Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 6, 7, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 6, the second inductive unit is introduced however the first inductive unit has not been previously mentioned. It is not clear that how many inductive unit is in the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 7, the third inductive unit is introduced however the first inductive unit and second inductive unit have not been previously mentioned. It is not clear that how many inductive unit is in the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 9, the second capacitive unit is introduced however the first capacitive unit has not been previously mentioned. It is not clear that how many capacitive unit is in the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 10, the third capacitive unit is introduced however the first capacitive unit and second capacitive unit have not been previously mentioned. It is not clear that how many capacitive unit is in the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Ehyaie et al. (2014/0152399).
Regarding Claim 1, Ehyaie et al. (2014/0152399) discloses a phase shift circuit (300) (paragraph [0024], fig. 3), wherein the phase shift circuit comprises an input end (302), an output end (304), a phase lead branch circuit (310, 312), and a phase lag branch circuit (306, 308),
the phase lead branch circuit (310, 312) and the phase lag branch circuit (306, 308) are connected in parallel between the input end (302) and the output end (304);
the phase lead branch circuit (310, 312) comprises a first radio frequency switch unit (312) and a phase lead unit (310), wherein the first radio frequency switch unit (312) (paragraphs [0026], [0028], [0033], [0040]) and the phase lead unit (310) are connected in series between the input end (302) and the output end (304); and
the phase lag branch circuit (306, 308) comprises a first phase lag unit (306), a second phase lag unit (308), and a second radio frequency switch unit (314) (paragraphs [0026], [0028], [0033], [0040]) wherein:
the first phase lag unit (306) and the second phase lag unit (308) are connected in series between the input end (302) and the output end (304); and
the second radio frequency switch unit (314) is connected between the ground and a first connection point (316) between the first phase lag unit (306) and the second phase lag unit (308) (fig. 3).
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 2, Ehyaie discloses the phase shift circuit according to claim 1, wherein: when the first radio frequency switch unit and the second radio frequency switch unit are in an on state (“by opening and closing the switches (SW1, SW2), the phase shifter 200 provides selectable amounts of phase shift with low loss and small group delay”, paragraphs [0022] to [0025]), a phase of a radio frequency signal output by the output end leads a phase of a radio frequency signal input by the input end (paragraphs [0026], [0028], [0033], [0040]).
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 3, Ehyaie discloses the phase shift circuit according to claim 1, wherein1 when the first radio frequency switch unit and the second radio frequency switch unit are in an off state, the phase of the radio frequency signal output by the output end lags (delay) behind the phase of the radio frequency signal input by the input end (“by opening and closing the switches (SW1, SW2), the phase shifter 200 provides selectable amounts of phase shift with low loss and small group delay”, paragraphs [0022] to [0025]).
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 5, Ehyaie discloses the phase shift circuit according to claim 1, wherein the phase lead unit (310) comprises a first capacitive unit (capacitor, fig. 3), and wherein the first capacitive unit (310) and the first radio frequency switch unit (312) are connected in series between the input end (302) and the output end (304) (Fig. 3).
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected similarly as discussed above.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehyaie et al. (2014/0152399) in view of Miyaguchi et al. (2007/0273456).
Regarding Claim 4, as discussed above, Ehyaie discloses the first radio frequency (312) connected to the phase lead unit (310) (fig. 3) but does not explicitly disclose the phase shift circuit according to claim 1, wherein the phase lead unit comprises a first inductive unit.
However, capacitor and inductor are known reactive circuit elements to obtain impedance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to have provided capacitor and inductor in the LC network in any particular configuration in order to reach a desired impedance for the output.
Further, Miyaguchi et al. (2007/0273456) discloses phase lead unit comprises a first inductive unit (15) between the input end (1) and the output end (2) (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided an inductor instead to provide impedance in order to obtain the desired reactance in Ehyaie as taught by Miyaguchi.
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 7, as discussed above, Ehyaie essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the phase shift circuit according to claim 5, wherein the phase lead branch circuit further comprises a third inductive unit, wherein the third inductive unit and the first capacitive unit are connected in parallel.
