DETAILED ACTION
It would be of great assistance to the Office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
1. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
2. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
3. Filing date.
4. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
5. Title of invention.
6. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2010/0007616) in view of Ito et al. (US 2010/0244073), Hotelling et al. (US 2010/0194707).
As to claim 1, Jang discloses a display device (fig. 4) comprising:
a substrate (substrate 100 of fig. 4) comprising a first area (area of display unit 200 of fig. 4) and a second area adjacent to the first area (area of substrate 100 outside of display are 200 of fig. 4), the first area comprising a pixel area (display unit 200 of fig. 4);
a pixel in the pixel area (OLEDs formed in the display unit area 200 on substrate 100 of figs. 4 and 6 [0091]), the pixel comprising an organic light emitting element (OLED [0091]);
a sealing thin film covering the first area of the substrate (second insulating layer 340 of fig. 5 [0078]);
a sensing cell (sensing cells 312a and 311a of figs. 3 and 4) on the sealing thin film (311 and 312 positioned directly over second insulating layer 340 of figs. 5 and 3E) and configured to sense a touch (touch panel related members formed on a surface of the encapsulation substrate 300 [0065]);
a sensing line on the sealing thin film (311 and 312 are position directly over second insulating layer 340 of fig. 5 and fig. 3E, and first pattern layer 310 is positioned on layer 340 of fig. 3 and first pattern layer 310 includes a plurality of first direction pattern units 311 [0071]) and electrically connected to the sensing cell (sensing cells 312a and 311a of figs. 3 and 4);
a driving circuit (driver 111 of fig. 4 [0086]) in the second area (driver 111 is formed over substrate 100 in the area of substrate 100 outside of display area 200 of fig. 4);
a flexible printed circuit board (130 of fig. 4) attached to a portion of the substrate (substrate 100 of fig. 4) in the second area (area of substrate 100 outside of display are 200 of fig. 4) and comprising a first portion configured to drive the pixel and a second portion configured to drive the sensing cell (DD1 111 of fig. 4drives display and touch panel [0088]);
and a driving line (driving lines connected to 111 of fig. 4) electrically connected to the driving circuit (driver 111 of fig. 4 [0086]) and the pixel (display unit 200 of fig. 4), wherein
the flexible printed circuit board (130 of fig. 4) is electrically connected to each of the driving line and the sensing line (electrically connected via lines 115 through integrated circuit 111 of fig. 4), wherein
the sensing line (311c of fig. 4) comprises a first sensing line (311c to the left of pixel area 200 of fig. 4) and a second sensing line (311c to the right of pixel area 200 of fig. 4) spaced apart from each other in a first direction (horizontal direction of fig. 4), wherein
the first sensing line extends from a first side of the pixel area (311c to the left of pixel area 200 of fig. 4), and at least a portion of the first sensing line extends in a second direction different from the first direction (311c to the left of pixel area 200 extends in the vertical direction of fig. 4), wherein
the second sensing line extends from a second side of the pixel area (311c to the right of pixel area 200 of fig. 4), and at least a portion of the second sensing line extends in the second direction (311c to the right of pixel area 200 extends in the vertical direction of fig. 4),
but does not explicitly disclose sealing thin film comprising at least one organic layer and at least one inorganic layer;
and the driving circuit is disposed between a first group of the sensing lines and a second group of the sensing lines.
In the same field of endeavor, Ito discloses a display panel comprising sealing thin film (film 100 of fig. 3), wherein
the sealing thin film comprises at least one organic layer (first organic layer (organic film) 103 of fig. 3) and at least one inorganic layer (inorganic layer (inorganic film) 101, 105 and 109 of fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang and Ito, such that the second insulation layer of Jang would be formed using the multi-layer structure as disclosed by Ito, with motivation to obtain an organic EL device having excellent light resistance (Ito, [0008)).
Jang in view of Ito does not disclose that the driving circuit is disposed between a first group of the sensing lines and a second group of the sensing lines.
