DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 4 June 2025 does not fully comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.98 because: it lacks a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in § 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each patent, publication, or other information listed that is not in the English language (e.g., Foreign Patent Documents Cite No 4). Since the submission appears to be bona fide, applicant is given ONE (1) MONTH from the date of this notice to supply the above mentioned omissions or corrections in the information disclosure statement. NO EXTENSION OF THIS TIME LIMIT MAY BE GRANTED UNDER EITHER 37 CFR 1.136(a) OR (b). Failure to timely comply with this notice will result in the above mentioned information disclosure statement being placed in the application file with the noncomplying information not being considered. See 37 CFR 1.97(i).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 32. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are also objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 14 and 30. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: “the sensor” on lines 4-5 in claim 12 should probably be --the at least one sensor-- (antecedent basis) and “the sensors” on line 8 in claim 12 should probably be --the at least one sensor-- (antecedent basis). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz et al. (US 2022/0113809) in view of Hannaford et al. (US 2022/0241038).
In regard to claim 1, Dietz et al. disclose a method for touch-free motion control of a component of a medical device, wherein the component is moved and/or maneuvered by a motor using a handle element that is arranged on the medical device (e.g., “… joysticks are also used, in order to actuate C-arms, for example. A joystick enables an operator to change a continuous-time variable of a movement, i.e. for example to perform a minor excursion at a low speed and to drive a major excursion at a high speed … Gestures that are recognized by image capture can be made visible for example by movement of the operator's hands or fingers, where the gestures may signify … moving … receive sensor data from external sensors and to evaluate the data … contactless control or actuation of functions of a medical device is made possible … gesture recognition unit … may comprise a capability to recognize confirmation signals of the following functions: … movements of the medical device … patient is therefore advantageously protected via a two-stage actuation comprising an initialization or activation of a command communication against unintended damage due … to a mechanical impact due to a movement of a medical device …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147), the method comprising:
(a) recording measured values by sensors (e.g., “… receive sensor data from external sensors …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147) while the medical device is in a first operating mode, wherein the first operating mode excludes the touch-free motion control (e.g., “… contactless control or actuation of functions of a medical device …” is not possible in a first operating mode so “… patient is therefore advantageously protected …” “… against unintended damage due … to a mechanical impact due to a movement of a medical device …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147);
(b) evaluating the measured values (e.g., “… receive sensor data from external sensors and to evaluate the data …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147) with regard to an approach of at least one hand of an operator (e.g., “… Gestures that are recognized by image capture can be made visible for example by movement of the operator's hands or fingers …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147); and
(c) switching the medical device into a second operating mode when a result of the evaluation satisfies a first preset condition of a hand of the operator coming within a first distance from the handle element from a first approach direction, wherein the second operating mode includes the touch-free motion control (e.g., “… contactless control or actuation of functions of a medical device is made possible …” when switched to a second operating mode “… via a two-stage actuation …” so “… patient is therefore advantageously protected …” “… against unintended damage due … to a mechanical impact due to a movement of a medical device …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147).
The method of Dietz et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… external sensors …” such as arranged on or at the handle element. However, “… external sensors …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… in the first bifurcated navigation control mode, the processor may allow the operator control of the propulsion using a primary control interface configured to facilitate operator control of both steering and propulsion of the manipulator cart (e.g., a standard control interface such as a handlebar-based control interface integrated into the manipulator cart), while in the second bifurcated navigation control mode, the processor may allow the operator control of the propulsion using a secondary control interface distinct and separate from the primary control interface, and configured to facilitate operator control of the propulsion and not the steering of the manipulator cart (e.g., an alternative control interface based on external stimulus applied to an arm of the manipulator cart, gesture-based commands, voice commands, a separate input device such as a separate joystick or control pad or the like). In this way, one operator may direct navigation of the manipulator cart from different places as may be convenient (e.g., behind the cart and in front of the cart at different times during the navigation), or multiple operators (e.g., one “sterile” operator who has scrubbed in and is allowed to be in a sterile field associated with the medical operation, and one “non-sterile” operator who has not scrubbed in and is not allowed to be in the sterile field) may cooperate to direct the navigation of the manipulator cart in other situations … system 100 may be used in medical contexts that are not surgical in nature (e.g., diagnostic or exploratory imaging without surgical elements) …Gestures used in a gesture-based control interface may be detected by way of one or more image capture devices mounted on manipulator cart 202 …” in paragraphs 20, 37, and 98 of Hannaford et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional sensor location (e.g., comprising details such as “handlebar-based control interface” and “gesture-based commands” “detected by way of one or more image capture devices mounted on manipulator cart 202”, in order to “one operator may direct navigation of the manipulator cart from different places as may be convenient (e.g., behind the cart and in front of the cart at different times during the navigation), or multiple operators”) for the unspecified sensor location of Dietz et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional sensor location (e.g., comprising details such as arranged on or at the handle element) as the unspecified sensor location of Dietz et al.