However, capacitor and inductor are known reactive circuit elements to obtain impedance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to have provided capacitor and inductor in the LC network in any particular configuration in order to reach a desired impedance for the output.
Further, Miyaguchi discloses the phase lead branch circuit further comprises a third inductive unit (15), wherein the third inductive unit (15) and the first capacitive unit (23) are connected in parallel (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided an inductive unit (15) in Ehyaie in order to obtain a desired impedance as taught by Miyaguchi.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehyaie et al. (2014/0152399) in view of Ju (2012/0019428).
Regarding Claim 6, as discussed above, Ehyaie essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the phase shift circuit according to claim 5, wherein the phase lead unit further comprises a second inductive unit, a first end of the second inductive unit is connected to a second connection point, a second the other end of the second inductive unit is grounded, and the second connection point is a connection point between the first radio frequency switch unit and the first capacitive unit.
However, capacitor and inductor are known reactive circuit elements to obtain impedance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to have provided capacitor and inductor in the LC network in any particular configuration in order to reach a desired impedance for the output.
Further, Ju (2012/0019428) discloses the phase lead unit further comprises a second inductive unit (2L) (fig. 3), a first end of the second inductive unit is connected to a second connection point, a second the other end of the second inductive unit is grounded, and the second connection point is a connection point connected to the first capacitive unit (CL) (paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided another inductive unit (2L) in Ehyaie in order to obtain a desired impedance in the network as taught by Ju.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehyaie et al. (2014/0152399) in view of Miyaguchi et al. (2007/0188264).
Regarding Claim 8, as discussed above, Ehyaie essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the phase shift circuit according to claim 1, wherein: the phase lag branch circuit further comprises a third phase lag unit; and the third phase lag unit and the second radio frequency switch unit are connected in series between the first connection point and the ground.
However, capacitor and inductor are known reactive circuit elements to obtain impedance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to have provided capacitor and inductor in the LC network in any particular configuration in order to reach a desired impedance for the output.
Further, Miyaguchi et al. (2007/0188264) discloses the phase lag branch circuit further comprises a third phase lag unit; and the third phase lag unit (111) and the second radio frequency switch unit (105) are connected in series between the first connection point and the ground (112) (fig. 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the phase lag unit (111) and the second switch (105) of Miyaguchi in Ehyaie in order to obtain a desired impedance as taught by Miyaguchi
Regarding Claim 9, as discussed above, Ehyaie essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the phase shift circuit according to claim 8, wherein: the phase lag branch circuit further comprises a second capacitive unit; and the second capacitive unit, the third phase lag unit, and the second radio frequency switch unit are connected in series between the first connection point and the ground.
However, capacitor and inductor are known reactive circuit elements to obtain impedance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to have provided capacitor and inductor in the LC network in any particular configuration in order to reach a desired impedance for the output.
Further, Miyaguchi discloses the phase lag branch circuit further comprises a second capacitive unit (111); and the second capacitive unit, the third phase lag unit, and the second radio frequency switch unit (105) are connected in series between the first connection point and the ground (112) (fig. 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the phase lag unit comprising capacitive unit (111) and the second switch (105) of Miyaguchi in Ehyaie in order to obtain a desired impedance as taught by Miyaguchi.
Regarding Claim 10, as discussed above, Ehyaie essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the phase shift circuit according to claim 1, wherein: the phase lag branch circuit further comprises a third capacitive unit; and the third capacitive unit and the second radio frequency switch unit are connected in series between the first connection point and the ground.
However, capacitor and inductor are known reactive circuit elements to obtain impedance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to have provided capacitor and inductor in the LC network in any particular configuration in order to reach a desired impedance for the output.
Further, Miyaguchi discloses the phase lag branch circuit further comprises a third capacitive unit (111); and the third capacitive unit (111) and the second radio frequency switch unit (105) are connected in series between the first connection point and the ground (112) (fig. 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the phase lag unit comprising capacitive unit (111) and the second switch (105) of Miyaguchi in Ehyaie in order to obtain a desired impedance as taught by Miyaguchi.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845