In the same filed of endeavor, Hotelling discloses an integrate touch screen (TITLE), wherein
a driving circuit (LCD DRIVER of fig. 22-1) is disposed between a first group of the sensing lines (lines r14 – r0 and c0-c4 of fig. 22-1, to the left of LCD DRIVER) and a second group of the sensing lines (lines r0-r14 and c5-c9 of fig. 22-1, to the right of the LCD DRIVER).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang in view of Ito and the teachings of Hotelling, such that driver was positioned between first group of the sensing lines and a second group of the sensing lines, with motivation to provide a simple design choice alternative for wiring layout in the display device with integrated touch screen capability such that the device may be manufactured using fewer parts and/or processing steps, and the display itself may be thinner, brighter, and require less power (Hotelling, [0005]).
As to claim 2 (dependent on 1), Jang discloses the display device, wherein
the sensing cell comprises a first sensing cell portion (top row of cells 311a of fig. 4) and a second sensing cell portion (second row of cells 311a of fig. 4) spaced apart from each other in the second direction (top and second rows of 311a are spaced apart in the vertical direction of fig. 4), wherein
the first sensing cell portion (top row of cells 311a of fig. 4) and the second sensing cell portion (second row of cells 311a of fig. 4) each form an electrical path extending in the first direction (forming electrical path extending in the horizontal direction of fig. 4), wherein
the first sensing cell portion (top row of cells 311a of fig. 4) is connected to the first sensing line at the first side and is not connected to the second sensing line at the second side (connected to the sensing line 311c to the left of the display 200 of fig. 4), and wherein
the second sensing cell portion (second row of cells 311a of fig. 4) is connected to the second sensing line at the second side and is not connected to the first sensing line at the first side (connected to the sensing line 311c to the right of the display 200 of fig. 4).
As to claim 5 (dependent on 4), Jang discloses the display device, wherein
the sensing line (sensing lines 312 of fig. 4) is arranged in the second direction (vertical direction of fig. 4) across the sealing thin film (sealing film 340 corresponding to the display 200 of figs. 4 and 5) and a portion of the substrate where the sealing thin film is not disposed (substrate 100 without display portion 200 of fig. 4).
As to claim 6 (dependent on 5), Jang discloses the display device, wherein
the sensing line (sensing lines 312 of fig. 4) is directly disposed on the substrate in the second area (substrate 100 without display portion 200 of fig. 4) and directly disposed on the sealing thin film in the first area (sealing film 340 corresponding to the display 200 of figs. 4 and 5).
As to claim 9 (dependent on 1), Jang in view of Ito discloses the display device, wherein the at least one inorganic layer (inorganic layer (inorganic film) 101, 105 and 109 of fig. 3) includes an inorganic layer disposed on an uppermost portion of the sealing thin film (inorganic layer (inorganic film) 109 of fig. 3).
As to claim 12 (dependent on 1), Jang discloses the display device, wherein
the first side (the left side of the display 200 of fig. 4) and the second side (the right side of the display 200 of fig. 4) face each other (fig. 4), wherein
the first area (area of substrate 100 outside of display are 200 of fig. 4) and the second area (area of substrate 100 outside of display are 200 of fig. 4) are adjacent in the second direction (vertical direction of fig. 4), and but does not explicitly disclose that
the first sensing line, the second sensing line, and the driving circuit overlap in the first direction.
In the same filed of endeavor, Hotelling discloses an integrate touch screen (TITLE), wherein
a driving circuit (LCD DRIVER of fig. 22-1) is disposed between a first group of the sensing lines (lines r14 – r0 and c0-c4 of fig. 22-1, to the left of LCD DRIVER) and a second group of the sensing lines (lines r0-r14 and c5-c9 of fig. 22-1, to the right of the LCD DRIVER), wherein
the first sensing line in the first group (lines r14 – r0 and c0-c4 of fig. 22-1, to the left of LCD DRIVER), the second sensing line in the second group (lines r0-r14 and c5-c9 of fig. 22-1, to the right of the LCD DRIVER), and the driving circuit (LCD DRIVER of fig. 22-1) overlap in the first direction (horizontal direction of fig. 22-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang in view of Ito and the teachings of Hotelling, such that driver was positioned between first group of the sensing lines and a second group of the sensing lines, with motivation to provide a simple design choice alternative for wiring layout in the display device with integrated touch screen capability such that the device may be manufactured using fewer parts and/or processing steps, and the display itself may be thinner, brighter, and require less power (Hotelling, [0005]).