In regard to claim 2 which is dependent on claim 1, Dietz et al. also disclose that the sensors comprise distance or position sensors (e.g., “… Gestures that are recognized by image capture can be made visible for example by movement of the operator's hands …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147).
In regard to claim 3 which is dependent on claim 1, Dietz et al. also disclose that the touch-free motion control is configured in such a way that measured values recorded by the sensors are evaluated with regard to movement of at least one hand of the operator (e.g., “… Gestures that are recognized by image capture can be made visible for example by movement of the operator's hands …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147) and converted into control commands for automatic motion control of the medical device (e.g., “… gesture recognition unit … may comprise a capability to recognize confirmation signals of the following functions: … movements of the medical device …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147).
In regard to claim 4 which is dependent on claim 1, Dietz et al. also disclose that the medical device is switched back into the first operating mode when a result of a further evaluation of further measured values satisfies at least one second preset condition that differs from the first preset condition (e.g., “… evaluation unit classifies the detected movement according to whether it is an intended or unintended movement …” in paragraph 97).
In regard to claim 5 which is dependent on claim 4, while Dietz et al. also disclose that any movement without a specific command assigned is classified as “unintended movement” (e.g., “… evaluation unit classifies the detected movement according to whether it is an intended or unintended movement. Such a classification can be accomplished for example by comparing the detected movement with one or more reference movements, each of which is assigned to a specific command …” in paragraph 97), the device of Dietz et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… unintended movement …” such as a second distance is exceeded or a second distance is exceeded in combination with an opposite direction to the first approach direction. However, “… intended movement …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… Gestures used in a gesture-based control interface may be detected by way of one or more image capture devices mounted on manipulator cart 202 or in other suitable places within operating room 400. Gestures may be predefined to be any suitable gesture such as a continuous beckoning with a hand or finger, a continuous wave, or the like. In some examples, an explicit stop gesture (e.g., a flat palm or the like) may be defined. Additionally or alternatively, system 100 may interpret an absence of either a continuous forward or backward gesture as a stop command (i.e., an indication that manipulator cart 202 should not continue forward on path 404 for the time being). Along with indicating a basic forward or backward propulsion command, gestures may further be used to indicate a basic propulsion speed. For example, a relatively fast continuous wave of the hand may be interpreted as a forward propulsion command associated with a relatively fast speed, while a relatively slow continuous wave may be interpreted as a forward propulsion command associated with a relatively slow speed …” in paragraph 98 of Hannaford et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional intended movement (e.g., comprising details such as in “some examples, an explicit stop gesture (e.g., a flat palm or the like) may be defined”) for the “intended movement” of Dietz et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (e.g., all other possible motions would be classified as “unintended movement”). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional movement (e.g., comprising details such as the at least one second preset condition is satisfied when a second distance is exceeded or a second distance is exceeded in combination with an opposite direction to the first approach direction) as the “unintended movement” of Dietz et al.
In regard to claim 6 which is dependent on claim 1, while Dietz et al. also disclose (paragraph 15) that “… during the actions controlled by a gesture, feedback can be provided via a haptic signal, for example in the form of a vibration, in order to confirm the triggering of a desired action to the operator …”, the device of Dietz et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… feedback can be provided …” such as a current operating mode is indicated by a visual or acoustic indication. However, “… feedback …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… system 100 may determine and indicate to the operator (e.g., by way of visual, haptic, audible, or any other suitable type of feedback) that the navigation and configuration of manipulator cart 202 is complete …” in paragraph 81 of Hannaford et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional feedback (e.g., comprising details such as “visual, haptic, audible, or any other suitable type of feedback” for indicating current status to an operator) for the “feedback can be provided” of Dietz et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional feedback (e.g., comprising details such as a current operating mode is indicated by a visual or acoustic indication) as the “feedback can be provided” of Dietz et al.
In regard to claim 7 which is dependent on claim 1, Dietz et al. also disclose that the medical device has a device cart that may be driven by a motor (e.g., “… gesture recognition unit … may comprise a capability to recognize confirmation signals of the following functions: … movements of the medical device …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147), and the touch-free motion control in the second operating mode activates a two-dimensional traversing movement of the device cart on a substantially level substrate (e.g., “… movement to the left or a movement to the right … change of direction …” in paragraph 15).
