DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The reply filed 05/05/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2, 10, 12-13, and 16 have been amended. Claims 2-21 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 05/05/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s remarks regarding Step 2A Prong One on pgs. 8-9, the claimed invention, as found in claim 2, performs three method steps: 1) receiving an indication of an incoming external transaction, 2) transferring ownership of at least a portion of the digital asset from the first user to a second user, and 3) updating the internal ledger to indicate that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the second user. None of the claimed method steps are technical. Transferring ownership of at least a portion of the digital asset from a first user to a second user is a sales activity, e.g. selling a portion of a digital asset from a seller to a buyer, and the receiving and updating steps are merely steps that are a part of the abstract idea of sales activities, e.g. receiving an indication that a sale has taken place, updating a ledger to track a sales activity. The remarks have failed to clearly explain how any of the claimed steps/operations are technical in nature. Furthermore, the remarks rely on the argument that blockchain technology have other applications, however, that is not relevant to what is being claimed and how said limitations are being interpreted as an abstract idea. Even if the claimed invention were to be interpreted as a supply chain operation, that would still fall under commercial or legal interaction. Tracking the movement of an item from location to location, i.e. between grocery store to purchaser, is a commercial interaction.
In response to the Applicant’s remarks regarding Step 2A Prong Two on pgs. 10-12, the current claimed invention does not require an external blockchain in such a way that it would reduce the “computing resource cost and time cost that are associated with executing transactions in a blockchain…” The claimed computer system updates the internal ledger to track internal transactions, it does not require the external blockchain to do so. At most, the claimed computer system receives an indication that a transaction took place on an external blockchain, therefore, such transaction has already executed on the external blockchain, and any computing resource cost and time cost has already occurred. Subsequent to the transaction that has already occurred on the external blockchain, the internal transaction that takes place remains within the transaction service and is then updated on the internal ledger without needing the external blockchain. Therefore, since the steps of transferring and updating that occur do not require the external blockchain, the claimed invention as a whole cannot possibly provide the purported improvement. Furthermore, the remarks stated “Applicant’s specification discloses a system that facilitates internal transactions between user accounts to transfer ownership of digital assets without recording such transactions on an external blockchain,” thereby suggesting that an external blockchain is not required, and therefore cannot be improved upon. The remarks “while still allowing individual user accounts of the transaction service to have their own individual cryptographic keys useable to perform transactions with [transactions with] user accounts that are outside of the transaction service that are recorded on the blockchain” and “By allowing users to have their own accounts, they can “use their personal account to interact with decentralized applications (dApps)”” on pg. 11, it is unclear how this would reduce computing resource and time cost associated with executing transactions on a blockchain and/or how this is an improvement on blockchain technology in general as purported on pg. 12.
In response to the Applicant’s remarks regarding Step 2B on pg. 13, while the technical problem has been identified in the instant specification, a technical solution has not been claimed. Therefore, the claims do not reflect the disclosed improvement in blockchain technology. Please see the remarks above for further details and the updated patent eligibility analysis below in light of the amendments.
Applicant's arguments, filed 05/05/2026, with respect to the prior art rejection have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s remarks on pgs. 15-16, the remark that “Griffin does not teach receiving a digital asset at a first user’s account on the external blockchain” is not a relevant argument because the claimed invention is not claiming “receiving a digital asset at a first user’s account on the external blockchain,” it is claiming “receiving…an indication of an incoming external transaction that transfers a digital asset to a first user account that is used on an external blockchain.” In other words, the required step is receiving an indication of a transaction that has already occurred/or is occurring, there is no required step for “receiving a digital asset at a first user’s account on the external blockchain.” In response to the remarks related to the operator, Griffin discloses in [0043] and [0068] that each of the purchaser(s) and seller(s) may have their own respective external wallet and internal wallet, and the operator also has its own associated external and internal wallet [0043]. Each entity can have their own respective external and internal wallets, and therefore, the wallet(s) are not holding account(s) as suggested by the remarks. The operator is analogous to a first user and its external wallet is analogous to a first user account, which stores tokens, i.e. digital assets. The remarks have not explained why this mapping is not permitted. The operator’s transactions are tracked on both the external blockchain and the sidechain, i.e. internal ledger [0043]. Therefore, the operator, i.e. first user, has a first user account that is used on the external blockchain. Since the remarks have both relied on limitation(s) that are not being claimed and failed to address why the current mapping is not permitted, they cannot be persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s remarks against claim 10 on pg. 16, the remarks merely provide a conclusory statement without addressing what has been presented in the Non-Final Rejection 02/05/2026. Claim 10 recites similar distinguishing features as claims 2-3. The remarks have failed to provide any substantive arguments as to why the current mapping and rationale are not permitted. Therefore, the remarks cannot be persuasive. Please see below for the detailed mapping and rationale of claim 3, in which a similar mapping and rationale shall apply to claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent
therefore, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title.