As to claim 13 (dependent on 1), Jang discloses the display device, wherein
the driving circuit extends in the first direction (as shown in fig. 4, driving circuit 111 extends in the horizontal direction).
As to claim 14 (dependent on 13), Jang discloses the display device, wherein
the driving circuit is spaced apart from the pixel area in the second direction (as shown in fig. 4, driving circuit 111 is paced apart from pixel area 200 in the vertical direction).
As to claim 15 (dependent on 1), Jang discloses the display device, wherein
the first area comprises a touch active area corresponding to the pixel area (as shown in fig. 4, the touch area of cells 311 and 312 corresponds to the display area 200 of fig. 4), and wherein
the sealing thin film does not cover the second area of the substrate (as shown in fig. 4, the sealing film 340 covers display area 200 and not the area of the driving circuit 111).
Claims 3, 4, 10 and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling, Tsuchiya et al. (US 2008/0116795).
As to claim 3 (dependent on 1), Jang discloses the display device wherein an end portion of the sealing thin film (340 of figs. 4 and 5) faces the flexible printed circuit board (PCB 130 of fig. 4), but Jang fails to disclose that an end portion of the sealing thin is inclined.
In the same foiled of endeavor, Tsuchiya discloses a display comprising organic
light emitting device (EL layer [0038]) and a sealing thin film (layer 36 of fig. 3), wherein an end portion of the sealing thin film is inclined (the end of 36 is inclined downward to substrate 31 as shown in fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang in view of Ito and Hotelling and teachings of Tsuchiya, so as to form sealing thin film inclined downwardly as disclosed by Tsuchiya toward the FPCB disclosed by Jang, with motivation to provide an EL display device of high reliability and its manufacturing method by preventing moisture and oxygen, the factors for degrading properties of an EL element, from entering without increasing the size of the EL display device (Tsuchiya, [0025)).
As to claim 4 (dependent on 3), Jang discloses the display device, wherein the sensing line (311c of fig. 4) passes over the end portion (horizontal portion of 311c of fig. 4 extending to the left and right of the display portion 200 covered with the sealing film 340 of fig. 5).
As to claim 10 (dependent on 1) and claim 11 (dependent on 10), Jang in view of Ito discloses the display device, wherein the sealing thin film comprises a first organic layer (Ito, 103 of fig. 3) and a first inorganic layer directly on the first organic layer (Ito, 105 of fig. 3), the sealing thin film further comprises a second organic layer (Ito, 107 of fig. 3) on the first inorganic layer (Ito, 105 of fig. 3) and a second inorganic layer (Ito, 109 of fig. 3) directly on the is second organic layer (Ito, 107 of fig. 3), but doesn’t explicitly disclose that the first organic layer extends longer than the first inorganic layer and the second organic layer extends shorter than the first inorganic layer and longer than the second inorganic layer.
In the same filed of endeavor, Tsuchiya discloses a display comprising organic light emitting device (EL layer [0038]) and a sealing thin film with a downward sloping edge (layer 36 of fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang in view of Ito and Hotelling and teachings of Tsuchiya such that the sealing layers as disclosed by Ito were stacked such that the first organic layer extends longer than the first inorganic layer and
the second organic layer extends shorter than the first inorganic layer and longer than the second inorganic layer and a downward slope was provided as disclosed by Tsuchiya, with motivation to provide an EL display device of high reliability and its manufacturing method by preventing moisture and oxygen, the factors for degrading properties of an EL element, from entering without increasing the size of the EL display device (Tsuchiya, [0025)).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling, Tsuchiya and Goto et al. (US 2005/0051829).
