0094] the lifetime value AGE may connote an accumulated value of deterioration data, and may connote a value necessary to compensate for the inputted grayscale) by reflecting weights on input data ([0059] The deterioration compensator 200 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position of the pixels PX… and, may update a lifetime value by accumulating deterioration data reflecting the deterioration weight, and may calculate a compensation grayscale by reflecting the updated lifetime value in the input grayscale of the input image data IDATA) and configured to generate correction data using accumulated deterioration data generated by accumulating the input deterioration data ([0055] provide deterioration data of the pixels PX to the deterioration compensator 200. The deterioration data may be calculated based on a current, a grayscale, [0059] compensator 200 may calculate compensation data ACDATA based on an input grayscale IDATA... The deterioration compensator 200 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the calculated compensation grayscale to the input image data IDATA, [0089]); and
a controller configured to generate output data by reflecting the correction data to the input data ([0066] the data driver 400 may provide a data signal corresponding to the compensation data ACDATA to the pixels PX... The data driver 400 may provide a data signal to the display panel 100 based on a second control signal CON2 received from the timing controller 500),
wherein the weights include an efficiency weight, and the efficiency weight reflects efficiency of the pixels corresponding to each of grayscales ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098] the second lookup table LUT2 and the third lookup table LUT3 may include the input grayscale IGR[n] (or compensation grayscale CGR[n]), and corresponding input current Iin information for each position of the display panel 100.).
As to claim 18, Lee teaches the electronic device, wherein the efficiency weight is set so that a difference in driving current flowing through each of the pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales is reflected in the input deterioration data ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0059] compensator 200 may calculate compensation data ACDATA based on an input grayscale IDATA... The deterioration compensator 200 may generate the compensation data ACDATA by applying the calculated compensation grayscale to the input image data IDATA, [0089], [0066]).
As to claim 19, Lee teaches the electronic, wherein the efficiency weight is stored in the data conversion circuit in units of pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098] the second lookup table LUT2 and the third lookup table LUT3 may include the input grayscale IGR[n] (or compensation grayscale CGR[n]), and corresponding input current Iin information for each position of the display panel 100, Figs. 4 and 7).
As to claim 20, Lee teaches the electronic device, wherein the efficiency weight is stored in the data conversion circuit in units of blocks corresponding to each of the grayscales, and each of the blocks includes at least two pixels ([0089] The deterioration information generator 210 may calculate a deterioration weight for each position (for example, the pixel PX and/or block BL) of the display panel 100 based on an input current Iin provided from the grayscale-current converter 230, [0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2023/0030225) in view of Noh et al (US 20210174716).
As to claim 5, while Lee teaches storing weight in the deterioration compensator, Lee averaging the efficiency weight of each of the pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales as claimed.
However, Noh teaches averaging the efficiency weight of each of the pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales ([0064] calculating a weighted average of the M gray levels for the M pixel lines).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee to teach, averaging the efficiency weight of each of the pixels corresponding to each of the grayscales, as suggested by Noh. The motivation would have been in order to provide “a display device that may more precisely perform afterimage compensation by assigning a weight” ([0009]).
Conclusion
/AMEN W BOGALE/Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628