Double Patenting
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of non statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12107828. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations in each claim set relate to the same concept.
US Patent App. 19/235,251
US Patent 12341782
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more hardware processors, causes performance of operations comprising: transmitting, to a browser executed on a computing device of a user, a first set of media instructions that cause the browser to render a user interface for a client application; receiving, from the browser, a first set of upstream information entered via the user interface rendered by the browser, wherein the first set of upstream information comprises one or more user inputs to the client application;
determining that the user has permission to share the first set of upstream information; responsive to determining that the user has permission to share the first set of upstream information, transmitting the first set of upstream information to the client application for mimicking the one or more user inputs by the client application;
receiving, from the client application, a second set of media instructions, wherein the second set of media instructions represent the user interface of the client application updated based on the one or more user inputs; and
transmitting, to the browser, the second set of media instructions, wherein the second set of media instructions cause the browser to render the updated user interface of the client application.
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more hardware processors, causes performance of operations comprising:
receiving, from a client application, a first set of information for a user interface of a software application executed at a remote server, wherein the first set of information includes first content to be presented to a user of the client application;
determining that the user lacks permission to access at least a subset of the first content based on permissions for the user;
responsive to determining that the user lacks permission to access at least the subset of the first content, modifying the first content to remove at least the subset of the first content to generate a modified first content;
generating a first set of media instructions for a user browser, the first set of media instructions including the modified first content; and
transmitting, to the user browser at a computing device of the user, the first set of media instructions, wherein the first set of media instructions represent the user interface including the modified first content.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Litty (US Patent 11,611,482) in view of Koszek (US Patent Pub. 2019/0227857).
As per claims 1, 10 and 19: Litty discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more hardware processors, causes performance of operations comprising (see abstract):
transmitting, to a browser executed on a computing device of a user, a first set of media instructions that cause the browser to render a user interface for a client application (Col 5, lines 8-15; An image of the page is sent by surrogate browsing system 302 to client 102 (308). In some embodiments, the image sent to Alice is transcoded so that, for example, an attacker cannot send malicious pixels to Alice. When Alice interacts with the image via her browser 104, her events, such as mouse clicks and keyboard presses, are observed and transmitted by the JavaScript executing on client 102 to virtual machine 304 (310));
receiving, from the browser, a first set of upstream information entered via the user interface rendered by the browser, wherein the first set of upstream information comprises one or more user inputs to the client application (Col 5, lines 11-19; When Alice interacts with the image via her browser 104, her events, such as mouse clicks and keyboard presses, are observed and transmitted by the JavaScript executing on client 102 to virtual machine 304 (310). System 302 interprets the received events (e.g., by overlaying the position of the events on Alice's rendering of the page on top of the page as seen by system 302) and surrogate browser 306 takes the corresponding actions with respect to site 110, if applicable);
responsive to determining that the user has permission to share the first set of upstream information, transmitting the first set of upstream information to the client application for mimicking the one or more user inputs by the client application (Col 5, lines 20-26; if Alice attempts to click a link on the page she is viewing, her click event is sent to system 302 and browser 306 replicates Alice's click on site 110. If Alice is randomly clicking in white space, in some embodiments, the event is not replicated to site 110. As browser 306's view of the page changes (e.g., a new page is displayed due to following a link), updated images are streamed to Alice's browser 104);
receiving, from the client application, a second set of media instructions, wherein the second set of media instructions represent the user interface of the client application updated based on the one or more user inputs and transmitting, to the browser, the second set of media instructions, wherein the second set of media instructions cause the browser to render the updated user interface of the client application (Col 5, lines 24-26; browser 306's view of the page changes (e.g., a new page is displayed due to following a link), updated images are streamed to Alice's browser 104).
However, Litty does not specifically disclose determining that the user has permission to share the first set of upstream information (See Koszek; Paragraph 37; evaluates permissions on a static payload/data buffer during a discrete copy/paste action to determine if data can cross boundaries).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Litty and Koszek in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Litty for a surrogate browsing system by adopting Koszek's teaching for selecting the copy through a menu selection or keystroke combination. The motivation would have been to improve secure access via a remote client.
