DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on June 12, 2025 for application number 19/235,785. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 12, 2025 was submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2024-128175 filed on August 02, 2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “…an inner diameter of the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover on a tip end side with respect to a plane including a tip end surface of the positive crankcase ventilation valve…” and “…an inner diameter of the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover on a base end side with respect to the plane including the tip end surface of the positive crankcase ventilation valve…” and “…the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover has such an inner diameter that an engine is stopped or the engine is not startable when the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover is detached…” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The Drawings do not show the limitations “…an inner diameter of the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover on a tip end side with respect to a plane including a tip end surface of the positive crankcase ventilation valve…” and “…an inner diameter of the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover on a base end side with respect to the plane including the tip end surface of the positive crankcase ventilation valve…” and “…the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover has such an inner diameter that an engine is stopped or the engine is not startable when the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover is detached…” and the Written Specification also do not includes references numbers/characters for the above specified limitations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-7 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (SHIMAKURA – JP 2015206342 A).
Regarding claim 1, SHIMAKURA discloses:
A blow-by gas processing device (PCV device 1: Figs. 1-2) configured to allow a crankcase (crankcase 25: Figs. 1-2) and a downstream side of a throttle valve (throttle valve 21: Fig. 1) of an intake system (system of intake pipe 17: Fig. 1) to communicate with each other to introduce blow-by gas (blow-by gas) into the intake system (system of intake pipe 17: Fig. 1), the blow-by gas processing device (PCV device 1: Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2) attached to a cylinder block (cylinder block 9: Fig. 1), the positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2) being configured to adjust a flow rate of the blow- by gas according to a pressure of the intake system (system of intake pipe 17: Fig. 1);
a positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) disposed coaxially with the positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2), the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) being attached to the cylinder block (cylinder block 9: Fig. 1) so as to cover the positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2); and
a positive crankcase ventilation hose (vacuum heat insulating flexible hose 3A: Figs. 1-2) coupled to the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2), the positive crankcase ventilation hose (vacuum heat insulating flexible hose 3A: Figs. 1-2) being configured to allow the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) and the intake system (system of intake pipe 17: Fig. 1) to communicate with each other,
wherein an inner diameter (inner diameter within first housing member 37 that includes bottom of second housing member 39 and tip end of valve chamber 33: Fig. 2) of the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) on a tip end side with respect to a plane including a tip end surface of the positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2) is greater than an inner diameter (inner diameter within housing 35 that includes tip end of valve chamber 33, shoulder part of first housing member 37 and top end of crankcase 25: Fig. 2) of the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) on a base end side with respect to the plane including the tip end surface of the positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2).
SHIMAKURA discloses as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, that the PCV valve 5 includes a housing 35 having a valve chamber 33 therein. The housing 35 includes a first housing member 37 and a second housing member 39. The first housing member 37 and the second housing member 39 are both made of resin and screwed together. More specifically, the first housing member 37 is provided with a large-diameter portion on one end side, and a female screw is formed on the inner periphery of the large-diameter portion. On the other hand, a male screw is formed on the outer periphery of one end side of the second housing member 39. The male screw of the second housing member 39 is screwed into the female screw of the first housing member 37. An O-ring for sealing having an O-shaped (circular) cross section is disposed between the first housing member 37 and the second housing member 39 ([0035]).