As to claim 7 (dependent on 3), Jang discloses the display device, wherein the sensing line is disposed on the end portion (horizontal portion of 311c of fig. 4 extending to the left and right of the display portion 200 covered with the sealing film 340 of fig. 5), but does not explicitly disclose that the sealing thin film prevents the sensing line from being broken.
In the same foiled of endeavor, Tsuchiya discloses a display comprising organic
light emitting device (EL layer [0038]) and a sealing thin film (layer 36 of fig. 3), wherein an end portion of the sealing thin film is inclined (the end of 36 is inclined downward to substrate 31 as shown in fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang in view of Ito and Hotelling and teachings of Tsuchiya, so as to form sealing thin film inclined downwardly as disclosed by Tsuchiya toward the FPCB disclosed by Jang, with motivation to provide an EL display device of high reliability and its manufacturing method by preventing moisture and oxygen, the factors for degrading properties of an EL element, from entering without increasing the size of the EL display device (Tsuchiya, [0025)).
Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling, Tsuchiya does not explicitly disclose that the sealing thin film prevents the sensing line from being broken.
In the same field of electrode fabrication, Goto discloses a device wherein an incline angle of insulating layer underlying an electrode is provided to minimize breakage rate of the electrode (the breakage rate of the electrode is small when underlying layer's angel is set to between 93 and 110 degrees [0059], fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling and Tsuchiya and teachings of Goto, such that the end of the sealing thin film, above which the sensing lines pass over, is formed to be inclined and the sensing lines were formed to have a conforming incline, with motivation to minimize breakage rate of above passing electrodes (Goto, [0059]).
As to claim 8 (dependent on 1), Jang discloses the display, when viewed in cross-section, the sensing line (311c and 312c of fig. 4 and 5) flatly extends on the sealing thin film (sealing film 340 of fig. 5), flatly extends on a portion of the substrate where the sealing thin film is not disposed (substrate 100 of fig. 4), but does not explicitly disclose that the sensing line inclinedly extends on the end portion.
In the same foiled of endeavor, Tsuchiya discloses a display comprising organic
light emitting device (EL layer [0038]) and a sealing thin film (layer 36 of fig. 3), wherein an end portion of the sealing thin film is inclined (the end of 36 is inclined downward to substrate 31 as shown in fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang in view of Ito and Hotelling and teachings of Tsuchiya, so as to form sealing thin film inclined downwardly as disclosed by Tsuchiya toward the FPCB disclosed by Jang, with motivation to provide an EL display device of high reliability and its manufacturing method by preventing moisture and oxygen, the factors for degrading properties of an EL element, from entering without increasing the size of the EL display device (Tsuchiya, [0025)).
Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling, Tsuchiya does not explicitly disclose that the sensing line inclinedly extends on the end portion.
In the same field of electrode fabrication, Goto discloses a device wherein an incline angle of insulating layer underlying an electrode is provided to minimize breakage rate of the electrode (the breakage rate of the electrode is small when underlying layer's angel is set to between 93 and 110 degrees [0059], fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling and Tsuchiya and teachings of Goto, such that the end of the sealing thin film, above which the sensing lines pass over, is formed to be inclined and the sensing lines were formed to have a conforming incline, with motivation to minimize breakage rate of above passing electrodes (Goto, [0059]).
Claims 16 – 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling and Tang et al. (US 2010/0214247).
