DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 11 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-10 are drawn to a method for providing automated payment processing and posting, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. process). Claims 11-20 are drawn to a system for providing automated payment processing and posting, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. machine).
Step 2A | Prong One
Claims 1-10 (Group I) recite a computer implemented method for providing automated payment processing and posting, the method comprising:
receiving a payment from a third party;
receiving a payment statement from the third party;
automatically reassociating the payment and the payment statement based on patient data in the payment and the payment statement; and
automatically posting, by a robotic process automation platform (MPEP § 2106.05(f), apply it), the reassociated payment and payment statement to a patient ledger of a practice management software wherein the robotic process automation platform (MPEP § 2106.05(f), apply it)comprises at least one virtual robot configured to interface with the robotic process automation platform (MPEP § 2106.05(f), apply it) to perform at least one of a data entry task, a transaction processing task, or a report generation task, and wherein the at least one virtual robot is configured to interact with a plurality of software interfaces by at least one of a rule-based programming, pixel triangulation, or screen scraping (MPEP § 2106.05(h), generally linking).
Claim 11 recites the same abstract idea and further recites:
a memory storing instructions (MPEP § 2106.05(f), apply it, MPEP § 2106.05(g), insignificant extra-solution activity); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (MPEP § 2106.05(f), apply it)….
The bolded limitations, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a certain method of organizing human activity because it recites fundamental economic practices, commercial or legal interactions, and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. Any limitations not identified above as part of the abstract idea are underlined and are deemed “additional elements,” and will be discussed in further detail below.
Furthermore, the abstract idea for Claims 11-20 is identical as the abstract idea for Claims 1-10 (Group I), they are just directed towards different statutory categories.
Dependent Claims 2-10 and 12-20 include other limitations, for example Claims 2 and 12 recite wherein reassociating the payment and the payment statement further includes matching the payment with the payment statement, Claims 3 and 13 recite wherein receiving the payment further includes receiving an electronic funds transfer, Claims 4 and 14 recite wherein the robotic process automation platform includes a platform configured to execute repeatable data gathering actions, Claims 5 and 15 recite wherein the robotic process automation platform includes a platform configured to execute repeatable input actions, Claims 6 and 16 recite wherein the payment includes a batch payment corresponding to a plurality of claims, Claims 7 and 17 recite wherein the payment includes a single payment corresponding to a single claim, Claims 8 and 18 recite wherein the method further comprises automatically capturing the payment from the third party, Claims 9 and 19 recite wherein the practice management software (MPEP § 2106.05(g), apply it) includes a computerized records management platform, and Claims 10 and 20 recite wherein the patient ledger includes a record of financial transactions associated with a patient, but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent Claims 1 and 11.
Step 2A | Prong Two
Furthermore, Claims 1-20 are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (i.e. the limitations not identified as part of the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception – for example, the recitation of a robotic process automation platform, practice management software, memory and processor, which amounts to merely invoking a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, e.g. see paragraphs [0038-0040] and [0061-0069] of the present Specification, see MPEP 2106.05(f);
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea – for example, the recitation of storing data, which amounts to an insignificant application, see MPEP 2106.05(g); and
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use – for example, the recitation of pixel triangulation, or screen scraping, which amounts to limiting the abstract idea to the environment of computers, see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Step 2B
Furthermore, the Claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the judicial exception because, the additional elements (i.e. the elements other than the abstract idea) amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, as demonstrated by:
The Specification expressly disclosing that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional in nature:
paragraphs [0038-0040] and [0061-0069] of the Specification discloses that the additional elements comprise a plurality of different types of generic computing systems that are configured to perform generic computer functions (i.e. storing data) that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry (i.e. healthcare);
Relevant court decisions: The following are examples of court decisions demonstrating well-understood, routine and conventional activities, e.g. see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II):
Storing and retrieving information in memory, e.g. see Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. – similarly, the current invention recites storing instructions data in a database and/or electronic memory.
