DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“first determining unit”, “three-dimensional shape measuring machine”, and “second determining unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al. (JP 2009128325 A)(hereinafter, “Yoshida”).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida teaches an inspection device (discloses a defect inspection apparatus, figure 1, [0009]), comprising:
a camera (104) configured to capture an image of an inspection object (101) on a wafer (“inspecting a fine three -dimensional defect such as a wafer”, [0001] and [0009-0010]);
a first determining unit (105) configured to detect the inspection object from the image captured by the camera (captured by 104, performs image based detection before 3D inspection,[0009-0010]) and make a tentative determination of quality of the inspection object (“the defect candidate is not a true defect.”, discloses the initial image based result is preliminary, [0005] and [0010]);
a three-dimensional shape measuring machine (110) configured to measure a three-dimensional shape (measures height information, [0003] and [0009]) of the inspection object determined to be abnormal by the tentative determination(discloses identifies candidates with planar inspection and then sends selected candidates to the 3D system , [0004-0005] and [0010]); and
a second determining unit (111) configured to make a formal determination of the quality of the inspection object (discloses determine true defect, [0009] and [0012]) based on the three-dimensional shape ([0003] and [0012]) of the inspection object measured by the three dimensional shape measuring machine and the image captured by the camera ([0010]) or based on the three dimensional shape of the inspection object measured by the three-dimensional shape measuring machine (discloses stereoscopic inspection processing unit 111 determines defect based on height information, [0012]).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshida teaches an inspection method (discloses a defect inspection method and apparatus, [0001] and [0010]), comprising:
capturing an image of an inspection object on a wafer with a camera (captured by 104, performs image based detection before 3D inspection,[0009-0010]), detecting the inspection object (101) from the image ([0009-0010]), and making a tentative determination of quality of the inspection object(“the defect candidate is not a true defect.”, discloses the initial image based result is preliminary, [0005] and [0010]); and
measuring a three-dimensional shape (measures height information, [0003] and [0009]) of the inspection object determined to be abnormal by the tentative determination (discloses identifies candidates with planar inspection and then sends selected candidates to the 3D system , [0004-0005] and [0010]) with a three-dimensional shape measuring machine (110) and making a formal determination of the quality of the inspection object (discloses determine true defect, [0009] and [0012]) based on the three-dimensional shape of the inspection object measured by the three-dimensional shape measuring machine and the image captured by the camera ([0010]) or based on the three-dimensional shape of the inspection object measured by the three-dimensional shape measuring machine(discloses stereoscopic inspection processing unit 111 determines defect based on height information, [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (JP 2009128325 A)(hereinafter, “Yoshida”) in view of Hyakudomi et al. (US 2020/0033404 A1) (hereinafter, “Hyakudomi”).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida fails to disclose wherein the inspection object includes a needle mark formed on an electrode pad of the wafer when electrically inspecting the wafer using a test head.
Hyakudomi teaches wherein the inspection object includes a needle mark formed on an electrode pad (discloses needle mark on an electrode pad, [0009]) of the wafer when electrically inspecting the wafer (“an electrical signal is transmitted from the tester 50 to the devices formed on the wafer W via the contact probes 18a … thereby carrying out an inspection for the electrical characteristics”, [0055]) using a test head (tester 50, [0041] and [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate electrode pads and probe induced needle marks of Hyakudomi to Yoshida to improve the accuracy of detecting and evaluating defects.
Regarding claim 3, Yoshida teaches wherein the first determining unit (105) detects the image captured by the camera (captured by 104, performs image based detection before 3D inspection,[0009-0010]) and makes a tentative determination (“the defect candidate is not a true defect.”, discloses the initial image based result is preliminary, [0005] and [0010]).
Yoshida fails to disclose an area of a needle mark formed on the electrode pad.
Hyakudomi teaches an area of a needle mark formed on the electrode pad (discloses needle mark on an electrode pad, [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate electrode pads and probe induced needle marks of Hyakudomi to Yoshida to improve the accuracy of detecting and evaluating defects.
Regarding claim 4, Yoshida teaches wherein the second determining unit (111) makes a formal determination (discloses determine true defect, [0009] and [0012]) of quality based on a maximum pit depth (discloses stereoscopic inspection processing unit 111 determines defect based on height information, [0012]) measured by the three-dimensional shape measuring machine (110).
Yoshida fails to disclose the electrode pad.
Hyakudomi teaches the electrode pad (discloses electrode pad, [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate electrode pads and probe induced needle marks of Hyakudomi to Yoshida to improve the accuracy of detecting and evaluating defects.
Regarding claim 5, Yoshida teaches an alignment unit (XY stage 102) configured to acquire a positional relationship (discloses positional information used to coordinate the planar inspection and 3D inspection, [0010-0012]) between the camera (104) and the three-dimensional shape measuring machine (110).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshida teaches wherein the alignment unit (XY stage 102) acquires a positional relationship (discloses positional information used to coordinate the planar inspection and 3D inspection, [0010-0012]) between the camera (104) and the three-dimensional shape measuring machine (110) based on measurement results of an alignment mark (“using the defect position, the corresponding measurement… and the measurement pitch”, [0012]) by the camera and the three-dimensional shape measuring machine (discloses image data from the optical system and height information image data from the measurement system, [0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshida fails to disclose wherein the inspection object includes a needle mark formed on an electrode pad of the wafer when electrically inspecting the wafer using a test head.
Hyakudomi teaches wherein the inspection object includes a needle mark formed on an electrode pad (discloses needle mark on an electrode pad, [0009]) of the wafer when electrically inspecting the wafer (“an electrical signal is transmitted from the tester 50 to the devices formed on the wafer W via the contact probes 18a … thereby carrying out an inspection for the electrical characteristics”, [0055]) using a test head (tester 50, [0041] and [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate electrode pads and probe induced needle marks of Hyakudomi to Yoshida to improve the accuracy of detecting and evaluating defects.
Regarding claim 9, Yoshida teaches further comprising: an alignment step of acquiring a positional relationship (discloses positional information used to coordinate the planar inspection and 3D inspection, [0010-0012]) between the camera (104) and the three-dimensional shape measuring machine (110).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshida teaches further comprising: measuring an alignment mark with the camera (104, discloses using an optical imaging system to obtain positional/image information, [0009-0010]); and
measuring the alignment mark with the three-dimensional shape measuring machine(110, discloses 3D/ height information measurement, [0009] and [0012]), wherein
in the alignment step, a positional relationship (discloses positional information used to coordinate the planar inspection and 3D inspection, [0010-0012]) between the camera (104) and the three-dimensional shape measuring machine (110) is acquired based on measurement results of the alignment mark by the camera and the three-dimensional shape measuring machine(discloses stereoscopic inspection processing unit 111 determines defect based on height information, [0012]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Strom (US 2006/0244438 A1) discloses imaging and analyzing probe induced scrub marks on wafer electrode pads to evaluate probing performance.
/C.X./ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877