DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. If Applicant fails to provide a sufficiently descriptive title, Examiner will do so upon allowance of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2020/0258967).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display panel comprising: a substrate comprising a component area, a main display area at least partially surrounding the component area, and a non-display area at least partially surrounding the main display area (figs. 1-3, ¶ 45-51, sensor area SA, main display area DA, and non-display area NDA2; see also ¶ 67-72);
main pixels in the main display area, comprising main light-emitting diodes, and configured to perform active matrix driving (figs. 1-3, ¶ 45-51, main pixels Pm driven by an active matrix method; see also ¶ 67-72, fig. 4, ¶ 77-85);
auxiliary pixels in the component area, comprising auxiliary light-emitting diodes, and configured to perform passive matrix driving (figs. 1-3, ¶ 45-51, auxiliary pixels Pa driven by a passive matrix method; see also ¶ 67-72, ¶ 77-78, fig. 5, ¶ 102-105);
and a driver in the non-display area and comprising a scan driver and a data driver, wherein the auxiliary light-emitting diodes of the auxiliary pixels are directly connected to the driver (figs. 1-3, ¶ 45-51; see also ¶ 67-78, scan and data driving circuits directly provide a voltage to drive auxiliary pixels Pa; fig. 5, ¶ 102-105; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses a plurality of first electrodes spaced apart from each other in the component area and extending in a first direction (figs. 5-6, ¶ 102-108, horizontal electrodes Hn; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161);
a plurality of auxiliary scan lines connecting the plurality of first electrodes to the scan driver (figs. 5-6, ¶ 102-108; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161, auxiliary scan lines SL’);
a plurality of second electrodes spaced apart from each other in the component area and extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (figs. 5-6, ¶ 102-108, vertical electrodes Vn; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161);
and a plurality of auxiliary data lines connecting the plurality of second electrodes to the data driver (figs. 5-6, ¶ 102-108; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161, auxiliary data lines DL’),
wherein the auxiliary light-emitting diodes are in areas where the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes intersect each other (figs. 5-6, ¶ 102-108; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161, auxiliary pixels located where horizontal and vertical electrodes intersect).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein one of the auxiliary light-emitting diodes comprises an auxiliary pixel electrode in an area where one of the plurality of first electrodes and one of the plurality of second electrodes intersect each other (figs. 5-8, ¶ 102-108, e.g., vertical electrodes Vn may constitute a part of the pixel electrode; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161, auxiliary pixels located where horizontal and vertical electrodes intersect),
an auxiliary intermediate layer on the auxiliary pixel electrode (figs. 5-8, ¶ 102-108, e.g., intermediate layer between vertical and horizontal electrodes; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161),
and a portion of the first electrode overlapping the auxiliary pixel electrode (figs. 5-8, ¶ 102-108, e.g., horizontal electrodes Hn constitute part of the counter electrode; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses a bank layer on the auxiliary pixel electrode and covering an edge portion of the auxiliary pixel electrode, wherein the plurality of first electrodes are spaced apart from each other with the bank layer therebetween (figs. 7-8, ¶ 139-141, pixel defining film 119).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses wherein the second electrode is under the auxiliary pixel electrode (figs. 5-8, ¶ 102-108, e.g., vertical electrodes Vn may constitute a part of the pixel electrode; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161, auxiliary pixels located where horizontal and vertical electrodes intersect; “under” is a relative term based on, e.g., orientation of display),
wherein one of the plurality of auxiliary data lines is under the second electrode (figs. 5-8, ¶ 102-108; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161, auxiliary data lines DL’; “under” is a relative term based on, e.g., orientation of display),
and the auxiliary pixel electrode is connected to the auxiliary data line through the second electrode (figs. 5-8, ¶ 102-108; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses wherein the second electrode is integrally formed with the auxiliary pixel electrode (figs. 5-8, ¶ 102-108, e.g., vertical electrodes Vn may constitute a part of the pixel electrode; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161, auxiliary pixels located where horizontal and vertical electrodes intersect).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses wherein the second electrode is integrally formed with one of the plurality of auxiliary data lines (figs. 5-6, ¶ 102-108; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161, auxiliary data lines DL’ directly connected to vertical electrodes).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses wherein at least some of the plurality of auxiliary scan lines extend along a circumference of the main display area and are connected to the scan driver (figs. 5-6, ¶ 102-108; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161, auxiliary scan lines SL’ extend to scan driver 120’).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses wherein the driver further comprises an auxiliary driver, wherein the auxiliary light-emitting diodes of the auxiliary pixels are separated from the scan driver and the data driver and are connected to the auxiliary driver (fig. 9, ¶ 159-161, auxiliary scan and data driving circuits disclosed; see also fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses a display panel comprising: a substrate comprising a component area, a main display area at least partially surrounding the component area, and a non-display area at least partially surrounding the main display area (figs. 1-3, ¶ 45-51, sensor area SA, main display area DA, and non-display area NDA2; see also ¶ 67-72);
a main light-emitting diode in the main display area (figs. 1-3, ¶ 45-51, main pixels Pm driven by an active matrix method; see also ¶ 67-72, fig. 4, ¶ 77-85);
an auxiliary light-emitting diode in the component area (figs. 1-3, ¶ 45-51, auxiliary pixels Pa driven by a passive matrix method; see also ¶ 67-72, ¶ 77-78, fig. 5, ¶ 102-105);
and a driver in the non-display area and comprising a scan driver and a data driver (figs. 1-3, ¶ 45-51; see also ¶ 67-78, scan and data driving circuits directly provide a voltage to drive auxiliary pixels Pa; fig. 5, ¶ 102-105; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161),
wherein the main light-emitting diode is connected to the driver through a pixel circuit comprising at least one thin-film transistor (figs. 1-3, ¶ 45-51, main pixels Pm driven by an active matrix method; see also ¶ 67-72, fig. 4, ¶ 77-85),
and the auxiliary light-emitting diode is directly connected to the driver (figs. 1-3, ¶ 45-51; see also ¶ 67-78, scan and data driving circuits directly provide a voltage to drive auxiliary pixels Pa; fig. 5, ¶ 102-105; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161).