As per claims 2 and 11: The combination of Litty and Koszek discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the user interface of the client application comprises an interactive user interface of an operating system (See Litty, Col 3, lines 34-43; Fig 2A; FIG. 2A illustrates an embodiment of an interface as rendered in a browser. As shown, Alice has navigated to page 204 using her browser 104. Interface 200 is a web page served by system 106. Alice enters the URL of the page she wishes to securely visit (e.g., http://examplenews.com/solareclipse.html) by typing the URL into box 202 and selecting button 206. The services of system 106 can also be accessed in a variety of other ways).
As per claims 3 and 12: The combination of Litty and Koszek discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the one or more user inputs comprise at least one of: a text input, keyboard input, a pointer input, a voice input, a visual input, webcam, a biometric input, or an input from an input/output device (See Litty, Col 14, lines 47-51; the policy enforcement described as being performed on files can also be performed on other kinds of input, such as user input. For example, if Alice attempts to paste credit card numbers from her clipboard to a site such as pastebin.com, that input can be checked first, and blocked, as applicable).
As per claims 4 and 13: The combination of Litty and Koszek discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the first set of upstream information further comprises content (See Litty, Col 4, lines 45-55; the content displayed in interface 250 appears, to Alice, to be identical to the content that would have been shown to her if she had visited the page “examplenews.com/solareclipse.html” directly with her browser. As will be described in more detail below, system 106 has fetched the content from site 110 on behalf of Alice).
As per claims 5 and 14: The combination of Litty and Koszek discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 4, the content comprises information cut content, copied content, pasted content, or content output from a device (See Litty, Col 4, lines 45-55; FIG. 2B depicts interface 200 after Alice has typed (or copy and pasted) the URL “examplenews.com/solareclipse.html” into box 202 and pressed button 206. In some embodiments, the content displayed in interface 250 appears, to Alice, to be identical to the content that would have been shown to her if she had visited the page “examplenews.com/solareclipse.html” directly with her browser).
Claim(s) 6-9, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Litty (US Patent 11,611,482) in view of Koszek (US Patent Pub. 2019/0227857) and Xu (US Patent Pub. 20060021068).
As per claims 6 and 15: The combination of Litty and Koszek discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving, from the browser, a second set of upstream information entered via the user interface rendered by the browser (See Litty, Col 5, lines 8-15; An image of the page is sent by surrogate browsing system 302 to client 102 (308). In some embodiments, the image sent to Alice is transcoded so that, for example, an attacker cannot send malicious pixels to Alice. When Alice interacts with the image via her browser 104, her events, such as mouse clicks and keyboard presses, are observed and transmitted by the JavaScript executing on client 102 to virtual machine 304 (310));
determining that the user lacks permission to share at least a subset of the second set of upstream information (See Koszek; Paragraph 37; evaluates permissions on a static payload/data buffer during a discrete copy/paste action to determine if data can cross boundaries evaluates permissions on a static payload/data buffer during a discrete copy/paste action to determine if data can cross boundaries);
However, Litty in view of Koszek does not specifically disclose responsive to determining that the user lacks permission to share at least the subset of the second set of upstream information, generating a modified set of upstream information by removing at least the subset of the second set of upstream information; and transmitting the modified set of upstream information to the client application (See Xu, claim 11: permitting authorized use of a digital content file, the method comprising: generating a modified digital content file, said generating including: removing a portion of said digital content file; and replacing said portion with a header, said header including information enabling an authorized user to retrieve said removed portion; providing said modified digital content file to said authorized user; and providing said authorized user access to said removed portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Litty, Koszek and Xu in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Litty for a surrogate browsing system by adopting Xu's teaching for permitting authorized use of a digital content file. The motivation would have been to improve secure access via a remote client.