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is
directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 2-21 fall into at least one of the four categories of statutory subject matter. The eligibility analysis proceeds to Step 2A.1.
Step 2A.1:
The limitations of independent claim 2 have been denoted with letters by the Examiner for easy reference. Independent claims 10 and 16 recite similar distinguishing features as claim 2, therefore the following eligibility analysis shall apply to claims 2, 10, and 16. The judicial exceptions recited in claim 1 are identified in bold below:
receiving, by a computer system, an indication of an incoming external transaction that transfers a digital asset to a first user account that is used on an external blockchain and associated with a first user of a transaction service, wherein the incoming external transaction is recorded on the external blockchain that is external to the transaction service;
in response to receiving a request associated with the first user, transferring, by the computer system in an internal transaction recorded on an internal ledger of the transaction service, ownership of at least a portion of the digital asset from the first user to a second user that is associated with a second user account used on the external blockchain, wherein the first and second user accounts are not holding accounts of the transaction service that do not correspond to users of the transaction service, and the internal transaction is not recorded on the external blockchain; and
wherein, the transferring includes updating the internal ledger to indicate that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the second user while the external blockchain indicates that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the first user.
Under the broadest, most reasonable interpretation, A-C recite limitations that are reasonably categorized under certain methods of organizing human activity. Specifically, the bolded limitations can be grouped as commercial or legal interactions in the form of sales activities. Receiving an indication that a transaction involving a digital asset has taken place, transferring the digital asset between a first user account and a second user account, and then recording such transfer, or transaction, in a ledger are analogous to sales activities.
Claims 2, 10, and 16 recite at least one abstract idea. The eligibility analysis proceeds to Step 2A.2.
Step 2A.2:
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the additional element(s) not in bold above.
Claims 10 and 16 also recite “a non-transitory computer-readable medium having program instructions stored thereon that are executable by a computer system to perform operations,” “a system,” “at least one processor,” and “memory having program instructions stored thereon that are executable by at least one processor to cause the system to perform operations” as additional elements. These additional elements and a “computing system” in claim 2 have all been recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than generic computing components. Therefore, when the additional elements are considered individually and as an ordered combination with the abstract idea, the claims amount to no more than mere software instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The additional elements “external blockchain” and “used on the external blockchain” have been generally recited such that they are general usage of a data structure. When the additional elements are considered individually and as an ordered combination with the abstract idea, the claims amount to no more than mere steps to implement an abstract idea on a data structure. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claims 2, 10, and 16 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The eligibility analysis proceeds to Step 2B.