As to claim 16, Jang discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a substrate (substrate 100 of fig. 4) comprising a first area (area of display unit 200 of fig. 4) and a second area (area of substrate 100 outside of display are 200 of fig. 4) adjacent to the first area (fig. 4), the first area comprising a pixel area (display unit 200 of fig. 4);
a pixel in the pixel area (OLEDs formed in the display unit area 200 on substrate 100 of figs. 4 and 6 [0091]), the pixel comprising an organic light emitting element (OLED [0091]);
a sealing thin film (second insulating layer 340 of fig. 5 [0078]),
the sealing thin film covering the first area of the substrate (area of display unit 200 of figs. 4 and 5);
a sensing cell (sensing cells 312a and 311a of figs. 3 and 4) on the sealing thin film (311 and 312 positioned directly over second insulating layer 340 of figs. 5 and 3E)and configured to sense a touch (touch panel related members formed on a surface of the encapsulation substrate 300 [0065]);
a sensing line on the sealing thin film (311 and 312 are position directly over second insulating layer 340 of fig. 5 and fig. 3E, and first pattern layer 310 is positioned on layer 340 of fig. 3 and first pattern layer 310 includes a plurality of first direction pattern units 311 [0071]) and electrically connected to the sensing cell (sensing cells 312a and 311a of figs. 3 and 4);
a driving circuit (driver 111 of fig. 4 [0086]) in the second area (driver 111 is formed over substrate 100 in the area of substrate 100 outside of display area 200 of fig. 4);
a flexible printed circuit board (130 of fig. 4) attached to a portion of the substrate (substrate 100 of fig. 4) in the second area (area of substrate 100 outside of display are 200 of fig. 4) and comprising a first portion configured to drive the pixel and a second portion configured to drive the sensing cell (DD1 111 of fig. 4drives display and touch panel [0088]);
and a driving line (driving lines connected to 111 of fig. 4) electrically connected to the driving circuit (driver 111 of fig. 4 [0086]) and the pixel (display unit 200 of fig. 4), wherein
the flexible printed circuit board (130 of fig. 4) is electrically connected to each of the driving line and the sensing line (electrically connected via lines 115 through integrated circuit 111 of fig. 4), wherein
the sensing line (311c of fig. 4) comprises a first sensing line (311c to the left of pixel area 200 of fig. 4) and a second sensing line (311c to the right of pixel area 200 of fig. 4) spaced apart from each other in a first direction (horizontal direction of fig. 4), wherein
the first sensing line extends from a first side of the pixel area (311c to the left of pixel area 200 of fig. 4), and at least a portion of the first sensing line extends in a second direction different from the first direction (311c to the left of pixel area 200 extends in the vertical direction of fig. 4), wherein
the second sensing line extends from a second side of the pixel area (311c to the right of pixel area 200 of fig. 4), and at least a portion of the second sensing line extends in the second direction (311c to the right of pixel area 200 extends in the vertical direction of fig. 4),
but does not explicitly disclose sealing thin film comprising at least one organic layer and at least one inorganic layer;
and the driving circuit is disposed between a first group of the sensing lines and a second group of the sensing lines; and
a window on the sensing line.
In the same field of endeavor, Ito discloses a display panel comprising sealing thin film (film 100 of fig. 3), wherein
the sealing thin film comprises at least one organic layer (first organic layer (organic film) 103 of fig. 3) and at least one inorganic layer (inorganic layer (inorganic film) 101, 105 and 109 of fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang and Ito, such that the second insulation layer of Jang would be formed using the multi-layer structure as disclosed by Ito, with motivation to obtain an organic EL device having excellent light resistance (Ito, [0008)).
Jang in view of Ito does not disclose that the driving circuit is disposed between a first group of the sensing lines and a second group of the sensing lines, and a window on the sensing line.
In the same filed of endeavor, Hotelling discloses an integrate touch screen (TITLE), wherein
a driving circuit (LCD DRIVER of fig. 22-1) is disposed between a first group of the sensing lines (lines r14 – r0 and c0-c4 of fig. 22-1, to the left of LCD DRIVER) and a second group of the sensing lines (lines r0-r14 and c5-c9 of fig. 22-1, to the right of the LCD DRIVER).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang in view of Ito and the teachings of Hotelling, such that driver was positioned between first group of the sensing lines and a second group of the sensing lines, with motivation to provide a simple design choice alternative for wiring layout in the display device with integrated touch screen capability such that the device may be manufactured using fewer parts and/or processing steps, and the display itself may be thinner, brighter, and require less power (Hotelling, [0005]).
Jang in view of Ito and Hotelling does not disclose a window on the sensing line.
