Detailed Action
The Office Action is in response to claims filed on 6/11/2025 where claims 1-15 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites “the micro-service interfaces” which lacks antecedent basis. There is no mention of “the micro-service interfaces” in independent claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites “the prioritization rules” which lacks antecedent basis. There is no mention of “the prioritization rules” in independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN113467918) in view of McGaugh (US 20160104155)
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses A system for processing a credit-message request, the system comprising:
an orchestration engine configured to receive a credit-message request (Zhang; Zhang teaches receiving a transaction business message request, determining a business scenario from the received request, and invoking a combined service formed by orchestrating multiple microservices according to the determined business scenario. Thus , the disclosed functionality constitutes an orchestration engine receiving and evaluating the transaction -message request to determine and invoke the appropriate microservice chain;
see e.g. [0036]:
Although Zhang teaches receiving and processing a transaction message request, Zhang does not expressly identify the transaction message request as a credit request message request. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the transaction-processing system of Zhang to support a credit request message as an additional transaction message type, thereby complementing the system’s transaction-processing capabilities and increasing the breadth and utility of transaction services available to clients.
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the transaction processing system to support credit -message requests in resone to prevailing makret and business trends favoring expanded credit-transaction functionality and evolving client demand (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US, 398, 421 (2007)
);
a parser configured to extract transaction details from the credit-message request (Zhang; This feature is necessarily present as the credit-message request has to parsed for details in order to determine the orchestration of multiple microservices;
see e.g. [0036] - [0037]);
a micro- service identification module configured to identify one or more micro-services required to process the extracted transaction details (Zhang; This feature is necessarily present as microservices are identified to build the business scenario;
see e.g. [0036] – [0037])
a micro-service availability module configured to determine the availability of the identified micro-services by:
calling the selected micro-service to perform its respective function (Zhang;
see e.g. [0038]
See e.g. [0041]
);
processing the response received from the called micro-service (Zhang;
see e.g. [0052]
]);
repeating the determining, calling, and processing for the remainder of the identified micro-services (Zhang;
see e.g. [0056]
see e.g. [0062]
);
a confirmation module configured to generate a confirmation for the processed credit-message request (Zhang; Zhang does not expressly teach said feature, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the transaction processing system to generate a confirmation upon processing the credit -message request, thereby providing the requesting entity with assurance that the request was successfully processed, supporting compliance with applicable service level agreements, and eliminating uncertainty regarding transaction status to improve platform reliability and client satisfaction) and,
an output device controller configured to control an output device based on the confirmation of the processed credit-message request (Zhang; Zhang does not expressly disclose said feature, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate routing control into the transaction-processing system so that, in response to generation of the confirmation for the processed credit-message request, the system controls an appropriate output device by directing the confirmation to the proper destination or output channel, thereby completing the transaction-response flow and ensuring delivery of the confirmation to requesting entity).
As evidence of the rationale above McGaugh discloses:
confirmation module and output device controller (McGaugh; McGaugh teaches suitably configured data processors and network communication systems that generate a transaction-confirmation data set and control the respective output dev ices by routing the generated confirmation data set to selected mobile devices, merchant transaction processing systems, and/or account administration processing systems, thereby performing the claimed function of an output device controller configured to control an output device based on the confirmation of the processed transaction request;
see e.g. [0180] “... generate a transaction confirmation data set; and, using the same other network communication systems, route the transaction confirmation data sets to the respective mobile devices 106, merchant transaction processing systems 102, 103, and/or account administration processing system(s) ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate McGaugh’s confirmation infrastructure. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of transaction processing systems.
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able, through routine design optimization, to select the appropriate entity or entities to receive the confirmation message based on the intended transaction flow, system configuration, and recipient requirements.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of McGaugh disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the output device controller is further configured to generate and send an electronic message to a client device or administrator terminal indicating the status and results of the processed credit-message request (The combined solution per McGaugh; see e.g. [0180] “...to the respective mobile devices 106, merchant transaction processing systems 102, 103, and/or account administration processing system(s) ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate McGaugh’s confirmation infrastructure. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of transaction processing systems.