Step 2B:
The additional elements, both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the outcome of the considerations at Step 2B will be the same when considerations from Step 2A.2 are re-evaluated. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Claims 2, 10, and 16 are not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 3-6, 8-9, 11, 13, 15, 17-18, and 21 all elaborate on the abstract idea without reciting any new additional elements. When the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 7, 12, and 20 recite the additional element of “storing…respective private keys…wherein the private keys are stored such that the first and second users cannot access the private keys.” Storing private keys is considered insignificant extra-solution activity because it does not impose any meaningful limits on how the indication and/or request are received, how the ownership of the digital asset is transferred, or how the transfer is recorded. Furthermore, the courts have recognized that “storing and retrieving information in memory” is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when claimed in a merely generic manner MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), Versata. Furthermore, claims 7 and 20 recite “generating digital signatures for transactions on the external blockchain” and “generating a digital signature using one of the private keys,” respectively. Claim 12 recites “performing a cryptographic operation using a private key of a cryptographic key pair.” These limitations can be reasonably categorized under mathematical concepts. Specifically, generating a digital signature and performing cryptographic operations are considered mathematical calculations. The claims do not recite any meaningful additional elements. Therefore, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 14 and 19 recite the additional element of “causing presentation of user interfaces to the first and second users.” The additional element is considered insignificant extra-solution activities because it amounts to no more than mere data outputting. The Examiner is taking official notice that presenting a user interface to users is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in computer and financial technology. Therefore, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole in combination with the independent claims from which they depend, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In summary, the dependent claims considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea(s) into a patent eligible application such that the abstract idea amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims do not recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 7, 10, 12-16, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 6, 9, 12, 15-17, and 20 of U.S. Patent 12,354,085. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application 19/229,597 is broader in scope than U.S. Patent 12,354,085. Furthermore, any differences noted below are insignificant in that they are either merely differences in wording and order, or nominal, such that the functions and outcomes between the application and the patent remains the same.
Application 19/229,597
U.S. Patent 12,354,085
Claim 2. A method, comprising:
receiving, by a computer system, an indication of an incoming external transaction that transfers a digital asset to a first user account that is used on an external blockchain and associated with a first user of a transaction service, wherein the incoming external transaction is recorded on the external blockchain that is external to the transaction service;
in response to receiving a request associated with the first user, transferring, by the computer system in an internal transaction recorded on an internal ledger of the transaction service, ownership of at least a portion of the digital asset from the first user to a second user that is associated with a second user account used on the external blockchain, wherein the first and second user accounts are not holding accounts of the transaction service that do not correspond to users of the transaction service, and the internal transaction is not recorded on the external blockchain; and
wherein, the transferring includes updating, the internal ledger indicates that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the second user while the external blockchain indicates that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the first user.
Claim 9. A method, comprising:
receiving, at a computer system, an indication of an
incoming transaction transferring a digital asset to a
first user account of a transaction service, the incoming transaction being recorded on a blockchain external to the transaction service;
in response to a request associated with the first user
account, transferring, by the computer system in an
internal transaction, ownership of at least a portion of the digital asset from the first user account to a second user account, wherein the first and second user accounts are used on the external blockchain, and wherein the transferring is recorded using an internal ledger of the transaction service;
causing, by the computer system, presentation of a user interface for the first user account indicating a transfer of ownership of the portion of the digital asset to the second user account based on the internal ledger without recording the internal transaction on the blockchain, wherein the blockchain indicates that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the first user account and not the second user account; and
causing, by the computer system, recordation of the
transfer of ownership of the portion of the digital asset in response to receiving a request from the second user account to perform an outgoing transaction.
Claim 7.
Claim 12.
Claim 10. A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program instructions stored thereon that are executable by a computer system to perform operations comprising:
receiving an indication of an incoming external transaction that transfers a digital asset to a first user account that is used on an external blockchain and associated with a first user of a transaction service, wherein the incoming external transaction is recorded on the external blockchain that is external to the transaction service;
in response to receiving a request associated with the first user, transferring, in an internal transaction recorded on an internal ledger of the transaction service, ownership of at least a portion of the digital asset from the first user to a second user that is associated with a second user account used on the external blockchain, wherein the first and second user accounts are not holding accounts of the transaction service that do not correspond to users of the transaction service, and the internal transaction is not recorded on the external blockchain, and wherein, the transferring includes updating, the internal ledger indicates that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the second user while the external blockchain indicates that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the first user; and
in response to receiving a request associated with the second user to transfer ownership of the portion to a third user that is external to the transaction service, causing recordation of an outgoing external transaction on the external blockchain that transfers the portion from the first user account to a third user account associated with the third user.