As per claims 7 and 16: The combination of Litty and Koszek discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 6, wherein determining that the user lacks permission to share at least the subset of the second set of upstream information comprises: scraping content included in the second set of upstream information (See Xu, claim 11: permitting authorized use of a digital content file, the method comprising: generating a modified digital content file, said generating including: removing a portion of said digital content file; and replacing said portion with a header, said header including information enabling an authorized user to retrieve said removed portion; providing said modified digital content file to said authorized user; and providing said authorized user access to said removed portion).
As per claims 8 and 17: The combination of Litty and Koszek discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 6, wherein generating the modified set of upstream information comprises: excluding at least the subset of the second set of upstream information based on user permissions (See Xu, claim 11: permitting authorized use of a digital content file, the method comprising: generating a modified digital content file, said generating including: removing a portion of said digital content file; and replacing said portion with a header, said header including information enabling an authorized user to retrieve said removed portion; providing said modified digital content file to said authorized user; and providing said authorized user access to said removed portion).
As per claims 9 and 18: The combination of Litty and Koszek discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 6, wherein the operations further comprise, responsive to determining that the user lacks permission to share at least the subset of the second set of upstream information:
transmitting, to the browser, a third set of media instructions, wherein the third set of media instructions cause the browser to render a notification indicating that sharing at least the subset of the second set of upstream information is restricted (See Litty, Col 5, lines 20-26if Alice attempts to click a link on the page she is viewing, her click event is sent to system 302 and browser 306 replicates Alice's click on site 110. If Alice is randomly clicking in white space, in some embodiments, the event is not replicated to site 110. As browser 306's view of the page changes (e.g., a new page is displayed due to following a link), updated images are streamed to Alice's browser 104).
As per claim 20: The combination of Litty and Koszek discloses the system of claim 19, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from the browser, a second set of upstream information entered via the user interface rendered by the browser (See Litty, Col 5, lines 8-15; An image of the page is sent by surrogate browsing system 302 to client 102 (308). In some embodiments, the image sent to Alice is transcoded so that, for example, an attacker cannot send malicious pixels to Alice. When Alice interacts with the image via her browser 104, her events, such as mouse clicks and keyboard presses, are observed and transmitted by the JavaScript executing on client 102 to virtual machine 304 (310));
determining that the user lacks permission to share at least a subset of the second set of upstream information (See Koszek; Paragraph 37; evaluates permissions on a static payload/data buffer during a discrete copy/paste action to determine if data can cross boundaries);
However Litty in view of Koszek does not specifically disclose responsive to determining that the user lacks permission to share at least the subset of the second set of upstream information, generating a modified set of upstream information by removing at least the subset of the second set of upstream information (See Xu, claim 11); transmitting the modified set of upstream information to the client application; responsive to determining that the user lacks permission to share at least the subset of the second set of upstream information, generating a modified set of upstream information by removing at least the subset of the second set of upstream information; and transmitting the modified set of upstream information to the client application (See Xu, claim 11: permitting authorized use of a digital content file, the method comprising: generating a modified digital content file, said generating including: removing a portion of said digital content file; and replacing said portion with a header, said header including information enabling an authorized user to retrieve said removed portion; providing said modified digital content file to said authorized user; and providing said authorized user access to said removed portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Litty, Koszek and Xu in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Litty for a surrogate browsing system by adopting Xu's teaching for permitting authorized use of a digital content file. The motivation would have been to improve secure access via a remote client.
Relevant Prior Art References
The following prior art is cited as being of interest to the claimed invention but has not been applied in any of the current rejections.
Yacov et al.- US Patent Publication 2022/0263835- the prior art teaches techniques for providing improved internet access security.
Petry et al.- US Patent Pub. 2019/0075130 - the prior art teaches techniques for accessing web resources.
Silverstein et al.- US Patent Pub. 2023/0026368 - the prior art teaches techniques for rendering websites through a virtual browser application environment.
Goradia et al.- US Patent Pub. 2024/0012904 - the prior art teaches techniques for realizing RBI protected browsing in a computer system.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408