Regarding claim 18, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Xie et al. (US 2021/0335907).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the bank layer comprises a first bank layer, wherein the plurality of first electrodes cover a part of the first bank layer (figs. 7-8, ¶ 139-141, pixel defining film 119).
Kim fails to disclose a second bank layer on the first bank layer, wherein the plurality of first electrodes are spaced apart from each other with the second bank layer therebetween.
Xie teaches a second bank layer on the first bank layer, wherein the plurality of first electrodes are spaced apart from each other with the second bank layer therebetween (¶ 38-39, pixel defining layer has two layers).
Kim and Xie are both directed to OLED display panels with pixel defining layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Kim with the plural bank layers of Xie since such a modification prevents residual ink from adhering to the top layer of the pixel defining layer (Xie, ¶ 39).
Regarding claim 6, Kim fails to disclose an anti-adhesive layer on a top surface of the bank layer.
Xie teaches an anti-adhesive layer on a top surface of the bank layer (¶ 38-39, pixel defining layer has hydrophobic layer).
Kim and Xie are both directed to OLED display panels with pixel defining layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Kim with the plural bank layers of Xie since such a modification prevents residual ink from adhering to the top layer of the pixel defining layer (Xie, ¶ 39).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Fan et al. (US 2023/0189600).
Regarding claim 10, Kim fails to disclose wherein a width of each of the plurality of first electrodes and each of the plurality of second electrodes in a first portion where the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes intersect each other is greater than a width of each of the plurality of first electrodes and each of the plurality of second electrodes in a second portion other than the first portion.
Fan teaches wherein a width of each of the plurality of first electrodes and each of the plurality of second electrodes in a first portion where the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes intersect each other is greater than a width of each of the plurality of first electrodes and each of the plurality of second electrodes in a second portion other than the first portion (fig. 2, ¶ 46, width of electrodes may be greater at intersections).
Kim and Fan are both directed to active matrix displays with passive matrix display regions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Kim with the variable width electrodes of Fan since such a modification provides an effective light-emitting unit (Fan, ¶ 46) and improves the light transmittance of the display region (Fan, ¶ 46).
Claims 12-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Xiong et al. (US 2024/0414998).
Regarding claim 12, Kim fails to disclose wherein the auxiliary light-emitting diodes are individually connected to the data driver.
Xiong teaches wherein the auxiliary light-emitting diodes are individually connected to the data driver (figs. 5-6, ¶ 52-61, signal cables 31 independently connected to driver chip).
Kim and Xiong are both directed to active matrix displays with passive matrix display regions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Kim with the device of Xiong since such a modification provides independent loading of a drive signal for display (Xiong, ¶ 55) and improves light transmittance and simplifies cabling complexity (Xiong, ¶ 59).
Regarding claim 13, Xiong further teaches a first electrode in the component area and extending in a first direction, wherein a plurality of auxiliary light-emitting diodes overlap the first electrode, and the plurality of auxiliary light-emitting diodes overlapping the first electrode are connected together to the scan driver through the first electrode (figs. 5-6, ¶ 52-61, signal cables 32 connected to each other to form a public electrode).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses wherein each of the main light-emitting diodes comprises a main pixel electrode, a main intermediate layer on the main pixel electrode, and a counter electrode on the main intermediate layer (figs. 7-8, ¶ 135-147),
and the auxiliary light-emitting diodes are separated from the scan driver and are connected to the counter electrode (figs. 5-8, ¶ 135-147; see also fig. 9, ¶ 159-161).
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 12.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Ma et al. (US 2025/0143110).
Regarding claim 16, Kim fails to disclose at least one dummy driving line adjacent to the component area, connected to the driver, and separated from the main pixels and the auxiliary pixels.
Ma teaches at least one dummy driving line adjacent to the component area, connected to the driver, and separated from the main pixels and the auxiliary pixels (figs. 8-10, ¶ 63-64, dummy line DL01).
Kim and Ma are both directed to display devices with optical component regions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Kim with the device of Ma since such a modification improves manufacturing efficiency and improves overall display uniformity (Ma, ¶ 64).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See attached Notice of References Cited.
/KEITH L CRAWLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626