Claim 15. A non-transitory machine-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that are executed by a computer system to perform operations comprising:
receiving an indication of an incoming transaction transferring a digital asset to a first user account of a transaction service, the incoming transaction being
recorded on a blockchain external to the transaction
service;
in response to a request associated with the first user
account, transferring, in an internal transaction, ownership of at least a portion of the digital asset from the first user account to a second user account, wherein the first and second user accounts are used on the external blockchain, and wherein the transferring is recorded using an internal ledger of the transaction service;
causing presentation of a user interface for the first user account indicating a transfer of ownership of the portion of the digital asset to the second user account based on the internal ledger without recording the internal transaction on the blockchain, wherein the blockchain indicates that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the first user account and not the second user account; and
causing recordation of the transfer of ownership of the portion of the digital asset in response to receiving a request from the second user account to perform an outgoing transaction.
Claim 12.
Claim 20.
Claim 13.
Claim 16.
Claim 14.
Claim 15.
Claim 15.
Claim 17.
Claim 16. A system, comprising: at least one processor; and memory having program instructions stored thereon that are executable by the at least one processor to cause the system to perform operations comprising:
receiving an indication of an incoming external transaction that transfers a digital asset to a first user account that is used on an external blockchain and associated with a first user of a transaction service, wherein the incoming external transaction is recorded on the external blockchain that is external to the transaction service;
in response to receiving a request associated with the first user, transferring, in an internal transaction recorded on an internal ledger of the transaction service, ownership of at least a portion of the digital asset from the first user to a second user that is associated with a second user account used on the external blockchain, wherein the first and second user accounts are not holding accounts of the transaction service that do not correspond to users of the transaction service, and the internal transaction is not recorded on the external blockchain, and wherein, after the transferring, the internal ledger indicates that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the second user while the external blockchain indicates that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the first user; and
causing recordation of an outgoing external transaction on the external blockchain in response to receiving a request associated with the second user to perform the outgoing external transaction, wherein the outgoing external transaction transfers ownership of at least a subportion of the portion of the digital asset to a third user account associated with a third user that is external to the transaction service,
Claim 1. A system, comprising: a non-transitory memory; and one or more hardware processor coupled to the non-transitory memory and configured to read instructions from the non-transitory memory to cause the system to perform operations comprising;
receiving an indication of an incoming transaction transferring a digital asset to a first user account of a transaction service, the incoming transaction being
recorded on a blockchain external to the transaction
service;
in response to a request associated with the first user account, transferring, in an internal transaction, ownership of at least a portion of the digital asset from the first user account to a second user account, wherein the first and second user accounts are used on the external blockchain, and wherein the transferring is recorded using an internal ledger of the transaction service;
causing presentation of a user interface to the owners of the first user account reflecting the transfer of the portion of the digital asset indicated in the internal ledger without recording the internal transaction on the blockchain, wherein the blockchain indicates that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the first user account and not the second user account; and the internal ledger indicates that the portion of the digital asset is assigned to the second user account and not the first user account.
Claim 16.
Claim 6.
Claim 19.
Claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-6, 8-11, 13, 15-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Griffin et al. WO 2020/124199 (herein as “Griffin”).
Re Claim 2, Griffin discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a computer system, an indication of an incoming external transaction that transfers a digital asset to a first user account that is used on an external blockchain and associated with a first user of a transaction service ([0037] - "One or more tokens are transferred from a first user to a second user using a transaction. For example, a transaction may record that a number of tokens are being transferred from the first user to a public address of a second user,” [0040] – “Each transaction involving the internal tokens is recorded in an “internal blockchain”,” i.e. receiving an indication), wherein the incoming external transaction is recorded on the external blockchain that is external to the transaction service ([0040] – “transactions recorded on the internal and external blockchains are reconciled with each other from time to time.” Examiner notes that the wherein clause merely provides context to the incoming external transaction without positively reciting any active method step(s) or computer operation(s). The transaction being recorded on an external blockchain that is external to the transaction service does not meaningfully limit how a computer system receives an indication of an incoming external transaction. Therefore, the wherein clause cannot be given patentable weight see MPEP 2111.04. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided.);
Examiner notes that an account “used on an external blockchain” has been passively recited such that it merely provides context without meaningfully limit how the computer system receives an indication of an incoming external transaction and/or transferring ownership of at least a portion of the digital asset from the first user to a second user. It does not require any steps to be performed or limit the structure of the computer system. See MPEP 2111.04. Therefore, such limitation cannot be given patentable weight. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, Griffin discloses that the external wallets store external tokens, and transactions involving external tokens are recorded on the external blockchain [0043]. Therefore, the external wallets, i.e. user account(s), are “used on an external blockchain.”
