DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a typo in paragraphs 0048-0054. Paragraphs 0048-0054 are duplicates of paragraphs 0041-0047.
Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: there is an apparent typo in paragraph 0075. In paragraph 0075, lines 11-12 & 13, “152-3, 152-4, 152-5, 152-6” should be -- 152-4, 152-5, 152-6, 152-7 --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, line 1, both dependencies were amended from the claim. For compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting “according to claim” in claim 3, line 1, as -- according to claim 1 --, since that would be the broader interpretation.
The term “substantially” in claim 4, line 2, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting “substantially fills” in claim 4, line 2, as -- fills --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7-12, & 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by National Research Development Corporation (GB Patent No. 1,445,832).
Regarding claims 1 & 19
National Research Development Corporation teaches an aircraft (See page 1, lines 56-60 & figures 1 & 2) comprising an aircraft structure, (See page 1, lines 56-60, page 2, lines 3-10, 40-71, & figures 1 & 2) the aircraft structure comprising: at least one aircraft structure element (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 21) defining a volume; (See figures 1 & 2) a fuel distribution component, (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 22) arranged within the volume, configured to hold fuel internally and transport held fuel through the volume; and at least one packing element (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 23) formed of a reticulated foam, (See page 2, lines 8-9, 40-45, & 69-71) arranged within the volume, and at least partially surrounding the fuel distribution component. (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 22)
Regarding claim 3
National Research Development Corporation teaches wherein the fuel distribution component (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 22) occupying at least 20% of the volume defined by the at least one aircraft structural element. (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 21)
Regarding claim 4
National Research Development Corporation teaches wherein the at least one packing element (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 23) substantially fills an interspace of the volume between the fuel distribution component (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 22) and the at least one aircraft structural element. (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 21)
Regarding claim 7
National Research Development Corporation teaches wherein the at least one packing element (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 23) comprises a surface conformal to an exterior surface of the fuel distribution component. (See page 1, lines 56-60 & figures 1 & 2, ref # 22)
Regarding claim 8
National Research Development Corporation teaches wherein the at least one packing element (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 23) comprises a surface conformal to an interior surface of the at least one structural element (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 21) defining the volume.
Regarding claim 9
National Research Development Corporation teaches wherein the at least one packing element (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 23) is attachable to the fuel distribution component. (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 22)
Regarding claim 10
National Research Development Corporation teaches wherein the at least one packing element (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 23) is attached to the at least one aircraft structural element. (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 21)
Regarding claim 11
National Research Development Corporation teaches wherein the at least one packing element (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 23) is a plurality of packing elements, (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 23) the plurality of packing elements (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 23) at least partially surrounding the fuel distribution component. (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 22)
Regarding claim 12
National Research Development Corporation teaches wherein the plurality of packing elements (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 23) are dimensioned to tesselate with each other to fill a portion of the volume. (See figures 1 & 2)
Regarding claim 17
National Research Development Corporation teaches wherein the packing elements (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 23) are formed of polyurethane. (See page 2, lines 8-9, 40-45, & 69-71)
Regarding claim 18
National Research Development Corporation teaches wherein the packing element(s) (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 23) is dimensioned such that the volume comprises less than 10% free space. (See figures 1 & 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over National Research Development Corporation (GB Patent No. 1,445,832) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Secretary of State for Defense (GB Patent No. 1,454,492).
Regarding claim 2
National Research Development Corporation is silent about wherein the at least one aircraft structural element are portions of an aircraft wing.
However, Secretary of State for Defense teaches wherein the at least one aircraft structural element are portions of an aircraft wing. (See page 2, lines 84-93, page 3, line 1-20, & figures 1 & 2)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an at least one aircraft structural element are portions of an aircraft wing as taught by Secretary of State for Defense in the aircraft of National Research Development Corporation, since it is known for fuel tanks/distribution components to be stored in aircraft wings.
Claim(s) 5 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over National Research Development Corporation (GB Patent No. 1,445,832) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Emerson et al. (EP Pub No. 4,147,978 A1).
Regarding claim 5
National Research Development Corporation is silent about purging system operable to provide a flow of purge gas through the volume, and wherein an interspace between the fuel distribution component and the at least one aircraft structural element forms a flow path for the flow of purge gas.
However, Emerson teaches further comprising a purging system operable to provide a flow of purge gas through the volume, and wherein an interspace between the fuel distribution component (See figures 1-5, ref # 408) and the at least one aircraft structural element (See paragraph 0017 & figures 1-5) forms a flow path for the flow of purge gas. (See paragraphs 0002, 0003, 0005, 0009, 0017, & figures 1-5)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a purging system operable to provide a flow of purge gas through the volume, and wherein an interspace between the fuel distribution component and the at least one aircraft structural element forms a flow path for the flow of purge gas as taught by Emerson in the aircraft of National Research Development Corporation, since hydrogen fuel is a well-known type of fuel for aircraft and to prevent unwanted ignition and flame propagation. (See paragraph 0002)
Regarding claim 16
National Research Development Corporation is silent about wherein the fuel distribution component is a hydrogen fuel distribution component.
However, Emerson teaches wherein the fuel distribution component (See paragraphs 0039-0040 & figures 1-5, ref # 408) is a hydrogen fuel distribution component. (See paragraphs 0002, 0003, 0005, 0009, 0017, & figures 1-5, ref # 408)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fuel distribution component is a hydrogen fuel distribution component as taught by Emerson in the aircraft of National Research Development Corporation, since hydrogen fuel is a well-known type of fuel for aircraft.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 16, & 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13-16, & 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,570,406 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the Instant Application are broader and thus fully met.
Regarding claim 1
Patent (406) teaches an aircraft structure comprising: at least one aircraft structural element defining a volume; a fuel distribution component, arranged within the volume, configured to hold fuel internally and transport held fuel through the volume; and at least one packing element formed of a reticulated foam, arranged within the volume, and at least partially surrounding the fuel distribution component. (See claims 1, 13, & 14)
Regarding claim 2
Patent (406) teaches wherein the at least one aircraft structural element are portions of an aircraft wing. (See claim 15)
Regarding claim 5
Patent (406) teaches further comprising a purging system operable to provide a flow of purge gas through the volume, and wherein an interspace between the fuel distribution component and the at least one aircraft structural element forms a flow path for the flow of purge gas. (See claim 1)
Regarding claim 6
Patent (406) teaches further comprising a flow guide member formed of a reticulated foam, arranged within the volume and externally to the fuel distribution component, and configured to guide the flow of purge gas within the volume. (See claim 1)
Regarding claim 16
Patent (406) teaches wherein the fuel distribution component is a hydrogen fuel distribution component. (See claim 16)
Regarding claim 19
Patent (406) teaches An aircraft comprising the aircraft structure. (See claim 18)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein a packing element of the plurality of packing elements is an access packing element, the access packing element being arranged proximate to an access panel in the aircraft structural element and dimensioned to be withdrawn through the access panel” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 13.
Regarding claim 15,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein the plurality of packing elements are each reversibly attachable to neighbouring packing elements” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 15.
Conclusion
/RODNEY A BONNETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647