Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) was/were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 14, 15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adachi et al. (U.S. Publication 2019/0368609), hereinafter “Adachi”.
In regards to claim 1, Adachi discloses a valve unit (para. [0019]), the valve unit comprising: a first body member (3), a second body member (5), and a control pressure line (31) defined by at least the first body member (3) and the second body member (5); and a sealing member (1),wherein the sealing member (1) is arranged between the first body member (3) and the second body member (5), wherein the sealing member (1) seals the control pressure line (31) from an external environment; and wherein the second body member (5) includes a collar section (43),wherein the collar section (43) projects towards the first body member (3),wherein the collar section (43) constrains the arrangement of the sealing member (1).
When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “for modulating pressure in a pneumatic braking system of a vehicle” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02.
In regards to claim 2, the collar section (43) is annularly shaped, and the sealing member (1) is disposed radially outwardly from the collar section (43).
In regards to claim 3, the collar section (43) is disposed circumferentially around and radially outward from the control pressure line (31).
In regards to claim 5, the first body member (3) includes a recess (35, 39), and the sealing member (1) is at least partially arranged within the recess (35, 39).
In regards to claim 6, the first body member (3) includes a flange (37); wherein the flange (37) projects towards the second body member (5);wherein the flange (37) defines at least two sealing member reception portions (35, 39); and wherein the sealing member (1) is disposed within the at least two sealing member reception portions (35, 39).
In regards to claim 7, the sealing member (1) has a C-shaped and/or H-shaped cross- section with a bridge section (69); and wherein the sealing member (1) spans the flange (37) with the bridge section (69).
In regards to claim 8, the first body member (3) includes a recess (35, 39); and wherein the flange (37) is arranged within the recess (35, 39).
In regards to claim 9, the flange (37) is radially outwardly arranged from the collar section (43).
In regards to claim 10, the sealing member (1) includes an inner sealing portion (63,69) and an outer sealing portion (67) disposed in the at least two sealing member reception portions (35, 39), wherein the outer sealing portion (67) is disposed circumferentially around and radially outward from the inner sealing portion (63).
In regards to claim 11, the inner sealing portion (63, 69) is, in a radial direction (R), wider than and the outer sealing portion (67).
In regards to claims 14 and 15, when reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “A pneumatic braking system for a vehicle” and “A vehicle comprising the pneumatic braking system” are not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02.
In regards to claim 18, the sealing member (1) has a C-shaped and/or H-shaped cross- section with a bridge section (69); wherein the sealing member (1) spans the flange (37) with the bridge section (69); wherein the first body member (3) includes a recess (35, 39); wherein the flange (37) is arranged within the recess (35, 39); wherein the flange (37) is radially outwardly arranged from the collar section (43).
In regards to claim 19, the flange (37) has an annular shape and is radially outwardly, circumferentially, and concentrically arranged with respect to the control pressure line (31).
In regards to claim 20, the flange (37) and the collar section (43) project in opposite axial directions.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muzzo et al. (U.S. Publication 2009/0085350), hereinafter “Muzzo”.
In regards to claim 1, Muzzo discloses a valve unit, the valve unit comprising: a first body member (10), a second body member (16), and a control pressure line (12, 22) defined by at least the first body member (10) and the second body member (16); and a sealing member (30),wherein the sealing member (30) is arranged between the first body member (10) and the second body member (16), wherein the sealing member (30) seals the control pressure line (12, 22) from an external environment; and wherein the second body member (16) includes a collar section (24),wherein the collar section (24) projects towards the first body member (10),wherein the collar section (24) constrains the arrangement of the sealing member (30).
When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “for modulating pressure in a pneumatic braking system of a vehicle” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02.
In regards to claim 2, the collar section (24) is annularly shaped, and the sealing member (30) is disposed radially outwardly from the collar section (24).
In regards to claim 4, the first body member (10) includes a recess (14), and the collar section (24) projects into the recess (14).
In regards to claim 16, the collar section (24) is annularly shaped, and the sealing member (30) is disposed radially outwardly from the collar section (24), wherein the collar section (24) is disposed circumferentially around and radially outward from the control pressure line (12, 22);wherein the first body member (10) includes a recess (14), and the collar section (24) projects into the recess (14); wherein the sealing member (30) is at least partially arranged within the recess (14).
In regards to claim 17, the sealing member (30) is arranged between the collar section (24) and a lateral surface of the recess (14);wherein the recess (14) constrains the arrangement of the sealing member (30) radially outwardly; wherein the collar section (24) constrains the arrangement of the sealing member (30) radially inwardly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronnhult et al. (U.S. Patent 3,977,734), hereinafter “Ronnhult” in view of Muzzo.
In regards to claim 1, Ronnhult discloses a valve unit, the valve unit comprising: a first body member (11), a second body member (10), and a control pressure line (26) defined by at least the first body member (11) and the second body member (10); and a sealing member (SM),wherein the sealing member (SM) is arranged between the first body member (11) and the second body member (10), wherein the sealing member (SM) seals the control pressure line (26) from an external environment.
Ronnhult does not specifically disclose that e second body member (16) includes a collar section, wherein the collar section projects towards the first body member, wherein the collar section constrains the arrangement of the sealing member.
However, Muzzo teaches a sealing system wherein a second body member (16) includes a collar section (24),wherein the collar section (24) projects towards the first body member (10),wherein the collar section (24) constrains the arrangement of the sealing member (30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have substituted the sealing system of Ronnhult for that of Muzzo as the simple substitution for one known sealing system for another with a reasonable expectation of success and to enhance seal quality as taught by Muzzo (para. [0058]).
In regards to claim 13, Ronnhult discloses a solenoid (6, 7) fluidly connected to the system.
Conclusion
/ROBERT K ARUNDALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753