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able, through routine design optimization, to select the appropriate entity or entities to receive the confirmation message based on the intended transaction flow, system configuration, and recipient requirements.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 comprise the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of McGaugh and in further view of Cartwright (US 2021/0133761)
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of McGaugh disclose the system of claim 1, Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the micro-service availability module is further configured to: load prioritization rules for the micro-services; determine the queue status of each identified micro-service; assess the load on each identified micro- service; update the prioritization of the micro-services based on their current load and queue status; and, select the next micro-service to call based on the updated prioritization.
Cartwright discloses:
wherein the micro-service availability module is further configured to:
load prioritization rules for the micro-services (Cartwright; Cartwright assigns different action priorities and applies a priority rule under which an unprocessed action having a higher first priority displaces processing associated with a lower second priority, thereby providing prioritization rules governing which processing functionality receives precedence ([0095])
determine the queue status of each identified micro-service (Cartwright; Cartwright teaches a microservice maintaining an action queue that stores unprocessed request data objects ([0312]). Cartwright further teaches receiving the queue length with threshold, and determining the resulting queue relationship ([0096]). This functionality determines the status of the queue associated with the microservice. Applying that disclosed queue status determination to each identified microservice determines the respective queue status of each identified microservice);
assess the load on each identified micro- service;
update the prioritization of the micro-services based on their current load and queue status (Cartwright; Cartwright teaches prioritizing processing functionality ([0095]). Cartwright does not limit that prioritization to a one-time operation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able to repeat the disclosed prioritization during continued system operation—whether a second, third, fourth, or Nth subsequent time – using the then-current load and queue status information, thereby updating the prioritization of the microservices as successive processing decisions are made); and,
select the next micro-service to call based on the updated prioritization (Cartwright; Cartwright teaches selecting the higher processing functionality for execution over lower – priority processing ([0095)). Once the prioritization of the microservices is updated, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able to select the highest priority microservice as the next microservice to call, thereby implementing the updated priority order in the continued processing sequence).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cartwright’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of executing and managing microservices.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate McGaugh’s confirmation infrastructure. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of transaction processing systems.
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able, through routine design optimization, to select the appropriate entity or entities to receive the confirmation message based on the intended transaction flow, system configuration, and recipient requirements.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 2 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of McGaugh and in further view of Cartwright and in further view of Vlachogiannis (US 20150261622)
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of McGaugh and in further view of Cartwright disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising a prioritization adjustment module configured to dynamically adjust the prioritization rules based on one or more of real- time system load conditions, geographic location of the transaction, and transaction- specific parameters (The combined solution per Cartwright as Cartwright teaches prioritization rules that determine which processing functionality receives execution priority ([0095]) and further teaches determining current server-load and queue-length conditions ([0336] – [0337]), It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dynamically adjust the disclosed prioritization rules based on the current server-load conditions such that the criteria governing processing priority are modified as the real-time operating load changes, thereby maintaining efficient processing under changing system conditions)
As evidence of the rationale above Vlachogiannis discloses:
a prioritization adjustment module configured to dynamically adjust the prioritization rules based on one or more of real- time system load conditions (Vlachogiannis;
see e.g. [0078] “... The queue may be prioritized based on a variety of factors, such as for how long a dual-queue node has been inactive, usage trends ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Vlachogiannis’ scheme. The motivation being the combine solution provides for incorporating a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of executing and managing microservices.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate McGaugh’s confirmation infrastructure. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of transaction processing systems.
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able, through routine design optimization, to select the appropriate entity or entities to receive the confirmation message based on the intended transaction flow, system configuration, and recipient requirements.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 3 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of McGaugh and in further view of Song (US 20240095549)
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of McGaugh disclose the system of claim 1, Zhang does not expressly disclose further comprising a prediction module configured to predict future network traffic bottlenecks based on historical transaction patterns and dynamically adjust the micro-service prioritization in anticipation of future demand.