In the same field of endeavor, Tang discloses a capacitive touch panel comprising a window (black matrix 192 of fig. 17) on a sensing line (conductive traces 3111 of fig. 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang in view of Ito and Hotelling and the teachings of Tang, such that the black matrix was provided on the sensing lines as disclosed by Tang, with motivation to permitting the use of metal as the material for the first and second conductive traces and to allow for a large scale capacitive touch panel with excellent display quality (Tang, [0068]).
As to claim 17 (dependent on 16), Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling and Tang discloses the electronic device, wherein the sensing line comprises an opaque metallic material (Tang, silver or Copper [0068]).
As to claim 18 (dependent on 17), Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling and Tang discloses the electronic device, wherein the window comprises a black matrix on the sensing line (Tang, black matrix 192 of fig. 17 [0068]).
As to claim 19 (dependent on 17), Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling and Tang discloses the electronic device, wherein the sensing line comprises at least one of molybdenum (Mo), silver (Ag), titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al) or Mo/Al/Mo (Tang , silver or copper [0068]).
Claim 20 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling and Tang and Tsuchiya.
As to claim 20 (dependent on 16), Jang discloses the display device wherein an end portion of the sealing thin film (340 of figs. 4 and 5) faces the flexible printed circuit board (PCB 130 of fig. 4), but Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling and Tang fails to disclose that an end portion of the sealing thin is inclined.
In the same foiled of endeavor, Tsuchiya discloses a display comprising organic
light emitting device (EL layer [0038]) and a sealing thin film (layer 36 of fig. 3), wherein an end portion of the sealing thin film is inclined (the end of 36 is inclined downward to substrate 31 as shown in fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Jang in view of Ito, Hotelling and Tang and teachings of Tsuchiya, so as to form sealing thin film inclined downwardly as disclosed by Tsuchiya toward the FPCB disclosed by Jang, with motivation to provide an EL display device of high reliability and its manufacturing method by preventing moisture and oxygen, the factors for degrading properties of an EL element, from entering without increasing the size of the EL display device (Tsuchiya, [0025)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 11 and 13 – 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang (US 2010/0007616).
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663.
A display device comprising:
a substrate comprising a first area and a second area adjacent to the first area, the first area comprising a pixel area;
a pixel in the pixel area, the pixel comprising an organic light emitting element;
a sealing thin film comprising at least one organic layer and at least one inorganic layer, the sealing thin film covering the first area of the substrate;
a sensing cell on the sealing thin film and configured to sense a touch;
a sensing line on the sealing thin film and electrically connected to the sensing cell;
a driving circuit in the second area;
a flexible printed circuit board attached to a portion of the substrate in the second area and comprising a first portion configured to drive the pixel and a second portion configured to drive the sensing cell;
and a driving line electrically connected to the driving circuit and the pixel, wherein
the flexible printed circuit board is electrically connected to each of the driving line and the sensing line, wherein
the sensing line comprises a first sensing line and a second sensing line spaced apart from each other in a first direction, wherein
the first sensing line extends from a first side of the pixel area, and at least a portion of the first sensing line extends in a second direction different from the first direction, wherein
the second sensing line extends from a second side of the pixel area, and at least a portion of the second sensing line extends in the second direction, and wherein
the driving circuit Is disposed between the first sensing line and the second sensing line in the second area.