Dependent Claims 2-10 and 12-20 include other limitations, but none of these functions are deemed significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements recited in the aforementioned dependent claims similarly represent no more than those recited at the apply it level. The dependent claims do not include an insignificant extra-solution activity.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to “significantly more” than the above-identified abstract idea. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, and there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, Claims 1-20 are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dowling (U.S. Pat. No. 10,586,019 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Dowling discloses a computer implemented method for providing automated payment processing and posting, the method comprising:
receiving a payment from a third party (Col. 8: lines 60- col. 9: line 10 state that payments are received from third parties, such as insurance companies.);
receiving a payment statement from the third party (Col 12: lines 25-45 state that the third party provides an Explanation of Benefits (EOB), construed as a payment statement from a third party.);
automatically reassociating the payment and the payment statement based on patient data in the payment and the payment statement (Col. 14: lines 48-67 state that the payer EOB and payment information is matched by the Reassociation and/or File Splitting module.);
automatically posting, by a robotic process automation platform, the reassociated payment and payment statement to a patient ledger of a practice management software (Col. 3: lines 22-32, col. 18: lines 34-62 and col. 19: lines 29-37 state that the patient account post information automatically regarding the patient’s transactions, which includes the EOBs and reassociated payment. Figure 1 shows the system implementing the steps, construed as platform.),
wherein the robotic process automation platform comprises at least one virtual robot configured to interface with the robotic process automation platform to perform at least one of a data entry task, a transaction processing task, or a report generation task Col. 14: lines 11-47 and col. 16: line 52- col. 17: line 2 state that system performs repeatable tasks, such as the automated importing of data periodically, construed as data entry.), and
wherein the at least one virtual robot is configured to interact with a plurality of software interfaces by at least one of rule-based programming, pixel triangulation, or screen scraping (Col. 2: lines 16-19 describe the system using rules-based logic, which is also shown in Figure 6C and 6D. Col. 12: lines 5-19 state that system using program logic and the interaction between the various parts of the system.).
Regarding claim 2, Dowling discloses wherein reassociating the payment and the payment statement further includes matching the payment with the payment statement (Col. 14: lines 48-67 state that the payer EOB and payment information is matched by the Reassociation and/or File Splitting module.).
Regarding claim 3, Dowling discloses wherein receiving the payment further includes receiving an electronic funds transfer (Col. 14: lines 51-53 state that the payment is an electronic funds transfer.).
Regarding claim 4, Dowling discloses wherein the robotic process automation platform includes a platform configured to execute repeatable data gathering actions (Col. 14: lines 11-47 and col. 16: line 52- col. 17: line 2 state that system repeats tasks, such as the automated importing of data periodically, construed as repeatable data gathering actions.).
Regarding claim 5, Dowling discloses wherein the robotic process automation platform includes a platform configured to execute repeatable input actions (Col. 14: lines 11-47 and col. 16: line 52- col. 17: line 2 state that system automatically performs the reassociation process, construed as including repeatable input actions.).
Regarding claim 7, Dowling discloses wherein the payment includes a single payment corresponding to a single claim (Col. 9: lines 22-48 and col. 19: lines 29-37 state that the payment is a single payment regarding payment of a medical claim.).
Regarding claim 8, Dowling discloses wherein the method further comprises automatically capturing the payment from the third party (Col. 8: lines 10-20 and col. 11: lines 59-66 state that the system can capture transfers or payments.).
Regarding claim 9, Dowling discloses wherein the practice management software includes a computerized records management platform (Col. 12: lines 35-41 state that the Websphere Message Broker is used to receive and analyze incoming files to route them accordingly.).