in response to receiving a request associated with the first user ([0063], Examiner notes this limitation is not a positively claimed, active step, at most, it provides a temporal limit to the subsequent limitation. Therefore, it cannot be given patentable weight, however, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided.), transferring, by the computer system in an internal transaction recorded on an internal ledger of the transaction service, ownership of at least a portion of the digital asset from the first user to a second user that is associated with a second user account used on the external blockchain ([0039] – “one user of the system may transfer tokens to another user of the system, either directly or via an intermediary such as a system operator,” i.e. operator is also analogous to a user account, [0040] – “Each transaction involving internal tokens is recorded in an “internal blockchain.”), wherein the first and second user accounts are not holding accounts of the transaction service that do not correspond to users of the transaction service ([0068] – “the operator 108 may have a unique pair of internal and external wallets…for each of the purchasers 104 and sellers 106,” [0043] – operator has its own external wallet), and the internal transaction is not recorded on the external blockchain ([0040] – “Each transaction involving internal tokens is recorded in an “internal blockchain,” therefore, transaction(s) involving internal token(s) are not recorded on the external blockchain, at least initially. Examiner notes that the wherein clause merely provides context to the first and second user accounts and the internal transaction without positively reciting any active method step(s) or computer operation(s). The user accounts not being holding accounts and the internal transaction not being recorded on the external blockchain do not meaningfully limit how the portion of the digital asset is transferred. Therefore, the wherein clause cannot be given patentable weight see MPEP 2111.04. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided.); and
wherein, the transferring includes updating, the internal ledger to indicate that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the second user while the external blockchain indicates that the portion of the digital asset belongs to the first user ([0040] – “Each transaction involving internal tokens is recorded in an “internal blockchain,” “transactions recorded on the internal and external blockchains are reconciled with each other from time to time,” thereby indicating that there exists a point in time when they are not reconciled, and a transaction recorded, or updated, in the internal blockchain is not yet reflected in the external blockchain).
Re Claim 3, Griffin discloses the method of claim 2, and Griffin further discloses further comprising:
in response to receiving a request associated with the second user to transfer ownership of the portion to a third user that is external to the transaction service ([0063] – “receives a request from a first user to transfer to a second user at least part of a float of internal cryptographic tokens.” Examiner notes this limitation is not a positively claimed, active step, at most, it provides a temporal limit to the subsequent limitation. Therefore, it cannot be given patentable weight, however, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided.), causing, by the computer system, recordation of an outgoing external transaction on the external blockchain that transfers the portion from the first user account to a third user account associated with the third user ([0059] – “recording the net change using only two transactions on the external blockchain 114: a first transaction in which the operator 108 sends the purchaser 104 75 tokens; and a second transaction in which the operator 108 sends the seller 106 25 tokens,” i.e. operator is analogous to a first user account and purchaser and seller are analogous to a second and/or third user).
Re Claim 4, Griffin discloses the method of claim 2, and Griffin further discloses further comprising:
in response to receiving a request associated with the second user to transfer ownership of a second digital asset to a third user that is external to the transaction service ([0063], Examiner notes this limitation is not a positively claimed, active step, at most, it provides a temporal limit to the subsequent limitation. Therefore, it cannot be given patentable weight, however, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided.), causing, by the computer system, recordation of a set of outgoing external transactions on the external blockchain that transfers [0057] – “In some example embodiments, there is a one-to-one mapping between the transactions stored on the sidechain 112 and the transactions stored on the external blockchain 114”:
a first portion of the second digital asset from the first user account to a third user account associated with the third user [0059] – “a first transaction in which the operator 108 sends the purchaser 104 75 tokens”; and
a second portion of the second digital asset from the second user account to the third user account [0059] – “a second transaction in which those 100 tokens are then transferred from the seller 106 to the purchaser 104.”