Song discloses:
a prediction module configured to predict future network traffic bottlenecks based on historical transaction patterns (Song;
see e.g. [0028] FIG. 2 is a flow diagram of a computerized method 200 of predictive analysis of transaction data using machine learning, using system 100 of FIG. 1. In some embodiments, the method 200 described herein can be separated into two phases: a model training phase and a model execution phase. Generally, during the training phase, server computing device 106 analyzes historical transaction data for one or more time periods to train a plurality of machine learning (ML) models to predict a likelihood of future transaction activity, where each ML model is trained on a different target transaction variable. Generally, during the execution phase, server computing device 106 executes the trained ML models to generate, for each of a plurality of different entities, a predicted likelihood value for a future transaction associated with the entity and the target transaction variable for each ML model. Further details on each of the training phase and the execution phase are provided below
see e.g. [0047] “In addition, model validation and monitoring module 109d can utilize the comparison data to determine whether performance and/or accuracy of the plurality of ML models has degraded. For example, as new transaction data is received and processed by system 100, the ML models may become less accurate because they were originally trained on a historical transaction data set that did not contain the more recent transaction data (which could include transaction patterns or trends that were not present in the earlier data) ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Song’s prediction scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of executing and managing microservices.
Zhang in view of McGaugh and in further view of Song disclose:
further comprising a prediction module configured to predict future network traffic bottlenecks based on historical transaction patterns and dynamically adjust the micro-service prioritization in anticipation of future demand (The combined solution per Song provides for one of ordinary skill in the art to dynamically adjust the micro-service prioritization in anticipation of future demand)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate McGaugh’s confirmation infrastructure. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of transaction processing systems.
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able, through routine design optimization, to select the appropriate entity or entities to receive the confirmation message based on the intended transaction flow, system configuration, and recipient requirements.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 4 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of McGaugh and in further view of Le Saint (US 20190089531)
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of McGaugh disclose the system of claim 1, Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the parser is further configured to normalize the transaction details to a predefined format to ensure compatibility with the micro-service interfaces.
Le Saint discloses:
normalize the transaction details to a predefined format (Le Saint;
see e.g. [0056] “... instructions that cause the one or more processors to identify transaction details needed to complete a transaction and normalize those details to generate a transaction request ...”)
Zhang in view of McGaugh and in further view of Le Saint disclose:
wherein the parser is further configured to normalize the transaction details to a predefined format to ensure compatibility with the micro-service interfaces (The combined solution per Le Saint provides for normalization to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to ensure compatibility with any interfaces)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Le Saint’s normalization scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for incorporating a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of executing and managing microservices.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate McGaugh’s confirmation infrastructure. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of transaction processing systems.
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able, through routine design optimization, to select the appropriate entity or entities to receive the confirmation message based on the intended transaction flow, system configuration, and recipient requirements.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 5 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of McGaugh and in further view of Song and in further view of Vlachogiannis
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in view of McGaugh disclose the system of claim 1, Zhang does not expressly disclose further comprising a machine learning module configured to analyze historical transaction data and adjust the prioritization rules to optimize resource utilization and minimize latency in subsequent transactions.
Song discloses:
a machine learning module configured to analyze historical transaction data (Song;
see e.g. [0028], [0047])
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Song’s ML scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of executing and managing microservices
Zhang in view of McGaugh and in further view of Song disclose:
further comprising a machine learning module configured to analyze historical transaction data and adjust the prioritization rules to optimize resource utilization and minimize latency in subsequent transactions (The combined solution provides for one of ordinary skill in the art per Song to influence any prioritization rules readily available to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize resource utilization and minimize latency)
As evidence of the rationale above Vlachogiannis discloses:
a prioritization (Vlachogiannis;
see e.g. [0078] “... The queue may be prioritized based on a variety of factors, such as for how long a dual-queue node has been inactive, usage trends ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Vlachogiannis’ scheme. The motivation being the combine solution provides for incorporating a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of executing and managing microservices.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate McGaugh’s confirmation infrastructure. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of transaction processing systems.
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able, through routine design optimization, to select the appropriate entity or entities to receive the confirmation message based on the intended transaction flow, system configuration, and recipient requirements.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of McGaugh and in further view of Mehta (US 20230337019)
Regarding claim 8. Zhang in view of McGaugh disclose the system of claim 1, Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the micro-service availability module is further configured to:
query each micro-service for system load, response time, and maintenance status; and,
dynamically select an alternative micro-service if the first identified service is unavailable.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that “query each micro-service for system load, response time, and maintenance status” is well known and conventional in the art. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement said feature . The motivation being the combined solution provides for implanting a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of executing and managing microservices.
Mehta discloses:
dynamically select an alternative micro-service if the first identified service is unavailable (Mehta; Mehta addresses high availability microservices solutions to address failover situations;
see e.g. 0021] FIG. 2B is a diagram of a failover relationship between a CU-CP pod and a CU-CP standby pod in a cloud-native 5G wireless telecommunication in accordance with AN embodiment described herein.
