DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This non-final Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 8/14/25 which canceled claim 1 and added new claims 2-21. Claims 2-21 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,842,761. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are not material to patentability. The instant claims are a subset of the patented claims and are therefore anticipated by the patented claims. For example, instant claim 2 contains the language of patented claim 1 in addition to mode language which adds a mode where only a single row is open at a time. Otherwise the claims are essentially identical.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 5-7, 9, 12-14, 16, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0133186 to HUMMLER et al.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, HUMMLER shows the claimed memory component as memory 210 in Figs. 2, 4, and 6. He shows the claimed circuitry to receive commands for row access as row decoding circuitry 412 in Fig. 4 and row decoding circuitry 612 in Fig. 6. He shows the claimed circuitry to receive a column access command as column decoding circuitry 414 in Fig. 4 and column decoding circuitry 614 in Fig. 6.
HUMMLER discloses plural modes at paragraph 0063 where he teaches that in one mode, multiple memory cell rows are activated and in another mode, only one memory cell row is activated. He teaches that memory controller 204 (shown in Figs. 2, 4, and 6) and control circuitry 402 (shown in Fig. 4) cooperate to control which mode is used by setting various values in the mode registers of control circuitry 402 (see 0033, 0052, and 0054).
As clearly taught by HUMMLER at 0033, “Control circuitry 402 for one or more embodiments may identify to row decoding circuitry 412 a page length or a burst length for the memory access initiated for block 302 to help identify the number of rows to be activated for the memory access” (emphasis added).
Paragraphs such as 0028 and 0069 clearly teach that HUMMLER’s device simultaneously opens plural rows in a single bank. This is also shown in block 304 in Fig. 3 and block 504 in Fig. 5.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, HUMMLER’s device uses a different number of command/address signals in each mode as claimed.
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, HUMMLER’s device operates as claimed, since fewer cycles are required when only a single row is open.
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 21, HUMMLER discloses the claimed mode register as mentioned above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 8, 10, 11, 15, 17, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Note
It is noted that any citations to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2123.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this Office action should be directed to the Examiner by phone at (571) 272-4214.
Any response to this Office action should be labeled appropriately (including serial number, Art Unit 2132, and type of response) and mailed to Commissioner for Patents, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450; hand-carried or delivered to the Customer Service Window at the Knox Building, 501 Dulany Street, Alexandria, VA 22314; faxed to (571) 273-8300; or filed electronically using the Patent Center.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about the Patent Center and visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Kevin Verbrugge/
Kevin Verbrugge
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2132