Re Claim 5, Griffin discloses the method of claim 2, and Griffin further discloses further comprising:
in response to receiving a request associated with the second user to transfer ownership of a subportion of the portion to a third user that is external to the transaction service ([0063], Examiner notes this limitation is not a positively claimed, active step, at most, it provides a temporal limit to the subsequent limitation. Therefore, it cannot be given patentable weight, however, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided.), causing, by the computer system, recordation of a set of outgoing external transactions on the external blockchain that transfers ([0059] – “recording the net change using only two transactions on the external blockchain 114”):
the subportion of the portion from the first user account to a third user account associated with the third user ([0059] – “a first transaction in which the operator 108 sends the purchaser 104 75 tokens”); and
a remaining subportion of the portion from the first user account to the second user account ([0059] – “a second transaction in which the operator 108 sends the seller 106 25 tokens”).
Re Claim 6, Griffin discloses the method of claim 2, and Griffin further discloses further comprising:
transferring, by the computer system in a second internal transaction recorded on the internal ledger, ownership of the portion to a third user of the transaction service that is associated with a third user account ([0059] – “the sidechain 112 may store…a second transaction in which those 100 tokens are then transferred from the seller 106 to the purchaser 104”), wherein the third user account is used on the external blockchain and the second internal transaction is not recorded on the external blockchain ([0059] – “Instead of recording three transactions in the external blockchain 114…recording the net change using only two transactions on the external blockchain 114,” the transaction between the seller and purchaser is not recorded. Examiner notes that the wherein clause merely provides context to the third user account and the second internal transaction without positively reciting any active method step(s) or computer operation(s). The third user account being used on the external blockchain and the second internal transaction not being recorded on the external blockchain do not meaningfully limit how the ownership of the portion is transferred to a third user. Therefore, the wherein clause cannot be given patentable weight see MPEP 2111.04. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided.); and
causing, by the computer system, recordation of a single outgoing external transaction on the external blockchain that transfers the portion from the first user account to the third user account ([0059] – “recording the net change…on the external blockchain 114: a first transaction in which the operator 108 sends the purchaser 104 75 tokens.).
Re Claim 8, Griffin discloses the method of claim 2, and Griffin further discloses wherein the internal ledger specifies, for the internal transaction, a blockchain address of the first user account and a blockchain address of the second user account ([0037]. Examiner notes this is merely content of information. The internal transaction merely serves as a support for the content, i.e. blockchain addresses, without meaningfully limiting how the ownership of at least a portion of the digital asset is transferred. Therefore, this limitation is considered nonfunctional descriptive language see MPEP 2111.05. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided).
Re Claim 9, Griffin discloses the method of claim 2, and Griffin further discloses wherein the incoming external transaction includes a cryptographic indicator associated with the first user [0037], [0044] while the internal transaction includes a noncryptographic indicator associated with the second user [0060].
Examiner notes this is merely content of information. The external and internal transactions merely serve as a support for the content, i.e. indicators, without meaningfully limiting any of the method steps and/or computer operations. Therefore, this limitation is considered nonfunctional descriptive language see MPEP 2111.05. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided.
Re Claims 10-11, they are the computer-readable medium claims of method claims 2-4. They recite similar distinguishing features as claims 2-4. Furthermore, Griffin discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon computer program code that is executable by a processor and that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the disclosed aspects of the method or suitable combinations thereof [0022]. Therefore, claims 10-11 are rejected for similar reasons above.
Re Claim 13, Griffin discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, and Griffin further discloses wherein the indication of the incoming external transaction including an indication of a public key of a cryptographic key pair associated with the first user account [0037, 40, 41, 43, 50].