In regard to claim 8 which is dependent on claim 7, while Dietz et al. also disclose (paragraph 97) that “… evaluation unit classifies the detected movement according to whether it is an intended or unintended movement. Such a classification can be accomplished for example by comparing the detected movement with one or more reference movements, each of which is assigned to a specific command …”, the device of Dietz et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… intended movement …” such as a movement of the hand in a direction parallel to the substantially level substrate causes a corresponding automatic movement of the device cart. However, “… intended movement …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… Gestures used in a gesture-based control interface may be detected by way of one or more image capture devices mounted on manipulator cart 202 or in other suitable places within operating room 400. Gestures may be predefined to be any suitable gesture such as a continuous beckoning with a hand or finger, a continuous wave, or the like. In some examples, an explicit stop gesture (e.g., a flat palm or the like) may be defined. Additionally or alternatively, system 100 may interpret an absence of either a continuous forward or backward gesture as a stop command (i.e., an indication that manipulator cart 202 should not continue forward on path 404 for the time being). Along with indicating a basic forward or backward propulsion command, gestures may further be used to indicate a basic propulsion speed. For example, a relatively fast continuous wave of the hand may be interpreted as a forward propulsion command associated with a relatively fast speed, while a relatively slow continuous wave may be interpreted as a forward propulsion command associated with a relatively slow speed …” in paragraph 98 of Hannaford et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional intended movement (e.g., comprising details such as “continuous beckoning with a hand or finger”) for the “intended movement” of Dietz et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional intended movement (e.g., comprising details such as the touch-free motion control is configured in such a way that a movement of the hand in a direction parallel to the substantially level substrate causes a corresponding automatic movement of the device cart) as the “intended movement” of Dietz et al.
In regard to claim 9 which is dependent on claim 8, while Dietz et al. also disclose (paragraph 97) that “… evaluation unit classifies the detected movement according to whether it is an intended or unintended movement. Such a classification can be accomplished for example by comparing the detected movement with one or more reference movements, each of which is assigned to a specific command …”, the device of Dietz et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… intended movement …” such as an approach of the hand in a direction parallel to the substantially level substrate causes a receding movement of the device cart in a same direction and/or a receding of the hand in a direction parallel to the substantially level substrate causes a following movement in the same direction. However, “… intended movement …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… Gestures used in a gesture-based control interface may be detected by way of one or more image capture devices mounted on manipulator cart 202 or in other suitable places within operating room 400. Gestures may be predefined to be any suitable gesture such as a continuous beckoning with a hand or finger, a continuous wave, or the like. In some examples, an explicit stop gesture (e.g., a flat palm or the like) may be defined. Additionally or alternatively, system 100 may interpret an absence of either a continuous forward or backward gesture as a stop command (i.e., an indication that manipulator cart 202 should not continue forward on path 404 for the time being). Along with indicating a basic forward or backward propulsion command, gestures may further be used to indicate a basic propulsion speed. For example, a relatively fast continuous wave of the hand may be interpreted as a forward propulsion command associated with a relatively fast speed, while a relatively slow continuous wave may be interpreted as a forward propulsion command associated with a relatively slow speed …” in paragraph 98 of Hannaford et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional intended movement (e.g., comprising details such as “continuous beckoning with a hand or finger”) for the “intended movement” of Dietz et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional intended movement (e.g., comprising details such as an approach of the hand in a direction parallel to the substantially level substrate causes a receding movement of the device cart in a same direction and/or a receding of the hand in a direction parallel to the substantially level substrate causes a following movement in the same direction) as the “intended movement” of Dietz et al.
