DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-13 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Orihashi et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2017/0221699).
Regarding claims 1-7, 10, 12 and 13, Orihashi teaches a thin film deposition process (abstract) comprising: repeatedly performing a first injection of DCS, dichlorosilane, into a chamber (first process gas, Figure 4); and a second injection of DS, disilane, into a chamber (second process gas, Figure 4) to form a silicon seed layer (see bottom of Figure 4). Orihashi teaches performing purging by injecting nitrogen into the chamber between the first injection and second injection and after the second injection (see inert gas, Figure 4), and that the number of repetitions is 10-50 times (0101). Orihashi further teaches forming an additional seed layer (comparable to a silicon film) over the seed layer by repeatedly performing the injection of DCS and DS that yields an amorphous state (see Figure 5 and 0077). Orihashi teaches a further injection of a purge gas into the chamber (Figure 5) and that an additional injection of hydrogen can be performed, wherein the hydrogen is included with the DCS or DS gas injection step (0178). Orihashi also teaches performing the process at a temperature in the range of 370-390 ºC (0097). Orihashi teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1-7, 10, 12 and 13; therefore, Orihashi anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 8, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orihashi in view of Takagi et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2019/0043719).
Regarding claims 8, 9 and 11, Orihashi teaches all the limitations of claims 7 and 10 (see above), including performing an injection of hydrogen (see above), and performing an injection of hydrogen and a purge after injection of the hydrogen (see above and Figures 4 and 5, wherein hydrogen can be injected with any of the process gases and the nitrogen is continuously injected as a purge gas). Orihashi fails to teach nitriding or oxidizing the silicon seed layer and/or the silicon thin film.
However, Takagi teaches a similar process for forming a silicon thin film by initially forming a seed layer and then forming a silicon layer over the seed layer (abstract). Takagi further teaches oxidizing the seed layer (0068). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Orihashi’s process by oxidizing Orihashi’s first and additional seed layers as disclosed by Takagi. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Takagi teaches that this allows for forming a film with uniform thickness (0071).
Conclusion
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claims 1-13 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
June 3, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717