A display device, comprising:
a substrate comprising a first area having a pixel area and a second area adjacent to the first area;
pixels comprising organic light emitting elements in the pixel area of the substrate;
a sealing thin film covering the first area of the substrate and including an inclined surface at an end of the sealing thin film;
sensing cells formed on the sealing thin film and configured to sense a touch;
sensing lines coupled to the sensing cells and formed on the sealing thin film;
a driving circuit formed on the second area of the substrate;
and a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) attached to one end of the substrate, wherein:
at least one of the sensing lines is disposed on the inclined surface of the sealing thin film and on the second area of the substrate;
the inclined surface of the sealing thin film is formed to be inclined downwardly toward the driving circuit;
the at least one of the sensing lines includes an inclined portion along the inclined surface of the sealing thin film;
the sensing lines comprise:
a first group concentrated in a first line area of the second area of the substrate;
and a second group concentrated in a second line area of the second area of the substrate;
the first group of the sensing lines and the second group of the sensing lines extend in the second area of the substrate with the driving circuit interposed therebetween;
the sealing thin film comprises at least one organic layer and at least one inorganic layer;
the at least one inorganic layer includes an inorganic layer disposed on an uppermost portion of the sealing thin film;
the sensing lines are formed on the inorganic layer of the sealing thin film in the second area of the substrate;
the sensing lines comprise a metallic material including aluminum and titanium;
and the sensing lines are electrically connected to the FPCB at the one end of the substrate.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 differs from that of claim 1 of Instant Application in that it fails to disclose driving lines configured to drive the pixels and electrically connected to the driving circuit, wherein: the driving lines are connected to the flexible printed circuit board; the flexible printed circuit board attached to a portion of the substrate in the second area and comprising a first portion configured to drive the pixel and a second portion configured to drive the sensing cell and
the first sensing line extends from a first side of the pixel area, and at least a portion of the first sensing line extends in a second direction different from the first direction, wherein the second sensing line extends from a second side of the pixel area, and at least a portion of the second sensing line extends in the second direction.
In the same filed of endeavor, Jang discloses a display device (fig. 4) comprising: driving lines configured to drive the pixels and electrically connected to the driving circuit (driving lines connected to 111 of fig. 4), wherein: the driving lines are connected (lines connected through 111 of fig. 4) to the flexible printed circuit board (130 of fig. 4); wherein
the flexible printed circuit board (130 of fig. 4) attached to a portion of the substrate (substrate 100 of fig. 4) in the second area (area of substrate 100 outside of display are 200 of fig. 4) and comprising a first portion configured to drive the pixel and a second portion configured to drive the sensing cell (DD1 111 of fig. 4drives display and touch panel [0088]) and
the first sensing line extends from a first side of the pixel area (311c to the left of pixel area 200 of fig. 4), and at least a portion of the first sensing line extends in a second direction different from the first direction (311c to the left of pixel area 200 extends in the vertical direction of fig. 4), wherein
the second sensing line extends from a second side of the pixel area (311c to the right of pixel area 200 of fig. 4), and at least a portion of the second sensing line extends in the second direction (311c to the right of pixel area 200 extends in the vertical direction of fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 and the teachings of Jang, such that the driving lines, FPCB and sensing lines were provided in the display device as disclosed by Jang, with motivation to drive the display unit (Jang, [0083]).
Claim 2 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang.
Claim 3 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang
Claim 4 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang.
Claim 5 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang.
Claim 6 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang.
Claim 7 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang.
Claim 8 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang.
Claim 9 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang.
Claim 10 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang.
Claim 11 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang.
Claim 13 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang.
Claim 14 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang.
Claim 15 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang and Hotelling.
Claim 12 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang and Hotelling.
Claims 16 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang and Tang.
Claim 16 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang and Tang.
Claim 17 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang and Tang.
Claim 18 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang and Tang.
Claim 19 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang and Tang.
Claim 20 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,809,663 in view of Jang and Tang.
Claims 1 – 11 and 13 – 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 1 of Instant
Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555
A display device comprising:
a substrate comprising a first area and a second area adjacent to the first area, the first area comprising a pixel area;
a pixel in the pixel area, the pixel comprising an organic light emitting element;
a sealing thin film comprising at least one organic layer and at least one inorganic layer, the sealing thin film covering the first area of the substrate;
a sensing cell on the sealing thin film and configured to sense a touch;
a sensing line on the sealing thin film and electrically connected to the sensing cell;
a driving circuit in the second area;
a flexible printed circuit board attached to a portion of the substrate in the second area and comprising a first portion configured to drive the pixel and a second portion configured to drive the sensing cell;
and a driving line electrically connected to the driving circuit and the pixel, wherein
the flexible printed circuit board is electrically connected to each of the driving line and the sensing line, wherein
the sensing line comprises a first sensing line and a second sensing line spaced apart from each other in a first direction, wherein
the first sensing line extends from a first side of the pixel area, and at least a portion of the first sensing line extends in a second direction different from the first direction, wherein
the second sensing line extends from a second side of the pixel area, and at least a portion of the second sensing line extends in the second direction, and wherein
the driving circuit Is disposed between the first sensing line and the second sensing line in the second area.