In regard to claim 10 which is dependent on claim 1, while Dietz et al. also disclose (paragraph 97) that “… evaluation unit classifies the detected movement according to whether it is an intended or unintended movement. Such a classification can be accomplished for example by comparing the detected movement with one or more reference movements, each of which is assigned to a specific command …”, the device of Dietz et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… intended movement …” such as the first approach direction is parallel to a normal of a plane of a substrate. However, “… intended movement …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… Gestures used in a gesture-based control interface may be detected by way of one or more image capture devices mounted on manipulator cart 202 or in other suitable places within operating room 400. Gestures may be predefined to be any suitable gesture such as a continuous beckoning with a hand or finger, a continuous wave, or the like. In some examples, an explicit stop gesture (e.g., a flat palm or the like) may be defined. Additionally or alternatively, system 100 may interpret an absence of either a continuous forward or backward gesture as a stop command (i.e., an indication that manipulator cart 202 should not continue forward on path 404 for the time being). Along with indicating a basic forward or backward propulsion command, gestures may further be used to indicate a basic propulsion speed. For example, a relatively fast continuous wave of the hand may be interpreted as a forward propulsion command associated with a relatively fast speed, while a relatively slow continuous wave may be interpreted as a forward propulsion command associated with a relatively slow speed …” in paragraph 98 of Hannaford et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional intended movement (e.g., comprising details such as “continuous beckoning with a hand or finger”) for the “intended movement” of Dietz et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (e.g., all other possible motions would be classified as “unintended movement”). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional intended movement (e.g., comprising details such as the first approach direction is parallel to a normal of a plane of a substrate) as the “intended movement” of Dietz et al.
In regard to claim 11 which is dependent on claim 1, Dietz et al. also disclose that measured values are additionally recorded and evaluated that allow gesture control by the hand (e.g., “… Gestures that are recognized by image capture can be made visible for example by movement of the operator's hands …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147).
In regard to claim 12, Dietz et al. disclose a mobile medical device comprising a device cart with motor-assisted maneuverability (e.g., “… joysticks are also used, in order to actuate C-arms, for example. A joystick enables an operator to change a continuous-time variable of a movement, i.e. for example to perform a minor excursion at a low speed and to drive a major excursion at a high speed … Gestures that are recognized by image capture can be made visible for example by movement of the operator's hands or fingers, where the gestures may signify … moving … receive sensor data from external sensors and to evaluate the data … contactless control or actuation of functions of a medical device is made possible … gesture recognition unit … may comprise a capability to recognize confirmation signals of the following functions: … movements of the medical device … patient is therefore advantageously protected via a two-stage actuation comprising an initialization or activation of a command communication against unintended damage due … to a mechanical impact due to a movement of a medical device …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147), the device cart comprising:
(a) at least one handle element comprising a handlebar, wherein at least one sensor, is configured to record measured values with regard to an approach of a hand of an operator (e.g., “… receive sensor data from external sensors …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147);
(b) an evaluation unit (e.g., “… gesture recognition unit …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147) that is configured to evaluate the measured values from the sensors (e.g., “… receive sensor data from external sensors and to evaluate the data …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147) with regard to distance and approach direction of the hand of the operator (e.g., “… Gestures that are recognized by image capture can be made visible for example by movement of the operator's hands or fingers …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147); and
(c) a control unit (e.g., “… medical device …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147) for activating a switch of the mobile medical device from a first operating mode into a second operating mode and back as a consequence of a result of the evaluation, and further configured to automatically activate a movement of the device cart on a substrate as a consequence of the movement of the hand of the operator (e.g., “… contactless control or actuation of functions of a medical device is made possible …” is not possible in a first operating mode until switched to a second operating mode “… via a two-stage actuation …” so “… patient is therefore advantageously protected …” “… against unintended damage due … to a mechanical impact due to a movement of a medical device …” in paragraphs 8, 15, 19, 99, 140, 143, and 147).
The device of Dietz et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… external sensors …” such as arranged on the handlebar or in an immediate vicinity thereof. However, “… external sensors …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… in the first bifurcated navigation control mode, the processor may allow the operator control of the propulsion using a primary control interface configured to facilitate operator control of both steering and propulsion of the manipulator cart (e.g., a standard control interface such as a handlebar-based control interface integrated into the manipulator cart), while in the second bifurcated navigation control mode, the processor may allow the operator control of the propulsion using a secondary control interface distinct and separate from the primary control interface, and configured to facilitate operator control of the propulsion and not the steering of the manipulator cart (e.g., an alternative control interface based on external stimulus applied to an arm of the manipulator cart, gesture-based commands, voice commands, a separate input device such as a separate joystick or control pad or the like). In this way, one operator may direct navigation of the manipulator cart from different places as may be convenient (e.g., behind the cart and in front of the cart at different times during the navigation), or multiple operators (e.g., one “sterile” operator who has scrubbed in and is allowed to be in a sterile field associated with the medical operation, and one “non-sterile” operator who has not scrubbed in and is not allowed to be in the sterile field) may cooperate to direct the navigation of the manipulator cart in other situations … system 100 may be used in medical contexts that are not surgical in nature (e.g., diagnostic or exploratory imaging without surgical elements) …Gestures used in a gesture-based control interface may be detected by way of one or more image capture devices mounted on manipulator cart 202 …” in paragraphs 20, 37, and 98 of Hannaford et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional sensor location (e.g., comprising details such as “handlebar-based control interface” and “gesture-based commands” “detected by way of one or more image capture devices mounted on manipulator cart 202”, in order to “one operator may direct navigation of the manipulator cart from different places as may be convenient (e.g., behind the cart and in front of the cart at different times during the navigation), or multiple operators”) for the unspecified sensor location of Dietz et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional sensor location (e.g., comprising details such as arranged on the handlebar or in an immediate vicinity thereof) as the unspecified sensor location of Dietz et al.