[0038] Furthermore, to further increase high availability of 5G telecommunication services, standby pods may be generated for microservices of CU-CP CNFs, such as CNF instance CU-CP-1 212 (also referred to herein as a CU-CP pod), that run on other cloud compute instances, including the spare cloud compute instances. The standby pods running on the other cloud compute instance are generated with anti-affinity between the CU-CP microservices of the primary CNF instance (e.g., CNF instance CU-CP-1 212) and CU-CP microservices of the standby pod, such that one or more of the CU-CP microservices of the primary CNF instance (e.g., CNF instance CU-CP-1 212) running on cloud compute instance 1 can instead be run on standby pods of another cloud compute instance, such as spare cloud compute instance 218. This enables resiliency at the application layer.
See e.g. Fig. 2B)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mehta’s high availability scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of delivering and managing microservices.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate McGaugh’s confirmation infrastructure. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of transaction processing systems.
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able, through routine design optimization, to select the appropriate entity or entities to receive the confirmation message based on the intended transaction flow, system configuration, and recipient requirements.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of McGaugh and in further view of Garaga (US 20210377363)
Regarding claim 9, Zhang in view of McGaugh disclose the system of claim 1, Zhang further comprising:
a cache configured to store the availability status of one or more micro-services; and,
a caching module configured to use the cached availability status during the determining step of a subsequent credit-message request such that fewer processing resources are used while processing the subsequent request.
Garaga discloses:
a cache configured to store the availability status of one or more micro-services (Garaga;
see e.g. [0029]
As a non-limiting example, when a request is received by the ECM API service, controller 216 routes the request to an appropriate microservice in framework 200. In some embodiments, controller 216 is configured for creating instances of active controller applications 240 and for monitoring the bad and status (e.g., using caching component 214 to store the load and status metadata in database 220) of each instantiated microservice container (e.g., controller application 250 instantiated by controller 216 from a master worker module 280 in framework 200). If any microservice bad (e.g., for controller application 250) reaches a predetermined load cap, then an additional microservice container (e.g., controller application 260) is instantiated. From this perspective, providing a microservice using framework 200 mainly involves two components: content server API 210 (or, more particularly, controller 216) and master worker module 280 (from which instances of microservices are instantiated as controller applications such as controller applications 250, 260).
See e.g. Abstract); and,
a caching module configured to use the cached availability status during the determining step of a subsequent credit-message request such that fewer processing resources are used while processing the subsequent request (Garaga; see e.g. [0029], Abstract;
Garaga teaches caching component 214 storing, in database 220, the load and status metadata of each instantiated microservices container, while controller 216 routes received requests to an appropriate microservice. For a subsequently received request, the ached load and status metadata is determined to which instantiated microservice is appropriate to receive the request, Using the previously cached metadata avoids separately querying each microservice instance or regenerating its current status during that determination, thereby reducing the processing and communication resources required to route the subsequent request)
.Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Garaga’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of executing and managing microservices.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate McGaugh’s confirmation infrastructure. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of transaction processing systems.
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able, through routine design optimization, to select the appropriate entity or entities to receive the confirmation message based on the intended transaction flow, system configuration, and recipient requirements.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of McGaugh and in further view of Jafri (US 20240177165 )
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of McGaugh disclose the system of claim 1, Zhang does not expressly disclose further comprising a fraud detection module configured to invoke fraud detection micro-services to assess the risk profile of the transaction based on cross-referenced user behavior, transaction history, and external risk databases before completing the credit-message request.
Jafri discloses:
further comprising a fraud detection module configured to invoke fraud detection micro-services to assess the risk profile of the transaction based on cross-referenced user behavior, transaction history, and external risk databases before completing the credit-message request (Jafri;
see e.g. [0082], [0219], [0359})
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Jafri’s fraud detection scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of delivering services.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate McGaugh’s confirmation infrastructure. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of transaction processing systems.
Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able, through routine design optimization, to select the appropriate entity or entities to receive the confirmation message based on the intended transaction flow, system configuration, and recipient requirements.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor Vivek Srivastava can be reached on (571) 272 7304.
/TODD L BARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449