Regarding claim 3, SHIMAKURA discloses:
A blow-by gas processing device (PCV device 1: Figs. 1-2) configured to allow a crankcase (crankcase 25: Figs. 1-2) and a downstream side of a throttle valve (throttle valve 21: Fig. 1) of an intake system (system of intake pipe 17: Fig. 1) to communicate with each other to introduce blow-by gas (blow-by gas) into the intake system (system of intake pipe 17: Fig. 1), the blow-by gas processing device (PCV device 1: Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2) attached to a cylinder block (cylinder block 9: Fig. 1), the positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2) being configured to adjust a flow rate of the blow- by gas according to a pressure of the intake system (system of intake pipe 17: Fig. 1);
a tubular positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) attached to the cylinder block (cylinder block 9: Fig. 1) so as to cover the positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2); and
a positive crankcase ventilation hose (vacuum heat insulating flexible hose 3A: Figs. 1-2) coupled to the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2), the positive crankcase ventilation hose (vacuum heat insulating flexible hose 3A: Figs. 1-2) being configured to allow the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) and the intake system (system of intake pipe 17: Fig. 1) to communicate with each other,
wherein a center axis of the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) is shifted to a front side of a vehicle with respect to a center axis of the positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, SHIMAKURA discloses the blow-by gas processing device according to claim 1, and further on SHIMAKURA also discloses:
wherein the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) comprises a base end portion and a great diameter portion having a greater inner diameter than an inner diameter of the base end portion, and each of the base end portion and the great diameter portion has a cylindrical shape or a rectangular tubular shape (Fig. 2 of SHIMAKURA shows the first housing member 37 is provided with a large-diameter portion on one end side, and a female screw is formed on the inner periphery of the large-diameter portion).
Regarding claim 4, SHIMAKURA discloses the blow-by gas processing device according to claim 1, and further on SHIMAKURA also discloses:
wherein the positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2) and the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) are attached to an upper surface of the cylinder block (cylinder block 9: Fig. 1) such that an axial line of the positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2) and an axial line of the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) are parallel with a vertical direction.
Regarding claim 5, SHIMAKURA discloses the blow-by gas processing device according to claim 3, and further on SHIMAKURA also discloses:
wherein the positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2) and the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) are attached to an upper surface of the cylinder block (cylinder block 9: Fig. 1) such that an axial line of the positive crankcase ventilation valve (PCV valve 5: Figs. 1-2) and an axial line of the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover (housing 35: Fig. 2) are parallel with a vertical direction.
Regarding claim 6, SHIMAKURA discloses the blow-by gas processing device according to claim 4, and further on SHIMAKURA also discloses:
wherein the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover “has such an inner diameter that an engine is stopped or the engine is not startable when the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover is detached”.
Please note that claim 6 above is directed to an apparatus which must be distinguished from the prior art in term of structure rather function [MPEP 2114]. Hence, the functional limitations “has such an inner diameter that an engine is stopped or the engine is not startable when the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover is detached” as shown above, which are narrative in form, have been given very little patentable weight. In order to be given patentable weight, a functional recitation must be supported by recitation in the claim of sufficient structure to warrant the presence of the functional language. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). SHIMAKURA has been shown to be structurally capable of performing this/these function(s).
Regarding claim 7, SHIMAKURA discloses the blow-by gas processing device according to claim 5, and further on SHIMAKURA also discloses:
wherein the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover “has such an inner diameter that an engine is stopped or the engine is not startable when the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover is detached”.
Please note that claim 7 above is directed to an apparatus which must be distinguished from the prior art in term of structure rather function [MPEP 2114]. Hence, the functional limitations “has such an inner diameter that an engine is stopped or the engine is not startable when the positive crankcase ventilation valve cover is detached” as shown above, which are narrative in form, have been given very little patentable weight. In order to be given patentable weight, a functional recitation must be supported by recitation in the claim of sufficient structure to warrant the presence of the functional language. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). SHIMAKURA has been shown to be structurally capable of performing this/these function(s).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
CN 218177301 U – WANG
DE 102019109893 B4 – MIYANAGA
CN 109252914 B – KASHIWARA
US 2020/0224602 A1 – Gilmer
US 2019/0316500 A1 – MIYANAGA
JP 2014105581 A – KIRA
US 2019/0017420 A1 – Kashiwabara
JP 2008309082 A – ASANUMA
JP H074222 A – FURUYA
JP 2000008828 A – TAKEYAMA
US 6,820,601 B1 - Price
Conclusion
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747