In regard to claim 13 which is dependent on claim 12, Dietz et al. also disclose that the mobile medical device is a mobile C-arm x-ray device (e.g., “… Examples of modern medical imaging methods include … x-ray imaging via C-arm systems … Damage caused by motorized medical devices, for example the patient table of a mobile C-arm device …” in paragraphs 4 and 146).
In regard to claim 14 which is dependent on claim 12, Dietz et al. also disclose that the mobile medical device further comprising a movable C-arm (e.g., “… Damage caused by motorized medical devices, for example the patient table of a mobile C-arm device …” in paragraph 146).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietz et al. in view of Hannaford et al. as applied to claim(s) 12 above, and further in view of Bystrov et al. (US 2026/0076630).
In regard to claim 15 which is dependent on claim 12, the device of Dietz et al. lacks an explicit description of details of the “… external sensors …” such as at least one distance sensor comprising at least one of an infrared sensor, a light sensor, an ultrasound sensor, a capacitive or an inductive sensor, or a radio-frequency sensor. However, “… external sensors …” details are known to one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., see “… camera system (discussed further in detail hereinbelow) may be used to detect a gesture from the operator. Even though the operator is preferably not visible in the reference image and/or further spatial data (discussed hereinbelow), the operator may transiently provide a (machine-) detectable gesture, such as a swiping motion over the camera view (e.g. moving the hand over the camera lens from a short distance), or a more complex gesture, such as a thumbs-up gesture. For example, moving a hand over the camera, or, generally, obscuring a substantial part of the camera's field-of-view by the hand (or, equivalently, by an alternative body part or object), e.g. in a swiping, grabbing or other gesture, motion or hand posture at short distance, may be particularly easy to detect with good sensitivity, accuracy and robustness. Thus, the trigger signal can be easily generated, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention, by detecting a large change in the camera image, such as a substantial drop of the average image intensity of a conventional optical camera image (e.g. obtained by a 2D monochrome, color or similar conventional camera), a substantial increase of image intensity (e.g. when using a passive or active infrared camera), a substantial change in average color value, a substantial decrease of the average distance from the camera to points in the scene (e.g. of the average depth value per pixel over a depth image), and/or another similar simple detection strategy. Optionally, such change detection may be configured to detect a temporary change (e.g. a drop) that is associated with a return of the tested parameter (e.g. the average image intensity) to about its former value (e.g. to about the value as before the drop). An appropriate threshold, a fraction or another suitable test parameter for generating the trigger signal based on such ‘substantial’ change can be easily determined by the skilled person, e.g. by straightforward experimentation and/or trial-and-error …” in paragraph 85 of Bystrov et al.). It should be noted that “when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable results”. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 at 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 40 [148 USPQ 479] (1966)). See MPEP § 2143. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted a known conventional sensor (e.g., comprising details such as “a substantial drop of the average image intensity of a conventional optical camera image (e.g. obtained by a 2D monochrome, color or similar conventional camera), a substantial increase of image intensity (e.g. when using a passive or active infrared camera), a substantial change in average color value, a substantial decrease of the average distance from the camera to points in the scene (e.g. of the average depth value per pixel over a depth image), and/or another similar simple detection strategy”, in order “to detect a gesture from the operator”) for the unspecified sensor of Dietz et al. and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a known conventional sensor (e.g., comprising details such as at least one distance sensor comprising at least one of an infrared sensor, a light sensor, an ultrasound sensor, a capacitive or an inductive sensor, or a radio-frequency sensor) as the unspecified sensor of Dietz et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2008/0081992 teaches a sensor-based navigation system.
US 2015/0216746 teaches a contactless navigation system.
US 2016/0370870 teaches a contactless input.
US 2022/0240878 teaches a navigation system.
US 2023/0329651 teaches a sensor-based navigation system.
/SL/
Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884