DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 6/11/2025 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zeigler et al. US 3191906 (“Zeigler”).
Regarding Claim 1, Ziegler discloses a valve (10, fig. 2) comprising: a housing (14) having a flow path of fluid (from inlet 32 to outlet 33) in the housing (14); and a valve body (18) provided rotatably with respect to the housing (rotatable about shaft 37), and configured to open and close (illustrated in fig. 2i a closed position) the flow path, wherein the housing has a housing seal surface (22) that surrounds the flow path (col. 2 lines 16-31, “a flow control valve with a novel valve plug having a V-shaped opening therein, the leading edges of the V- shaped opening cooperating with a sealing ring in the control valve with a scissors action, thus, tending to wipe the seating surface and cut any particles that would prevent tight valve seating.”), wherein the valve body (18) has a valve body seal surface (39), which is formed on an outer periphery portion of the valve body (18, see fig. 3) and faces the housing seal surface (22) when the valve body is located at a closing position for closing the flow path (see fig. 2), and wherein the valve body seal surface (39) faces a closing rotation direction of the valve body for closing the flow path, over an entire circumference of the outer periphery portion (col. 3 lines 46-55, “The seal means 22 comprise a washer-like member detachably connected between the casing 14 and an annular support 64. The seal means may be made from a hard, horny thermoplastic material, such as polyamides like nylon; polyhsalogenethylene material, such as Teflon or KEL-F; or from metal, for example, stainless steel. (36) The leading edge of the opening 20 in the valve plug cooperates with the seal means 22 with a scissors action to cut any particles that would prevent tight valve plug seating.“).
Regarding Claim 5, Ziegler discloses the valve body seal surface (39) has unevenness in a front-rear direction orthogonal to a circumferential direction of the outer periphery portion (as illustrated in the figures, the surface shape is not a round ball, it has a V shape (74, 75, 76).
Regarding Claim 6, Ziegler discloses the outer periphery portion (39) includes a return portion configured to cause the valve body seat surface (39) to face the closing rotation direction at a trailing end position of the valve body seal surface in the closing rotation direction (col. 3 lines 46-55, “The seal means 22 comprise a washer-like member detachably connected between the casing 14 and an annular support 64. The seal means may be made from a hard, horny thermoplastic material, such as polyamides like nylon; polyhsalogenethylene material, such as Teflon or KEL-F; or from metal, for example, stainless steel. (36) The leading edge of the opening 20 in the valve plug cooperates with the seal means 22 with a scissors action to cut any particles that would prevent tight valve plug seating.“).
Regarding Claim 7, Ziegler discloses the housing seal surface (22) holds a seal (22) extending along a circumferential direction of the housing seal surface (see fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Ziegler discloses the housing (14) includes a sealing tube (64) having the flow path in the sealing tube, and the housing seal surface (22) is formed on an end surface of the sealing tube (64).
Regarding Claim 9, Ziegler discloses the housing (14) includes a flat portion (upper and lower ends of the housing 14 that support the shaft 37 are flat, see ann. fig. 2) in a vicinity of a portion that axially supports the valve body (18).
ZIEGLER – ANNOTATED FIGURE 2
Regarding Claim 10, Ziegler discloses the valve body (18) includes a hemispherical main blocker (74, 75, 76) on an inner side of the outer periphery portion, and wherein the housing includes a spherical portion (ann. fig. 2), in which the main blocker of the valve body (18) that has opened the flow path stands by, at a position adjacent to the flat portion (ann. fig. 2) in a circumferential direction of the housing (14).
Regarding Claim 11, Ziegler discloses a valve (10, fig. 2) comprising: a housing (14) having a flow path of fluid (from inlet 32 to outlet 33) in the housing (14); and a valve body (18) provided rotatably with respect to the housing (rotatable about shaft 37), and configured to open and close (illustrated in fig. 2i a closed position) the flow path, wherein the housing has a housing seal surface (22) that surrounds the flow path (col. 2 lines 16-31, “a flow control valve with a novel valve plug having a V-shaped opening therein, the leading edges of the V- shaped opening cooperating with a sealing ring in the control valve with a scissors action, thus, tending to wipe the seating surface and cut any particles that would prevent tight valve seating.”), wherein the valve body (18) has a valve body seal surface (39), which is formed on an outer periphery portion of the valve body (18, see fig. 3) and faces the housing seal surface (22) when the valve body is located at a closing position for closing the flow path (see fig. 2), and wherein the valve body seal surface (39) faces a closing rotation direction of the valve body for closing the flow path, over an entire circumference of the outer periphery portion (col. 3 lines 46-55, “The seal means 22 comprise a washer-like member detachably connected between the casing 14 and an annular support 64. The seal means may be made from a hard, horny thermoplastic material, such as polyamides like nylon; polyhsalogenethylene material, such as Teflon or KEL-F; or from metal, for example, stainless steel. (36) The leading edge of the opening 20 in the valve plug cooperates with the seal means 22 with a scissors action to cut any particles that would prevent tight valve plug seating.“).A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The limitations of “a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a processing container configured to accommodate and process a substrate; an exhaust path connected to the processing container and configured to discharge a gas from the processing container; and a valve provided in the exhaust path and configured to control a flow of the gas in the exhaust path” lack structures because it reads broadly with regard to a system. There is a device or system that is upstream from the valve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shorback et al. US 11953113, Legris US 4172584, and Varden US 4634098 disclose ball valves.
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753