Regarding claim 10, Dowling discloses wherein the patient ledger includes a record of financial transactions associated with a patient (Col. 1: lines 66 – col. 2: line 20 states that the system using a ledger and col. 18: lines 52-62 state that the data file may contain patient level data, construed as a record of financial transactions associated with a patient.).2025Attorney Docket No. 317EP.001US01
Claim 11 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 1, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 11 further recites:
a memory storing instructions (Dowling col. 12: lines 5-24 state that system uses a memory that stores instructions to implement the steps.); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions… (Dowling col. 12: lines 5-24 state that server includes a transaction processor to execute the instructions.).
Claim 12 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 2, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 13 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 3, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 14 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 4, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 15 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 5, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 17 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 7, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 18 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 8, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 19 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 9, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim 20 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 2, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dowling in view of Ivanoff (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0193872 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Dowling does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the payment includes a batch payment corresponding to a plurality of claims.
Ivanoff teaches wherein the payment includes a batch payment corresponding to a plurality of claims (Paragraph [0189] discusses issues the payments in batches.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dowlingl to include batch processing, as taught by Ivanoff, in order to “facilitate payment transactions (Ivanoff, Paragraph [0189]).”
Claim 16 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 6, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered.
Rejection of the Claims Under 35 U.S.C. § 101
Regarding Step 2A, Prong One, Applicant asserts that the amendments to the independent claims “remove the claim from any potential realm of human activity” because “the claimed operations require coordinated interactions between at least one virtual robot, a robotic process automation platform, and a plurality of software interfaces to provide one or more efficient, accurate and secure payment processing and posting (Remarks, page 8).” Examiner maintains that the “virtual robot,” platforms and software interfaces are merely used a tool to implement the recited abstract idea, which is automating a previously manual activity.
The instant specification [0052] states:
The RPA system may use virtual robots (bots) to automate repetitive tasks. For example, RPA software robots may perform a variety of tasks, such as data entry, transaction processing, report generation, and other repetitive tasks. The RPA software robots may interact with an interface in the same way that a human would, to record and mimic human actions. For example, the RPA software robots may interact with a healthcare provider’s patient management software. The RPA software robots may complete data entry tasks, such as inputting the reassociated payment and payment information into the healthcare provider’s patient management software.
Mere automation of manual processes, such as using a generic computer to process an application for financing a purchase, Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1055, 123 USPQ2d 1100, 1108-09 (Fed. Cir. 2017) or speeding up a loan-application process by enabling borrowers to avoid physically going to or calling each lender and filling out a loan application, LendingTree, LLC v. Zillow, Inc., 656 Fed. App'x 991, 996-97 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential). See MPEP § 2105.05(a)(I). The improvement, if any, resulting from the claimed invention is to the abstract idea itself.
Regarding Step 2A, Prong Two, Applicant asserts that “amended claim 1, as a whole, demonstrates that the claim meaningfully limits the purported judicial exception, thus integrating it into a practical application and provide a technological solution to a technological problem (Remarks, page 9).” Examiner maintains that the additional elements do result in a practical application.
MPEP § 2106.04(d)(I) states limitations that the courts have found indicative of an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the exception into a practical application include:
An improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);
Implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).
The courts have also identified limitations that did not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application:
Merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f);
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, as discussed
in MPEP § 2106.05(g); and
Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological
environment or field of use, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(h).
While the claim is considered as a whole, it is the additional elements that are considered to determine whether the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. The additional elements, which include the hardware components, are not improved as a result of the claimed invention as they are merely used as a tool to implement the abstract idea.
There does not appear to be a technical problem with a technical solution. Furthermore, the additional elements, do not result in a practical application as they are recited an “apply it” level, recite insignificant extra-solution activity, and generally link the abstract idea to a computing environment.
Regarding Step B, Applicant asserts that the amended claims result in significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they are not well-understood, routine and conventional (Remarks, page 12). Examiner maintains that the limitations identified as additional elements, both alone or in combination do not result in significantly more than the abstract idea as they are recited at an “apply it” level, recite insignificant extra-solution activity and are merely generally linking.
Therefore, the claims remain rejected as being directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more.
Rejection of the Claims Under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot due to the new ground of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHELLE L REICHERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686