Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/10/25 and 8/11/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 14, 15, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0352656 by Galley et al. (Galley).
With respect to claim 1, Galley teaches a method comprising:
detecting, at a workplace assistant client application on a client device (Paragraph 48 – functionalities implemented via application program), at least one received message associated with a remote user from among a plurality of remote users; (Paragraph 77, 81, 1 – message received from a user of plural users)
accessing a plurality of channels communicatively coupled to the workplace assistant client application; (Paragraph 86, 89-94, 122, 128 - channels include linguistic data from any source of conversational data, and non-linguistic data from sensor data and one or more databases of various types of user data)
submitting the at least one received message and additional information from the plurality of channels to predictive models to provide a multichannel context for the at least one received message; (Paragraph 122-124, Fig. 5 – the message, linguistic data and non-linguistic data (additional information from channels) is provided to a machine learning model to generate a context-sensitive response)
and generating, using output from the predictive models, a response message based at least in part on the multichannel context of the received message. (Paragraph 122-124, 132, Fig. 7 – the message, linguistic data and non-linguistic data (additional information from channels) is provided to a machine learning model to generate a context-sensitive response, set of example responses show in fig. 7)
With respect to claim 2, Galley teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising displaying, on the client device, the response message with a context panel indicating at least a portion of the multichannel context. (See Fig. 7 – 702 context, 706 response)
With respect to claim 7, Galley teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: accessing metadata including at least one of relationship, presence, relevance, group membership, active channels, mentions, or previous interactions; and generating the response message based at least in part based on the metadata. (Paragraph 84, 86, 89-94, 122, 128).
Claims 8, 9, 14, 15, 16 and 20 are similar in scope to claims 1, 2 and 7 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galley in view of US 2025/0131278 by Millen et al. (Millen).
With respect to claim 3, Galley teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the predictive models further comprise an intent detection model (Fig. 6, 7 – model detects intent as expressed by context that correspond to messages and responses). While Galley teaches general usage of machine learning models, Galley does not explicitly disclose a large language model and an urgency model.
Millen teaches using various machine learning models to assist in generating actions such as generating message data. This includes the use of an LLM and urgency models. (See Paragraphs 20, 22, 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the machine learning models of Galley include LLM and urgency models as in Millen. Using known machine learning models for the predictable result of assisting in generating message responses as desired in Galley would have been obvious.
With respect to claim 4, Galley as modifed teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising submitting the at least one received message and additional information to at least one of the large language model, the intent detection model, or the urgency model stored on the client device. (Based on the combination of claim 3, the message and additional information would be sent to the combined machine learning models as seen in Fig. 5 of Galley).
Claims 10, 11 are similar in scope to claims 3 and 4 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim(s) 5, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galley and Millen and in further view of US 2024/0184566 by Gabel et al. (Gabel).
With respect to claim 5, Galley as modified teaches the method of claim 4, wherein at least one of the large language model, the intent detection model, or the urgency model is trained at least in part using generic data and at least in part using user data stored in association with the workplace assistant client application. (Galley Paragraph 86, 89-94, 122, 128 - channels include linguistic data from any source of conversational data, and non-linguistic data from sensor data and one or more databases of various types of user data). While Galley implies the security of collected user data (Paragraph 189 – consent to collect user data), Galley does not explicitly disclose using secured user data.
Gabel teaches learning models may be trained in part using generic data and in part using secured user data (Paragraphs 61-62 – large scale learning using general data combined with training on user data that is possibly private/confidential).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the training in Galley include both generic and secured data as in Gabel. One would be motivated to have this as it is beneficial to train with both types of data (Gable Paragraph 61).
Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 5 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim(s) 6, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galley in view of US 2023/0126090 by Nieuwegiessen (Nieuwegiessen).
With respect to claim 6, Galley teaches the method of claim 1, and discloses wherein the plurality of channels include conversational data sources including social media sources and other sources. (Paragraph 37-40, 64 – galley’s primary example of sources of conversational data is social media but also indicates generically one or more sources of conversational data).
While it is implied that “one or more sources of conversational data” may include sources such as email, chat and teleconferencing, such sources are not explicitly stated by Galley. Nieuwegiessen explicitly teaches a response generating system that includes email, chat and teleconferencing channels that can provide message data (Paragraph 2, 24-27, 29-31, Fig. 1 – any disparate electronic communication channel with data types including text, video and audio)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the conversational data sources of Galley include email, chat and teleconferencing as taught in Nieuwegiessen. Using known sources of conversational data to provide conversational data as desired in Galley for generating responses would have been obvious.
Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 6 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galley in view of Millen and in view of Nieuwegiessen.
With respect to claim 17, Galley teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the predictive models further comprise an intent detection model (Fig. 6, 7 – model detects intent as expressed by context that correspond to messages and responses). While Galley teaches general usage of machine learning models, Galley does not explicitly disclose a large language model and an urgency model.
Millen teaches using various machine learning models to assist in generating actions such as generating message data. This includes the use of an LLM and urgency models. (See Paragraphs 20, 22, 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the machine learning models of Galley include LLM and urgency models as in Millen. Using known machine learning models for the predictable result of assisting in generating message responses as desired in Galley would have been obvious.
Galley further teaches wherein the plurality of channels include conversational data sources including social media sources and other sources (Paragraph 37-40, 64 – galley’s primary example of sources of conversational data is social media but also indicates generically one or more sources of conversational data).
While it is implied that “one or more sources of conversational data” may include sources such as email, chat and teleconferencing, such sources are not explicitly stated by Galley. Nieuwegiessen explicitly teaches a response generating system that includes email, chat and teleconferencing channels that can provide message data (Paragraph 2, 24-27, 29-31, Fig. 1 – any disparate electronic communication channel with data types including text, video and audio)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the conversational data sources of Galley include email, chat and teleconferencing as taught in Nieuwegiessen. Using known sources of conversational data to provide conversational data as desired in Galley for generating responses would have been obvious.
With respect to claim 18, Galley as modified teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the code is executable for causing the processor to submit the at least one received message and additional information to at least one of the large language model, the intent detection model, or the urgency model stored on the client device. (Based on the combination of claim 17, the message and additional information would be sent to the combined machine learning models as seen in Fig. 5 of Galley).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galley, Millen, and Nieuwegiessen as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Gabel.
With respect to claim 19, Galley as modified teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18 wherein the code is executable for causing the processor to train at least one of the large language model, the intent detection model, or the urgency model at least in part using generic data and user data stored in association with the workplace assistant client application. (Galley Paragraph 86, 89-94, 122, 128 - channels include linguistic data from any source of conversational data, and non-linguistic data from sensor data and one or more databases of various types of user data). While Galley implies the security of collected user data (Paragraph 189 – consent to collect user data), Galley does not explicitly disclose using secured user data.
Gabel teaches learning models may be trained in part using generic data and in part using secured user data (Paragraphs 61-62 – large scale learning using general data combined with training on user data that is possibly private/confidential).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the training in Galley include both generic and secured data as in Gabel. One would be motivated to have this as it is beneficial to train with both types of data (Gable Paragraph 61).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,348,476. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-20 of U.S. patent 12,348,476 contain every element of claims 1-20 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claims of the instant application. Claims 1-20 of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent/application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim. "A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim." In re Lonqi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651.
Conclusion
/DAVID R LAZARO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455