Examiner notes this is merely content of information. The content of the indication does not meaningfully limit how it is received. Therefore, this limitation is considered nonfunctional descriptive language see MPEP 2111.05. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided.
Re Claim 15, Griffin discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, and Griffin further discloses wherein the request associated with the first user includes an account indicator linked to the second user, and wherein the account indicator is not linked to the external blockchain ([0008] – “The request may comprise a message indicating funds are to be paid from the purchaser to the seller,” [0040] – funds could be internal tokens, which are recorded in an “internal blockchain,” i.e. not linked to the external blockchain).
Examiner notes this is merely content of information. The content of the request does not meaningfully limit how it is received. Therefore, this limitation is considered nonfunctional descriptive language see MPEP 2111.05. However, for purposes of compact prosecution, prior art is provided.
Re Claims 16-18 and 21, they are the system claims of method claims 2-3, 5, and 9. They recite similar distinguishing features as claims 2-3, 5, and 9. Furthermore, Griffin discloses at least one processor and memory Fig. 2, [0021]. Therefore, claims 16-18 and 21 are rejected for similar reasons above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 12, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin et al. WO 2020/124199 (herein as “Griffin”) in view of Walgenbach WO 2020/104961.
Re Claim 5, Griffin discloses the method of claim 2, however, Griffin does not expressly disclose further comprising:
storing, by the computer system for the first and second user accounts, respective private keys for generating digital signatures for transactions on the external blockchain that involve the first user account or the second user account, wherein the private keys are stored such that the first and second users cannot access the private keys.
Walgenbach discloses systems and methods that enable transacting in cryptographic currencies. Specifically, Walgenbach discloses
storing, by the computer system for the first and second user accounts, respective private keys for generating digital signatures for transactions on the external blockchain that involve the first user account or the second user account, wherein the private keys are stored such that the first and second users cannot access the private keys pg., 34, lines 4-9, pg. 42, lines 13-18.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Griffin’s method and system for transferring cryptographic tokens with the teachings of storing private keys on the blockchain such that the users cannot access the private keys in Walgenbach. One would be motivated to make this combination to control what type of tasks should or should not be executed Walgenbach, pg. 28, lines 1-3.
Re Claim 12, it is the computer-readable medium claim of method claim 7. Furthermore, Griffin discloses using a private key to digitally sign the transaction, thereafter the signed transaction is recorded on the blockchain [0037]. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for similar reasons above.
Re Claim 14, Griffin discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, however, Griffin does not expressly disclose wherein the operations further comprise:
causing presentation of user interfaces to the first and second users reflecting the transfer of the portion of the digital asset indicated in the internal ledger without recording the internal transaction on the external blockchain.
Walgenbach discloses systems and methods that enable transacting in cryptographic currencies. Specifically, Walgenbach discloses
causing presentation of user interfaces to the first and second users reflecting the transfer of the portion of the digital asset indicated in the internal ledger without recording the internal transaction on the external blockchain pg. 56, lines 10-11 – “The user interface 200 of the crypto ATM 20 displays the user’s 22 crypto balance,” a user’s balance would reflect any transfers previously conducted. Walgenbach does not disclose that the user interface is presented by recording the internal transaction on the external blockchain. Therefore, causing presentation of user interfaces is performed without recording the internal transaction on the external blockchain.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Griffin’s method and system for transferring cryptographic tokens with the teachings of causing presentation of user interfaces to the first and second users reflecting the transfer of the portion of the digital asset indicated in the internal ledger without recording the internal transaction on the external blockchain in Walgenbach. One would be motivated to make this combination to allow the user to confirm the correctness of their banking details Walgenbach, pg. 56, lines 16-18.
Re Claim 19, it is the system claim of computer-readable medium claim 14. It recites similar distinguishing features as claim 14. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for similar reasons above.
Re Claim 20, it is the system claim of method claim 7. Furthermore, Griffin discloses using a private key to digitally sign the transaction, thereafter the signed transaction is recorded on the blockchain [0037]. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3698