Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 20160140905) in view of Shan (US 20220076643) and Yang (US 20220093059).
Regarding claim 1 Yoo teaches a method for evaluating a lifespan of an organic light emitting display panel ([0024]), the method comprising:
aging an organic light emitting display panel, including first light emitting elements for emitting a first color, second light emitting elements for emitting a second color, and third light emitting elements for emitting a third color (fig. 1, fig. 3, R G B [0053]),
during a preset aging period (fig. 5, condition S30) by displaying the first color in a first pattern area (fig. 5, s30, fig. 6, pattern 110) of the organic light emitting display panel and displaying [[a fourth color]] in a second pattern area of the organic light emitting display panel (fig. 5, S20 for first pattern area, second pattern area);
measuring luminances of the first pattern area and the second pattern area by displaying the first color in the first pattern area and the first color in the second pattern area during a measurement period ([0076] The control unit 20 may further include an average luminance calculation unit (not shown) also see [0074]) after the aging period (fig.5, when S30 is Yes), [[while displaying the fourth color, which is different]] from the first color, in the second pattern area during the preset aging period; and
calculating a lifespan of the first light emitting elements (fig. 5, [0082] FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating a method of driving a display device according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 5, according to the method of driving the display device according to the present embodiment, the lifespan calculation unit 21 may perform (or include) the operation S10 of analyzing data used in the pixel blocks) based on the measured luminance of the first pattern area and the measured luminance of the second pattern area ([0076] The control unit 20 may further include an average luminance calculation unit (not shown), and the average luminance calculation unit may measure the average luminance of each of the pixel blocks),
wherein the calculating of the lifespan of the first light emitting elements (fig. 5, [0082] comprises:
Yoo is silent on displaying a fourth color in a second pattern;
calculating a luminance difference between the first pattern area and the second pattern area; and calculating the lifespan of the first light emitting elements based on the luminance difference.
However, Shan teaches displaying a fourth color in a second pattern ([0073] This application considers all hues from 0° to 360°. When divided evenly, they are divided into six hues, namely red, green, blue, yellow i.e. fourth color, cyan, and magenta also see fig.11, for yellow area pattern);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Yoo in light of Shan teaching so that it may include displaying a fourth color in a second pattern.
The motivation is to provide a driving method and system for a display panel, and a display device, which can effectively improve the color shift issue with the display panel.
Further Yang teaches calculating a luminance difference between the first pattern area and the second pattern area (Claim 20 herein the image processing circuitry is configured to determine the panel-specific aging profile based on luminance difference between a first measured luminance of first reference pixel and a second measured luminance of the second reference pixel) and
calculating the lifespan of the first light emitting elements based on the luminance difference (Claim 20 herein the image processing circuitry is configured to determine the panel-specific aging profile. i.e. lifespan based on luminance difference between a first measured luminance of first reference pixel and a second measured luminance of the second reference pixel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Yoo in light of Yang teaching so that it may include calculating a luminance difference between the first pattern area and the second pattern area; and calculating the lifespan of the first light emitting elements based on the luminance difference.
The motivation is to provide image data processing and compensating for pixel burn-in/aging of pixels of an electronic display.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 are allowed.
Claim 5 is allowed as none of the prior art teaches “during a preset aging period by displaying white color in a first pattern area of the organic light emitting display panel and displaying fourth, fifth, and sixth colors in second, third, and fourth pattern areas of the organic light emitting display panel, respectively;”
Claim 10 is allowed as none of the prior art teaches “wherein, in the aging period, only the first light emitting elements among the first to third emitting elements in the first pattern area emit light, only the second and third light emitting elements among the first to third emitting elements in the second pattern area emit light, the second light emitting elements emit light in a third pattern area of the organic light emitting display panel, the first and third light emitting elements emit light in a fourth pattern area of the organic light emitting display panel, the third light emitting elements emit light in a fifth pattern area of the organic light emitting display panel, and the first and second light emitting elements emit light in a sixth pattern area of the organic light emitting display panel, in the measurement period, the first light emitting elements emit light in the first pattern area and the second pattern area, the second light emitting elements emit light in the third and fourth pattern areas, and the third light emitting elements emit light in the fifth and sixth pattern areas, the luminance measuring device measures luminances of the third to sixth pattern areas during the measurement period, wherein the lifespan calculating device calculates a lifespan of the second light emitting elements based on a difference between the measured luminance of the third pattern area and the measured luminance of the fourth pattern area, and calculates a lifespan of the third light emitting elements based on a difference between the measured luminance of the fifth pattern area and the measured luminance of the sixth pattern area.”
Claims 2-4, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: Applicant argues Yoo does not teach “preset aging period” “measurement period” Shan does not teach teaches “displaying a fourth color in a second pattern” and Yang does not teach calculating a luminance difference between the first pattern area and the second pattern area and calculating the lifespan of the first light emitting elements based on the luminance difference.
Examiner responds: The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yoo does teach preset aging period in fig. 5, condition S30, and measurement period in in [0076] The control unit 20 may further include an average luminance calculation unit (not shown) obviously calculating luminance has to happen in a time period.
Shan does teach teaches “displaying a fourth color in a second pattern” in [0073] This application considers all hues from 0° to 360°. When divided evenly, they are divided into six hues, namely red, green, blue, yellow i.e. fourth color, cyan, and magenta also see fig.11 for fourth color such as yellow in the second pattern.
Yang does teach calculating a luminance difference between the first pattern area and the second pattern area in Claim 20 wherein the image processing circuitry is configured to determine the panel-specific aging profile based on luminance difference between a first measured luminance of first reference pixel and a second measured luminance of the second reference pixel.
and calculating the lifespan of the first light emitting elements based on the luminance difference in Claim 20 wherein the image processing circuitry is configured to determine the panel-specific aging profile. i.e. lifespan based on luminance difference between a first measured luminance of first reference pixel and a second measured luminance of the second reference pixel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee US 11984068
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625