A display device, comprising:
a substrate comprising a first area having a pixel area and a second area adjacent to the first area;
pixels disposed in the pixel area, each of the pixels comprising an organic light emitting element;
a sealing thin film covering the first area of the substrate and comprising at least one organic layer and at least one inorganic layer;
sensing cells formed on the sealing thin film and configured to sense a touch;
sensing lines coupled to the sensing cells and formed on the sealing thin film;
a flexible printed circuit board attached to one end of the substrate;
a driving circuit formed on the second area of the substrate;
and driving lines electrically connected to the driving circuit, wherein:
the driving lines include a first driving line electrically connected to the pixels and a second driving line electrically connected to lines of the flexible printed circuit board;
the at least one inorganic layer includes an inorganic layer disposed on an uppermost portion of the sealing thin film;
the sensing lines are formed on the second area of the substrate;
and the driving circuit is disposed between a first group of the sensing lines and a second group of the sensing lines;
and the sensing lines extend from the second area of the substrate to the flexible printed circuit board to be electrically connected to the driving circuit on the second area of the substrate;
further comprising an insulating layer, wherein: the first group of the sensing lines and the second group of the sensing lines extend toward the flexible printed circuit board; and the sensing lines are electrically connected to the flexible printed circuit board.
Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 does not explicitly disclose a flexible printed circuit board attached to a portion of the substrate in the second area and comprising a first portion configured to drive the pixel and a second portion configured to drive the sensing cell, the sensing line comprises a first sensing line and a second sensing line spaced apart from each other in a first direction, wherein the first sensing line extends from a first side of the pixel area, and at least a portion of the first sensing line extends in a second direction different from the first direction, and wherein the second sensing line extends from a second side of the pixel area, and at least a portion of the second sensing line extends in the second direction.
In the same filed of endeavor, Jang discloses a flexible printed circuit board (130 of fig. 4) attached to a portion of the substrate (substrate 100 of fig. 4) in the second area (area of substrate 100 outside of display are 200 of fig. 4) and comprising a first portion configured to drive the pixel and a second portion configured to drive the sensing cell (DD1 111 of fig. 4drives display and touch panel [0088]), the sensing line (311c of fig. 4) comprises a first sensing line (311c to the left of pixel area 200 of fig. 4) and a second sensing line (311c to the right of pixel area 200 of fig. 4) spaced apart from each other in a first direction (horizontal direction of fig. 4), wherein the first sensing line extends from a first side of the pixel area (311c to the left of pixel area 200 of fig. 4), and at least a portion of the first sensing line extends in a second direction different from the first direction (311c to the left of pixel area 200 extends in the vertical direction of fig. 4), and wherein the second sensing line extends from a second side of the pixel area (311c to the right of pixel area 200 of fig. 4), and at least a portion of the second sensing line extends in the second direction (311c to the right of pixel area 200 extends in the vertical direction of fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 and the teachings of Jang, such that the driving lines, FPCB and sensing lines were provided in the display device as disclosed by Jang, with motivation to drive the display unit (Jang, [0083]).
Claim 2 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 3 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang
Claim 4 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 5 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 6 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 7 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 8 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 9 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 10 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 11 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 13 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 14 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 15 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang and Hotelling.
Claim 12 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang and Hotelling.
Claims 16 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang and Tang.
Claim 16 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang and Tang.
Claim 17 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang and Tang.
Claim 18 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang and Tang.
Claim 19 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang and Tang.
Claim 20 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,555 in view of Jang and Tang.
Conclusion
/DMITRIY BOLOTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623